homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Harvester, Lewisham

Harvester

The Dutch House, Sidcup Rd, London

2 out of 5 based on 41 reviews
Review Harvester Rate and review Harvester


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
Martyn Weston
Wednesday, April 23, 2014


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Harvested at Garston, Hertfordshire. Drinks order forgotten and never appeared, food tough and very tired looking, salad bar looked like a bomb had hit it and £40 just for three main courses (no sweet, coffee etc) Harvested are not the value they once were.
2 out of 5
anon
Sunday, March 23, 2014


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Went to Harvester in Eastbourne Sovereign Harbour with my wife two kids and my three month old baby. Waited for our dinner to arrive which took approx 20 minutes. After we got tucked in a member of staff working at Harvester sprayed us with cleaning spray which went on my wife's neck and over our food. My immediate concern was my children and that the chemical had caused no harm to them.
The Lady never admitted to what she had done and the manager had no empathy or concern when he was called. The female only kept turning her back to me and sarcastically said 'Ok reorder then?'....it would have been really preposterous to have waited another 20 minutes for food to arrive especially where you're in the company of kids and had just been sprayed on by an imbecile I really thought she was abhorrent. I believe that there was absolutely no way she didn't know what she had done and I went to the Police the next day.
This incident was reported to the Police as an intentional racist attack and Police had told me she admitted spraying at us but her words were ’I didn’t realise.’
I am trying to see what legal action I can take upon the female worker and the Manager as they have really traumatised us and I have also written to Harvester for their possible dismissal but have not yet had a reply.
1 out of 5
Mary Burns
Friday, January 17, 2014


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I took my sister out for her birthday lunch today to Harvester Royal, W7 2AX. On arrival we were taken to a very small table next to a drafty door, we asked the waitress if we could be moved and she did move us but made it known that she was not happy. Another waitress, Pauline, came to take our orders. Whilst we went to get some salad our starters were taken to our table. Less than 5 minutes later Pauline came back with our mains and asked if we were ready for them. We told her no as we hadn't even got halfway through or starters. She took the mains away whilst mumbling something we couldn't understand. Every couple of minutes she would walk around to our table as if trying to hurry us up. Eventually we left our starters because we felt very uncomfortable about finishing them. Our mains arrived and to say they were Horrible would be a compliment. To top it off they were cold. This Harvester was recommend to me and as I was looking forward to a nice lunch, instead I got terrible service and inedible food. Thank you Harvester Royal you have not only ruined my sisters birthday lunch, you have lost yet more valuable paying customers. I do hope your all very proud with your efforts today.
1 out of 5
julia bruce
Monday, January 23, 2012


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Whatever happened to the food in the harvester I CAN REMBER IT BEING GOOD SOLID PUB GRUB NOW IT IS DISGUSTING I have to say I have just been this evening a party of 13 and I will never return to a harvester again .
1 out of 5
sue
Monday, September 26, 2011


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

i have been to the harveters in dulwich se22 for 20 yrs but in the lastfive years i have gone maybe once a year purley because i forget why i dont go there. then when i have been like recently i am reminded why . we were shown to a table and the menues were thrown on the table and the guy just walked off and left us befor we had even sat down, we then waited 15 minutes befor anyone came over. we then waited 20 minutes for our food and the meat portions were really small. we spent 20 minutes trying to get the bill and the waiter didnt smile once. i cant believe this place is still running like this, the service is apauling, why hasnt someone been from head office to to do checks on this place. I will not be returning to this place ever
1 out of 5
Heather Holden
Monday, September 19, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Twice we have been to the Harvester at Haywards Heath, and we should have learned from the 1st visit and never returned. The first visit was on xmas day last year and it was that appalling there are too many issues to mention, but as my elderly parents were there i refrained from causing a fuss. Yesterday's visit was only marginly better!! We were seated quite quickly as there wasn't a queue when we walked in, but very quickly one of the children in our party spilled his drink, which we used the napkins to mop up the spillage. when we had our first visit from a waitress to see if we wanted any drinks (could she not see them on the table?) we asked for some more serviettes and a damp cloth, so she brought us 3 seviettes (there were 6 of us in the party) that she had been holding in the same hand as the damp cloth!! So i requsted some more, which never came, so when she took the order i asked for more, which also never came!! After waiting an hour for our food (it was about 4pm so hardly 'rush hour') i asked the waitress who brought our food over (who was visibly chewing gum) for serviettes, and at last they arrived.
As far as the food was concerned, there was no gravy that we ordered, no mint sauce for the lamb, and when i asked for mayonnaise was told 'it's on the salad cart' (in a big jug with no small pots to transfer any into that i could take to the table). My cheese and bacon burger was stone cold so asked for it to be replaced, by who i am assuming was the manager as she was wearing a turquiose top and not a waitressing uniform. 2 minutes later she produced another burger that was also cold!! I tried to attracted her attention as she passed several times, but to no avail. I had to wait until a different waitress actually came to check if everything was ok, and on explaining the situation regarding the burger and actually requesting that i get a hot one please she managed to produce one. However the rest of the party had almost finished thier meals at this point.
Aswell as the above they had run out of lime cordial, straws for the childrens drinks and the wait for drinks at the bar was way too unacceptable.
I will never visit a Harvester again, they are run by uncaring, uncustomer focused kids who all seem to dissappear into the kitchen when not serving tables.
1 out of 5
Diane
Monday, August 15, 2011


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

It's a good job the bar staff is there are helpful because the Manager is very rude, unaccommodating and has a very bad attitude towards his customers. I wanted a certain bottle of wine and they had sold out so i picked another bottle off the wine list, my friends and i decided to get another bottle of wine to share but unfortunately was told they had none left, the bar staff could only sell my the sparkling wine which was out of our price range, i tried to negotiate with the manager about selling me the sparkling wine for the same price, as it was not our fault that we couldn't buy a bottle of our choice from the wine menu but he would rather let the customer walk away than sell the bottle for a couple of pounds cheaper.

The bar is never well stocked and the other week you couldn't even buy a glass of wine never mind a bottle, totally all wine was out of stock. Disgraceful for a bar and restaurant!
5 out of 5
bev reader
Wednesday, July 20, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

we was recently at my local harvester in chingford. again the food, service, and the staff were absolutly fantastic. we only waited 10mins 4 a table. every time we ave eaten there it has always bin really good. i would recommend it 2 everyone.
2 out of 5
dawn hembrow
Friday, June 24, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I was servied my lunch - bacon & cheese & MOULD burger & chips - only I didn't order the Mould!!!!!! Devastated I then couldnt eat but was still produced with a bill for my partnets meal - I will never return to a Harvester again
1 out of 5
Mrs Mascoll
Sunday, June 19, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I took my two children and my husband to the Harvester, Addington, Surrey for a father's day meal after waiting for over an hour and watching other customers coming in being served eating and leaving we decided to chase our meal by asking the waitress that served us. She however realised that we had been sitting waiting for our meal for over 1 hour and decided to chase it herself. We were then told we SHOULD have our meal in the next two minutes, 15 minutes later we were still waiting with two hungry children we decided to leave the restaurant and will not be returnung there. We are a weekly customer that spends between £50.00 and £80.00 on the meal with tips of £6.00 plus. I approached the manager to say We had been waiting over an hour and we would like to pay for the starter that we had he called another member of staff to take the money and walked off (very bad customer relations) I had to feed my children kebab meat and chips as it was too late to go any where else with them. If I could rate my experience of this restaurant it would be -10
1 out of 5
Esther O.
Monday, May 23, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

My daughter was 16 yesterday, and since she loves the Harveter's Rocky Horror desert we decided to surprise her with a mini party at the Dartford Bridge Harvester. We got there at 6pm and the waiter said it was 2hour wait for a table for 11. We agreed to split into two tables and he said it would take the same amount of time. He was not willingly to be flexible in any way but suggested the Rising Sun Harvester in Dartford. We rang Rising Sun and was told the wait would be 30mins and we said we are on our way. On getting there within 8mins, the waiter said we would have to wait 1.5hours to get a table. But if we are happy to sit around the bar area we would not be served by a waitress. We challenged the decision and asked for his manager who now said the wait is actually 2hours. The children were all watching this managers' inflexibility, and surprisingly there was no que at all. Some of the tables were actually empty. We then told them we would be happy to wait for 2hours. To our surprise the manager responded that it could be up to 2.30 hours and we would have to wait outside. It then dawned on us that there is more to this than availability of a table...It was quite amazing how the waiting time shifted from 30mims to 2.5hours. When we questioned the manager, she threatened us with police eviction! Yes, a party of 6adults and 6children threatened with police eviction just because they wanted to celebrate a party in Harvester! On asking to see their policies and procedures, they backed down and told us we will have to wait for an hour. We got a table later within 30mins. In Dartford most black families patronise Pizza Hut and hardly would you see them in Harvester. If this is kind of behaviour encountered during visits, then it doesn't come as a surprise. There is institutional racism going on in this restaurants and would suggest a mystery shopping exercise. Eventually we had our party there, but not without challenging their stereotypical behaviour. Not nice, in this day and age.
1 out of 5
christy
Saturday, April 23, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

My cousin and I took her little boy to the harvester in the aftrenoon as it was a sunny day and wanted to sit in the garden.we stood at the bar for ten minuets while 3/4 memebers of staff stood at the other end of the bar and chatted each of them had seen us enter the bar yet we were still ignored.My partner then joined us straight from work (where he is not aloud to take a wallet)for a drink he is 25 and ordered a pint of san miguel as he has been served this there many times with no problems.the lady behind the bar asked for Id which is not a problem but the way that she spoke to him was just rude, he then went on to say that he aws 25 and did not have his wallet and was just about to change his order to a coke when she jumped down his throat explaining that her age 21 id bagde was wrong and that you have to look over 25.the very fact that they do not have the correct badges is nothing to do with us.having worked behind bars myself i was always told when asking for id to be pleasent about it. this lady has realy let the harvester down!!!
1 out of 5
temesha
Thursday, March 24, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

The o2 havester was obviously not ready to open !! I have been there twice and the food both times has not compaired to any other havester I have ever been to. From the minut I walked through the door I had a problem . A women shouted from the bar 'seat your self ' and as I walked through the restaurant I was greeted by dirty tables, dirty tissues, and plate resting on top of the bins. Ther were at least 15 tables busy in ther and ther. Was one waitress running up and down like a yo yo. While the lazy deputy stood the other side of the bar doing nothing. The list of fault go on from hard bread , that unless u are the taller individual u are unable to see, to the fact that there was noooo soap in the bathroom. The deputy manager gaVe me a card and let me know I can make a complaint, the card did not have her name on it and she failed to give me her name wen I and other angry customers asked, this was the icing on the cake for me. A brigade of tables complaining and she refused to come out her office. I will not be leaving it there I will have to call to make sure my complaint is heard. Easily the worst harvester I have ever been to .
2 out of 5
jessica clark
Thursday, December 16, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

We had a christmas fayre lunch 15th december 2010 for 9 people. The presentation and cooking of the food was
diabolical the veg was cold peas undercooked and the roast potatoes were only browned on the outside and
hard inside they were uneatable. The waitress was very good and she replaced them with some that were cooked but we had to wait 15 minutes for them. One of our party had steak and asked for medium cooked unfortunately
it could have passed for shoe leather. I must say the meal was replaced with a turkey dinner but was also told the
steak that they had was all the same. I thought that the description of christmas fayre was really rather a joke
as the table had 3 baloons on it which I take it to mean that was christmas decoration. I would have thought at least there could have been christmas napkins and may be a cracker or two. I dont consider that the price of the
meal was particularly cheap so thought the provision of such meagre decoration to the table left a lot to be desired.

Unfortunately so my party did not feel embarrassed I refrained from complaining to the manager, but on reflection
I should have done there and then.

The restaurant was The Five Bells Harvester London road Vange Basildon SS16 5LD
I now feel I should have done so
1 out of 5
Vicky Martin
Sunday, October 03, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Just come back from THE DARTFORD BRIDGE (Dartford) i recommend AVOIDING THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS! we waited 2 HOURS (1 hour for table 1 hour for food), the restaurant was dirty food everywhere on the floor (the manager seeing this and ignoring this) the toilets looked and smelt like public ones. When my food finally arrived the chips w...ere RAW and my chicken BURNT to a crisp on one side but turned so i wouldnt see this? i sent it back and was offered another but this took so long in coming i just left.other clients around me also waiting over an hour for food, other people around us also waiting over an hour for food and their food turning up burnt. The manager informed of all of this but not even an apology, felt sorry for the poor waitress serving us she looked so embarassed. So dissapointing Harvester.
1 out of 5
Tahnee Drake
Monday, August 16, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

My family and I willl never visit a Harvester again! Salmon main course looked as though it had been cooking for at least seven days, i must admit thay changed the meal upon request bit the next one took nearly seven days to arrive and was an even dryer slab of cold dusty meat than the last. Mixed grill was like a pile of boot leather with a joke plastic egg placed on top. Sausage and mash was packet smash plus 2 x burnt lumps of charcoal you could nearly use to write with. Children were served bouncing burgers that would have been at home in a cricket set that had lost its ball. Pasta main came as a plastic looking molten slab of starchy microwaved mess. Service was rediculously slow even though there were a handfull of diners to attend to and the staff looked like they all needed a good sleep after a heavy night out on the tiles.

Incidentally the harvester in question is called The Crown, Langdon Hills.
2 out of 5
Mr Smart
Sunday, August 15, 2010


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

My Fiancee and myself visited the Tom Lock in Peterborough on Saturday 14th August 2010, we were shown to our seats and decided before ordering our food went to the salad cart - i noticed that there was empty salad dressings and only 3 cold bread rolls left, i asked the waitress if she could get these topped up and she politely said yes however 25 minutes this had not been done (the restaurant had about 15 people in) i asked again and still it was not done so i walked downstairs and asked for the manager who conveniently was outside having a cigarette. The manager did however deal with our problem and offered a complimentary desert for which we never eat so settled for a free drink, i must add the restaurant had only 2 waitresses and 1 chef so they cannot really be blamed as they did not stop. The chef had heard of our complaint and apologised and said he would look after us by giving us a more than average sized dish - which he did and unfortunately had to leave some.
Then on Sunday we visited the Harvester at Alwalton on Peterborough Showground, we had not planned to eat and it was just as well as we had to wait 20 minutes just for a drink at the bar, there was only 1 member of staff serving which included taking food orders. I do not like being referred to as mate when the person serving me doesn't know me and after all i am a customer. I do frequent this restaurant fairly regularly as it is local to where i live but the standards have slipped - and the new menu is not up to much. It is noticable when ordering an early bird meal the quantity is different to the main menu.
1 out of 5
brenda harris
Tuesday, August 10, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

The last time I visited the Beehive restaurant in Beehive Lane, Gants Hill, I did not enjoy my experience and was promised a full investigation, this was back in January we are now in August and I have had no further investigation or vouchers as compensation as promised.

For this reason alone I now have no faith in the service that you provide and would appreciate a response as immediately as possible.

I do have more to say, but would like someone to call me on 07720 285 451 to explain why I am still waiting for what you call customer service to come back to me and explain why a very regular customer like myself has been treated in such a disregarding fashion and no this is not a joke, but a very upset customer who was served appalling food and shown extremely bad service, the type which one should never experience by ones self, let alone with one's family. This day caused me an amount of stress as I dared to complain and was scolded by my partner for causing a scene, so I ended up falling out with my partner, my child was unimpressed and disappointed and most of all very very hungry and upset that her parents were disagreeing in public!

This is not the sort of ambience you want to exude I am most sure.

Please contact me as a matter of urgency and help me to sort this out.

Kind regards.
1 out of 5
Ben Dosanjh
Wednesday, August 04, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

On the 3rd of August we took our family to the Kings head Harvester, it was for my 96 year old great grandmas birthday. My mother ordered a vegetarian combo which she could not eat as it was stale tasting and seemed to be pre made, and just heated,she sent it back. Three of us had scampi the peas and chips were fine,(although cold) the scampi tasted as if it had been fried in old stale oil. We frequently ate at this restaraunt, rest assured it was the last time. It has gone down hill in the last three months. The place is not very clean, we were all disappointed especially my great gran. We can all say it is the worst meal we have ever had.
2 out of 5
janet wilson
Sunday, June 06, 2010


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Mr friend and i went for a meal this evening to the Harvester in Christchurch Dorset, The Riverside. We were just waiting to be seated when I notcied 2 chefs throwing and kicking food around in the kitchen. I made a comment to a waitress and she said they were just larking about..I then thought was that going to be my dinner they were playing with. I thought it was disgraceful..Nobody cares...Wont be going again. I know its football season but thats just taking mick.
2 out of 5
Dr Naomi Turner
Friday, June 04, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

1st June 2010. It wasmy mother's 90th birthday. Unfortunately, she had spent the weekend in hospital and it was late when they discharged her. Mother still wanted to celebrate her birthday so my brother, my daughter and I decideded to go for a meal. It was also an opportunity to celebrate my birthday, which occurred on the previous day. As my mother fancied fillet steak we went to Harvester a Stirling Corner. We waited a good 10 minuets before we were seated even though the restaraunt was almost empty. When we ordered we were told there was NO FILLET STEAK. My mother and brother settled for sirlion, which was tough. My daughter had a mixed grill without the bacon, as they had run out. I asked for a rare ribeye steak, but it was not cooked, there is a difference between rare and raw. I also requested a baked jacket potato and sweet corn instead of peas to eat with my steak. Instead I was served some horrid, dried-up, chips and NO vegetables. The salad bar was a disaster, no pasta or potatoe salad, and no red devil sauce, only some revolting low fat mayonaise. The waiter gave good service but I think you should sack the chef. I will not eat at your restaurant again. THIS WAS THE WORST MEAL I EVER HAD.
1 out of 5
Mrs J Hawkins
Sunday, May 16, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Today, Sunday 16th May 2010, My husband and I met family at the HARVESTER (The Old Castle, Salisbury) for lunch. On arrival we asked at the bar if we could have a table for 5, and were pointed in the direction of a young man leaning against a wall, I again asked for a table for 5, the young man looked at me and asked if the rest of the party was present, to which I replied no, but we had rung them from the carpark and they were just at the bottom of the hill and would be arriving within 10 minutes. While he was writing something down, I explained that I am visually impaired and asked if we could have a table that had good light, he looked up, tutted and scowlled at me that we couldnt pick our table, as they were busy. Now I am used to people's lack of understanding towards my disability, so let it pass, he then said that as our party hadnt yet arrived, we would have to wait at least half an hour. That was fine.
While we were waiting at the bar for some deinks another party arrived and obviously knownt o the young man, the difference in his manner, attitude and attentiveness was unbelievable.
A customer came to him and asked for some cutlery, instead of quietly getting it himself, he bellowed at the foreign girl behind the bar and made her look and I bet feel awful. I asked the girl,who was already rushed off her feet, the name of the young man as I was going to make a complaint to the manager, she turned round and said, please don't, he is the manager!!!! UNBELIEVABLE
Another customer with a young child asked him for a highchair and was told bluntly there aint none!!!
It was then that I said to my husband and party that the food better be good as Harvester was going to get a letter........well it wasnt, so here is my letter, we will never go back. I have read through some of the other complaints enclosed and realise that it is not just a one off....maybe training, or lack of it may have some bearing.
1 out of 5
L FLOYD
Monday, May 10, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

JUST TRIED TO EAT OUT WITH MY WIFE AT THE HARVESTER AT HOLTSPUR ( BEACONSFIELD ) IT WAS OUR FIRST VISIT AND ALL IM GOING TO SAY IT WAS!*!* IN EVERY WAY POSS... DONT GO. THIS PLACE NEEDS TO GET RID OF EAST EUROPEANS COOKS AND PROBABLY A NEW MANAGER IT WAS UNBELIEVABLE. FAWLTY TOWERS IS 5 STAR COMPARED TO THIS PLACE.
5 out of 5
Derek Chivers
Friday, April 30, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We went to the Montague Arms Harvester, Slough and the staff were excellent specially Alana our waitress and the duty manager was most pleasant. Everything was first rate.
1 out of 5
Louise Dauscha
Tuesday, March 16, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Me and My friend and her little boy whom I hadnt seen for some time decided to go for a meal in the harvester in Amesbury Wiltshire. When we first arrived we were seated straight away by the manager and told to help our selves with the salad cart.
When we went to get our salad we went to bite into whats supposed to be warm rolls it was frozen couldnt even cut it to butter it, i asked one of the waitress's if she could bring some warm ones out.
The we overheard a customer complaining about the salad cart that it was empty, which was right. But then I didnt excpect to hear the manager then slagging the customer off, and shouting about her to another collegue, right where we were sat eating. We had a brought a child out to eat with us, why should we have to hear the manager slagging off a customer right next to our table. The timings for taking our orders was really slow aswell, we were in the harvester for approximatly 3 and half hours. When our meal was brought out, i like meal to be piping hot, it was just warm so i wasnt happy but had enough of this place just wnted to eat and get out. Also the harvester our suppose to provide children with colours and paper to keep them from getting bored, this didnt happen for us, so i seen the colours at the till. And decided then if we wasnt going to get helped ,i would help me self, so i got it for the little one. I was disgusted with the place and i didnt think the staff were behaving in a proffessional way.
1 out of 5
gary dimmock
Thursday, February 11, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I attended Crumbles Eastbourne Harvester last sunday afternoon for lunch with my extended family... my wife and i go at least once a week for an "early bird" and to be honest it has been really good...we were looking to eat out to save cooking so i suggested the harvester as my wife and i had always been impressed with the food & service.....
two of our party of five took some persuading as they said they had heard "bad things" about harvester.... i said that our local one at Crumbles was very good...... i said it might be busy being a sunday lunchtime but it would be worth it..
we arrived at about 1200..... queued and eventually got to the reception to be told there would be at least a 15 minute wait for a table... fine i thought we'd have a drink at the bar....no problem... went to the bar ...got a drink and sat and waited....other persons from similar sized parties seemed to be arriving after us and getting seated before us.... so i went to enquire to be told that they had misplaced our details so we were sat at the next available table some 45 minutes later... we were seated and given the menus..... told to help ourself to the salad bar..... some 15 minutes later the waiter returned to take our orders

1 x childs chicken and mash (i asked for no gravy)
1 x adult chicken and mash
1 x spit roast chicken
2 x chicken stacks

meal took 45 minutes to arrive after numerous enquiries with the waiter ( my wife went to find the waiter in the end to be told "Listen darlin' these things take time!" )..... she returned to the table disgusted at the attitude of staff...

anyway when the food arrived :-
1 x childs chicken and mash was cold and had gravy on it !
1 x adult chicken and mash cold
1 x spit roast chicken cold
2 x chicken stacks cold.(one of my new potatos was black and mouldy)

eventually managed to complain to another member of staff as our waiter was dealing with complaints from 2 other tables nearby who were also complaining... the waiter took our food away muttering under his breath

all the food returned a few minutes later...

the recipient of the adult chicken & mash commented that it was the same meal but had obviously just been shoved in the microwave as there was still her bite out of it !

The food was still luke warm and to be honest was a real disappointment. I decided to complain again but to be honest could not be bothered as the first complaint had fallen on deaf ears.

So i paid the bill and decided to go and complain to the manager..... He was at the door the poor guy and was dealing with other disgruntled customers so i decided to come home and compose this email... in all we had been in the restaurant just shy of 3 hours and had received a cold main course for our efforts !!

okay so the bill was only £30 but without acceptable food and decent staff the harvester "ethos" rather falls flat on its face.
2 out of 5
kevin
Thursday, January 07, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

My family and i just returned from harvester in sutton and while we were regular customers that has now changed. we are used to having to send cutlery back to be cleaned or clean them ourselfs but we were usually happy enough with the food until tonight.
We went at 17.00 rather than our normal time of later in the evening and found we were eating yesterdays food.
My wife's sweet potato veg burger was soaked in fat and in a rock solid coating, obvously reheated from yesterday.
My daughters pasta was both burnt AND under cooked. no doubt left overnight then reheated.
My bacon burger had crisp burnt bacon on which i have gained a chipped tooth along side fresh cooked bacon.
The tomato's in the salad bar were soft and old.
They did take the vegie burger off the bill but that does not help much when the whole point is to go out and eat a nice meal and not come back so disapointed i feel the need to spend 20 mins on the pc complaining.
I would think they make enough money to at least deal better with the basic's of feeding customers.
Never again.
kev,
Another lost customer.
1 out of 5
amy hunt
Monday, January 04, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

i recently visited our local harvester in salfords surrey with my partner 2 children friends and there 2 children. We went 2 the harvester as a suprise meal for 1 of my friends only 2 find we had 2 wait 1 hour and 15 minuites for a table we then eventually got seated and we all ordered a main meal and childrens meals for the kids, when they arrived only 2 of the meals were warm and the kids meals were realy stone cold the burger i ordered was burnt an my partner who ordered steak was not impressed woth his as he wanted it cooked rare - medium and it came out burnt overall we are not happy customers, altogether we spent 144 pounds and didnt get any money back we will never go to another harvester again
2 out of 5
E Hurley
Monday, December 28, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I have been trying to find out the email address for the Harvester Head Office but am unable to find it anywhere. My family and I are weekly customers at the Harvester in Northolt and spend around £50 each time we visit. I felt very let down the last two times we have gone there. On Christmas Eve some of us got together and booked table, when we got there and went up to the salad bar we found that they had run out of white rolls - the staff said they had run out and have been unable to order anymore. The roast potatoes were rock hard and the turkey was a bit fatty. At that time although we felt let down we didn't say much as we thought it was a one off.

Tonight we went back to the harvester in Northolt to celebrate my sister and brothers birthday to find there were still no white rolls, just brown bread put into the basket, no coleslaw, no original spit roast chicken which my son wanted. I am very disappointed as this resulted in me having to cook after having a meal as my son was still hungry.
1 out of 5
fiona st
Monday, September 21, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

i took my inlaws and children to the crooked billet in petts wood and it was awful. After ordering our starters and mains i waited an hour and 15 mins now bearing in mind i had a 7 year old and a 9 month old i thought that was disgusting. the king prawns werent king, our mains were cold and some burnt and the service was the worst i think ive ever encountered, i have warned all friends and family not to go to this restaurant. in total there was 7 of us eating and 2 babies and it was obvious the staff couldnt cope, they ruined an enjoyable day and my child still walked away hungry .severly disappointed
1 out of 5
Steve Prince
Monday, August 03, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Stay away from the Harvester Bolton Arena on Sundays, the place is caotic ,amazing that a food establishment like this is so badly ran and seems to lack any sort of managment for a busy site, we have visited twice now in the last couple of months and been dissapointed both times, I must point out here that visits to other Harvester outlet have proved to be excellent, on both occasions at Bolton the staff have pointed out that the spit roast chicken had ran out (AT 6.30 pm ! due to demand !) this seems a strange way of running a restaurant where spit roast seems to feature in a lot of the main dishes, anyway the steak or the bbq ribs are normally another good choice but not to be this time.. a rare and medium steak arrived cooked to a frazzle chips which had been kept warm for ages and a pile of tasteless peas....this place must suffer from a lot of walkouts as on both occassions there seemed to be other unhappy customers...come on Harvester head managment get down there and kick some a***s .... we headed on to the nearest indian...
1 out of 5
Neil
Tuesday, July 28, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Peterborough (showground) - Turned up with 3 year old and 10 week old baby in her pushchair having walked from our hotel. Made it as far as the door before we were stopped and told that we couldn't bring the baby into the restaurant in the pushchair (although we could fold it up and then place her on the floor or perhaps lay her on a chair). This was due to health and safety reasons as they are apparently a hazard.....absolutely gobsmacked having eaten in god knows how many eateries all over the country with no problems with taking a pushchair into a seating area. So we had the choice of walking back to our hotel or sitting outside amongst the scattered meal leftovers and dirty glasses littering the tables outside. We made the decision to stay. The meal was average although we did order a burger for our son and we were brought fish. We were too fed up to send it back and wait again.

Made a complaint to them when we got home and were finally contacted by the correct Peterborough restaurant after a couple of weeks. Manager showed no empathy and a complete lack of customer handling skills, basically keep reiterating it was for H&S reasons why we were refused entry and that unless we could tell him who we spoke to on the night he couldn't help or take action to address the way in which we were treated...perhaps I should go back for an id parade. Harvester claim they are a family orientated establishment, what a joke.
5 out of 5
anonymous
Tuesday, July 07, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

brilliant plymouth
3 out of 5
anomanous
Thursday, June 18, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

not bad service from plymouth harvester but salad wasnt very nice
1 out of 5
WENDY HUDSON
Tuesday, June 02, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

went to christchurch hants to purchase a car, thursday 28th may, saw a harvester and thought have a meal in there time 4.40pm, stood at wait here desk for ages to be seated, in the end went and found a waitress, were told had to order at the bar, rather sternly not friendly, went to bar one guy serving about 12 people waiting to be served, in the end another guy came to serve so ordered natchos starter, followed by kingprawn curry , one beer one hot chocolate, the guy that came to help out left the bar to make my hot choc, so I followed him to another bar, which was covered with dirty glasses and plates and cutlery it looked a real mess ,, when the natchos came up they looked strange, the reason being NO SOURED CREAM, so went back to kitchen to get that sorted , half way through natchos the king prawn king curry came up , so had to rush the natchos, king prawn currey looked like it was out of a bag VILE all in all the place was a complete shambles I did complain to a lady in brown , maybe she was the manager as all the other s were in black, there were loads of waitress s about that seemd to be doing nothing as restaurant was almost empty apart from the bar, wont be going in a harvester again thanks , mrs w hudson
2 out of 5
Ryn
Friday, March 20, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

BROMSGROVE - What a horrible experience, no cutlary, no crayons for the kids, dirty tables, dirty plates and glasses everywhere, food was average, salad bar was nearly empty and we had to wait 40 monutes to be seated for this privelage!!!
2 out of 5
Ryn
Friday, March 20, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

What a horrible experience, no cutlary, no crayons for the kids, dirty tables, dirty plates and glasses everywhere, food was average, salad bar was nearly empty and we had to wait 40 monutes to be seated for this privelage!!!
1 out of 5
Jon Cooper
Friday, January 02, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Had booked a Chistmas family get togethor at Harvester Chadwell Heath. Lets start by saying I had pre booked my table in october for 12 and had a pre festive menu to order from. The majority of the party had ordered Turkey. When the day came everything was going fine till we went to the salad bar. The bread rolls had mould on them, which were taken away after complaining. Then we were told that there was NO turkey but chicken was the replacement. After agreeing that would be ok and making sure it would still be a roast , the dinner was ordered. After an hour later our food arrived and it was laughable.....it was not a a chicken roast, it had chicken, bacon, a tomatoe sauce with 2 small boiled potatoes. That was it, I asked to see the manager. It took 15 mins for him to come over and try to sort the mess out. In the end we had enough and decided to get my money back. I say what a disgrace and never again.
4 out of 5
vicki richards
Sunday, December 30, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My husband and I enjoy a meal most Fridays the Tarpots Benfleet however, we came with two friends on Monday Christmas Eve to be turned away as we hadnt booked but I would like to point out that there was no advertisments telling customers that they had to book. Since being turned away on that particualar night we drove to the Beefeater (called the Haywain) not to be disapointed; this was extremely an enjoyable evening with good food.

Awaiting your reply
3 out of 5
Lynn lagdon
Wednesday, December 19, 2007


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Eight of my family dined at your BRENTWOOD Harvester. What a waste of time and money. The food was inedible apart from one meal - the Salmon dish - the Starters were small, the coffees were cold. I wrote to the Manager, as we didnt want to spoil the evening completely at the time, but guess what no response.
If you purchase an item not fit for purpose, it is changed or money refunded. Why does this not apply in your Restaurants. I will contact your Head Office an d see if I get a reply.
4 out of 5
Andrew Rankin
Tuesday, September 12, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I heard about this place from someone who is helping me organise a party and so i visited it the other week before going to visit a friend in Kingston. I speak very highly of this place and look forward to coming back to it with some very special friends on saturday 2nd of december. there will be alot of people coming to share a very special experience that will stay with them forever and ever.
I went on my own and had tried the one up near my home in Doncaster before. It was nice. To check on the quality of this place I made sure i had the same menu as in the north. the battered mushrooms were not hot but this is how i ordered them. they soon warmed up in my mouth. My milkshake cooled down in my mouth. My steak was very very well done - i like it almost hard. this was not a problem to them. I found Sue to be extremely friendly and she is thinking of having a similar party in doncaster for her friends. we have become good friends and share emails. my mum has even shown me how to text her. for pudding i ate banana split. and then i split. that is a joke.
i love harvesters

yours AR