homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Harrington's, Tooting Broadway

Harrington's
Harrington's


3 Selkirk Road, Tooting, London

5 out of 5 based on 101 reviews
Review Harrington's Rate and review Harrington's


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Jenny Harden
Monday, March 17, 2014


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Best pie n mash!
Can't be beaten!
Luvvly jubbly!
Lived round the corner most of my childhood, and remember getting it
with my nan and aunty from here.
And it still taste the same,i have never found another one to beat it.
I will be back soon with my husband and I'm sure my son will be popping
in soon as well.
c u soon pie and mash lover
*Never close i will miss you too much!! *
5 out of 5
Scooby
Wednesday, February 12, 2014


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Been going to Harrington's in Tooting for the last 30 years since my school days - used to be something like 37p for pie/mash & sauce! Ahhh well, still worth the money.
5 out of 5
MIKE CHARLTON
Friday, December 06, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I used to go there as a boy and collect pies mash and liqueur take home for dinner, have been back a couple of times since, But this weekend I am taking my wife Daughter and my Grandchildren its there first time, and its been 25 years since my last visit can''t wait.
5 out of 5
reg giddings
Saturday, September 21, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

WAS BOUGHT UP IN 40 & 50,S ON PIE MASH &EELS ,COLLECTED IN A JUG & A BAG.
Haven,t been for 15 years or so,now I live in Devon.
I see that "Manzes" sell in online ,why don,t you follow suit. I have had it in Bermondsey & East End but it does not compare to yours. Sincerly Reg Giddings
4 out of 5
David Brown
Monday, July 01, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

My grandfather loved jellied eels, so I blame him. So sad that there are so few pie & mash shops left now.
The secret is the taste of the liquor - and Harringtons has the best - worth travelling for double eels & mash !
Could do with a spot more mash and look more like Tower Bridge Rd Manzis - but I like the twenties feel of this shop. My only real complaint is that my girth has increased after years of double eels so that I can hardly Squeeze along the benches now. Oh - and you can get your hair cut over the road for £4 !
5 out of 5
Acatlover
Saturday, June 15, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Discovered this Pie and Mash shop a couple of weeks ago, although it is three train rides from Fulham will be going there on a regular basis. It was like stepping back in to a time when my Mum used to take us to Jerdan Place Pie and Mash shop which is now a barbers!
5 out of 5
Diane Hill
Saturday, January 12, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I live in France with my 85 year old husband. He was born in Tooting and ate here regularly as a kid/adult We are back in u.k. soon and will travel from Wiltshire to Tooting so that he can once again enjoy his favorite meal. In this world of constant change thank you for staying the same!
5 out of 5
Dee Elliott
Tuesday, November 27, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Been having Pie and Mash here for over 40 years. Tried many others but none match up. My husband wont eat it from anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Paul Woodman
Tuesday, November 06, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have probably eaten in nearly every Pie & Mash shop in London and this is by far the best.
I remember going their as a kid with my dad in the 1960s and the food and decor is still the same as it was all those years ago.

Keep up the good work Harringtons.
5 out of 5
Lynne Lawrence
Friday, November 02, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The best pie and mash shop ever. I no longer live in Tooting and make special trips back to stock up. Have tried other shops but never quite match up.
5 out of 5
Simon H
Saturday, September 08, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I was bigging you up on a social networking site the other day and, as I have moved back to Tooting, I thought I'd drop in for the first time in many, many years. Exactly the same. One of the things I like best is you don't have 97 different varieties, it's just "pie, double mash, large licker, please".

Great stuff and all for under a fiver. Gorgeous food and RIDICULOUS value.

Also, after the interweb discussion, I checked out a couple of restaurant comparison sites.

You are OFFICIALLY the best pie and mash shop in London.

Top bombing. Keep it up
5 out of 5
Richard Edgeworth
Tuesday, August 07, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Best in South London keep going still the best old London grub avaiable.
5 out of 5
MR R SEALE
Friday, June 08, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

BEST PIE AND MASH SHOP AROUND
5 out of 5
steve lainsbury
Tuesday, June 05, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Spent all my child hood in tooting, went to school in Tooting went to pie & mash shop for dinner every week loved it . This was back in 1975 moved away to the Midlands in 1986 still go back for me pie & mash regular will be back in Tooting on the 16th of June for me pie & mash Fantastic food thank you
5 out of 5
Pam
Tuesday, May 29, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

best pie and mash shop ever. friendly service lovely original surrounding
5 out of 5
mick
Tuesday, January 03, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

discovered Harringtons in Tooting after the Wandsorth Road shop closed. Now travel to Tooting at least once a week and always visit Harringtons. The food is excellent and the staff are always very friendly. I have no hesitation snging the praises of this wonderful establishment.
5 out of 5
R Radford
Friday, December 09, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

forgot to say born in 1951 brings back memorys of my dear dad,and my husbands mum on a friday evening we used to have a tray of pie`s 2 big tuppawear jug`s of liquor, while they were collecting it she would put potatoes on to cook what lovely memories!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
mikey
Thursday, October 27, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My goodness, this takes me back. I was born in Tooting and I used to go here at least 3 times a week. My mum used to go to the (long gone) Vogue Bingo hall round the corner and i would meet her after when we would pop into Harrington's. I am now 50 and remember the stall in the market and the branch in Earlsfield. Great days. Now living in Sussex but my brother still goes here. Great to see it is still going strong.
5 out of 5
Paul hilton
Thursday, September 08, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My Dad is in his 90th year, he loves this place, guess what we are going there tomorrow and for many more years to come..... Love ya Dad...xX
5 out of 5
beth maxwell-jones
Wednesday, August 17, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Grew up in Garratt lane and harringtons pie n mash was my treat every saturday, ran errands all week just to get my pie mash money, moved away years ago now live in wales but make the trip down as often as poss just to get my fix always take pies and liqor home to freeze and keep me going for while. keep going harringtons please.
5 out of 5
colin diamond
Tuesday, August 16, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the best pie and mash shop ever may it stay open 4 avery long tim been haveing it since 1965 mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
5 out of 5
Jim
Thursday, July 21, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

TAKES ME BACK TO WHEN I WAS KID USED TO COME HERE ALL THE TIME, WENT IN TODAY HAD ONE AND ONE
FANTASTIC.
5 out of 5
Ashley smith
Tuesday, July 05, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Best food place in the world.... trust me
5 out of 5
Sue
Tuesday, June 21, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Just can't wait to get back for pie and mash - just love it. Don't live that far but never get round to visiting as often as I would like as traffic just a nightmare but am going very very soon - can't wait! Just the best!
5 out of 5
tony
Wednesday, March 30, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

its still the best and always has been took my son and daughter there saturday( my daughter never really liked it b4 she went there) it was so good she finished off my sons 10 out of 10
5 out of 5
susan mills
Wednesday, March 23, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have just come out of hospital after major surgery and have not fancied any food atall !!!except for pie mash from the best pie shop in England "Harringtons" my daughter who lives up London has brought it down for me in New Romney Kent for sunday lunch !!!and it was lovely it made me feel alot better !!! wish i lived nearer long live Harringtons !!!! miss the Wandsworth Road one has i used to have that every saturday morning as a kid !!! and the talking birds were an added pleasure to hear "more pies coming up" make way !!!
5 out of 5
sandra young
Monday, February 21, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

When I was a little girl the thing I looked forwrd to the most was pie and mash on a saturday night when we had taken my nan back to her house.
I live on the isle of wight now and my sister and I still make at two trips a year to the best pie and mash in the whole world.
5 out of 5
Lesley Gilbert
Wednesday, January 12, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great food, excellent value and sadly one of the last Pie and Mash shops around, has to be the best in London now. We used to use their sister shop in Wandsworth Rd, which has since closed down, so now get our unfortunatley infrequent fix whenever we visit our family in Battersea having moved to West Sussex 10 years ago. Long may it reign.
5 out of 5
Micky Ryan
Wednesday, November 17, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Have been going to Harringtons for years, have had pie and mash all over London from North Ken to South London since I was about two now 66. Known Dave the cook for years as well, I was football manager and ref in the same leagues as Dave, a great guy. Kids comeing for a visit Thurs and getting me Double pie and mash + some hot eels. The best left in London now.
5 out of 5
wal minden
Sunday, October 17, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I grew up in tooting and visited harringtons every week with my dad. Since leaving tooting for cornwall i rarely get my fix of 3 pies two mash and two liquer, although i will be back in tooting this weekend with my good friends Buka Scary girl and Harpo. We shall all be in for that great tasting treat. Thank you and long may you remain in Selkirk Rd.
5 out of 5
Delboy
Friday, October 01, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Allo Mick, yes Dave still works in Harringtons and is still footy mad, do you know hes cousins Jim Mahoney and Shirley Williams ?
they are both on a Battersea forum that i run, if you do know them ill put you in touch.....
Delboy
5 out of 5
Delboy
Friday, October 01, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Allo PollyChelsea, you nearly gave me a heart attack, i just rung Bev at the shop and she assured me they are not closed and have no intentions of closing....Happy Days.....The greatest Pie and Mash on the planet......Delboy
5 out of 5
PollyChelsea
Saturday, September 18, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I'm sorry to say but I think Harrington's has closed down, I would love to be corrected, fingers crossed
5 out of 5
Joan &Ted
Thursday, July 29, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Been coming here since i was 12 and now 79 my Mum used to take me there every saturday what lovely food no one else can match up to them i used to live in Wimbledon and now live in West Sussex but every time we come to London our first call is to Harringtons Ted used to be a Merchant Seaman and was away from this country for 25yrs and when he came back he said pie and mash tasted just the same as when he went away hope you carry on for ever thank you !!!
4 out of 5
KEN Crawley
Monday, July 26, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Been going to Harringtons for the last 60 years. Hope to be going for the next 60 years. Wandsworth Rd my first tast of necter. Then i got married. What happend to the old black bird that used to sit at the end of the counter, calling out for more pies, not even a please. Always went after Saturday mornning flicks.
5 out of 5
Ali maggigan
Friday, July 23, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Harrington’s pie & mash is without a doubt the best cuisine going – so much so that my best friend Lydia Carruthers (of Raynes Park) has been known to eat your leftovers out of the dustbin – a sure fire seal of approval if ever I’ve seen one... I also praise Harrington’s for filling her labyrinth of vodka bottles with vinegar – for although she is a raging alcoholic and the descendant of gypsies – pie, mash and licker will always be her first love... Thank you.
5 out of 5
Trudie
Wednesday, June 30, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I was born and bred in Tooting 1A, Cowick Rd, and was brought up on Pie, mash and liquoer. My late mother often used to send me to get some to take home on a Saturday as a treat. Taking our own bowls, empty jam jars, and then licking off all that lovely mash that got stuck to the paper bag once I had got it home. I wasn't keen on the jellied eels or stewed ones, but my mum loved them although my father was not that keen either. (I think I was put off by watching the lady in the market shop of Harringtons chop up all the wiggling slimy eels, that they had in the big metal trays on show with an enormous lump of ice melting on top of them, and seeing all the blood wiped all over her white apron) Am not sure if the shop in the market is still there?, but I am glad that there is still one in Selkirk Rd, as I used to go to Ensham school with a girl called Jackie and she worked there, I think she married one of the owners back then in the 1975/76's. Hoping to come back to the UK soon as have been living in Tenerfie for the last 8 yrs, and will def. go to Tooting, to have my old fav. Pie mash and liq. Yum. keep it going.
5 out of 5
june sanders
Wednesday, June 02, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Have been going to Harringtons since the late seventies ( my husband introduced me !!! )
find it a bit of a squeeze nowadays to get behind the table ( too many of their pies !! ) but love the atmosphere and always friendly staff.
My son has eaten the pies since he was old enough for solids and all the family enjoy them , I don't very often get to sit down to eat it but always take it home ( and enjoy it every bit as much ) I hope that Harrington's will always stay where it is and that the family carry on the tradition through to their next generation.
I am just going to go there now as all this talk of pie and mash is making me hungry !
4 out of 5
Mick Sinclair
Tuesday, May 18, 2010


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Does Dave Johnson stil work at your shop ??
I am an old football freind and just thought that I would look him up


cheers

Mick
5 out of 5
Dolly Dimple
Sunday, May 02, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Best Pie & Mash shop ever!!! I want them at my wedding.
5 out of 5
Ben
Tuesday, March 30, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great Pie & Mash shop I come here every time i'm in Tooting lovely food & great value
5 out of 5
Ann Langley
Thursday, March 25, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been visiting there for years and have never been dissatisfied. Food is excellent and good value. Keep Going.
5 out of 5
cheryl giddings
Wednesday, March 17, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been coming here since i was a little girl my grandad who is now 84 when he was younger and at school would go here and get a bowl of mash n liquor this place has been going for an amazing amount of years and in my opinion is the best pie n mash shop in the uk it beats every other shop in south london
5 out of 5
J
Tuesday, March 16, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

SIMPLY THE BEST BETTER THAN ALL THE REST
5 out of 5
jasmine knowles
Tuesday, March 02, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

HELLO.... I WORK AT HARRINGTONGS PIE AND MASH SHOP IN TOOTING SELKIRK ROAD AND I AM THE MANAGERS DAUGHTER! WE HAVE NOT CLOSED DOWN NOR HAVE WE MOVED. AND WOULD LIKE TO ASK PEOPLE NOT TO SPREAD RUMOURS THAT WE HAVE CLOSED DOWN!!!!

OUR OPENING HOURS ARE AS FOLLOWS:
SUNDAY- CLOSED
MONDAY-CLOSED
TUESDAY- 11AM TO 6PM
WEDNESDAY-11AM TO 4PM
THURSDAY-11AM TO 8PM
FRIDAY-11AM- 8PM
SATURDAY-11AM TO 8PM


IF U WOULD LIKE MORE INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT US: 0208 672 1877
4 out of 5
Linda
Tuesday, March 02, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

HELP!!! Me and my family have made a special trip every couple of months to Harringtons in Tooting because it is so delicious. My sister went by there 2 days ago and she said it was closed and boarded up!!. Please can someone tell me if they have gone for good or moved elsewhere. It would be a terrible sin to lose this icon of a place. Also the people and food.
5 out of 5
george doel
Saturday, February 27, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been eating pie and mash at harringtons for over 60 years ( I am now 72) My daughter took me for pie and mash as a treat for my 70th birthday.
have just had a phone call from my 14 year old grand daughter pleading with me to take her and my daughter for pie and mash next week ( we live in Coulsdon Surrey ) Without hesitation the answer was yes!!!
There is no better pie and mash anywhere
4 out of 5
JOHN HOMAN
Saturday, February 27, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I'M NOT SURE IF HARRINGTONS IS STILL OPEN IN TOOTING?
BUT I JUST WANTED TO SAY THAT I LIVED IN TOOTING AT THE OUT BREAK OF WW2, AND AS A THREE YEAR OLD MY GREAT GRAN USED TO TAKE ME THERE FOR A "THREE PENNY BOWL" THAT WAS STEWED EELS AND MASH WITH LICOUR IN A SMALL BOWL,JUST FOR KIDS.
LATER WHEN I WAS ABOUT 10 OR 12 IT WAS A WEEKLY VISIT TO PICK UP A JUG OF EELS AND MASH FOR MY DAD. hE WOULD GIVE ME TUPENCE FOR THE TRAM TO THE BROADWAY AND BACK. BUT I USED TO RUN THERE AND BACK AND SAVE THE FOURPENCE TO GET ANOTHER HELPING OF MASH ON MY PIE!
I ALSO LIVE IN KENT NOW BUT EVEN AT 73 YEARS OLD TODAY I HAVE WARM MEMORIES OF HARRINGTONS AND MY PIE AND MASH .
1 out of 5
Theresa
Sunday, February 07, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Well what can I say I married a londoner from Tooting who never ate the pie and mash even thought he lived in undine street, but I loved it by the way im from solihull west midlands and happened to be there this week end and begged my Alan to stop in Tooting to get my pie and mash and yes it lived up to my dreams 23 years later
thanks ever so harringtons your the BEST
5 out of 5
Martin Hill
Friday, December 25, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My parents remembered going in when they were doing the paintings on the walls and it was always my favorite treat as a young kid to go there.

In 1980, some three months after we got married, I took my wife there, just saying that we were going to what I considered the best restaurant in London. She was a bit taken aback when she walked into the place wearing all her finest and, being from Leeds, did not have a clue what Pie Mash was all about, (thier version was pie and peas, where the "pie" was a hot pork pie - FAIL).

Unfortunately, she used one of the eel bone "spitting" jars to stub out a Dunhill International cigarette in and got a good telling-off from one of the regulars. I had to agree that it was a disgusting thing to do and we had our first big argument as a couple.

Happy days.

Whenever I am back in the area, still make a pilgrimage to the wonderful place. No other pie mash comes close.
5 out of 5
gary
Saturday, December 05, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I just remember those marble slab tables and the tiles and mirrors, bench seats, sitting along side mums with thier kids, old women gossiping about thier men, old men doing the same. It just felt right, like the history of the place would never end.

I tried a pie and mash shop in Welling, near to me, I made the mistake of saying the time old phrase -- 'double pie, double mash and lots of licker'............. In Tooting when it was always busy, that was the norm. But, in Welling he thought it was being rude!

Anyway, it wasn't the same.............. probably pies were not home nade and instead of scraping your mash onto the sde of your plate, they used scoops like a dinner lady at school............ now thats wrong ain't it?
5 out of 5
Gary
Saturday, December 05, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I grew up in Links Rd, Tooting. My Dad was Ken Smith, the window cleaner, some of you probably know him (a real gentleman till he died a few years ago).
Pie and mash was a weekly treat for us. Mum would spend hours in British home stores at the end of the road, then through the market to the back entrance of M&S, Me and my sister and my dad loved to spend the time in 'Selkirks' as we called it. 'Double Pie, double mash and lots of licker' (spell) Jellied eels on the side.
Years later, when he was older and not very well, he was in St Georges, we would pick up a take away for him and take it up to his ward. Didn't take long for the rest of the other patients to give their orders and we were carrying up bags full of the best nosh in London..........
Nite dad
5 out of 5
Gina carver
Thursday, November 12, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I grew up on Harringtons pie and mash every saturday for tea heaven.I am now 47 and still love pie and mash,although i have not had it for a while.I am taking my hubbie and kids ther soon,just so they no what i am talking about.
5 out of 5
Debbie
Thursday, September 10, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I grew up on Selkirk road number 25, till the age of eleven, then moved to Wales, the one thing i have always missed is good old pie & mash. I dont get to London very often, but when i do ill call for some pie & mash, When i was a kid i used to trot down to the pie & mash shop for my mum in my dressing gown, with jam jar in hand to get her some jellied ells, only if i could have some pie & mash. Looking forward to my next visit in October, carn't wait.
5 out of 5
Tayla Grant
Saturday, August 22, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I Have Been Going To Harringtons For About 18 Years Now. And Was A Big Part Of My Childhood. Harringtons Is The Best Best Ever Pie & Mash Shop. Every Time I Pass Through Tooting, I Just Cant Resist. I Even Want Them To Cateer At My Wedding. :)
5 out of 5
Ray kerslake
Friday, August 21, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I was born in southcroft road tooting,later we moved to Morden,Through my teens I ate in harringtons two or three times a week. In 1960 I moved to the Isle of Wight. Where I married and still live at the age of 71. I still visit London six or seven times a year, and never miss a Visit to Harringtons when I do. Theres no meal that can come near that taste. Writing this is making me hungry, I cant wait for my next visit.. 10
5 out of 5
KEN, NEW YORK U.S.A
Tuesday, August 11, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Born in Battersea in the late 40s. Visit the London about 3or4 times a year. Always when in the UK i have my pie and mash, it used to be at Wandsworth Rd, now at Tooting. It taste just as good as it always has been. I also remember the minor bird i think, at Wandsworth Rd. The yanks dont know what they are missing. All i can say is thankyou
5 out of 5
jasmine knowles
Wednesday, July 29, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

HELLO EVERYONE,
I AM THE OWNER OF HARRINGTON'S IN SELKIRK ROAD. I JUST WANT EVERYONE TO KNOW THAT THE PRICES ARE NOT CORRECT ON THIS SITE AS I DO NOT PAY FOR THIS WEBSITE. ALSO THE OPENING TIMES ARE NOT CORRECT EITHER.

THE OPENING TIMES ARE:
MONDAY- CLOSED
TUESDAY- 11AM-6PM
WEDNESDAY-11AM-4PM
THURSDAY-11AM-8PM
FRIDAY-11AM-8PM
SATURDAY-11AM-8PM
SUNDAY-CLOSED

THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR KIND MESSAGES AND LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING YOU!


"ALSO WE ARE ON HOLIDAY FROM THE 3RD OF AUGUST AND WE WILL REOPEN TUESDAY THE 18TH AUGUST AT THE NORMAL OPENING HOURS!!!"

5 out of 5
Vicky of Buckingham
Monday, June 08, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Having grown up on pie and mash and a memory of having pie and mash on the way home from Saturday morning ABC in North End Road. It was a treat to find Harringtons in Tooting as I remember the original and this is the original recipe of pie mash and liquer. Its nectar to us who were born in the 50s and who used to be sent by our parents to the pie and mash shop for a take away. Kids now who think McD is the best take away havent lived as the original eat in and take away is the good old pie and mash. Long may it be served and Harringtons you are the best. Wish there was as good in Bletchley
5 out of 5
beverley
Tuesday, June 02, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have eaten pie mash from many different places but i love this one its what us old school say is proper pie mash none of your scoops of mash for me thanks spread round the bowl please. my 3 girls all love the stuff and as soon as they could eat solids thats where we went now im proud to say my grandson is a true fan of the stuff and hes all of 18 months . long live pie mash its the only meal that we will all eat the same . bev
5 out of 5
Peter
Tuesday, April 28, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been eating Pie and Mash for as long as I can remember and used to live in Battersea and use the Harringtons in Wandsworth Road. Now use the one in Tooting and you really can't beat Haringtons for traditional Pie & Mash!!! I can also remember the bird in the Wandsworth road store and it used to mimick the staff and shout out ''tray of pies'' to the cook!! great times!!
5 out of 5
Kerry (Wandsworth)
Tuesday, April 21, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

That best food ! cant beat a english dish of pie and mash !
5 out of 5
annwarmisham
Tuesday, April 21, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i used to eat in the wandsworth road when i was a kid and the memory is one of the best no the best pie and mash ever i so miss it now i live up north and it is great to hear they are still going i am now 57 and i remember the myna bird who used to greet the customers long live the cockney dish .
5 out of 5
deborah moore
Wednesday, March 25, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I also have been eatin pie mash from harringtons since I was born, its my favourite food in the whole world. I have eaten it from being a hutchison to a jennings to a moore.
5 out of 5
Michelle
Tuesday, March 17, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Best pie and mash ever ! We come all the way from Brighton whenever we can. Which is often enough! My mouth is watering just writing this. yum !
5 out of 5
jasmine
Saturday, February 21, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

hiya guys thanks for the great reviews i am an employee at harringtons in selkirk, i dnt no who set up this site but the times have changed.

monday- closed
tuesday- 11am-6pm
wednesday-11am-4pm
thursday-11am-8pm
friday-11am-8pm
saturday-11am-8pm
sunday-closed

u can also contact us on 0208 672 1877
5 out of 5
Danny
Tuesday, December 16, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is the stuff of dreams!!! I have eaten all over the world, but the one place that comes to mind when someone asks "what’s you favourite food" is Harrington’s Pie 'n' Mash Selkirk Road, Tooting. My family have been coming for generations and remember the old parrot perched on the landing and the old dumb waiter and till upstairs. Great memories, great simple food - that always give you a nostalgic feeling.
5 out of 5
jack bye
Thursday, October 09, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Harringtons is the best pie and mash shop around no argument about it. My Grandad has been taking me and my cousins there for years on saturday mornings on the way to football. Now ive moved to bournemouth and really need to find another one.
5 out of 5
helen ayliffe
Wednesday, August 06, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Yep, even at the ripe old age of 51 I can still squeeze in between the bench and the marble top tables in Harringtons - life just would not be the same without pie and mash. May Harringtons never, ever close. Is Tooting the only branch left now ?
5 out of 5
sharon wells
Wednesday, August 06, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My dad took my sister and i as babies.. we were brought up on pie and mash.. Harringtons is the best in England.....loved the old mum with her blue rinse hair do..she did the washing up.. Was help yourself to clean cutlery from a big plastic bowl..jam jars on the table to spit the eel bones in and the old vodka bottles with the vinegar in....My dad has passed away now but we still go and think of him as we eat it....
Long live Harringtons....
5 out of 5
Iris Pettitt
Thursday, July 10, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

As children in the 50's our weekly treat was pie and mash and we just loved it and still do. When my brother was in the Army during the 70's and coming home on leave, he was asked by the lads in his regiment to bring back pie n mash. So I had to phone and order about 50 pies and containers of liquer so that he could take it back to Ireland where the troops were based. My newphew who lives in Malaysia has to make you one of his first visits, and the same thing applies to my niece who lives in Hong Kong. I am coming down from Lincolnshire and guess where my first port of call is? Yes the Pie n Mash Shop. Plus orders to take it back to the family.
5 out of 5
Danny Mills
Friday, April 04, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I was born in 1956, and as a child my family were treated once a week to pie and mash from harringtons, I remember as a 6 year old walking to harringtons with my Mum to get the take away with our own glass jars for the mash and liqour.
Fantastic stuff.
I now live in South Africa and every time I visit London Harringtons is first place on my visit list, the ambiance is perfect, apart from a coat of paint here and there the decor hasn't changed since I was a kid.
Great stuff, Harringtons should be preserved as a heritage site..
5 out of 5
L
Saturday, March 29, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i am 21 and have always loved pie mash. i try to go once a week normally but now being pregnant i do go sometimes 2 or 3 times a week. i love it and cant eat it anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Piemaster Ken
Monday, March 10, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Very nice pies and mash, gladly in the same league as Cooks (W12). Pies slighly smaller than elsewhere and take a close look at the price board. No Liquor here its Licker all the way, unique and charming. Get there whilst you can, London needs to hang on to Pie and Mash, perhaps we should make it law for the 2012 Olympians to train on a double double each day!
5 out of 5
gary garner from exeter
Friday, February 15, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i am 44, have been eating at harringtons ever since i have been on solid food, used to got o both their rastaurants, tooting and wandsworth, my dad was an electrician, and rewired the wandsworth restaurantwhen we lived in london, we moved from there in 1969, i have had a few meals in there since, but last time was probably 1999, am going to london for family reunion, so am taking my wife for pie and mash on sunday 17 february 2008,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,fantastic food, may they live on for ever!
5 out of 5
Jay
Tuesday, January 22, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The best pie and mash in London. I eat there when I can now, I live in Kent but visit when I can.
5 out of 5
dave
Wednesday, January 09, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

10 nothing like enough. if you like pie n mash it's the best, if you've not been to Harrington's it's an unforgettable experience. i would happily take every one i ever met, and yet to meet to Harrington's. It ought to be world famous.
5 out of 5
dominic saban
Thursday, October 25, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Love it!
My dad used to take me, his dad used to take him and his dad used to take him!!..but he didnt like it
5 out of 5
pat
Tuesday, September 18, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

harringtons is the best pie and mash shop in england ive tried others and nothing comes near harringtons.
4 out of 5
andy
Sunday, September 09, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

my dad took me to pie/mash when i was a kid, now i take my kids, great food, great service, love it. the late night close is good too!
5 out of 5
Colin Oakes
Monday, May 14, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The best by far!! Unbeatable!
5 out of 5
John Carr
Saturday, May 05, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is the Best Pie and Mash Shop in the whole world. The Rating of 10 out of 10 is not enough. Family have been coming to Harringtons Since 1970's
5 out of 5
lewis everett
Sunday, March 25, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the ladies that work there should know my mum lisa everett and can you tell them to email me back
5 out of 5
Yarn
Thursday, March 22, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Not really service because it's not that type of place...But this is THE best place in London for this meal. Has been for decades.
5 out of 5
kerrys mum
Monday, December 04, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

simply the best......
5 out of 5
kerry
Sunday, December 03, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

am 38yrs now my mum stared taking me to harringtons as a baby she said i liked a bowl of mash and liquor iv been eating pie and mash all my life harringtons is the best i live in eastbourne now and its harder for me to get there i all fancy pie and mash i love it my all time fav food
5 out of 5
Paula
Wednesday, November 29, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What can you say WOW, LOVE IT, WANT IT, MORE.Grandparents Parents Aunts Uncles Friends & I have been going there for years and years, even after moving to Banbury, and then Bournemouth . The owners are brilliant, cheerful, helpful. The Ambience makes you want to stay all day. The value excellent far better than McDs. KFC or any other fast food. I now have it bought back to me if not able to get there albeit it frozen. Even had it on my wedding day. What more can you say, apart from Thank you and No more holidays its along way to come to find you closed!!
5 out of 5
Peter
Monday, November 27, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

If you like Chas and Dave, you will love this place.
Not only does the food tast great but the atmosphere is total, traditional London.
I have been going there since I was a young child and I think its whonderfull that as it is a family run buisiness the faces I remembered as a child are still welcoming me to this day.
This is one place that can't be emmulated (unlike your coffee shops and burger joints).
This is real and truely enjoyable.
Don't deny yourself the pleasure. One visit is enough to drag you in and keep you coming back.
My personal choice is double pie and mash. I load the pie and mash with the spiced vinegar and salt (yum).
I have never ventured into the eels but one day I may give it a go (eels are truely traditional).
Love the place. Long may harrington's live and carry on trading forever and never lose its roots and tradition.
5 out of 5
Bill Heath
Saturday, November 04, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

to review harrington's...

my nan went as a kid. she took my mum as a kid. now theyre both still takin me and im reaching 20. cant beat it. long live bloody england,
3 out of 5
clarke
Tuesday, October 17, 2006


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I am now 24 and have been coming here since i was a child, my old man has been coming here for many years too, he's 47! We enjoy the pie and mash once in a while and it's a treat. Long may they live on!
5 out of 5
tony
Saturday, October 07, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i have moved to w sussex and miss pie and mash so much thers one in bognor but it ait any good has anyone got the recipe to tied me over untill i go to tooting....please
5 out of 5
John Dickinson
Sunday, July 30, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My family has always eaten Harrington's delicious pie, mash, eels and liqour whenever we are in the Tooting area. We live in Wallington, Surrey about 8 miles away and when the mood takes us, and it often does, we jump in the car and cheer ourselves up with the thought that we will soon be eating in the pie and mash shop! Their food is nutritious and very tasty - just how do they make those pies! We have got to know the people who work in the shop well over the years and enjoy chatting with them. The proprietor and his family are very friendly and always make us feel welcome. You can also meet some local colourful characters. Our nearest pie shop in Sutton just cannot compete!
5 out of 5
Sandy
Thursday, July 20, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We live in New Zealand and my hubby longs for Harrington's Pie and Mash. in fact it drives him nuts when he rings his parents and they say "guess what we just had for tea".................I wonder if Harringtons would give me the recipe and I could cook it at home for him cause he drives me nuts dreaming about it.

Looks like when we come back to london for a visit all we will be eating is this awsome Pie and Mash! Keep it up
5 out of 5
jase
Tuesday, July 11, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What do i say!... this place is fantastic ive been coming here since i was a kid and have been to loads of other pie mash shops all around and this is by far my fav!!! on weekends if me and my brother had been good, (forget maccy ds or fish & chips) mum used send me and my younger brother to go fetch pie and mash! great days im 18 now and i still drop by everytime im in tooting, if your ever there i strongly recommend popping in...
5 out of 5
Annette
Thursday, April 06, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been eating pie and marsh since i was a child, my mum used to take all the kids to the pie and marsh shop, give us the pie and marsh and then go off and do her shopping, i would not know what to do if the shop closed down as there not alot of good pie and mash shops around any more, i also am 3 months preganat.
5 out of 5
Chelle Jarman
Monday, March 27, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i have been going to harringtons since i was a baby with my mum. I'm now nearly thirty! Mum said even as a baby i would eat the mash and liquer all mixed up. At the moment i'm three months pregnant and i'm craving for pie and mash, but unfortunately i now live 20 miles away and the only time i go to tooting is to visit my great nan who is 96 and she has also been going to harringtons for a very long time. The shop is very old fashioned but it adds to the atmosphere. There is always a queue outside so that must tell you how good it is. If you are ever in tooting you must visit HARRINGTONS pie and mash shop!
5 out of 5
Dan The Man
Thursday, December 15, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is the place of legends! If you find yourself in Tooting, eating here is a must. I live in Bristol now but still find myself getting stuck in to "double pie and mash" when ever i come back to the home lands. Check it out. you won't be disapointed...
5 out of 5
jason
Saturday, December 10, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been going to harringtons since i was a kid,i'm nearly 40 now. I have to say it is by far the best pie and mash shop in our fair city. I don't make this boast lightly because i think i been to every pie shop in town at one time or another, and they just dont cut it.
4 out of 5
Tuesday, August 19, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The best pies in South London, a shame they have to go on holiday. If your getting pies to take-away always ask for cold ones because hot pies by the time you get home the pastry is no longer crispy.