homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Fish In A Tie, Clapham Junction (Rail)

Fish In A Tie

105 Falcon Rd, London

4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews
Review Fish In A Tie Rate and review Fish In A Tie


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Carly
Thursday, May 14, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The best food in London! The service is excellent (I have no idea what the person below was speaking of) and in fact the vast majority of the servers have been there for years and are absolutely lovely. The food is amazing and you simply can't beat the prices.
3 out of 5
anon
Sunday, April 01, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I've been here a couple of times and the food here is great and very reasonably priced and it's a good atmosphere. Recently however the service has deteriorated. I booked a table for two on a Friday and had to wait 25 minutes to be seated, during that time the staff were evasive and unhelpful. Slight case of success breeding complacency towards patrons? I wont be back. Ever.
5 out of 5
George
Tuesday, January 23, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Back for a third time here, as we love it so much. Do not even live in London and this is a firm favourite. As usual they did not dissapoint. Food was delicious and nice portions. Not too little, yet not too big, just perfect. Had the sticky toffee and date pudding from the specials board, one of the nicest things I've ever tasted. Staff were friendly and cheerful. Regardless of being rushed off their feet, they brought the food out in perfect time. Not so quick that you felt rushed, but we were not kept waiting wondering what had happened to it! It has a real rustic atmosphere, that is always busy. My only slight complaint is that you can be crammed in a little, but being such a busy place, sometimes it cannot be avoided.
It's so easy to get to, being near Clapham Junction, so this place should be tried by all.
4 out of 5
Maxine
Monday, August 22, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We were the only ones in the restaurant for a late lunch but were made to feel very welcome and in no way hurried. The menu is extensive and imaginative, and the food well served by a charming and professional waiter.The 3 course set lunch menu for 6 pounds would have to be the bargain meal in London. Whether you are a tourist or a local, don't miss this gem.
4 out of 5
rick
Saturday, August 13, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

We visit Fish in a Tie,on every visit to London.For excellent quality,good value food this place is tops.
Service professional, unobtrusive.
5 out of 5
George
Wednesday, July 27, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

One of the best eating experiences in a long time for me. Went there earlier this year, a little late on this review I'm afraid. Food, choices and prices were amazing, staff very friendly and helpful. Place was maybe a little cramped but had a really cosy atmosphere. Thoroughly enjoyed by myself and my girlfriend!
4 out of 5
Jane mason
Friday, December 10, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This has always been my fav place to eat out with friends since moving here two years ago. I have to say honestly that the level of service has dropped. I recently went for a meal and was very unhappy with the behaviour of the male waiters I found them rude and aggressive, making faces behind our backs when they had got our order wrong. It is a must try restaurant only if the waiters are in the right mood!!!!!!!  
5 out of 5
Deborah Walker
Thursday, November 25, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What an amazing place! The dodgy walk under a graffittied iron bridge getting there from Clapham Junction station sets your heart hammering and you wonder where on earth you're going, then once inside the restaurant - (behind a rather odd-looking purple-painted frontage sporting an animated Fish in a bow-tie) you enter a wonderful candle-lit French-style restaurant with scrubbed wooden tables, paper napkins and masses of atmosphere. Be it a Monday or a Friday this place is always packed out so be prepared to book in advance but the staff are incredably friendly, the food is amazing - Duck to Dover sole to Mushroom Rissotto - a bottle of Chateau Neuf du Pape sets you back an amazing 17, the starters at around 3 and main courses around 8, amazing value! It is by far the best restaurant in SW London - perfect for a dinner with a gaggle of friends on a Friday night or for that special date...go and find out but keep it to yourselves!...

5 out of 5
MARY REED
Thursday, March 11, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Wonderful food,wonderful staff,great  Place to impress People,3 course meal bottle of wine,coffee,46 for 3.


this place is the Pearl in the Oyster


Secret Gem Of Battersea

5 out of 5
Sally Joyner
Thursday, February 12, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A party of 4 of us went to Fish in a Tie on Monday 9th February.  We booked earlier on in the day but i would reccommend that you book before that.  We arrived and were greeted at the door.  The restaurant soon was full to the top.  People of all ages were there.  The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.  The food was beautifully cooked and presented.  We thoroughly enjoyed all of the meal and were happy with the cost at 76 for four people. All of us had 3 courses and with that two bottles of wine.
3 out of 5
brendan
Thursday, August 30, 2001


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Always busy, the restaurant offers quality French cuisine at 'why-don't-we do-this-every-night?' prices. The specialty is obviously fish, with a menu and specials board crammed with piscine delights, and there are also a couple of vegetarian options. Starters are around 3, mains about 6. The wine list is frugal but satisfactory, with prices from around 9 - 17. Expect to pay around 17 per person including wine, coffee and a fairly measly tip.