homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Fish Central, Old Street

Fish Central
Fish Central


149-151 Central Street, Barbican, London

4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews
Review Fish Central Rate and review Fish Central


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
doris jenkins
Sunday, July 12, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I and my family and friends have been patrons of Fish Central (to us it was always 'Georges') from it's early years. It was always a special place to eat because of the attention, service and excellent food and in recent years has developed into a truly gastronomic experience whilst losing none of it's personal touches. For those reasons I asked George to organise my birthday celebration. The attention and service were well above standard and the food was of the highest quality and quantity and as a special treat I was given the most beautiful birthday cake. Nothing was spared to make this a very special day for me, my family and friends. Whether you live in London or are a visitor take the opportunity to visit this restaurant, it is well worth the effort and you won't be dissapointed. We will, of course, continue to be regular visitors to 'Georges'. Hope to see you there.
3 out of 5
mike Brookes
Monday, October 27, 2008


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Would eat here again. Live in South West, visiting daughter who lives in London for weekend. Bus 55 from outside Topshop in Oxford Street, dropped near end of street leaving a short walk up. Area quiet outside Central London bustle! Clean and functional cafe decor.
Good size portions and range of fish.Starters-very good lobster and prawn cocktail; fresh whelks too tart as had been steeped in vinegar, like to put own on.Mains-whole plaice 10 good value, cod, mushy and garden peas, buttered roll fine. Chips a little soggy but plenty of them. Sweets-good value at 3.50 each, but a number of items not available. Eton mess fine with good chunks of strawberry, fresh fruit salad good but contained some chunks of unchewable mango.
Drinks very reasonably priced. Meal cost OK 60 for 3 of us.
Found customer service could be improved. Waiter tried to direct us to haddock which was "fresher"! We stuck to what we had decided beforehand. Coffee arrived before sweet. Failed to adjust bill for fruit salad problem. Egyptian waiter fine, chap who manned counter insensitive to complaint. By London standards overall very good.
5 out of 5
Craig Kilvert
Tuesday, November 06, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great place for well priced, fresh seafood for the hungry. Appeals to all with / without batter (batter options avaiable!); even non-seafood eaters will find a well cooked, well priced meal.
5 out of 5
Andrew & Mira
Monday, September 04, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The perfect place, whether for a cheap lunch or a good fish dinner. Good value, simple unpretentious ambiance, straightforward service.
4 out of 5
Richard Harrington
Wednesday, July 19, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Strange really, I work just down the road from the place. If you was to get a takeaway you'd think it was above average, but if you eat in there you think its fantastic, just something about the place. Very honest, Good, well cooked food. Bit slow on the service but the food more than makes up for it. Seriously recommend it if your after a good sit down fish and chip meal. A+
4 out of 5
Rob & Rechelle
Saturday, May 06, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Being a northerner I was very interested to see if you could get decent Fish & Chips in London...we were not disapointed..the fish was huge and tasted excellent..very good value...I would recomend highly.
5 out of 5
Charles
Wednesday, January 19, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great buzzy atmosphere, modern, excellent, aattentive service.

Explanation of specials but not pusshy.

Happy to serve starter as main course.

Food was superb, portions and taste.

Was there on a Saturday night, but there were also children there and will definnately bring my son next time.
5 out of 5
ali
Friday, December 03, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Simply one of the best in London, go and have a go,...you will be blessed.
4 out of 5
JM Lee
Monday, November 01, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The restaurant was crowded but we were willing to wait for a table as there has to be something about the food which draws in the crowd. Unsurprisingly, the food was fabulous. We were introduced to different types of fish & the waiter gave gd recommendations. The portion was generous & fish was very fresh. Fish soup is good too, but quite filling. Had a good time & a satisfying dinner.
4 out of 5
Tim
Friday, September 24, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I went to this restaurant based on the reviews I saw on this site, and they're not wrong! This is a wonderful little restaurant, with kind and curteous staff and wonderful value. The staff even gave us a free starter whilst we were deciding on our main course.


I will definately come here again and would recommend it to any fans of fish!

5 out of 5
michael adanet
Monday, October 20, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I know of no other restaurant that can beat or even match Fishcentral for food quality, value for money, friendly service and above all the new extension and facelift utterly beautifull.
www.fishcentral.co.uk

5 out of 5
JAIME COX
Wednesday, October 15, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is by far the best fish restaurant in London, and easily beats over-rated venues such as Livebait and Loch Fyne. Fish Central is a friendly, family-run eaterie that boasts great service, pleasant, modern decor and beautifully-cooked fish - all at very reasonable prices. It is hidden away but worth the trip. Fantastic.

4 out of 5
Friday, September 26, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This is our local and we love it. Great grilled fish for a healthier option and the mash potato is delicious!
Always a complete cross-section of customers...normally loads of cabbies (always a good sign) plus families, city types and the occasional tourist.
Just hope it doesn't lose any of its charm or value for money after its current extension and facelift.
5 out of 5
Mat
Friday, September 19, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The portions and the first class quality of the food coupled with the service makes this restaraunt unbeatable.

5 out of 5
cecilia
Sunday, June 01, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Although not so easy to get to it was worth the visit.


Will definitely go again and this time with a group of friends.


 

3 out of 5
Saturday, March 08, 2003


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

This is my local chippy, but I can't honestly recommend it. Appearing in the Top 10 only goes to show the sorry state of chippies in London have fallen to. The fish is totally average, at best. Avoiding the battered fish is probably a good idea because it tends to be on the greasy side (fat not hot enough then stored too long). Far better fish can be obtained from University Plaice in nearby St John Street (alas very limited seating). If you really want a "sit-down" meal then it has to be Faulkners in Dalston. Sorry guys :(
4 out of 5
Phil Todd
Sunday, November 03, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Top fish restaurant. Go for a grilled or roast fish option rather than the traditional fried and you'll be pleasantly suprised. In my opinion the best chippy in London. For the best fried fish in batter & chips you have to go north to Yorkshire and higher.
5 out of 5
Sunday, July 07, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Easily the best fish & chips/fish resteraunt I have been to in London, and by definition, the world.
5 out of 5
Neil Bonnyman
Friday, November 23, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This has grown from a small family run Take-Away established in the late Sixties to a thriving cosmopolitan restaurant who have expanded their extensive Fish Menu (try the Matzo Meal fish coating)to include Steaks, Grills and Vegetarian Dishes. Fully licenced, modestly priced. I have been pleased with the food and service for over 30 years - A true pearl