homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Faulkner's, Dalston Kingsland (Rail)

Faulkner's
Faulkner's


424-426 Kingsland Road, Dalston, London

4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews
Review Faulkner's Rate and review Faulkner's


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Steven
Friday, April 24, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I loved it, the food was great, the service was good, and best of all the deserts are lovely! This place is definately the best for fish and chips in the east end!
1 out of 5
Karen Jn-Marie
Tuesday, March 24, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Poor service & food quality.
The Starters: One Fish Soup, Best part of the meal. One Calamari, not fresh so extremely rubbery.
Main Course: One Haddock, Overcooked and chewy. One Scampi, again overcooked, chewy and hard. Salad: Limp. Sadly the Dove Sole, Lemon Sole & Sea Bass where all out of stock.
Desert: None.


4 out of 5
Steven Thomas
Thursday, April 12, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Ive starting going to this restaurant quite regulary, as recommended from a friend which i thank so much. About four years ago there were turkish owners, as my friend had a bad experiance. He started going there about two years ago as theres now new owners. He told me he really enjoyed himself as the fish and service was fantastic as his girl friend agreed. So i gave it go, it was the best fish i have ever had, my girl friend loves there grilled Halibut, its some thing else!! It was Good Friday, the restaurant was full there was about 30 people waiting for a table, we got a table about 20 minutes later as the staff was very helpful. I was sitting next this table who sais their fish was no good apparently, i dont believe that i saw that the bones were even sucked from the skate. I think louise didnt want to pay the bill, because everyone in the restaurant was very pleased with the service and food. I felt sorry for the manager as he listened to the abuse louise gave him because she didnt want to pay the bill, he controlled himself very well, he seems like a friendly guy, with good experiance, as i saw on friday. It was funny as all other customers were laughing at this table, espcially as there saw there plates were licked clean!!!!!!!!!
I advise everyone to give it a go.
4 out of 5
Rolly Smith
Friday, March 16, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The food is fantastic, the service is prompt and friendly. Even though some people may see it a little bit expensive, the bottom line is "you get what you pay for". To be frank when you sit in and dine in the traditional looking resturant you wont find better fish and chips anywhere else.

Keep up th traditional look of the resturant and the great quality of food.

See you lot in faulkners on Friday!
4 out of 5
Nicola
Sunday, October 30, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I've been going to Faulkners with my family since I was...well, 5? Something ridiculously young. I still live just round the corner from it. The food is always as good as it ever was; great chips, and the only place I've ever been to that makes a *good* cod, in batter that is not in any way a) soggy, or b) yellowy-ish gold. However a year ago my rating would've been somewhat closer to a 9 or 10 out of 10. What's changed? Primarily, the staff. What I loved about Faulkners was it's East End feel; I love the fact that I live in a very multicultural community here in Hackney, but I also loved that there was the restaurant which encompassed what is seen as the typical 'eastender'. The restaurant was basic, no reservations taken (unless you were bringing a very large party), and was staffed by incredibly friendly and cheery waitresses from the East End in simple uniform. There was just something charming about it all! You can imagine how shocked I was to walk in one evening about 8 or 9 months ago to find tablecloths, decorations (sounds ridiculous but it was v simple) and waiters in suits! They even installed a bar! What else shocked me, however, was how they'd drastically upped the price - both in restaurant and the take away. I was upset, really! I'd grown up with this place and now half the experience was gone. I no longer go to the restaurant - it's eight quid for cod and chips and half the fun to the days when it was around 3.60 (keeping in mind these days were only about 3yrs ago). The take away is a fiver, that I can about live with, but still...s'all gone.

As you can see I babble, but the point is: if you want great fish+chips, you have to come here. 11yrs and I still haven't found a chip shop that betters it. But I wouldn't bet on the whole dining experience; you could be sitting in any restaurant this side of the Thames now. Go for the take away and create your own ambience.
4 out of 5
J Dosanjh
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

In the words of Tina Turner..."SIMPLY THE BEST!" For eight years, up until 2003, I visited Faulkners on a quarterly basis with the same group of friends, from the Forex Market 'up the road' in The City. They were all discerning food critics, so that shows you how good Faulkner's standards are.

The Fish is fresh every morning from Billingsgate, chosen personally by the owner. If the market isn't up to scratch on a certain fish, then he doesn't buy it. On many occasions we couldn't have Rock, because it didn't meet his standards that morning.

The service is very friendly, and they can't do enough for you. Ignore the fool who wrote the stupid review at the beginning of this section - he wouldn't know a fish if it slapped him in the face.

I now live in Sacramento, California. There's not a lot I miss about Blighty, but I do have sentimental memories of Faulkners Fish and Chip restaurant - second to none!
4 out of 5
John Smith
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Ever wondered what a posh Fish n Chip restaurant could be like?.

Our once revered national dish is superbly prepared in a clean comfortable stylish restaurant. The walls are decorated with pictures of early 20th century East End London, and you can believe that Faulkners was there when the photos were taken.

The food is excellent and plentiful. The choice is wide and perfectly cooked. Skate wings come lightly cooked to preserve the flavour and texture, while the cod fillets are huge and golden. All of the frying is done in ground nut oil, so don't go if you are allergic to nuts! The chips are fat and brown but definitely not greasy.

An interesting change for lunch with a broad clientele. There is also a takeaway option.

Parking is not plentiful, and the area requires caution if you leave the wheels any distance off the main road.

Top meal out!
4 out of 5
Carol Pracotor
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The original seashell, Mr john faulkner is the best in the business , not forgetting mark. I worked in the seashell in the 80s. the restaurant was by far the best in the country. Mr faulkners attitude & quality of fish far exceeded even the expectations of the contstant flow of customers. I myself have been frying fish & chips for 22 years I have my own business but while in london i suggest you head for faulkners in dalston for the original seashell not to be confused with the west end .
4 out of 5
Nigel Templeman
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

In the words of Tina Turner..."SIMPLY THE BEST!" For eight years, up until 2003, I visited Faulkners on a quarterly basis with the same group of friends, from the Forex Market 'up the road' in The City. They were all discerning food critics, so that shows you how good Faulkner's standards are.

The Fish is fresh every morning from Billingsgate, chosen personally by the owner. If the market isn't up to scratch on a certain fish, then he doesn't buy it. On many occasions we couldn't have Rock, because it didn't meet his standards that morning.

The service is very friendly, and they can't do enough for you. Ignore the fool who wrote the stupid review at the beginning of this section - he wouldn't know a fish if it slapped him in the face.

I now live in Sacramento, California. There's not a lot I miss about Blighty, but I do have sentimental memories of Faulkners Fish and Chip restaurant - second to none!
4 out of 5
Andy Wells
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Don't go there for the ambience, it's just excellent, unpretentious, top notch fish and chips. I don't know where the plonker who left th enegative review below went, it wasn't the Faulkners I know.
The batter is the cripiest, thinnest most delicious you can find, there's no soggy underlayer that you often get when the batter is too thick and not cooked properly. The cod is the thickest cuts around, well filleted, with huge flakes of white fish melting in the mouth.
The chips are great - always chunky, always well cooked.
Try the mushy peas - very nice.
I'm told the grilled salmon is very nice, but I haven't tried it.
It's very good value for money. I go there lunchtimes, it's always a treat. The portions are huge, by the way. Worth every penny
3 out of 5
lima
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I've eaten takeaway fish & chips from here many times and its always OK or better, so its with a heavy heart I write this.
First thing my girl friend had scampi then haddock & chips and although the scampi came pre-breaded, ie from the deep freeze, the haddock chips and mushy peas were very good. I had a prawn cocktail to start which tasted like it had spent the summer months in the fridge and wasn't rescued even with a deluge of tobasco. Then the waiter suggested grilled Lemon Sole. It was huge, tasted fishy and was full of roe. I got a battered haddock replacement which was fine but was alarmed to be charged for both dishes. I think theres a lot of places cheaper and I know theres a lot of places better. The message; its fine for fish & chips but Don't Stray From The Path. This is Not a Fish Restaurant.
4 out of 5
Andy Wells
Tuesday, August 09, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Don't go there for the ambience, it's just excellent, unpretentious, top notch fish and chips. I don't know where the plonker who left th enegative review below went, it wasn't the Faulkners I know.
The batter is the cripiest, thinnest most delicious you can find, there's no soggy underlayer that you often get when the batter is too thick and not cooked properly. The cod is the thickest cuts around, well filleted, with huge flakes of white fish melting in the mouth.
The chips are great - always chunky, always well cooked.
Try the mushy peas - very nice.
I'm told the grilled salmon is very nice, but I haven't tried it.
It's very good value for money. I go there lunchtimes, it's always a treat. The portions are huge, by the way. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Nigel Templeman
Sunday, September 05, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

In the words of Tina Turner..."SIMPLY THE BEST!" For eight years, up until 2003, I visited Faulkners on a quarterly basis with the same group of friends, from the Forex Market 'up the road' in The City. They were all discerning food critics, so that shows you how good Faulkner's standards are.


The Fish is fresh every morning from Billingsgate, chosen personally by the owner. If the market isn't up to scratch on a certain fish, then he doesn't buy it. On many occasions we couldn't have Rock, because it didn't meet his standards that morning.


The service is very friendly, and they can't do enough for you. Ignore the fool who wrote the stupid review at the beginning of this section - he wouldn't know a fish if it slapped him in the face.


I now live in Sacramento, California. There's not a lot I miss about Blighty, but I do have sentimental memories of Faulkners Fish and Chip restaurant - second to none!

5 out of 5
carl proctor
Tuesday, October 14, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The original seashell, Mr john faulkner is the best in the business , not forgetting mark. I worked in the seashell in the 80s. the restaurant was by far the best in the country. Mr faulkners attitude & quality of fish far exceeded even the expectations of the contstant flow of customers. I myself have been frying fish & chips for 22 years I have my own business but while in london i suggest you head for faulkners in dalston for the original seashell not to be confused with the west end .

4 out of 5
Saturday, March 08, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

You can stop searching now. You simply will not find better fish and chips anywhere. Only downside is the tendency to get extremely crowded at busy times, so you may have to stand and wait for a table. Look at it this way, why are so many people be willing to wait?
4 out of 5
Stephen Moorby
Wednesday, February 19, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

In my view, this is the best fish and chip shop in London. Fish is ALWAYS fresh, portions enormous, prices incredibly reasonable.
4 out of 5
Friday, March 30, 2001


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Ever wondered what a posh Fish n Chip restaurant could be like?.

Our once revered national dish is superbly prepared in a clean comfortable stylish restaurant. The walls are decorated with pictures of early 20th century East End London, and you can believe that Faulkners was there when the photos were taken.

The food is excellent and plentiful. The choice is wide and perfectly cooked. Skate wings come lightly cooked to preserve the flavour and texture, while the cod fillets are huge and golden. All of the frying is done in ground nut oil, so don't go if you are allergic to nuts! The chips are fat and brown but definitely not greasy.

An interesting change for lunch with a broad clientele. There is also a takeaway option.

Parking is not plentiful, and the area requires caution if you leave the wheels any distance off the main road.

Top meal out!