homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for El Chico's Mexican Cantina Cafe and Cocktail Bar, Streatham Hill (Rail)

El Chico's Mexican Cantina Cafe and Cocktail Bar
El Chico's Mexican Cantina Cafe and Cocktail Bar


62, Streatham High Rd, London

5 out of 5 based on 33 reviews
Review El Chico's Mexican Cantina Cafe and Cocktail Bar Rate and review El Chico's Mexican Cantina Cafe and Cocktail Bar


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Clarissa
Wednesday, November 28, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I dont normally write reviews about places south of the river but had to with this place. Great cocktails with fantastic service and fresh food is more than you can ask for in this fun restaurant come cocktail bar come lounge! Our table was a bit wobbly and we were near the speaker so it got a little bit too loud but the atmosphere got steadily more electric as the night went on ...ended up having a dance near the bar then almost going to bed on the sofa!
5 out of 5
The Agent
Wednesday, December 29, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

DITTO the review below! Who wrote this before me...! Awesome night
5 out of 5
FOXTONS Balham/Putney
Wednesday, December 29, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Best Christmas Party. EVER!!! Great food, service and atmosphere. DJ's were fabulous too!! Definatley the place if you want a restaurant/bar combo with a kick
1 out of 5
MorreyC
Monday, December 20, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I had a very poor experience at El Chico's. The service was friendly and efficient, but everything else was a huge disappointment. Firstly, the food. Our starters (calamari and spare ribs) were served piping hot about a minute after being ordered - definitely a microwave job. The calamari had clearly been frozen. The ribs were smothered in horrible, cheap, shop-bought BBQ sauce. The enchilada I had for my main had barely any meat in it, and the big pile of half-melted cheese plonked on top of it wasn't very appetising.

But as poor as the food was, I could have put up with it if it wasn't for the music. It was just me and a friend, and it was so loud we couldn't even hear each other speak. (There were very few other diners.) And it was rubbish, cheesy old-fashioned music - Copa Cabana is the one track I remember (it was probably the highlight). Streatham really needs a decent, simple, relaxed Mexican restaurant - this isn't it.
5 out of 5
Sandrina Bennet
Saturday, March 27, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Wow!!! That was quite a show!! Just visited this place for the first time with friends, who had booked for a birthday bash and I must agree with most reviewers that it really is as good as it sounds in terms of food drinks atmosphere and service, very nice place defo will go back. Will book my own party here too!! They really do go out their was to please you, the girls were dancing on the bar :).

Fun place!!
1 out of 5
Stephanie
Tuesday, March 02, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

My husband and I went to Elchico's and had a very unpleasent expirience. First of all, when we entered the restuarant there was no one to greet/seat us. It was a Monday night so it was not busy at all. There was a manager sitting at a near by table and it appeared to be a kitchen member that he was talking to. We made eye contact and I assumed that he would jump up and be eager to help us. Instead we waited a few minutes for someone to finally come around a corner to see us. After walking past several dirty tables we were seated. Our server was efficiant in bringing drinks and chips. As I sat waitingfor our food, I noticed the manager sit a couple of other tables. This being the same manager that was too busy to get out of his chair to sit us after plainly seeing us waiting. When we inally got our food, it was horrible. I had gotten some chicken enchalladas with sour cream sauce. The chicken was very dry and the sour cream sauce tasted like it was made from mayonaise. Since I had lost my appitite I was looking around and saw that the dirty tables I noticed when we walked in still haden't been cleaned. After a couple more minutes a bus boy came around the corner and was talking on his cell phone as he bussed tables! I was a very unenjoyable expierence and I will never go back to an Elchico's again!
5 out of 5
Kelly
Thursday, September 03, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Just had my hen night at El Chicos, i cannot prase this place enough!! Absolutely wonderful, the food, the staff, the service was not what i was expecting considering there was 20 of us.. Thank you for making my hen night a great one...Definately not your ordinary mexican joint, this place ROCKS!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Chloe
Sunday, April 12, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My Family and I love El Chico's. Not only is it fantastic for birthdays and other special occasions but it is also amazing for just a normal meal out. The Food is amazing, the staff are all welcoming and lovely and once you go there, there is no doubt you'll definately be going back!
5 out of 5
Richard
Thursday, April 02, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Absolutely fantastic place.
The staff are incredibly warm and welcoming and make you feel at home immediately.
Great decor lets you know its a fun place.
The food is great, just exactly what I wanted and expected, always perfectly cooked, presented and never a long wait.
Loads of great cocktails, some can take the place of dessert and a great selection of tequila's.

Can't recommend it enough.
5 out of 5
Jennifer
Friday, June 27, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Brilliant food portions really compliment the price. The staff are always friendly and accomodating and they handle large groups well.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
5 out of 5
Laura
Thursday, January 03, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I moved to London 2 months ago and have found this the best restaurant in the entire city. Fabulous food, wonderful service and not overpriced like many other 'London' restaurants.
5 out of 5
Amalia Bryce
Thursday, September 13, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This place just rocks!!! Beware of their portions as they are huuuuuge!!!! Their pear and strawberry margarita is a must. Excellent stuff.
5 out of 5
James
Tuesday, March 06, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Absolutely fantastic! Mexicans are the best thing ever!
5 out of 5
simone
Tuesday, January 23, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i go here all the time,we always have birthdays and work do's here....they are fantastic when i comes to catering for large groups!!!(my birthday party had about 30 of us and all the food arrived together and hot!!!!) tuesday nights is ladies night..... discount cocktails!!!! ITS A MUST!!!
5 out of 5
Cat
Monday, October 30, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This place is fantastic! The menu is fantastic value, the food is fresh and well cooked and the service is great. The restaurant has no ideas of grandeur, but you'll definitely have an excellent night out.
Just make sure you leave room for the cocktails!
5 out of 5
Amy
Thursday, July 13, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I've been coming here for quite a while and for good reason. Great food, service and atmosphere combine to make it an enjoyable venue for having a fun night out. Ten out of Ten and deservedly so.
5 out of 5
Jane de Lozey
Friday, April 14, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Absolutely fantastic!!!
5 out of 5
Warren
Friday, February 24, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Damn! i'm from California on a semester break in this country and thought i'd miss my mexy food. I was until i discovered this place. It totally rocks, fine ass food, drinks, atmosphere and waitresses. And looking at the other reviews i find it only appropriate to give it a full score.
5 out of 5
Carlton
Thursday, February 16, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This place is a work of art! I took my girlfriend on Valentines Day through a reservation i had made a few weeks earlier and quite frankly glad i did. I myself saw at least 30 odd people being turned away at the door. Anyway, we had the set menu and the food was well proportioned and gorgeous. They have a wonderful array of cocktails, friendly staff and by the end of the night a few people were even dancing on the bar!
To top everything, there were several neat little touches that made you feel that this restaurant is really making an effort. An example would be the tequila glasses presented upon arrival which contained those little love heart sweety things....plus the complimentary tequilas topped the night off.Streatham, as seen with its surrounding areas of Clapham, Balham and Wandsworth is really kicking off in a big way, and places like this can only add value to the area.
5 out of 5
Tiffany Warrington
Sunday, February 12, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

"What a fantastic Saturday Evening". My friends and I had booked 2 weeks in advance, to avoid disapointment, as on our previous visit we were unable to get a table. The Chicas (as that is how the waitresses describe like to be called) took our telephone numbers, incase a table became available, however, some of us in our group could not wait another minute, as they discribed their hunger as 'near starving' and so, despite some of the group members, me included, reluctance to go elsewhere, we gave in and headed for an alternative place to dine.

So, this time round we were ready for it!! We had read the reviews on this site and wanted to play Fay Maschler for the evening.. I would describe the evening as somewhat EXCELLENT. We had informed the Chicas upon making the booking that it was Dawns birthday, the Chicas and Chicos came round singing happy birthday and provided a complementry Blue Hawain cocktail (we all took a sip) mmmm. By the end of the evening we were trying to drag a few of our group, including Dawn to come down from the bar, they were dancing with the Chicas!! It reminds you of that movie 'Coyote Ugly'.. In short, this place has no doubt proved to be our top restaurant in London. The, food, staff and atmosphere has definitely scored a top rating for us..

Thanks for making our night an unforgettable one Chicas and Chicos!.

5 out of 5
Emma
Thursday, January 19, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Seemingly, as with everyone else on this site i can only describe this place with one word - Awesome!
5 out of 5
Louise
Friday, January 13, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This place is simply amazing. It reminds me of Sticky Fingers in High Street Kensington - although not the same food, it has an informal, relaxed atmosphere about it - until the music and alcohol from the numerous cocktails kick in, where it gets to be all about having fun!
The food comes in large portions, well presented and is just soo comforting!!
Anyway, getting ready to book my b'day party there...and im rather looking forward to it.
5 out of 5
Jane
Saturday, January 07, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have booked several large parties (over 35 people) here, and it never fails to disappoint. Even though the place can and usually is exteamly packed - especially at weekends, you never feel hurried or that there is a let up in service. The staff are always friendly, the atmosphere always blows me away and the cocktails are by far some of the best i have tried in london. I have been disappointed many times before in different areas of london where it really isnt what it promised to be i.e. plain food and very boring!
The set menu that they offer for parties is a god send as the normal menu is huge , but they still have alot of variety - and the free tequilas you get are hmm...somewhat appreciated!
Anyway, definatly recommend this place to everyone.
5 out of 5
Samantha
Saturday, December 03, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Oh my god, just had the office christmas party here and it was hilarious!!! first time i've been to a restaurant and had great food, great drinks and ended up dancing on the bar with the waitresses!
4 out of 5
Martinez
Tuesday, November 15, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Hey, im from Mexico toO and i reckon you're being a little harsh. This place isn't authentic mexican, nor does it really pretend to be. Its more tongue in cheek, party atmosphere instead serious mexican - though they do put on some spectacular parties...just like us Mexicans!
Oh, and the food really is'nt bad at all - just adapted to european tastes i guess. But the cocktails are also awesome.
5 out of 5
Paul
Monday, October 24, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My God!! The best Tex-Mex i have ever tasted - and i lived in Los Angeles for the best part of a decade, where there is no lack of tex-mex establishments!
5 out of 5
Harriet Thompson
Saturday, October 22, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Hi! I use this website all the time to know which restaurants to book, and i was very suprised to see such a bad review of El Chicos. Especially as it said that the restaurant was empty on that saturday night...well, i really really do find that suprising as i had booked 20 people for a party that night! And it was one of the best nights out that i have had. Hmm...a case of sour grapes perhaps??
5 out of 5
Elaine Crawford
Saturday, October 22, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Hey this is our favourite Tex-Mex eat out place. We have been here so many times that i think their regulars must think we work there!!! We first discovered this place about 4 years ago and have been coming back since!! I even had my hen night in this fantastic place. I feel that in response to the person who visited this place is either a complete NOBBB (who goes to a restaurant, ahem ahem a mexican party restaurant armed with a newspaper???? I think he should have gone to the TATE library, its only down the road mate) or he works in another TEX MEX place and the sole slagging off is due to competion!!. Well, anyway i think you have to try out this wonderful place for yourselves to appreciate the excellent food, great service and fantastic atmosphere.

Elaine Crawford
Barrister



5 out of 5
Oliver
Friday, October 21, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Just stumbled across this website and i have to also say that i TOTALLY disagree with what leslie has to say. El Chicos is one of the most popular restaurants in SW London, and for good reason. Everything about it is unique - its food, its service, its looks, and of course its atmosphere. No other Mexican restaurant compares to this in London - and thats definatly including Cactus Blue, Texas Embassy etc etc...
As the other reviewer suggests, go check it out for yourself to see why we are so passionate about this place.
5 out of 5
Peter
Wednesday, October 19, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been to this restuarant many times, and each time i have loved it. The food is the best Mexican i have tried in London, the service is great and the atmosphere at night is electric. Thats why i could'nt disagree more with what "Leslie" had to say - for instance what restuarant will be busy at 5 o'clock? In Streatham.
Anyway, thats what i have to say and i guess its up to you guys to try and find out for yourselves but i highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Sophie Abbey
Sunday, October 09, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I adore this place. I have been visiting since it opened in 1998 and it is still as great as it was then. The food is Mexican in origin but they have managed to diversify the food into a kind of "mexican new cuisine", with all the old favourites but updated. An example is the sumptious honey duck fajita (i guarantee you won't find that anywere else!) which comes sizzling on the plate with a whole host of accompaniments- fresh gaucamole, salsa etc... As many others also say, it isn't only the food that is fantastic - it's the whole package. The atmosphere is phenomenal with the music gradually getting louder and louder past 8:30pm, until some people can't help but get up and dance - even on the bar! The service is far better then i have experienced than in even some of London's top restaurants - even when packed. They make you feel comfortable with your surroundings, don't push you to hurry up, are prompt and efficient and always with a smile.

I will go as far as to say that this place is one of only a few factors that is putting Streatham back on it's feet and becoming what it was 20 years ago - a wonderful, cosmopolitan area that is to be cherished.
4 out of 5
Katherine Pear
Thursday, June 03, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

El Chico's is a great night out, with a vibrant amosphere, ggod food, good prices and wonderful waiters that can really dance. It is now one of our favourite restaurants to go to with firends or on our own on a saturday night. The staff where friendly and well mannered, the cocktails are great and we loved wearing the sambrerios and dancing later in the evening. If you looking for a fantastic night out I recommend it!
4 out of 5
Buck Dynamite
Saturday, April 03, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

El Chico’s is one of the few jewels in SW16’s crown. Attentive service, a welcoming and cosy atmosphere and food of a higher quality than you’d expect (given the thoroughly reasonable prices) combine to make for a wonderful addition to Streatham’s High Road. I have paid three times as much for Mexican food of a much lower quality. Thoroughly recommended.