homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Da Mario, Covent Garden

Da Mario
Da Mario


63 Endell St, Covent Garden, London

4 out of 5 based on 48 reviews
Review Da Mario Rate and review Da Mario


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

4 out of 5
Anthony Bibby
Tuesday, February 10, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

A very welcoming restaurant with typical Italian ambiance. The service was excellent and the food was very good, in particular the lasagne is to be recommended.
We will definately visit again.
4 out of 5
liz
Sunday, October 19, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

lovely family restaurant. exellent food. lively athmosphere. we had a very nice evening and we will be back.
4 out of 5
carl
Saturday, August 30, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

i found this restaurant on this web site and very pleased that i booked a table for my wife and myself on our anniversary. The food is exellent and the prices are very reasonable for london. We went on a friday and the place was packed. Keep up the good job, we need a place like thet in london were they all becoming big chains. We have already booked another table for next week with a group of friends. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
celine
Saturday, August 30, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

i found this restaurant on this web site and very pleased that i booked a table for my wife and myself on our anniversary. The food is exellent and the prices are very reasonable for london. We went on a friday and the place was packed. Keep up the good job, we need a place like thet in london were they all becoming big chains. We have already booked another table for next week with a group of friends. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Sue Saunders
Monday, August 18, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

What a gem!!.......a traditional Italian restaurant, something quite rare, excellent food and wine at good prices, a small restaurant that is bustling and busy that gives good friendly service in an unobtrusive manor, We shall definitely return!!
4 out of 5
Mary Scott
Saturday, April 12, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Have eaten @ Da Mario a few times: Lovely friendly reception each time. Excellent service from attentive but non intrusive staff: a little chaotic when busy, only to enhance the atmosphere typical of a good Italian restaurant. Try the home cooked Lasagne~not to be missed~my mouth is watering now. You could equally regret missing out on some of the Veal dishes. Popular Restaurant and not very big which makes it cosy, however conversation of fellow diners does not intrude unless you are very nosey!! Not an extensive menu but quantity does not always mean quality. Very reasonably priced. Have recommended & will be back asap.
4 out of 5
sav
Wednesday, January 02, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Unpretentious italian restaurant with great good , very good service and exellent value.
4 out of 5
Simon
Saturday, November 10, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Excellent value, great food and a lot of fun. Di Marios is an endangered species in this corporate chain store world of ours. Let's all support the small guys!
4 out of 5
Martin Saville
Monday, October 22, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I have been going to Da Mario for about 5 years now. It never lets me down. Excellent traditional Italian cooking, with a surprisingly wide range, terrific wines at sensible prices, and a really friendly family greeting. It's small, not plush, but comfortable and very pleasant. Lunch outside on a sunny day. This sort of restaurant is an endangered species in the London of impersonal designer eats and mad prices. Enjoy it while you can.
4 out of 5
Sophie
Sunday, April 22, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My fiance proposed at Da Marios 2 and a half years ago, since then we have been back to the restaurant to celebrate anniversaries since.
We got a round a applause from the waiters and guests when I gave my answer....

Great food, a real sense of nostagia
We are planning to return to Da Marios in September 2007.
5 out of 5
alan
Friday, December 08, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

this is a true italian restaurant. The food is exellent and the staff very friendly.It is very hard to find a place like that in central london. It is small but with a nice athmosphere. We highly recommend it
4 out of 5
J MASON
Thursday, November 30, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

A LOVELY LITTLE ITALIAN PLACE HIDDEN IN THE SIDE STREETS OF COVENT GARDEN WHO WOULD KNOW IT WAS THERE?
VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND VERY EFFICIENT.
FOOD WAS SUPERB YOU COULD ALMOST FEEL YOU ARE ON HOLIDAY IN ITALY.
WE ARE RETURNING THIS FRIDAY YET AGAIN AND REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO THE SUPERB FOOD SERVED THERE.
3 out of 5
Tuesday, November 28, 2006


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I thought this restaurant was good value for money. It was a bit cramped and conversation became a bit difficult once a few more customets arrived. Nevertheless, it was ideal for a pre-theatre meal and I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Paddy
Tuesday, November 07, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I saw the excellent reviews on this website & decided to go there with my Italian girlfriend.We had to wait 20 mins, since we had not booked in advance for Friday night.But, the food & the atmosphere more than made up for it.A bit noisy sometimes(depends on the crowd).The scallops were nice, then the main course of pasta with Salmon & the linguine with sea food were excellent.(Linguine were better than the pasta).Very friendly owners too and overall a nice place to go for dinner.Will definitely go again.
4 out of 5
steffi
Thursday, June 29, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

i was very pleased to have found this small and lovely restaurant in covent garden. My friends and i had a great time and we all enjoyed our food. we will definetely go back again. we highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Nick Broughton
Sunday, May 07, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Another visit to this friendly, family run Italian restaurant. I had tiger prawns and my wife scallops (really tasty) followed by sea bass for both of us for the main course - what a treat.
The "lady of the house" (I must find out her name when we next visit - which we most definitely will) took time out of her busy evening to make us feel very much welcomed.
5 out of 5
sese
Friday, March 24, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I went to see the lion king last week and I was very happy to find this small and cosy italian restaurant in covent garden. The food is great and the prices are very reasonable. I had the scallops for starters and my boyfriend had the mussels which we really enjoyed. For main course i had tagliolini with lobster from the black board and he had tagliata di manzo which were also very good. My favourite part of the meal was the desert as my boyfriend and i both had the homemade apple tart with ice cream. We will surely go back as we have booked another theatre show next month.
4 out of 5
mick
Saturday, March 18, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

i came to this lovely little place with a close friend of mine and i can honestly say tha we were both impressed for the good food, good service and the true italian atmosphere. Try the homemade pasta on the black board and the homemade apple tart. Hidden away from covent garden it is hard to find but worth it !!!!!
3 out of 5
jacko
Friday, March 10, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I wouldn't say this should be one of london's top 20 restaraunts. The food was good and cheap, but it's more of a casual nice place to get a meal. The atmosphere is casual, and small, nice place for a date but not a 'wow' factor place. To be one of the 'best' restaraunts, the food, and ambience should be phenominal (ciprianni's is awesome...it's expensive, but the atmosphere is unique and nice,and the food was great and unique...there's no way i could have made this stuff at home basically). All in all an average place, worth it for a quick bite. If you want to be blown out of the water, you're in the wrong place.
3 out of 5
GB
Monday, February 27, 2006


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

A bit cramped and the food was nice but not outstanding. It was good value for money though considering its so close to Covent Garden.
4 out of 5
martin henson
Sunday, February 26, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Having read through various restaurant reviews, looking for a true Italian restaurant near Theatreland - we decided to try Da Mario's yesterday.
We were absolutely delighted with the place, and will definitely be regulars when visiting London. The food was excellent - I had delicious home made Lobster Soup, followed by a steak main course, and a varied Italian cheese selection, my wife had a beautiful starter with three different mushroom varieties, followed with Garlic Prawns and finally a Lemon Tart. Every course was tasty, well presented and well proportioned, and the owner of this family-run restaurant served served us, as did his wife, with a smile.

Cannot be faulted - there are so many 'Italian' restaurants that serve up the same old stuff, with no atmosphere or warmth in the service in this area - but no this one.
5 out of 5
rob
Wednesday, January 25, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Small, friendly; exellent food. Well done! It is hard to find a real italian restaurant in london. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!!
5 out of 5
Alison, Julie, Carol, Debbie, Sarah
Monday, September 26, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

chose da mario restaurant from the review guides. it was excellent.a small,clean, family-run restaurant-fantastic food,friendly and efficient service.we're a party of 5,choosing all different from the menu-scallops,mango and crab,rissotto,veal,salmon and pasta. all perfect.we had starter, main desert and wine-about 20 each .will recommend and revist.
4 out of 5
Neil & Lucy
Sunday, July 17, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

It can be a bit hit and miss dining out in London - but this is one of those places that has the perfect balance of experienced service and quality food. If you are a person who gets high from a dining out experience you should look no further than Da Mario's.
5 out of 5
Elaine
Tuesday, May 17, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My husband and I had a wonderful evening at Da Marios. We had booked a table as recommended by a friend. We found it hard to choose from the wonderful choices available, both on the menu and the specials board. Everything that we chose to eat was delicious, we had 3 courses and liquer coffees, a lovely bottle of wine and we just didn't want to leave!
4 out of 5
Margaret Bulpitt
Sunday, April 03, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Myself and three friends chose Da Mario to eat because it was near to the theatre that we were going to. I imagined the standard would be typical of most restaurants in theatreland but the food and service exceeded all expectations. We had a wide variety of dishes between us over three courses and without exception each one was superb. The Cappuccinos were the best we had ever tasted and the whole experience was a wonderful finale to our day out in London.
4 out of 5
Andrew
Monday, March 21, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Wow, a fantastic meal!

My wife enjoyed all 3 courses and the wine (Gavi dei Gavi, La Scolca, Fortress 2003)... which is a first!

I had the Baked Aubergine to start, followed by Meatballs with fresh Gnocchetti. Even the Apple Pie was pretty damn good. My wife had baby Calamari, then Grilled Sea Bass followed by Zabaglione Ice cream with a dark chocolate topping. All of which she said were great!

Finally, we had a smashing waitress who was always on hand to offer assistance, but never loitered.

Will certainly re-visit. Make sure you book though, as it is quite small and very busy!

5 out of 5
may
Monday, March 07, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Best ingredients, excellent food served by lovely people in a friendly atmosphere. That's how an italian restaurant should be. You should try the homemade pasta on the daily board, it's delicious! It's hidden away but it's worth finding. I will definitely go there again.
4 out of 5
paul haugen
Friday, March 04, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Absolutely lovely people and food. So much better than the Italian restaurant tourist traps in Soho or the chains. Try the apple torte with vanilla ice cream. The best.
5 out of 5
Chloe
Sunday, October 24, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I was there for a meal with my boyfriend and it was perfect.  Just the right candle-lit atmosphere, quick service and non-intrusive staff.  I would recommend it to any couple looking for a quiet place to eat.
4 out of 5
Sandra Newell
Friday, October 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Excellent food with friendly, attentive service.  We were a party of 5 and we all selected different choices from the menu.  None of us was disappointed!


The only reason I would not give this restaurant a 10 is because smoking is permitted.  The restaurant is small which means that non-smokers are subjected to constant second-hand smoke.  Were this a non-smoking restaurant I would vote it a 10+!

5 out of 5
stef
Friday, September 17, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is a fantastic restaurant that we found on this website.


The food is delicious and you are spoilt with choices.


Chose from the daily board and you won't be disappointed.


Great atmosphere and friendly staff. I highly recommend it. 


 

4 out of 5
Maurice
Thursday, July 29, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This is an excellent family restaurant - well cooked food and good sized portions at very competititve prices.  Meal price - three courses, wine and coffee around 26 pounds per head.  Fast friendly service with indoor or outdoor dining on a quiet street.  We will definitely go again.


  

5 out of 5
danielle
Wednesday, May 12, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I chose this place after it was recommended on the Evening Standard on the food and drink section. What a lovely restaurant!!!!!!!!! mouthwatering food, friendly staff and amazing atmosphere!!!A genuine family restaurant serving exellent italian food. Well done, you deserved it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Sarah Wise
Wednesday, March 24, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

It was an important occassion..a 60th birthday & a 30th birthday !! I had spent hours trying to find a restaurant with good reviews,but not over the top London..pay for the name not the food kinda thing!! . I was so pleased when I finally found Da Mario on Endell Street. We had a brilliant night!! The food is good home Italian cooking,and very reasonably priced, and the owners and staff are just great!! I will definately be going again..it was FUN !! Thanks da Mario's :o)
4 out of 5
Saturday, March 20, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

We have eaten at Da Mario at least a dozen times and have always had an excellent meal.
5 out of 5
Alexandra
Tuesday, March 02, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Hi!  My name is Alexandra.  Mario is my mom's cousin.  We are from NY.  We went to visit London, and decided to visit Mario.  We had dinner with him.  He is very, very, VERY nice.  These were the amazing foods we had: cheese bread, pizza, fish, gnocchi, lasagna and more that I can't remember...  For desert, we had a DELICIOUS strawberry cake.  It was the best cake I've ever had.  There is also a bar, a HUGE t.v., and a dancing floor thing downstairs.  The service is fast, and you feel comfortable and relaxed there.  Toodles!

5 out of 5
simon
Sunday, February 29, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This place is great, not far from covent garden, hidden away in endell street the parallel of neal street. The food is exellent with a very personal touch and lovely ingredients.We chose the scamorza and the scallops for startes from the black board which were delicious.The home made ravioli for main course were superb and we cannot wait to go there again to repeat this experience. The restaurant is very cosy and the staff is helpful and friendly.We would recommend this place for any occasions.
4 out of 5
Wednesday, February 04, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Visited on the 31/01/04 excellent "a little gem", booking essential.
Nick
4 out of 5
Shane Freshwater
Monday, January 12, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

What a great place!


Good food helpful and friendly staff and pleasant interior.

5 out of 5
mel
Sunday, August 24, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This place is a real treasure in covent garden; a genuine family-run italian restaurant with a menu offering exequisite handmade pasta and delectable homemade desserts at exellent value, you can't go wrong. Try the ravioli with crab from the daily board and the crepe for dessert and you will never forfet this place.
5 out of 5
rob
Saturday, August 23, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We find this small family run restaurant on your web and it was just the way you described it.It serves exellent homemade food resonably priced. We were impressed to find the gluten free pasta on the menu which you can have with the sauce of your choice. The wine list is well chosen with very good prices, we had an organic wine which was exellent at 14.50.The service was exellent and with very attentive staff. I would highly recommend this place for anyone who likes authentic italian food and in a great location for theatreland.
3 out of 5
Brooke
Wednesday, July 16, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Went to this restaurant after reading the reviews - food was pretty good - but really not what I was expecting for being listed in the top 10 Italian in the city.  It is a family restaurant - you could tell by the two guys running it and waiting the tables - but I wouldn't say it was friendly. In fact, it was pretty cold.  Gnocchi was good, tomatoes were very green and not ripe, but buffalo mozzarella very good, steak was overdone.  Did like the smallness and ambiance of the restaurant.

5 out of 5
Alec Stewart
Monday, March 17, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The reviews i read on this site about da Mario restaurant convinced me to try it out for myself.i'm so glad i did.nice people,nice place and a great meal!.....find out for yourself,you wont be disapointed.
5 out of 5
sylvia
Saturday, February 22, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

WE CHOSE DA MARIO RESTAURANT FROM YOUR GUIDE.WE WERE REALLY IMPRESSED WITH YOUR REVIEW. EVERYTHING YOU WROTE IT IS TRUE.THE FOOD IS EXELLENT , THE SERVICE IS ATTENTIVE AND FRIENDLY. YOU CAN TELL THAT IT IS A GENUINE FAMILY RUN RESTAURANT.
I HAD HOMEMADE RAVIOLI WITH PORCINI,MY PARTNER HAD LIVER VENEZIANA AND BOTH WERE FANTASTIC. I FOUND OUT THAT THE WIFE OF THE OWNER MAKES THE RAVIOLI AND SHE ALSO MAKES A WONDERFUL APPLE TART.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE OVER AND OVER AGAIN. DEFINETELY WE WILL GO BACK AND TELL ALL OUR FRIENDS.
5 out of 5
R Reid
Wednesday, February 12, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

From the minute we walked in the door you just knew everything was going to great. Couldn't fault it, the food, service with personality and real linen napkins excellent.
4 out of 5
Nik Waller
Friday, November 08, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Friendly Italian family-dining-room atmosphere with good honest food at reasonable prices. Prompt attentive service. Tables are a bit small but, surprisingly, everything eventually fitted on them. Will definitely use again for a pre-show dinner.
4 out of 5
Keith Knowles
Wednesday, September 11, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Happened by chance going to Da Mario's and what a gem this restaurant is. With plenty of over-priced and over-rated competion surrounding it in Covent garden this eaterie is a pure delight to visit. The food is excellent and the atmosphere relaxed with good friendly service, everything you would expect from a family run restaurant. I cannot recommend this place highly enough, in fact I have yet again booked a table for lunch for 4 people for this Friday>