homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Tamarai, Covent Garden

Tamarai

167 Drury Lane, London

4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews
Review Tamarai Rate and review Tamarai


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

4 out of 5
Stacy Parkinson
Wednesday, May 18, 2011


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

NEVER had a bad night here! Music is always beyond fabulous.Great above-the-bar classy crowd.
4 out of 5
garycole
Wednesday, April 13, 2011


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My first visit to tamarai after reading some great reviews about this place. The whole purplish interior was very appealing to me and my frnds. The cocktails were great, we were there at the club night friday & had a blast. The food was great with the perfect taste and portion size.The whole vibe around this place was very chilled out and great fun.. should definitely party here more often!
4 out of 5
jack
Friday, February 18, 2011


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My stint with Tamarai turned out to be much much better than I expected. Actually, i love to go to places where there is dinner cum lounge kind of a feel, because only dinners for me get boring. This place is exactly like what i wanted because it is a swish late night bar after 11 pm, so you are not just stuck to dining.

The most impressive bit for me is the exclusive wine list... so damn yummy!! :) Though i don't understand cooking and techniques but can quickly spot nice dishes...The sweet chilli lotus root is to die for!! Also, the waitress recommended a salad which was also very good! So, all in all its an impressive place, a few things in the menu to be explored next time!
4 out of 5
Albert Henrry
Saturday, February 05, 2011


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

For most of the times when we dine out, we end up spending more than we had thought. But the experience at Tamarai turned it around. Value for money is the first thing i can associate to this place. The food, service, decor all bundle up to give good value in terms of experience and money. The music, energy and the crowd, everything works for the place just right! Also, an interesting bit was the kind of wines this place sports. Lovely wines with its great menu made a lot of sense for us. All in all, a very cool and comfortable place to be! Loved it :)
1 out of 5
Bee Patel
Thursday, August 13, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Four friends and I dined at Tamarai, Covent Garden last night. It was a far from good experience and I was thoroughly disappointed and here is why:
The restaurant gives a fairly good first impression (70% full (at 8pm), good atmosphere, fairly nice decor) but I'm afraid that's where it ends.
The waiting staff and manager are clueless and far from professional: within our first 10mins, the manager spilt a plate of food in someone’s lap and on the floor which I almost slipped on even after they had cleaned it up.
The service gets worse...The menu states that each diner must order a 'large plate' (main meal) but fails to state that only 4 out the 6 dishes on the menu are available (the two they didn't have were the only meat dishes on the menu). I cheekily asked for a complimentary beef starter (in addition to our own starters) to make up for the lack of meat/chicken available on the main menu and to our surprise, this was not available either. All five starters arrived at different times (about 10mins apart from each other) and it was quite difficult to catch the eye of any of the staff passing by.
I requested a business card for the manager of Tamarai so I could air my disappoint in the bad service and was given a leaflet for the venue upon which he reluctantly wrote his name - no apologies were offered for the evening's events and this place definitely hasn't heard of 'service with a smile'. I would be highly embarrassed if I were the owner of this establishment and furthermore would not recommend Tamarai to anyone in fact I would do the opposite and warn them off before they even considered dining here.
On a good note, the bathroom was quite nice.
4 out of 5
Gagan
Saturday, October 11, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A fantastic night!!... I came to Tamarai with high expectations of a great night and I wasn’t disappointed. In fact my expectations were exceeded. I had one of the best nights of my life. I'd recommend this club to anyone. The amazing staff they have serves you amazing food. Even the wine list they have is better than one can find in most restaurants. All those who had have a bad experience at Tamarai its maybe its one of their unlucky days. This is a lovely place I have discovered to enjoy my evenings!!....
4 out of 5
Raven Ford
Thursday, September 18, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great food, good service, superb ambience, overall a fantastic experience at Tamarai. Three Chreers!!!...
4 out of 5
Natasha Kingston
Saturday, August 09, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Went to Tamarai night and had an absolutely fantastic time. Friendly and attentive staff, amazing food and stylish surroundings. Would recommend to all.
4 out of 5
Gerard Knightly
Tuesday, July 15, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Lovely restaurant amazing service and atmosphere. We used £48 Chefs’ tasting Menu and it was lovely and great value for money.
4 out of 5
Gary Farmer
Friday, February 23, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Delicious food, chick ambience and elaborate choice of drinks makes Tamarai one of the very few pubs where you can party all night long. After a long time i stayed in one place instead of regular pub hopping that I always end up doing. You will find everything under this roof to make your evening a great one.
4 out of 5
Daniel Higgins
Friday, February 23, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Pefrect place for a late night hang out. I had a great time and so did my friends. The cocktails were simply superb and with lightning fast service. The food menu is innovative and the ambience adds up to the whole experience.