homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Curry Palace, Queensway

Curry Palace
Curry Palace


36 Queensway, Bayswater, London

4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews
Review Curry Palace Rate and review Curry Palace


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

1 out of 5
Nikhil
Wednesday, July 06, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Eating at this restaurant was an absolutely dreadful experience. We were just looking for our first bite of good Indian food in more than a week, during our holiday to London and came upon this place. We were gestured to come into the restaurant by a waiter while we were having a look at the menu outside, who then stomped off when we told him we would like to go through the menu first. We didn't 
make much of that and thought he had to rush in for something else. We found the same chap standing at our table to take our order. This time his demeanour was somewhat pleasant but we quickly noticed that all he was trying to do was to recommend the most expensive stuff on the menu to us and strongly suggesting we order more than we wanted to. Us not doing that clearly didn't go down well with him because what followed after that was atrocious service. We were not given water even after asking for some (on the contrary he removed the empty glasses from our table) and then given some only after asking for it again. The plates as well as the food were plonked down on our table with a thud by the same guy and our questions met with monosyllabic responses. We did notice however that he was being very pleasant with the other non-Indian guests who we can only presume were trusting his incorrect recommendations. The food was extremely spicy even for our Indian palette and not great. This was definitely NOT the good Indian food we were hoping for. We asked to speak to the manager and were told there was no such person! We finally did speak to someone and complained about the shoddy service meted out to us who said he would speak to the waiter concerned. On our way out we passed our 'cheerful' waiter from whom we had now come to expect no courtesy from whatsoever. Sure enough  there was no 'thank you' or even a hint of a smile from him. This gave us a sense that our feedback was cast aside so we directly told him that we thought his service and attitude needed work. He quickly ushered us out of the restaurant so that we guess none of the other guests could catch on as to what the problem was and then vehemently denied any sort of wrong doing on his part.  We said that if he was not willing to take any feedback then there was no point in giving it and walked away only for him to shout back at us to 'learn how to order' when we go to an Indian restaurant. On asking him whether he was from
India he said he would never want to be from India and was from another country. We could only look in amazement at this delusional chap who did not want to have anything to do with India, working in an Indian restaurant and telling Indians how to order Indian food! We had a good laugh about it later but thought it  best to warn everyone to eat at this atrocious restaurant at their own peril. And do pass on our 'best wishes' to the delusional waiter should you have the misfortune of encountering him.
1 out of 5
Loreta
Sunday, October 31, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

It was awful!!!!!
The food - cant call it curry... And the service- I cant even describe. One example - the waiter was so pushy to order the most expensive things... After he brought the bread. It was one peace too much, so come back, took by hand saying to my husband - 'you took two, but you should have one spicy bread'. How we could take ourselfs. And the worst bit, he took the same bread to the couple sitting beside us.. BY HAND!
Everything seems dirty..out dated and so on. Spoiled all day...
NEVER EVEN WOULD COME BACK TO SUCH PLACE. Waste of time, money and good mood.
4 out of 5
james
Thursday, December 17, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We are fairly new to the area, Curry place has been the very first restaurant we've tried so far. Great food, clean decor and good service.
will go again.
1 out of 5
MC
Friday, November 20, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I do not recommend this restaurant at all to anyone. When I go to an Indian restaurant I expect the food to have a hint of spice. The food was absolutely awful, the samosa was cold, the channa masala was so bland, that I had to look at the menu again to see if I had ordered the right dish. The decor of this place is from something out of the 70's, the lighting was dimmed to a level where you couldn't see what you were eating. The worst part was the service. I have only put down 1 on the rating, because I wasn't given the chance to put down 0. I went there with my girlfriend, and they messed up the order on one of the dishes, so my girlfriend pointed this out to the waiter. The waiter completely dismissed her and said that she was wrong and walked away. All he had to do, to placate the situation was to say "sorry we got your order wrong" and we would have been ok with that, but to completely dismiss her smacks of arrogance amongst these waiters in this place. The outrageous part of the whole of this was the bill. I have been to many Indian restaurants which are reasonably priced, but this one completely takes the biscuit. They charge for the chutney and mint sauce. And to top it off, their credit card machine wasn’t working, probably after ripping off so many people! So we had to walk to a cash point in the rain to pay for this sub standard meal.

I read an earlier review about Bangladeshi people passing their food as Indian food. I am Bangladeshi myself and I have been to many Indian restaurants run by Bangladeshis which are superb and authentic and cater to their customer's needs. This place is a dinosaur and without the tourist trade would have been extinct years ago.
4 out of 5
Rayne Summers
Thursday, September 10, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My Favourite restaurant. Awesome samosa's, naan and tikka chicken masala make this quite an experience. But best of all is the friendly service that makes you feel welcomed. They also give out quite a few recomendations of what to try if you dont know the food, which is something I like.
4 out of 5
steven berg
Thursday, September 10, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

It's a good place, Iv'e been there a couple of times with me mates, and we have enjoyed it immensely. Had a great meal and then went outside for some shisha, they have a nice ambiance, and it's easy to just start a converstation with someone from another table.
1 out of 5
vk
Tuesday, July 07, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Horrible restaurant, horrible service. As soon as we enter the waiter asks where are we from and then says- We are your neighbours- from bangladesh.
Then every minute they pressurize to make an order. And when said we are ready to order, he tried to force the dishes we should order. So finally, we ordered and also ordered papadum with it. The paapdum comes with chutneys (looked used by other people). And after few minutes another waiter comes and aks if we were done with the chutneys as we were still eating the papadum. We said yes, and the waiter took that to others sitting outside. So looks like, everybody is tasting each others germs in them. Finally when the bill arrived, we were charged one pound for those used chutneys which we did not even order. Also, a 12% gratuity was charged whereas entire london charges only 10%. Those bangladeshi look like are ashamed of their own country and hence higlighting restaurant as Indian cuisine. Would never recommend to anyone. Beware!!
1 out of 5
Peter McDougall
Tuesday, May 26, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

the food is terrible. the service is terrible. But these are just my views

What is a FACT and should influence your decision on whether to eat here or not is that the proprietors cannot even spell the name of their establishment correctly. Its Curry PLACE on the menus and pavement boards and then Curry PALACE on the building itself. If they can't get that right but you trust them to cook you dinner then it's at your own risk
5 out of 5
b sweeney
Tuesday, April 21, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What is the first thing that comes to my mind when I think of the best Indian restaurant, situated seconds away from Hyde Park, offering a delicious and vast typical Indian cuisine, accompanied by a friendly and outstanding customer service, and for an affordable price? Answer: Curry Palace.

There I always take SAAG PANEER, amazing dish made from spinach and cottage cheese(they have a long list of other vegetarian dishes...), for which they are the undisputed Masters.

Also the Chef's Specials (Butter Chicken, Chicken Masala, Lamb Pasanda...), the Tandoori marinated dishes, Karahi dishes, Rices, Naan Breads and starters are simply extraordinary. Whatever you've ordered, you made the right decision.

Besides the restaurant then, they have a Shisha corner. They also do Home delivery, and they are quite speedy, which is great during the week if you feel too tired from a long day of work.

Try it, and you will start going there regularly...
5 out of 5
bryan carringham
Thursday, February 26, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What is the first thing that comes to my mind when I think of the best Indian restaurant, situated seconds away from Hyde Park, offering a delicious and vast typical Indian cuisine, accompanied by a friendly and outstanding customer service, and for an affordable price? Answer: Curry Palace.

There I always take SAAG PANEER, amazing dish made from spinach and cottage cheese(they have a long list of other vegetarian dishes...), for which they are the undisputed Masters.

Also the Chef's Specials (Butter Chicken, Chicken Masala, Lamb Pasanda...), the Tandoori marinated dishes, Karahi dishes, Rices, Naan Breads and starters are simply extraordinary. Whatever you've ordered, you made the right decision.

Besides the restaurant then, they have a Shisha corner. They also do Home delivery, and they are quite speedy, which is great during the week if you feel too tired from a long day of work.

Try it, and you will start going there regularly...
5 out of 5
tanisha
Wednesday, July 09, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Curry Place is great great great ...what can i say that the food is superb ambiance is very viberent and shisha space outside is great ....try the food you wont regret green chicken masala was deliciuos...
loved it highly recomend it to all people who has not been there...

5 out of 5
JAY K
Tuesday, March 04, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great Food !!!! very spacieus, good service ...good outside space with heater and shisha at very reasonable price ..


love i go there every weekend to have good food and relax with shisha


Great go there enjoy the experiance..
5 out of 5
ewa
Thursday, January 03, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I recently moved to the area never tried indian food before,but after eating at CURRY PALACE in queensway w2. i am fan of indian food the service was great they recomended me dishs and was very delicious and ambiance is great even had shisha which was a new experience for me too, so i had 2 new experience under one roof at curry palace great place check it out guys.... keep up the good food and service...i am there one a week at least... eva
5 out of 5
tony
Sunday, November 25, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great food ,good service and exellent ambience.....

They also have outside heated smoking area where you can smoke, also serves shisha at a low rate of £10.95 compare to local doing it at £15.00 so if you want to enjoy food with smoke or not curry palace rocks!!!!!!!


dont waste looking around in queensway for good indian because if dont eat at curry palace you are wasting your money and time go there try it out me and my friends loved it................
5 out of 5
samira
Thursday, November 01, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i came hear last year tried indian food first time at Curry Palace it was great experiance and i came back to london for the weekend went to the curry palace to eat, great food again even bettar now they have outside court yard with a awining with heaters and shisha so there was no restriction to smoking as we had food outside felt wonderfull great palace to go eat and relax with shisha.. i will go again when i am in london. again...love it
5 out of 5
eva
Monday, October 22, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I was in town and went to eat at the Curry palace, where they have a great outside space if you want to smoke and they also serve shisha which seems great .The red awning outside with the logo very well branded I thought ok let go in and eat was not disappointed as the red deco follow in the theme of the restaurant .....me and my boyfriend ordered a set meal called Tanisha special consist of papadams, starter for 2, 2x main dish, 2 veg dish and pilou rice and nan bread .. the food was excellent could not have chosen a better place the waiter were very helpful and after the meal we had our first shisha experience sitting outside sipping chardonnay wine and smoking the flavoured shisha which was great way to end a meal and the night ...I can go on but you have to try it at the curry palace to understand what I mean ....as I said Probably the best curry and memorable night thanks guys for a wonderful night me and my boy friend now bought a shisha for home....... we will be back .
5 out of 5
Judith Mayberry
Sunday, October 21, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Sir: I am writing from San Diego, California in the U.S. We had a WONDERFUL dinner at Curry palace indian restaurant on Queensway in London last month. The Balti lamb was especially delicious and . I have told everyone who could possibly be interested in visiting the UK about food and service at the curry palace! But best of all was the naan--it was feathery light, bubbly, and crisp on the edges. In the Indian restaurants in the U.S. we have only had denser, thicker naan, still delicious when fresh, but nowhere as good as what we had at CURRY PALACE.
4 out of 5
Bav
Thursday, June 21, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I work localy to the Curry Palace and vist there on a very regular basis. The food has always been to very high standards and the srvice is just great. I have to totally disagree with the reviwer before I am Indian myself and know Indian food. I agree that some of the dishes are not authentic but at the same time if we were going to argue that point most dishes in "Indian" restarants are not they are cooked in the pure style but for but may not contain the same foods as most traditional dishes are veg and contain no meat. The authentic styles have been used but meat has been added to cater for the western market. I would recomend this restaurant to anyone and judge for yourself but I assure you you will not be disapointed.
5 out of 5
john Smith
Wednesday, April 25, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have eaten at the curry palace and found the staff very friendly and very good. i took my wife and as she never have an indain the waiter very willingly recomended Chicken Tikka Masala which was not too spicy for her and she loved it .


Thanks

James Brown
Bristol
5 out of 5
Tony
Tuesday, April 24, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I live local to queensway and regualar eater at curry palace and the service, food at curry palace always is the bs are est ....
i read the review of pranav and i had to send this review on the diffance of the curry palace where i eat twice a week the at palace and when i ever i am there i noticed the owner manager and the staff go way over the top to accomadate me and seen to do the same for all other dinners ...i will say the named person pranav sent the review must be a competitor of curry palace who's trying to give them a bed name...

all i want to say guys keep up the good food and your high standerd because when people critsise that mean you have good things going for you!!!!!
5 out of 5
jay kumar
Tuesday, November 07, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I have visited this restuarant since they opened in feb 06 every other week and found the curry palace good with their portion and freshly cooked and the nan bread comes up as if you are eating out of the tandoor, compare to few restaurant in this area and they look after the customer if you are hear for business, llive localy or visiting london.
if you are really looking for the real taste of indian food then curry palace is your final eating destination...it is run by two young lads who know what they are doing they also have other restuarant in rickmansworth and in palmers green area.

if you are in queensway or bayswater area it is a must you visit curry palace i am british born indain i know my curry and i recomend you to eat there....
the service is exellent and ambiance is supereb......