homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Castle's, Camden Road (Rail)

Castle's
Castle's


229 Royal College Street, Camden, London

5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews
Review Castle's Rate and review Castle's


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
John Morgan
Tuesday, May 20, 2014


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

When I was a nipper me and my family live,d on the corner of rousden st and Randolph stir remember the sweet shop every Saturday back in the 50,s I'm 68 now I live in Northamptonshire but still go back from time to time and it still has'ant change,d. You could say pie and mash is still as good then as it is now.love it
5 out of 5
Sally Godwin
Thursday, October 31, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Lovely place Castles. Used to go regularly on a Saturday. My Dad had a sweet shop in Randolph St and sent me there once, I must have only been about 8, when I asked for pie and mash to take away she asked if I wanted 'liquor' ....... well I took one look at it and said 'no thank you' ...... well when I took it to my Dad with no liquor I never heard the end of it "how could he possibly be expected to eat pie & mash with no liquor"! Then I started to go with my friends on Saturday's with the long queues out of the door - but it was worth it! They told me once that the liquor was 'crocodile's blood'!

I also remember June's newsagents!
4 out of 5
Jane Boardman (nee Newton)
Wednesday, July 10, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I grew up in the 'sweet shop' at 114 Camden Road, my Dad was Fred and Mum June or any of you who lived in the area and might have come in the shop. We lived above the shop opposite the Palma Cafe where I used to play with a young boy called Gerald. I'm 46 now but have fond memories of Castles as I used to go in often as a young child and the sweet old lady that used to be there (can't remember her name), she used to show me round the kitchen and chat away. We moved away when I was 5, so a long time ago but I have been back since as I still have relatives in Camden and it was still great and definitely one of the best. If anyone remembers the sweet shop or my Mum and Dad let me know. It burnt down after we left and then became an Indian I believe. Memories eh! I'm so glad the pie shop is still going.
5 out of 5
brenda
Sunday, November 04, 2012


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I was brought up with pie and mash as a child in Hackney (a few years ago) and this was one of the best pie and mash i have tasted in many years. Would highly recommend it.
The owner and staff were very friendly and loved to chat.
5 out of 5
John hill
Saturday, August 27, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Iv been going castles since I was born the whole family go there even my boy loves it iv eaten in most of the shops in London but castles is the best by far plus they ain't tight with the potatos like most pie shops and the pies are super tasty ...
3 out of 5
peter wingrove
Sunday, February 14, 2010


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

been going to castle,s since i was six month,s old and im 51 year,s old was the best in london gone down hill now day,s but still worth a visit everytime iam in london i live in kent now day,s alway,s remember old joan she must gone now bless her , used to be a poor man,s food but not anymore bit expensive now if you have stewed eels ,,,, mmmmm loverly.
5 out of 5
Denise Paul (Clayden)
Friday, September 26, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have lovely memories of going to the Pie shop. My dad used to sit me on the counter while we waited patiently in the queue and then for Josie to serve. You had to collect your knives and forks from the little wooden tray at the end of the counter. I always had to get dad a spoon for his stewed eels! I remember the big black oven and the tables with wooden benches where you would sit side by side with someone you didn't know but it didn't really matter. When we were kids we always had Tizer with our pie and mash - dad had tea (and sometimes apple pie and custard if he could fit it in!). I think it lost a bit of its atomosphere when they changed the old benches to plastic tables and chairs but thankfully the pie and mash stayed the same - and it's still just as lovely. We always used to go up Chapel Market on a Saturday and wouldn't dream of going in Mann's - we thought it was 'orrible! I live far away now but go whenever I visit. When I'm really hungry - it's Pie, Mash and liquor that I dream of (double mash and plenty of vinegar!) Heaven................By the way, the apple fitters up Chapel Market more than made up for their rubbish pie shop!
5 out of 5
Tony White
Thursday, November 15, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I lived in Camden Town all my life untill i retired and moved to Cyprus last year.
One thing i miss is good old Lil Castles Pie and Mash. We would have pie and mash then go for a drink in the Eagle down the road. I miss it very much.Castles Pie and Mash has got to be the best in London. Hope to go there when i come over at Christmas.
4 out of 5
tommy palmer..
Monday, June 26, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

wonderfull, best meal in the world.
3 out of 5
SimpleSimon
Tuesday, November 29, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

This is a pie shop! A good one, but a pie shop! 10/10, people get real...
5 out of 5
Jo Pitman
Thursday, September 22, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My mum used to take me into this pie and mash shop when I was a toddler as it was not far from the Carnarvon Castle Pub which we used to live in. I remeber she used to sit me on the counter while she was ordering and talking with Joan who is still there. We still go in there but not as often as I'd like as my mum is on a diet and avoids the place like the plague!
5 out of 5
Kathy Thompson
Monday, August 01, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Simply the Best!!

I remember Joan who was there for many, many years - it was always good to have a chat with her, she made it feel real cosy and welcoming. The young lady who is there now is lovely and pleasant.

Have been going on and off for 45 years and YES it is the best in London. Please keep going for many more years.

5 out of 5
charlie knight
Friday, April 01, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i used to go down the castle's all the time because my nan used to live in camden. Since she movend to tottenham i havent been able to find a better pie and mash shop.
COME ON YOU CASTLE'S
5 out of 5
mrs S Walton
Tuesday, August 12, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been attending the pie , mash and liquor  shop in royal college street since a child and i have tried many different places and royal college street is the best ever, I have children of my own now and if there is 1 place i can take them and know they are going to eat every bit and thats this wonderful place,