homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Fire And Stone, Covent Garden

Fire And Stone
Fire And Stone


31-32 Maiden Lane, Covent Garden, London

3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews
Review Fire And Stone Rate and review Fire And Stone


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

1 out of 5
sun77
Sunday, February 28, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I have been to the fire & stone at twice and have regretted it each time.

The first time I ordered a pizza that came with a bowl of chips worth of diced fried potatoes on top, WTF??

The next time I went as everywhere else was booked, got a table quickly but was not given a menu /drinks orders taken until 20 minutes later! The starter of garlic bread and mozarella had garlic bread and a non-mozarella cheese on top.

The pizza was a basic cheap cheese and tomatoe pizza with weird tasting ground beef on top. I felt nauseous after, really not worth the £9.50. The only good thing about the whole place was the chilli dipping sauce
1 out of 5
top_dag
Thursday, July 16, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Nice decor and thats about all I can say is good.
Terrible quality of so called gimicky "pizzas".
Youd actually get better in Asda.
Forced 12.5% service is a joke! I refused to pay and was agressivley confronted!
Complete tourist trap!

Avoid like the plague!
1 out of 5
top_dag
Thursday, July 16, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Nice decore and thats about all I can say is good.
Terrible quality of so called gimicky "pizzas".
Youd actually get better in Asda.
Forced 12.5% service is a joke! I refuced to pay and was agressivley confronted!
Complete tourist trap!

Avoid like the plague!
4 out of 5
Louise Routledge
Wednesday, June 17, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Hi,

My name is Louise Routledge and I am the Marketing Director for Fire & Stone and whilst I appreciate that not everyone is going to love our pizzas or toppings (they are designed to be different) I have (for the first time in reading reviews written about Fire & Stone over the past 4 years) felt compelled to correct a couple of inaccuracies in previous reviews on this website.

Our pizzas and the ingredients on them, are all prepared fresh and cooked to order, on site in our pizza oven which is situated on the lower level of our Covent Garden restaurant or in the centre of our Westfield branch, we even make our pizza dough from scratch. Furthermore we are more than happy for you to stand at our pass and watch your pizza’s being created in front of you.

Opinions are personal and I respect that, I am just keen for people to know that our pizzas are most certainly not 'bought from a wholesaler for pennies' and that you may come and make your own mind up.






2 out of 5
chris
Thursday, June 11, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience


Steer well clear. Food over the top and not very tasty. Service was good however.
1 out of 5
GR
Saturday, April 11, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

The reviewer below said it well, don't be fooled by this tourist trap. These are prefabricated, low end pizzas (like the Asda £1 mini pizzas) dressed up and repackaged as gourmet food. There has to be a reason why the famous stone oven is underground and out of sight. Also, no substitutions are allowed on their pizzas, although they can take toppings away. Think about it, there is no kitchen or anything, everything is prefabricated and essentially heat and serve. Very disappointing, our "pizza" arrived 4 minutes after the order was placed, it was cold and soggy in the middle with a rough cornmeal crust (hmmm. maybe they are actually the Asda pizzas). I know the industry well, this is food bought from a wholesaler for pennies, repackaged to improve margin. Avoid at ALL costs, I guarantee you'll be disappointed.
3 out of 5
lin
Wednesday, March 28, 2007


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Nice restraunt, pizza's very tasty although obviously not authentic, you know that by reading the menu and seeing all the different toppings they do!!.
Good ambience and service.
3 out of 5
Ant
Friday, November 10, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Great place for a pizza joint. Variety of Pizza's is excellent and very very filling. Nice cocktails as well.

Pizzalicios!
5 out of 5
Ben
Wednesday, July 05, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I totally agree, Well done Fire & Stone... what fantastic idea!!

The pizzas are out of this world and the smoothies are so yummy.

The service was friendly and quick.

I will be a regular for sure.
5 out of 5
Richard Evans
Friday, July 29, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This is a great new addition to Covent Garden....and the best pizza restaurant that I've ever come across. Forget Pizza Express, Strada or any of the other pizza outfits. The pizzas at Fire & Stone are out of this world and are also better priced than all of the above. The bases are light & crispy and although thicker, they don't go soggy like they do at Pizza Express. But it's really the toppings where this place takes full marks. These guys have really thought carefully about what works on a pizza & have come up with some of the most original ideas.....smoked bacon, garlic & rosemary roast potatoes, onion jam, creme friache & smoked paprika!! They've even put a few dessert pizzas on the menu.....banana & caramel pizza with coconut ice cream...wow!!
If you're in the Covent Garden area I'd strongly recommend you get down there and try for yourself. You'll be back for sure!! Well done Fire & Stone...it's great to see such a fantastic & original idea!!