homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Shikara, South Kensington

Shikara
Shikara


87 Sloane Avenue, London

4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews
Review Shikara Rate and review Shikara


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
C. Campion
Saturday, March 06, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I am a regular at Shikara since 2006 never been dissatisfied with the food or service.
2 out of 5
nick
Tuesday, December 08, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I had a takeaway, delivered perfectly on time, but the food was utterly horrible. I have to say that I learn with experience that the less you pay, the less you should expect. I will not be ordering out from Shakira again. Every dish was slopped in the same generic insipid sauce. Gross!
5 out of 5
R. LIPMAN
Tuesday, January 20, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

EXAMPLE:

GOOD FOOD + FRIENDLY STAFF + CLEAN DECOR + SMART LOCATION = EXCEPTIONAL (SHIKARA)
5 out of 5
Robert Scott
Monday, December 01, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We have frequently visited this restaurant and have never been disappointed. Worth traveling to dine from a varied menu.
4 out of 5
SB
Saturday, June 14, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Smart location, excellent menu which has a traditional and fusion sections however they did a set party menu for us which was very nice but too much - definitely going back.
5 out of 5
jackie mccarthy
Monday, June 02, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Review a little late I know but once again myself and my sisters will be coming down for our annual London/Ascot break, and once again we will be paying a visit to Shikaras (fingers crossed.)

The last time we came in was June '07 and as usual we had a really lovely evening with excellent food (and wine!) however the nicest thing is the atmosphere is always warm and welcoming, even if we don't make it this year we hope to come back at some point soon, a visit to London just wouldn't be the same without it!!
4 out of 5
Dave
Tuesday, February 05, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Eve time I go to London, I make sure I have time to have one meal at Shikara. The food is outstanding and service is very freindly. I haven;t been any where else where I can get a dish like thier Bangalore Phall.
4 out of 5
Brenda
Saturday, November 03, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We have beeen regularly visiting Shikara for the last 3 years, during our visits we've never encountered a bad experience. Truly the best of the best!
5 out of 5
Simon
Friday, October 05, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Took some work colleagues there, very relaxing ambience service not intrusive, good food, generous portions, tableware very clean, overall satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Geoffrey GILLAM
Sunday, September 09, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Unexpectedly after being chased by bad weather me and my partner ended up at Shikara. Fab food, service was helpful, Wonderful selection of wine to go with the spicy dishes. Overall satisfactory.
5 out of 5
VL
Tuesday, May 01, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Good food, friendly staff, an all round enjoyable experience.
4 out of 5
Alex
Tuesday, May 01, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I am surrounded by so many good restaurants in Chelsea one of them is undoubtly Shikara. One of few a reason I go there is though their located in smart chelsea but pricing is very indian, serving traditional dishes. Nice posh comfortable leather seatings.
5 out of 5
Jules
Saturday, April 14, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Excellent food, impecible service, Comfortable ambience nice and relaxing. It wouldn't be fair not ton mention Badak Chetinaad fairly hot duck cooked in thick spicy coconut and tomato sauce also the Naan bread was nicely done. Overall Excellent.
5 out of 5
Nathalie
Wednesday, December 20, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This place is worth visiting for lunch or dinner
Service is very friendly but not intruding, food good tasty and well presented - not too mention very affordable prices. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Mark Todd
Tuesday, December 12, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We went there for our daughter's birthday. We had selection of starters Calamari (squids) in ginger and curry leaves, Lapeta kadhi kebab - tasty pieces of lamb served like fajita's, Aloo Bonda and lamb chops. Maincourse Rajasthani spicy lamb, Lamb Shank Nehari and a extremely hot Chicken Phall Every single dishes well presented and full of various flavours. Shikara also offers a quality balanced wine menu - vaue for money!!!
3 out of 5
ANONYMOUS
Monday, November 06, 2006


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

GOOD, BETTER THAN AVERAGE INDIAN RESTAURANT.
5 out of 5
B. ELMS
Monday, November 06, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I've never had bad meal at Shikara. Everytime I visit there, there is always something exclusive on the menu with a variety wine menu.
4 out of 5
Derek
Monday, October 30, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Good food, friendly service, Big ala carte menu and splendid well priced take away service.
5 out of 5
Jeff
Friday, October 13, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


Arguably best Indian in town. Chef always coming with new menu, friendly service, music - sorry not too sure, overall excellent value for money - nice people (look after you when your loyal).
4 out of 5
P. Woodward
Thursday, September 28, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I do agree with the diners, Shikara serves exclusive indian cuisine without any artificial flavourings it's dishes are not so tomatoey or greasy like other traditional Indian restaurants in London.
The decor very modern, seating very comfy and with light relaxing lighting. Waiters and waitresses are very courteous and friendly.
4 out of 5
James
Friday, September 15, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience


Two years running, probably the best Indian ever. Quality of the service, Meat- superb. Only criticism : Shouldn't do deliveries at all.
5 out of 5
Danny
Friday, August 04, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I have used Shakira several times since opening and feel the bad reviewers on this page must be looking for VINDALOO. The food here is refreshingly different and of good quality for a restaraunt with such a reasonable price range. The waiters are not so 'disinterested' I find them more laid back and not checking every five minutes if everything is OK and then trying to get you out of the door after 10 minutes. Our service has always been excellent whether eating in or for a takeaway and I feel has finally made up for the closure of the Moti Mahal in Smith Street or the Ashoka on Sidney Street.
4 out of 5
Clive
Sunday, May 14, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Excellent Food especially Tandoori chicken even the bones were edible. Good service as always - D'souza is always nice offering free drinks time to time. However on our last visit we were sitting next to Craig David and hius gorgeous girlfriend, which made the evening more pleasant - I was told they are regulars.
4 out of 5
John Gardner
Sunday, May 07, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I visited Shikara a few weeks ago with some work colleagues and we had an excellent evening. The service was attentive and timely. The food was fantastic - with authentic flavours and imaginative presentation. One of my party is a indian origin even he was very impressed by the ingredients and presentation! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Shikara and I will be returning with friends soon. Eating in Shikara was a thoroughly enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
Jill & Jim Noakes
Tuesday, May 02, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

One of the wonderful outlets in London, decor nice and simple as Fay Maschler mentioned in her review doesn't shout indian, comfortable seatings. They have a very creative menu on our visit we shared biryani very yummy! Lamb Passanda the Lamb was very tender it melts in mouth. Fine cuisine deffinitel worth trying.
4 out of 5
James
Thursday, February 02, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This place serves extremely tasty food!
Admittedly this was a takeaway order, but I have never had a better takeaway (ignore the ambience rating). The food was hot and the free poppadoms were crisp and it all arrived earlier than the stated 45mins by a very pleasant chap.
The food was very impressive. I was a student in the East End and have had the pleasure of many home-cooked meals in the UK and India, so I'm often disappointed with Indian food away from Southhall/EastEnd/Wembley. I am SO glad this place is near by, as a local restaurant/takeaway it just can't be beaten.
The menu is eclectic with a broad range of Indian cuisines. Although I suspect this is another Bengali enterprise serving Indian food, what it lacks in authenticity it more than makes up for it in moreishness. The vegetarian food is extremely good, the aloo gobi was sublime (the muter paneer was a little lacking in spice). The tikka/ tandoori options were very good but the main courses were better: the laal maas (red chilli lamb) and biryani must be sampled.
I don't care if there are any better Indian restaurants locally as I'll be busy exploring Shikara's menu for now!
5 out of 5
Mike
Thursday, February 02, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


This guys really desrve to be talked about - undoubtedly one of the best Indian serving best cuisine in London. Baingan aubergine sauteed in onions and spices, CTM overall SPLENDID!
5 out of 5
Marshall
Wednesday, January 25, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


I have been regular since opening, never had a bad meal. This guys really in business.
5 out of 5
Simon
Thursday, January 12, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


Best Karahi Gosht I've ever had in London. reasonable decor with well priced menu cater for everyone!
5 out of 5
MAX
Wednesday, January 04, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience


EXCELLENT FOOD IN WONDERFUL SURROUNDINGS, IT'S A MUST TRY!
5 out of 5
Anika
Friday, December 09, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

After missing our flight to India, we end up at shikara. Very nicely prep dishes and waiters full of knowledge on foods and destinations very friendly staff. Pure proper Indian no gimmicks! Well worth trying.
4 out of 5
DEEPAK
Friday, November 25, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I reside at Chelsea cloisters which is above Shikara restaurant so it's very convenient for me. I am from Chennai in India the food at shikara is proper genuine indian cuisine except chicken tikka masala never heard off. I like it very much eating good meals at shikara.
5 out of 5
Hickman
Friday, November 25, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


We have been visiting regularly since opening 11 months ago, food still authentic service excellent no complaints!
5 out of 5
glynis
Friday, October 21, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

we were recommended to shikara by a friend. we had to cancel our table but decided on a takeaway instead - we could not believe the quality of the food - all i can say is fantastic - best curry house in chelsea
4 out of 5
Barbra Harvey
Sunday, October 16, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience


An interesting addition to sloane Avenue... I would certainly mark these words from Fay Maschler. I am please to have shikara as my loacal.
5 out of 5
Andy
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


I'm a Londoner drive London Taxi, after hearing comments from my passengers (on 2 ocassion) I decide to try Shakira. My experience was very good I will recommend to all my friends and passengers. Keep up the good work Shakira.
4 out of 5
M. BRENNAN
Tuesday, September 20, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

FIRST IMPRESSION THE BLUE LIGHTS ON THE STEPS AND BIG GLASS DOOR LOOKS VERY WELCOMING. I HAD GINGER MARTINI MY PARTNER HAD COSMOPOLITAN BOTH WELL MIXED AND PRESENTED. WITH THE FOOD WE WERE RECOMMENDED AUSTRALIAN MALBEC 56 RED WINE WHICH WENT DOWN VERY SMOOTHLY SIP BY SIP. FOOD: GOOD AND AVERAGE STANDARD JUST LIKE ANY OTHER CURRY HOUSES BUT LITTLE DETAILS, SERVICE, PRESENTATION AND WINELIST WELL TAKEN CARE OFF. DEFINITELY GOING BACK FOR THE COCKTAILS
5 out of 5
Holly Freeman
Monday, September 19, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience


After trying I must admit It's clean, quality and fresh indian meals at it's best and I have to mention the well pricing menu.
3 out of 5
martin miller
Monday, August 29, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

superb indian restaurant, superb food menu.
5 out of 5
D. CAMPBELL
Monday, August 15, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We had a very enjoyable evening @ Shikara, it had so much to offer!
High class indian Restaurant with 5 star menu but the norm high street pricing - definitely value for money we'll go back.
5 out of 5
JACKIE MCCARTHY
Monday, July 25, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

VISITED THIS RESTAURANT ON A WEEKEND BREAK AFTER READING PREVIOUS REVIEWS - MUST SAY WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED AT ALL - THE FOOD WAS SUBERB AND EXTREMELY REASONABLE - STARTERS MAIN COURSES AND WINE FOR FOUR AND ALL FOR LESS THAN 100.00!!! IN PARTICULAR WE WOULD LIKE TO COMMENT ON THE ATTENTIVENESS (WITHOUT BEING OBTRUSIVE) AND COURTESY OF THE STAFF. A RE-VISIT ON OUR NEXT GIRLY WEEKEND WOULD DEFINATELY BE A MUST!!!
5 out of 5
Sophie
Sunday, June 26, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


Excellent presentation, every little things are different from other Restaurants true celeb chef style.
5 out of 5
NR
Tuesday, June 21, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


WIDE RANGE OF DISHES -
BEST INDIAN IN TOWN, MUST BE TRIED!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Lauro Saville
Friday, June 17, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

HOTTEST Phaal in London service very Attentive (Very helpful and generous with drinking water)
Advised: have everything from the menu except Phaal believe me It's probably the hottest thing on earth. HOTTEST DISH 10/10
5 out of 5
C. MARSDEN
Saturday, June 11, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

POSH DECOR, WONDERFUL SERVICE AND DELICIOUS MENU - DEFINITELY VALUE FOR MONEY!
4 out of 5
Luca
Tuesday, June 07, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Overall very good. Must mention the well pricing menu, very reasonable.
4 out of 5
sharon
Monday, June 06, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

its an very impressive restaurant. was very pleased with the food and service