homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Fratelli La Bufala, Hampstead Heath (Rail)

Fratelli La Bufala

45a South End Rd, London

5 out of 5 based on 10 reviews
Review Fratelli La Bufala Rate and review Fratelli La Bufala


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Thomas
Thursday, October 23, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Wow since the refurbishment this place has gone from strength to strength. I love the fish specials and have to choose a different one each visit - each better than the last. The pizzas still remain the best in London which is great with the kids - but for a special Saturday evening with the wife we really love this place - also helps being local !
4 out of 5
Ian
Monday, November 12, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had a very good meal here on Saturday, and despite some of these reviews, found the service to be fine too. We have been twice before, but this was the first time with our young baby, and the restaurant were very helpful with producing the high chair etc. - one of the chefs, having been waving at Rory, even came out of the kitchen specially to give him a chocolate wafer, which was very sweet.

And the food was, as we have always found, excellent. The onion soup was creamy, full of flavour and with crisp croutons, the buffalo sausages meaty and dense, with good accompaniments, and lovely Italian ice cream to finish. All of our party thought the food was of a very high standard, and at 6pm the place was full of families, which must say something about the service too.
5 out of 5
Giuliana
Monday, November 05, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

In response to Dear Steve below - This restaurant IS different - it is fantastic - the food is authentic, that is why its always full of Italians and people of discerning taste. As Marco P White did on Hells Kitchen he threw out those who had stupid complaints - saying "please do not come in here and offend me"!! The owner is a flambouyant, eclectic character and full of Italian charm that welcomes anyone who wishes to enjoy the gastronomic joys of Southern Italian cuisine. At the weekends it is always full of once again those more discerning parents wishing their children to eat pizzas with fresh tomato sauce and fresh mozzarella - not any of that plastic white cheese in this establishment!!

As far as Italians and food go - they are rarely wrong - perhaps that is why Fratelli La Bufala has over 50 branches just in the South of Italy - this one on Hampstead Heath is a rare jewel.

5 out of 5
Art
Friday, November 02, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fantastic restaurant, great atmosphere, friendly polite staff and above everything excellent food. Dont miss it! It's worth every penny and every minute off your time. An experience that you can never live outside Italy.
4 out of 5
elise
Saturday, June 02, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

They have got GREAT pizza, wonderful buffalo sausage pasta (yes, it's authentic italian and wonderful) and everything is homemade and genuinely as good italian food as if you were in Italy. The owner is very gracious, and many of the ingredients are from his family's production in Italy. It's got a modern open atmosphere as well. We loved it!!!!!!!!! We'll be back again and again.
5 out of 5
Dons
Tuesday, December 05, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great ambiance! Great Pizza and fantastic Tiramisu!
Went for a Sunday lunch last Sunday with some friends who were over from Italy who thought it was the best Pizza they had tasted while being in London. Very homely atmosphere and warm welcome. Will definitely be going back!
5 out of 5
emma
Thursday, November 16, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

When I first went to this restaurant it felt within fifteen minutes that I had been going there for years. Marvellous ambience - you never want to leave. As for the food - the pizzas have to be tasted to be believed. Absolutely out of this world. A fabulous restaurant - and reasonably priced, too.
4 out of 5
Dan Green
Friday, September 01, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I have dined at Fratelli La Bufala on a number of occasions since they opened in South End Green. The food is excellent and I have not had pizzas of such quality outside of Rome before. I also recommend their buffalo burger with melted mozzarella although a warning, if you have not eaten buffalo before it is a heavy and dense meat so only choose it if you feel you have room. The service was very good although it took a while to get a couple of drinks the last time I was there due to the fact that the restaurant was completely full so maybe the addition of one more waitress would be an advantage on music nights. The ambience is really very good especially when there is live music playing. With regards to value for money it is very competitively priced. Pizzas are around 8 and the burger is 10 if my memory serves me correctly. I really would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants some really authentic Italian pizza (made in a custom hand built brick Italian oven for which the team that built it were flown over specially), pasta, or the more exotic buffalo dishes. Another point I would like to make is that the owner of the restaurant has made a point on every occasion to introduce himself to my friends and I. The first time he made us try his families buffalo mozzarella drizzled with olive oil and it was fantastic. He is very friendly and gives the place such a personal touch that you just keep going back. So all in all it is simply my favorite place for pizza/pasta outside of Italy. Go there and try it. I would recommend booking for evenings as it does get extremely packed when there is live music.
4 out of 5
mmd
Saturday, October 22, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Excellent food using v high qiality ingredients. Informal and relaxed - the perfect family restaurant especially if you line pizza, pasta and steaks.
4 out of 5
elisa
Thursday, September 08, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the best italian relaxed restaurant I have been to in a long time(and I am Italian). Not excellent just for pizza, but amazing antipasti, main courses and desserts. Good resonable price wine.
If you are looking for posh this isn't for you, if you are looking for quality this is the place! Relaxed service, good athmosphere!Try pappardelle with ragu di bufala!