homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for As Greek As It Gets, Earls Court

As Greek As It Gets
As Greek As It Gets


233 Earl's Court Road, Kensington, London

4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews
Review As Greek As It Gets Rate and review As Greek As It Gets


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

1 out of 5
Del Boy
Sunday, June 27, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Booked the table as a result of the reviews on this site.

1. Sat waiting approx 20 mins before placing order.

2. Decided on a Mezze, which after quizzing the waitess we were told that it was extremely filling. Having eaten at many Greek restaraunts in the past expected a number of courses to be served throughout the experience starting with bead and dips, followed by vine leaves, stew etc..etc..

3. When the food eventually arrived, it was served on a platter, with all courses at once.

4. The Feta cheese was extremely salty, as was the over cooked sausage.

5. The Pitta bread was good and the dips.

6. The chicken and pork was average, slightly salty.

The price was cheap, but we expected the advertised price to be per person as in most Greek restaraunts when you order Meze.

A poor experience, which I regret addeding the Service Charge (automaticaly included in the bill).
5 out of 5
mario
Wednesday, March 10, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I went there for a birthday party,I was not expecting to eat so good!!!the food was delicious,from the starters the saucages with apricots & honey was amazing,the saganaki feta & the spinach pie.myami!!!as a main I had stuffed tomatoes with rice which was fresh & delicious!!!the service was really good, I will definitely go back.
Highly reccomended!!!
5 out of 5
Kenneth McCoy
Thursday, October 29, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My wife and I were visiting London for the first time and couldn't decide where to eat. Staying near Earls Court and wanting to walk to the restaurant we came across As Greek As It Gets. It was a Tuesday and I guess slow night so there was no waiting. The owner, Dimitri, met us at the door. Upon introduction he took particular interest in making our dining experience memorable. With limited knowledge of Greek cuisine, he took the time to explain everything on the menu...including origins of each food and recommendations. Needless to say everything was delicious. After dinner we talked about our Greek and American cultures. Obviously proud of his Greek heritage and food, Dimitri ordered our waiter to bring out samples of cheeses, desserts, drinks, and house specialty "Loukanika me verikoka & meli" - sausages w/apricot & honey...on the house. Seemingly three hours later we finally left. Thank goodness we walked because it gave us an opportunity walked off all the food. Our dinner here was definitely one of the highlights of our trip...and a must stop on our return trip. Thanks for everything Dimitri!!!!
5 out of 5
John
Wednesday, April 08, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

If you want to taste the real "Souvlaki" and feel like you are in greece then this is teh place to go!!
4 out of 5
george
Sunday, March 15, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the best greek restaurant in london by far!!!!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Maureen Banda
Monday, October 13, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Overly impressed with the whole Greek hospitality! Being African, I thoroughly enjoyed being guided through the various dishes on offer, PLUS the drinks! (can't forget that..) The Proprieter took time out to chat with us and tell us a lil bit more about Greek culture which made the whole affair a great social experience. FANTASTIKO!!
5 out of 5
Marriana
Thursday, July 03, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Every time and better...My impression is that every time i visit this place is something newand really nice...the food excellent,the atmosphere warm and friendly and the stuff always smilling.
Mpravo as greek as it gets!
5 out of 5
louisa
Wednesday, April 09, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The only thing I can say is EXCEPTIONAL.
Everything was great and I suggest to anybody to visit this restaurant because they will have the best greek food experience.
Congratulations AS GREEK AS IT GETS!
4 out of 5
stefano
Sunday, February 03, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I had a great experience of Greek food.
I 've been to Greece many times but it was the first time that I found in London really greek food.
I like it very much and I will go definetely again!
4 out of 5
mary
Monday, January 28, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

It was everything as it should be!
Food well cooked and delicious, service really very helpfull and kind and the ambience very modern and relaxed.
Congratulations!
The only Greek place in London!
5 out of 5
dorothy
Thursday, December 06, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the best place for greek food in london. being greek my self i hace tryied to find a place to have souvlaki but the best place is this. people go ! its lovelu and the people there are so kind! they are greek!
4 out of 5
Vuk
Tuesday, May 01, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

A very good Greek restaurant. Great giros and other Greek food. However the menu is quite small and it makes you go out a long way to reach it. Pitty it is not placed more centrally in London, otherwise I strongly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Paris Karagiannidis
Thursday, August 31, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Just one phrase....live ur myth in as greek as it goes....

Greek kittchen is the best kitchen all around the world....

And as greek as it gets the best greek restaurant in town of london....

Ante paidia geia massssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
5 out of 5
Sifis
Sunday, July 16, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

It's highly recommended. Try "Ntakos", "Cretan Salat", "Vegeterian Souvlaki" and "Mousaka" and you 'll realise why I gave 10/10. The place is really very nice and very close to the Earls Court tube station. The ambience is very good and the service as needs to be. I hope to keep this high standards.
5 out of 5
alexis Kyriakulis
Saturday, June 10, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I grew up in Wienna but my parets are both Greek and I ve been living in London for 11 years. Now and then I crave for greek food especially "ap'ola" souvlaki with pork gyros and so I know that the best place for it is As Greek As It Gets. It is the best souvlaki in London and the atmosphere makes you feel like home...I mean Greece!I love also listening to Greek "hitakia" while enjoying my deliscious meal and the girls who serve are also deliscious!
5 out of 5
Georgi
Monday, April 24, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I really enjoyed this restaurant! On a recent trip to London, I was craving Greek food. I did an internet search and read the reviews for "As Greek as it Gets."

The food was simple, well-prepared, and delicious! A bonus was that it was reasonably priced. After spending 9 days in London (and paying exhorbitant prices for simple fare at mediocre restaurants--imagine >$120 for dinner for 4--no drinks--at Planet Hollywood and only 2 of us actually ordered meals!!) this was a welcome treat.

Being raised by Greek parents, I am very familiar with good Greek food! This was good Greek food! I especially liked the Taramasalata--a very generous serving! I only wish I had saved room for the galactoburiko!

I can't wait to return!
5 out of 5
yiannis
Saturday, March 25, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

one word only: FANTASTIKO!


I really hope one day there will be more Tsoliades around London....
5 out of 5
Alex Gklavopoulos
Tuesday, February 21, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I normally don't exagerate so this 10 should be considered as an unbiased judgement.

I had the chance to be in a couple of Greek tavernas/kebab shops and 'restaurant's in southern England as well in London.

I really have to say that AGAIG is THE BEST I've ever been. The portions are decent (unfortunately Athenian 'minimalistic' style and not Thessalonikian 'varvato' style -- but can't expect more from a Greek Gyros place in UK)

The music is really nice with a couple of LCD screens all over the walls playing Vissi, Vandi, Tsaliki, Kokkinou etc etc.

Cleaneness and politeness are the first two elements that you are going to notice.

My perfect combo (which is an economic solution too) is: 2 gyros first class sandwiches + 1 chips with feta cheese + 1 greek beer And you are full!.

3 minutes walk from Earl's Court tube station -- just turn night on earls court road and walk for 3 minutes.

Ubsolutely 2 thumbs up {not comparable to the amazingly/unexplainably over-expensive competitor 'Real Greek Souvalki'}

Enjoy it :)

Greek text follows: Ante kai kalh ore3h paidia!
3 out of 5
antonis
Monday, February 20, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

The food is good considering the price, shame on the small portions of gyros though. the tsolias logo is sweet , Hell i should have nicked that plate :). The biggest let down would have to be the constant loop of same music videos that (considering my hellenic upbringing) still somehow managed to make my stomach turn. Do not forget to flick through the Zambounis quide to Greek conduct which I'm sure most will find hilarious. Oh yeah the WC was squeaky clean too. Big thumbs up!
5 out of 5
angelika
Thursday, November 17, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

perfection!!!!!!!i loved it..it is the most great place to be if you want to eat something really tasty..and greek!"as greek as ti gets" says everything!!!!sunxaritiria!!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
jim
Monday, October 24, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Very nice atmosphere and food!! Guros Pork was great!

Anna Vissi, on the other hand was great as well
4 out of 5
Roman A. aka Chelski
Friday, October 21, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I went to this place with a couple of friends and had a great time there!

Food: - Very generous servings, cheap and most importantly, good tasting. Try the traditional Greek version of coffee, its very authentic and does not have the bitter aftertaste of the usual coffee.

Service - Very attentive and knowledgeable. Ask them for recommendations.

Ambience - There was a Greek MTV being shown on their TV upstairs, which really added to the ambience.

Highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Katerina
Monday, October 17, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I recommend this restaurant as it serves good Greek kebab in a nice, friendly atmosphere where you can enjoy your meal while listening to good Greek music. At last a modern alternative to Greek cuisine in London.
5 out of 5
Liza
Thursday, August 11, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great greek food, nice greek music, good (greek!) prices - as greek as it gets...
3 out of 5
alley einstein
Friday, July 22, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay


MEAT AND CRETE

If you fancy a doner-kebab or souvlaki like you get ‘down under’ after a boozy night on the town in London then rejoice your prayers have been answered and it won’t cost a fortune or see you covered in grease!

A posh new fast food kebaberie called ‘As Greek as it Gets’ has just opened its’ doors in Earls Court joining the new trend in London to make kebabs ‘super cool’.

Dimitri Karoni is the restaurateur behind the establishment which is the flagship of what the company hopes will be a chain across the UK.

The design of As Greek as it gets is cool and sleek. The restaurant looks like a modernist sushi bar but instead it offers souvlaki with a twist, beef patties topped with Kasseri and a hip, modern presentation of the mixed grill plus something for the figure conscious – all for around a fiver.

From the outside what draws you attention to this eating house in Earls Court is its cool colours of yellow and caramel. Unlike the tired rather touristy places to eat in Earls Court Rd this restaurant stands out – all glass and defined lines. Inside is a rather eccentric mix of plasma screens, wood floors and delicious look chandeliers which drag the kebab kicking and screaming into the new millennium.

Downstairs is the more take-away bar concept while upstairs is the restaurant area with curved bar seating and then tables and chairs for couples or families. The floor to ceiling front window which stretches over 2 floors opens up your dining experience and the Top 40- Greek style videos played on the plasma screens means modern Greece is serenading your every bite.

But it’s the food you have come for. You have a choice of 5 meats for your souvlaki or Meating as ‘As Greek as it Gets’ has labelled them. I chose Chicken Gyro my partner Country beef Sausage which was true to its name. Your other choices included Lamb Gyro and Beef patty.

The Originality Souvlaki’ which featured the meat of my choice rolled in warm pita bread, with feta onion olives and fresh tomato was delicious and a real bargain at £3.50.

I ordered a Horitaki or village salad with it and it came with an amazing slab of high quality feta and t £4.20 was more than I bargained for. Two people can easily share this and with the price and quality it will bring a smile to your face!.

The restaurant calls its appetizers – Up-etizers and the choice included fried potatoes, a yummy taramosalata and a lightly smoked aubergine puree all at £2.20 each.

The pricing at this restaurant, especially in Earls Court, made me pleasantly surprised. The servings were generous and the quality high making it excellent value for money.

The problem with eating out in London is that many restaurants use the same suppliers and the same homous you order in one is the same as the other. That's not the case here. The food as a freshly made taste and the prices make you want to order more.
For mains I’d recommend the Mixed Greek which is a combination of lamb and chicken gyros, beef pattie, country style sausage which comes with fresh tomato, onion, and tzatziki and mustard sauce. My partner ordered this and while we expected a rather greasy offering we got a delicious meal that was cooked to perfection for £9.00

Other mains include a light or diet offer in the form of a breast of native Greek chicken – we wondered if it had a passport, accompanied by grilled vegetables instead of fries and soft light katiki Domokou cheese with extra light whole wheat pita bread. Well done to the menu planer.

The Home Treats section of the menu included a giant sized pita filled with gyros of your choice, fresh tomato mustard sauce and melted kasseri Greek cheese for a fiver and Penirli or soft Greek bread topped with melted Kasseri cheese in filo pastry.

As Greek as it gets also offers kids meals and for dessert the Greek yoghurt with thyme and crushed walnuts (2.50) or a traditional milk pie which is Greek filo pastry dessert made from fresh milk and pu
5 out of 5
Akis
Thursday, June 09, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Having lived in London for 11 years now, I had completely given up on the idea of ever experiencing decent Greek cooking anywhere in town. It came as a complete shock to discover As Greek As It Gets. Not only the food is good but it is excellent. Properly cooked (they really know what "well done" means), tasty (the sauces are an absolute treat), served in correct portions (that is large, because Greek food is about being generous) and at the right prices. The atmosphere is really different, funky and busy, very lively.



I have already had three fantastic meals there and I am planning to go through the whole menu as the best thing about As Greek As It Gets is their location...3 minutes away from home in Earl's Court. Both the Operations Director and the Restaurant Manager mentioned that there are plans for more openings. I can only hope that is true because I would really like another one near work.