homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Eat And Two Veg, Baker Street

Eat And Two Veg
Eat And Two Veg


50 Marylebone High Street, Marylebone, London

4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews
Review Eat And Two Veg Rate and review Eat And Two Veg


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
Hema Purohit
Wednesday, November 04, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

What a shame...
Since I first stumbled across E&2V - I have frequented the restaurant many times, and it became a favorite. I visted again last week while I was in London and have to say it felt like a different place! One of the hot favourites has come off the menu (Halloumi Ciabbata)...and a number of the options could not be altered to my taste and preference. Either sweet potatoes are suddenly fashionable, or E&2V are getting a good deal out of the supplier.....you can have anything you want, as long as its sweet potatoe!
The menu has become bland and boring - and the staff have become inflexible and cold. What the hell has happened???
I was so dissapointed with my mozzarella melt (where by some magic...the mozarella really had melted away into oblivion), that for the first time I wasn't happy paying for this meal. A cup of soup and a roll would have merited more value.
1 out of 5
graham
Sunday, November 01, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

What a disappointment!
Second rate food, the menu has not been changed since the place opened, the vegan selection is paltry, consisting of simply serving dishes without the haloumi, or without goat's cheese, frankly this is like eating in McDonald's, and throwing away the burger!
E & 2V could set the standards of a quality restaurant serving animal free food, but instead chooses to take the 'easy option' of serving cheese and egg dishes. The vegan desserts consist of sorbet and fruit salad, while those which appear to have actually taken some consideration are egg dishes, (oh yeah, and a 'crumble' taken from a Cranks recipe book circa 1974 ! )
Eat... it's time to take the initiative and move the agenda forward, for health, environment, and ethics, please leave the eggs & cheese at the factory farm, and experiment with some cruelty free food - your clients think you are taking them for granted, times have changed even since you opened - take the initiative!
4 out of 5
Hema Purohit
Thursday, June 19, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Wow! Visited this eaterie last week (12/06/08). Have to say that I always struggle to find good veggie food in and around London - that serves ONLY veggie food. This place was a godsend - the staff were attentive and friendly, and the food was served hot and was fantastic. There were 4 of us eating, and can say that none of us were dissapointed - we opted for Hallumi Ciabatta and Fries - but there was lots on the menu that was tempting.
Eat & 2 Veg is in my book now - and I'm sure I'll be a regular from now on.
Well done!
3 out of 5
ashlie love
Sunday, November 11, 2007


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Really disappointing sunday roast, dry, burnt yorkshire pudding - vegs all roasted together (potatoes, beetroot, celearic) nice but that was all the veggies except some peas rolling around in a lonely fashion on the other side of the plate!! Not enough gravy for this uninspiring meal - mind you had to use so much salt to give the gravy some flavour. I have been veggie for 30 years and although the menu wasn't overly exciting , that is fine, if the food is cooked well!! My partner had burger which was also bland. This is not veggie cooking at its best. Possibly good for veggie kids -
4 out of 5
silvergold
Tuesday, April 11, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Loved it!
I am a vegetarian and therefore am used to having to settle for less-than-brilliant options when out at "normal" restaurants. (if you think it's bad here, try the States...shocking!)
Loved the food here, and was totally overwhelmed by choice! I also found the service wonderful, very friendly waitress. Better than Mildred's in Soho.
4 out of 5
Clunky J
Sunday, February 20, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Interesting place. Came on Valentines Day with my boyfriend and enjoyed ourselves. The 'Peking Luck' starter was tasty despite us not knowing what it was and my Pear Beet Almond salad was probably on the large size. We both had cocktails and shared a heavenly chocolate mousse cake. The ambiance a little let down by the music and the food, although good, seems at odds with the decor for me. spaceNK is a nice touch though.
4 out of 5
Marcus
Sunday, February 20, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

After having walked past Eat and Two Veg several times and read the varying reviews i thought it about time to sample the delights. Cool decor and generally the ambience was good, except that there seem to be issues with music levels.
Food was very tasty - suprised me as i partner a veggie - and service was great. the manager was all siles and the staff v attentive, if a little americanised. still, a good experince and will be returning.
3 out of 5
Johnboy
Tuesday, February 01, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My missus and I dropped in on Friday a.m. for a couple of veggie breakfasts. Considering that the place was nearly empty, the service was somewhat leisurely, and the beans were barely lukewarm by the time that they arrived. The mushrooms were fine, the veggie sausage convincingly meaty in texture, the toast underdone. Poached eggs were very good indeed, as was the berry smoothie which really did taste of fresh fruit.


The Classic Cafes/diner style decor was the best part of the experience for me. I like a nice booth, and ETV's were top class - ribbed claret leatherette, oak veneer, chrome trim and table leg, pale blue formica table top. The colour combination was reminiscent of the West Ham strip. The column of two-seater tables down the centre of the restaurant were along the same lines, but with rosewood veneer. Nice pendant lights too. Meals were served from a snazzy stainless steel kitchen with a long counter, on which meals could be left to chill to the desired level of tepidity


Judging by the rest of the reviews, you take pot luck with both food and service at this place. Cold food seems to be a theme, doesn't it? I was amused by the post claiming that any negative comments on ETV could only be attributed to a bleak and nihilistic outlook on life, and half suspect it of originating from one of the management. 


I'd come back for a smoothie. And something (intentionally) cold to eat.


 


 

5 out of 5
Dom
Monday, January 31, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I went to Eat and Two veg on a recommendation from a meat eater who had taken his vegetarian girlfriend here and i am glad to say that it lived up to expectations.  Was here last saturday with 3 friends and although the night only got busy closer to 9pm (unusually late I was told) the atmosphere was great and the service and food were excellent too.


The decor is almost industrial funk diner style and clearly a lot of thought has gone into Eat and Two Veg. I had the Hot Pot and although the soya substitute seemed a wierd idea it was actually very tasty and absurdly close to meat.  Overall, a great night and would definitely recommend.

4 out of 5
Vicky Tomlinson
Monday, January 17, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great place for vegetarians and non-veggies.  Took my parents who are still (unfortunately) carnivores and both really enjoyed the experience.


Will be back for sure.

5 out of 5
Rosie Clarke
Friday, December 31, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is clearly a very well run operation, from the staff to the food to the divine SpaceNK products in the toilets.  The food was also very tasty although I'm still to be convinced by the wide range of soya protein dishes.  My Goats Cheese salad was huge and the Amaretto Sour was well executed.  Speaking to the staff they told us Eat and Two Veg is expanding with a new site expected by February in Westbourne Grove.  I only hope they can maintain their standards because this is a concept that deserves to be successful.

5 out of 5
Richard Weitz
Monday, November 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Having being a constant patron of the Gate for years I decided to that I ought to try Eat and Two Veg to see how it compared.  Well, it was very, very good.  This is a very well run restaurant, from the staff, to the toilets, the interior and the food.  We went on a saturday night and managed to be squeezed in despite not booking (booking recommended).  It was busy, full,  but not chaotic which allowed us to enjoy a great meal.  This is not fine dining but the food is well executed and the staff were attentive yet relaxed.  A different concept to the Gate but a winning one I would suggest. 

4 out of 5
Tim S
Thursday, November 04, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

As a vegetarian I was thrilled to find this place.  What a refreshing change to the current vegetarian scene in London, indeed the UK.


The service was excellent and the food - burger! - well executed.  It seems a shame there is only one although the charming manager assured me another was due shortly.


Overall, a great place for vegetarians and non-vegeatarians alike, casual dining in a funky environment.  Will be returning with friends soon.

4 out of 5
claudy
Friday, October 22, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I went to this restaurant last week and found the choice and thought put into the menu a refreshing change. Although my starter was a little on the cold side, the schnitzel was a delight. My meat-worshipping boyfriendreally enjoyed his meal too. The waitress was very attentive and happy to recommend and nothing was too much trouble. I left the restaurant knowing I'll be going back to sample the rest of the menu.

4 out of 5
D Jenkins
Friday, October 15, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I went for dinner last night and all i can say is wonderful.  The manager greeted us like old friends when we walked in (our first visit) and managed to fit three of us in a booth even though we hadn't booked.  Booking a booth is a must for first timers.


The food is good and highly original.  Being a vegetarian it was a real treat to have a whole menu that I could choose from.  my friends are part-time vegetarians but they too were impressed with the selection and originality.  I have not visited a veggie restaurant in london that does such diverse dishes.


The waitress was helpful too but never pushy, and when we left about 3 members of staff all siad goodbye.  I would recommend Eat and Two Veg- this is not fine dining, but fast, good foo and a fun environment resulted in a wonderful experience.  I will be returning soon as I told the manager.

4 out of 5
Steve Roberts
Wednesday, September 29, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Firstly, having read the reviews below I had mixed feelings about going.  They range from excellent to poor so I went with my vegetarian partner to 'seek the truth' about Eat and Two Veg.


We had a couple of cocktails, a tasty Mijito and a superb Strawberry Daquiri.  It was a tuesday night and yet the place was getting steadily busier and busier ands the atmosphere was great considering it a tuesday.


Then the food.  Wow.  My partner thought the dumplings and schnitzel superb and my Thai Satay and burger was also fab.  Although I am not a veggie, I would happily recommend this place to meat eaters looking for a healthier option.  The waitress was friendly, polite and attractive - a clone of the manager who was equally charming.  I did receive my coffee before my dessert which was a little strange but apart from this I was satisfied.  Keep up the good work.

5 out of 5
Gabrielle Doman
Monday, September 06, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I took my mum here for a birthday treat. She is vegetarian and I am vegan. I could not have hoped for a more enjoyable evening, for once I didn't feel like a fussy eater! The service was extremely friendly, speedy and helpful, the food was divine and the atmosphere was wonderful. I really would recommend this to everybody, I defy anyone to even mention the word bland and vegetarian in the same sentence after eating here. My mum and I both had a great time! If you go, I recommend the Strawberry Daquiri!  
5 out of 5
David Hornsby
Friday, September 03, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Went with my girlfriend again recently after having a not so great experience at the beginning of the year. Well, things have REALLY picked up.  I was there last thursday, the place packed, the staff relaxed yet competent and the manager all smiles.  Food was great and despite remaining a carnivore, i'll be back if they maintain standards.


The specials were great too - another new addition to an already large menu

4 out of 5
Steven Andrews
Sunday, August 08, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Having read some of the reviews below and having been a customer at Eat and Two Veg on several occasions, I am amazed at some of the negative feedback.  The staff are some of the friendliest in London, and for a vegetarian there are no other places to compare with what they are doing at Eat and Two Veg.  Also, the cocktails are fantastic!!!!!
3 out of 5
Kim Gilmour
Sunday, March 21, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Overall the food was delicious, but the service extremely slow. We had to wait ten minutes for a table because waiters were busy scraping spilt wax from our table. We encountered dropped plates and spilt drinks while waiting for our food, too. We ordered a delicious 'Aromatic Luck' starter, which is gluten-based mock duck with pancakes. For mains I had a Thai Green Curry (they originally mistakenly ploked cous cous in front of me) with wild rice and my boyfriend had home style roast vegetables with gravy. Dessert was a rich vegan chocolate cake (again, they plonked a lemon mergine in front of us my mistake). Overall, good food, mediocre ambience and pretty slow service, although they were polite enough.
4 out of 5
Sunday, March 07, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Wonderful food, lovely service, and a great evening all in all!
4 out of 5
A Kellett-Long
Sunday, February 15, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Very busy at Sunday lunchtime, but the service  was excellent and the food interesting, even for a non-vegetarian like myself.  The decor and atmosphere were surprisingly "normal" compared to some vegetarian restaurants I have been to in the past.  Many of the customers were local and satisfied regulars of all ages.


The Chinese dumplings were first-class, the "Peking Luck" less so but still edible.  The house Sangiovese was good.  5 seemed a bit steep for two globs of icecream, however organic and delicious.


Sure this formula would work well in other cities, and am disappointed to find Eat and Two Veg doesn't have branches elsewhere. It ought to start in Bath!


 

3 out of 5
Chris Chambers
Monday, February 02, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Pretty good. I don't eat meat but I don't normally eat meat surrogates either and the 'burger and chips' experience was kind of fun. The food was OK; made tasty by the accompaniments with smokey grill notes, portions were generous. Service was attentive but there was an odd gap between our first and second courses. Saturday lunchtime latish was busy but no queuing with a wide spectrum of customers. I'll go back.
3 out of 5
Monday, January 19, 2004


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay


I can't understand how they get away with charging meat prices for TSP. You can't call reheating a frozen lump of soya cooking with flair- any of this would be a decent veggie option in a pub but that's about it. I thought the decor and layout was good though- I'd go back for a coffee or smoothie.
3 out of 5
Deborah
Wednesday, December 10, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I had almost given this place a miss after a negative review from Giles Coren but I'm so glad I came.  I found it rather lacking in atmosphere - lots of parents with children on the cold Sunday lunchtime we visited - but if you like minimalism and lots of chrome and stainless steel, you might disagree.


My initial dilemma was what to choose.  I am so unused to having a choice, we had to send the waiter away twice!  I finally plumped for the mock chicken balls with sweet and sour sauce.  Absolutely perfect.  This is cooking with flair.


If you eat out to enjoy good food - come here.  The romantic candlelit dinner can wait.

5 out of 5
Bill Baxter
Wednesday, November 26, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Excellent.  Cannot understand the bad reviews, except often a negative person will have negative experiences.  The food was tops, as was the service and there did not seem to be a disorganised body in sight.  Was there on a busy saturday eveing with my partner and we will be back again.  Good luck to them.
3 out of 5
GM
Monday, October 27, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Fantastic food but very slow (although pleasant) service
5 out of 5
kate
Sunday, October 26, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Sunday lunchtime and it was packed. We took our 2 children and they loved it. They tried a lot of new things and thought that it was all delicious. The service was very efficient and friendly. The wait time for food wasn't long at all considering how packed it was. The food was fabulous and not at all like some veggie retaurants where it can be pretty boring and bland for the meat eaters. We obviously didn't sample the whole menu but we loved the dumplings, satay and the spring rolls (all starters) and the sweet and sour crispy balls were excellent too. There is a great choice on the menu, something for everyone. We will be back and wish them every success. Wish they had one in our part of Town! Only criticism is that it was a bit smokey as there is an open style kitchen and they must be having some problems with air extraction which I am sure that they know about and will fix.