homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Gordon Ramsay's Boxwood Cafe (At The Berkeley Hotel), Knightsbridge

Gordon Ramsay's Boxwood Cafe (At The Berkeley Hotel)
Gordon Ramsay's Boxwood Cafe (At The Berkeley Hotel)


The Berkeley, Wilton Place, Knightsbridge, London

4 out of 5 based on 7 reviews
Review Gordon Ramsay's Boxwood Cafe (At The Berkeley Hotel) Rate and review Gordon Ramsay's Boxwood Cafe (At The Berkeley Hotel)


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
Janette Cooney
Monday, November 10, 2008


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

We visited Boxwood with very high expectations--the result was our punishment, I guess, for our "Kitchen Nightmares" addiction. The food was nothing much, with the exception of a delightful ice cream cone medley for dessert; perhaps my own lentil dish would have been likewise inventive had the chef not tossed in a fistful (or so I'm guessing) of salt. The service was probably the biggest disappointment: serving us all at the same time was not a priority, nor was clearing our plates and bringing on the next course that we, ever hopeful, thought might reverse the damage (again, thank goodness for ice cream). Fortunately, our dinner party was very jolly and willing to file the evening under "experience." We remain great admirers of Gordon Ramsay, but do hope that Boxwood is not the jewel in his crown.
4 out of 5
Jeff & Jo Webster
Tuesday, June 03, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Being my first time in the U.K Gordon's restaurant was a must to visit ...23/5/08.. The inspiration of Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares gave us the thrill of needing to taste cooking with passion... Boxwood has a cosy atmosphere that still allows you to talk without being heard , the staff are extremely attentive , wine list set out for all budgets , MENU -Entree excellent size value for money , Main-recommend the Risotto to experience the savour taste that truly lingers ...Desert- WOW-Cherry crumble with peanut custard closed the deal... Well done Gordon we felt the passion....O just to mention the time limit on our table of only two hours to dine as we where informed once seated was rather unusual we felt...... The waiter did pass a menu across a person at our table instead of walking around ..... look forward to you opening up a restaurant in Perth Western australia.....
5 out of 5
JM + HF
Tuesday, April 04, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Our experience of Gordon's Boxwood Cafe was excellent. Couldn't fault it. we had high expectations and it certainly delivered. From the moment we walked in to the moment we left it was thoroughly enjoyable. We were greeted straight away and were shown to the bar for a drink before going to our table. The drinks were quite expensive, but it is London!! We were then shown to our table which was in a fantastic spot on the higher level of the place. The tables were set up very nicely too. The menu was excellent and we struggled to pick something due to the amount of choice!!. The food tasted really good and the presentation was nice. The wine waiter was very helpful and friendly, as were all of the staff. The only thing we were disappointed in were the desserts - I had the cheese board. The cheese's weren't my taste - but thats my fault for ordering without asking what type of cheese's were on it. My friend ordered the ice cream cone's which were quite disappointing due to the fact that they melted by the time she had finished eating one (there were 3 on the dessert) !! But again, not the restaurant's fault. We would both definitely go back. We went to another celeb chef place the next day which was nothing compared to this..... Definitely worth going.
5 out of 5
Steve
Monday, September 05, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My experience at the Boxwood Cafe was excellent. The food was superb, as was the service. The staff were polite and helpful, the food was cooked to perfection. No long waits, or problems at all. I'd go back in a flash. Ramsay can be proud of this place.
5 out of 5
minette
Saturday, May 29, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I work in a very popular restaurant in the WestEnd and wish that some of our staff members could see what the meaning is of excellent customer service! I am truly impressed with Boxwood after having a superb dinner there last night. I would recommend it to anyone!!!

5 out of 5
Rick
Monday, February 09, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I'm with Gemma.....  the food was magnificent. The lamb casserole was so tender it almost fell apart. Cheese board perefct. The wine waiter [sommelier I think] is very knowledgeable and she doesn't try to empty your wallet - offering some very reasonable but beautiful wines.   
5 out of 5
Gemma
Wednesday, January 28, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Bearing in mind "Michael's" spelling, we would trust his review about as much as we would want him to teach our children English.


Lobster, Suckling pig and several of the fish dishes have been tried and pass the test with flying colours.  Starters and desserts were also of superb quality.  We drank one of their Riojas and a Chablis, both of which were outstanding, as was the champagne.  The staff were friendly, attentive, knowledgable and most surprisingly, had a sense of humour, an ever rarer quality in this type of establishment.


Pop along and come to your decision, we loved it!