homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Camerino, Tottenham Court Road

Camerino
Camerino


16 Percy Street, London

5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews
Review Camerino Rate and review Camerino


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
Matthew
Thursday, November 27, 2008


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I went to Camerinos with a business associate for dinner on a Wednesday night. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy. Lighting is bright and unimaginative. The waiters seemed disorganised and badly trained though keen enough to please. I had to ask for both a menu and a wine list. The menu is very traditional Italian fare without much sign of flair. My guest and I both ordered pasta to start - I chose spaghetti al ragu, he took parpadelle with seafood. The starters took ages to come. When it arrived my spaghetti was passable (no better) but tepid. My colleagues starter was quite revolting and definitely cold. I like pasta al dente but this was ridiculous - it was partially cooked. We had both ordered simple grilled veal chops which were generously proportioned, cooked as requested (pink) and really very good. My guest had a side order of broccoli which was slushy and overcooked. The wine list is relatively short, exclusively Italian and reasonably priced. They decanted the Prunotto Barbaresco 2004 without being asked. But I dread to think what the service would have been like on a Saturday night - I shan't go back, it's just not good enough overall and not, it would seem, well managed.
5 out of 5
Justin Monroe
Saturday, February 25, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Camerino is a delightful restaurant that has never failed to please myself and my guests. Although I have my favourites, I always try to have different things. I love all the pasta selection, which I normally have as a starter, just like the Italians do;) I strongly recommend the ravioli with beetroot ricotta, and the ‘papardelle’ with wild boar The fish is always fresh, and my favourite from this selection is the monkfish. The meat is generally a very hearty business, and I advise the lamb shank when is on the menu. The decor s quite original, and my wife loves the red curtains, but I wouldn’t mind if they replace few of them with a lighter colour, but is reallynot a big deal. I find the service to be light and professional, never on top of you but there when you need them. I love my little conversations with the owner and the manager, two delightful characters.
5 out of 5
Cat
Monday, October 31, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Cannot afford it every week, but any excuse is good to go. The pasta is sensational, and everything is done with great care. Loved it
5 out of 5
Gillian
Thursday, October 27, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Delicious food, personable service, in my opinion one of the best Italians in London
5 out of 5
Laura
Friday, September 23, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Went there with a party of six. Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere, with excellent Italian food, and wines. The liver was one of the best I’ve ever had. The pasta at Camerino lived up to its reputation, the chestnut talliatelle and the beetroot and ricotta ravioli were particularly good. We will be definitely back, my office is also organising the Christmas party here, and I’m looking forward to that!
5 out of 5
Mike Jenkins
Friday, May 20, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Wonderful food and ambience, thank you for the fab evening, we will be back
5 out of 5
Dave West
Tuesday, March 22, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Having taken a party of 10 to Camerinos and read the previous reviews I was very pleased that they were spot on, with one noteable exception that is !!!
Food was excellent in particular the Shark, which was beuatifully cooked and presented.
The wine which was recommended by the waiting staff was really good if on the slightly expensive side (White £30 - Red £45).
So if you are thinking of a night out at Camerinos, go for it but don't expect change of £50 a head. That said it's well worth it.
5 out of 5
roy
Tuesday, April 06, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


Brilliant fresh pasta, wonderful fish, and a very well chosen wine list. The amiable Italian staff is friendly without being intrusive. I really can't get enough of the great food, welcoming people and the charming atmosphere. I'm posting reviews about Paolo in different websites, because I think is really great, and people should know about this place. Go and enjoy, you will thank me for the advice!


 

5 out of 5
Rachel
Saturday, March 20, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


This is a lovely restaurant. Pasta is really good but the other dishes are equally nice. It definitely gets my vote!

5 out of 5
Simon
Monday, March 15, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This was an unexpected ‘diamond in the rough’ of Tottenham Ct Rd. Everything from the food, to the service and atmosphere was absolutely lovely. I told them it was my girlfriend birthday when I booked, and they had a happy birthday written on the dessert for her, everyone was very friendly. Looking forward to my next visit in April.10/10

5 out of 5
Marco Esposito
Wednesday, March 10, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I’m an Italian living in London, and I have to say that Paolo certainly lives up to the ‘good food tradition’ that we have in Italy. I had the pleasure to shake hands with the chef , as I really wanted to compliment him on his food, and amongst the other, I was told that all his staff is Italian, this probably explains the authenticity of the cooking. The pasta is fantastic, and if you go there don’t miss it, whether is a starter or a main course. The waiters were friendly and smiley, really caring about us having a nice experience at their restaurant. I really liked it, a lovely meal that I’m certainly looking forward to repeat very soon. This is one of my favourite restaurants in London.

5 out of 5
Tom B.
Tuesday, December 09, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What a dinner! I had yet another wonderful meal at Paolo’s last Friday. When I enjoy myself with good food, wine service (and company!), it is money well spent. Not a cheap meal but very good value considering the standard ( 3 courses + coffee, petit fours, service and a nice bottle of wine was about £45 pp). I have to agree with the other reviewers that this is one of the best Italian restaurants in London. Keep it up Paolo!

5 out of 5
Jennifer C.
Friday, October 10, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been a regular at Paolo’s ever since it opened last year. I find this restaurant to be suitable both as a business venue, a meal with friends or a romantic dinner with the partner. The food never disappoints, I also like the fact that they change their menu quite often with what is in season. Service is pleasant and unobtrusive. Paolo is the first place that comes to mind for a classy Italian meal without the classy prices!

5 out of 5
David Belasco
Friday, May 30, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Superb food
Lovely ambience
Friendly and professional service


My favourite Italian in London – that’s it!