homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Clos Maggiore's, Covent Garden

Clos Maggiore's
Clos Maggiore's


33, King Street, Covent Garden, London

4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews
Review Clos Maggiore's Rate and review Clos Maggiore's


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
Charlie
Thursday, January 19, 2006


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

For the price I would have expected much better! The food was alright but nothing extraordinary. I had an artichoke soup with was actually revolting but the duck which followed was good. The waiters didn't speak very good English and we were asked the same questions by several different waiters. The atmosphere was nice - completely non-smoking which suited me but not to everyone's taste! We had to ask for the bill three times (to the same girl!!) who was rather RUDE, I felt unwelcome as though we was 'putting her out' by being there. I would recommend the pre-theatre menu, better value for money.
It's not worth the trip into Covent Garden but is handy for a bite to eat (an EXPENSIVE bite) before the theatre.
4 out of 5
Gary
Monday, September 19, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Absolutely superb!! I took my girlfriend for dinner after seeing a show we hadnít booked but were very pleased to be accommodated by the friendly staff. The food was fantastic, albeit a little too salty for my pallet but the size of the portions were just about right. The choice of wine is extensive and all tastes are catered for. Throughout our glasses were kept topped up and found all waiting staff to be very courteous and attentive. Have already recommended to friends and colleagues would definitely go back.
4 out of 5
Duncan
Monday, January 31, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My girlfriend and I had the 3 course pre-theatre menu which included a glass of champagne, which was fantastic (though I'd recommend having a side salad or similar with the main course as servings are not huge).


The service was first class (attentive without being intrusive) and the surroundings are awesome - vines trail all around a conservatory which must look even better in summer (though in winter a log fire burns so its not cold).


The wine list is scary (I know little about wine) though they were helpful in choosing one for us, and for someone who knows their wine I'm sure they will be impressed. The cheeseboard (which we didn't have) looked tasty also. Best of all were the petit-fours with coffee. We ate the lot, though I'm not sure if that is what you are supposed to do!


I couldn't believe such a superb restaurant could exist right in Covent Garden, I will definitely be going again.

4 out of 5
Natalie
Thursday, June 10, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I was taken to this gorgeous romantic restaurant for my Birthday and I was not one bit dissapointed. The belly of Pork is the best I have had in any country across the world and the potato...scrummy. Lovely atmosphere, very romantic. Try and sit outside at the back if possible, for the ultimate in tuscan dining.

My only "almost" complaint is the size of the wine list-boggling!

3 out of 5
Thursday, February 26, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The decor is lovely and romantic.  The food was very good, though not spectacular.  My Jerusalem artichoke soup tasted lovely, but when not prepared properly, the side effects can be a bit disturbing, as I found out (serious flatulance later).  The lamb shank was very serviceable, but I have had just as good in many pubs.  The service was excellent.  The worst bit is that the entire restaurant appears to be smoking, so we were sitting surrounded by three tables of people puffing away while we ate, which wasn't very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Wednesday, February 25, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Delightful ambiente, high quality food, excellent wine selection. Almost perfect. Service could be a tad improved, but I went on a very busy night, so might not be representative. All in all: highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Monday, December 15, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What a beautiful restaurant and the food was only just surpassed by the fantastic wine list. It is the most well thought out and represented list in all of London if not the UK.


A must if in the West End, if not make the trip in it is well worth it.


 



 

5 out of 5
Simone
Tuesday, November 11, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Maggiore's got recommended to me by a friend, especially because of their extensive wine list, so last week I booked a table for two and went. And I have to say it was brilliant.


The decor is lovely and romantic, the service was attentive and professional, the food was cooked to perfection and something there to suit every taste, the desserts we had were divine.


Thumbs up from me!


 

5 out of 5
Isabelle
Friday, March 28, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I enjoyed Maggiore's enormously - it reminded me of something out of one of those flower fairies books of yonder year - the decor that it, not the food - that was classic and of great quality - fresh and meaty oysters followed by perfectly seared scallops with an exquisite garlic potato puree, savoy cabbage and a port wine reduction. The deserts appeared to be classic with a twist - roasted william pear on pain perdu with ginger ice cream - unfortunately I made the mistake of opting for lemon and orange sorbet which was so bitter that it induced momentary facial spasms. An unfortunate end to one of my most enjoyable culinary experiences in central London.