homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Masala Zone, Angel

Masala Zone
Masala Zone


80 Upper Street, Islington, London

4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews
Review Masala Zone Rate and review Masala Zone


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Prianca
Friday, December 16, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I visited this restaurant on my friend's recommendation and was definitely impressed.
The ambience is cosy and traditional with a modern twist; the waiters are more than helpful as they have complete knowledge of food items featured on their menu, so if you have any queries than u can count on these guys for correct info.
We went for street food as starters and thali as the main course. In street food we had pav bhaji (spicy vegetable and potato mash with warm buttered buns) and dahi puri (puffed round hollow thin biscuits filled with chickpeas, mash, yoghurt and tamarind chutney) was very close to the one u will get in India. The pav bhaji was spicy but not too hot and had balanced flavour with prominent butter taste on the buns and dahi puri was very refreshing to eat, instead of taking bites you have to put the whole round biscuit in your mouth that burst all the flavours of the ingredients that are stuffed in it, as they say - just the right thing to get the hmmm effect.
Thali is well proportioned meal with one curry selection and also has many other interesting vegetarian dishes with yoghurt, salad and poppadum. Quite filling and full of different flavours.. Good value for money.
2 out of 5
Al
Monday, January 21, 2008


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Good service by very nice staff but let down by the lousy food. The meat dishes were miniscule, not particularly organic with sloppy veg dishes that were all very different in name but similar in taste and aesthtics. The atmosphere was busy but indistinguishable and I can't say it was either great fun or romantic or even stylish... It wasn't a rip off though!
3 out of 5
Ben
Wednesday, September 28, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The reviews on this place are certainly mixed.

The curries had a distinctive taste (which wasn't to my liking) and they used brown chicken meat. Shame really because with the open outside area it has the potential to be a good cheap eaterie for those summer nights, shame the food doesn't deliver.
4 out of 5
hungry in the city...
Wednesday, May 05, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Just thought i'd drop in a quick word here. I popped in recently for a quick bite before going to the theatre. One of our party was late so we were in quite a rush.


When we came to order, we told her that we had to eat and leave quickly -in and out in half an hour...Well, she was fantastic- she told us what might take a little longer so we could adjust our ordering if we wanted to. In the event, the food was with us within about 10mins! Ok, so it was cooked a earlier but the service element was still great. She was efficient, bright, polite and friendly as were the other servers we interacted with in the restaurant.


The actual food was good. If we had longer, i would have had a grand thaili. We shared a couple of streetfood starters - bhal puri, and sev puri - the latter which was mouthwateringly good and a couple of thalis (no complaints there - good butter chicken) . All were good value reliable tasting fare and i'll be going back for sure.

5 out of 5
rach
Friday, March 26, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We went to Masala Zone only because it was getting late and it was the closest eating place to the bar we'd just left. I wasn't expecting much - I was almost too hungry to care where we ate, but was very pleasantly surprised.

Like many others, I'm allergic to nuts, and I've had many bad (and potentially fatal) experiences in restaurants where the staff have simply not understood that I absolutely cannot eat anything with nuts in. This was not a problem here - our waitress knew exactly what was in each dish, without having to run off to the kitchen to check with the chef. How refreshing!

The food was beautifully presented and delicious. I'll definitely be returning in the near future.

Being a Friday night that I was there, I'd got a file from work with me, which I left by my seat. As soon as I realised I'd forgotten it, I turned round to see our waitress racing down Upper Street to give it to me. That's service!



4 out of 5
Friday, October 31, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A restaurant with a well balanced blend of delicious affordable food and delightful staff.  I would throroughly recommend it.

3 out of 5
Saturday, June 28, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

As an Indian from Bombay living in London I think Masala Zone is a fairly accurate representation of west indian cooking. It doesnt serve stuff dished up by your average curry house - which isnt Indian food by any length of imagination.


The menu is varied and it doesnt cost an arm and a leg. The service can do with a bit of polishing up though.

5 out of 5
Sam
Monday, February 17, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fabulous value. Fresh well-rounded flavours, with unusual street food dishes, and super thalis. Friendly informal but proffessional service. Lovely moody decor.
4 out of 5
Steve
Sunday, February 16, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

A real find. Delicious flavours - both the street food and the thalis. The latter are great composite meals.
Very smiley staff. Dramatic interior, with punchy tribal art on the wall.
Amazing value.