homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Sketch - Gallery, Oxford Circus

Sketch - Gallery
Sketch - Gallery


9 Conduit Street, Mayfair, London

4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews
Review Sketch - Gallery Rate and review Sketch - Gallery


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

1 out of 5
doug goldsack
Tuesday, May 18, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

This place is such a load of old rubbish designed to rob the fools who easily part with their money!!!

I was sat at a table on a ridiculous chair, with my chin on my plate.

The clever egg loos are not discrete - ladies and gents exit wc's in full view of one another.

The food was soggy mush.
4 out of 5
r elliott
Wednesday, April 30, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had a wonderful evening in the Lecture room. The food service and ambiance were all worthy of their Michelin star. We have been lucky enough to experiance a number of one, two and three star restaurants over the years and Sketch, unlike le Manoir did not dissapoint in any way. We loved it.
3 out of 5
Effie
Wednesday, December 26, 2007


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I was impressed by the brasserie quality food even though we shaw Mr. Gagnaire pasing by twice. Maybe he was there to be seen and not to see ... what they offer.
4 out of 5
Kandace Smiler
Monday, November 19, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

We dined at Sketch Lecture Room, on a Friday night (16.11.07) for my first year wedding anniversary and the experience was amazing. My husband i are from New Zealand we don't get to spoil ourselves this much ever. Previously we had only had one other fine dining experience in Australia so we didnt have much to compare but it was amazing.
The decor was incredible throughout all the restaurants and bars. The toilets decorated with Swarovski crystals was so posh.
At first the waiters were a little to attentive but i think this was just due to boredom and us eating relatively early compared to most londoners. Once the restaurant started to fill up the service relaxed a little and they were less intrusive. The Sommelier was informative and his choices for wines to match my meals were spot on.
The food was incredible, my husband is a Chef and he has always been very interested in Fusion so eating in the god father of Fusions restaurant was a treat indeed. I had the Autumn to start and hubby had the Scallops and Veal. The food was brilliantly presented and very tasty. On a bad note i did find a piece of plastic in my one of my entrees but the staff handled it well and gave us complimetary glasses of Champagne and also that entre for free (and so they should!) For the main hubby had the Lamb and I had the Suckling Pig both were delicious and lent themselves to the delicate flavours of those meats.
It was very very very expensive, well in our standards it was about NZD$1000 so i would only recommend it if you had the money or for a very special occasion.
Overall we loved it!
4 out of 5
Fiona
Friday, January 20, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Had a fantastic evening at Sketch - would thoroughly recommend it. We ate in the gallery on their fixed price set menu, which was a very reasonable £25 for two courses; £30 for three. I was worried we might get treated differently for opting for the 'cheap eats' on a busy Thursday night, but no - the service was impeccable and ultra-friendly. They were even very gracious when I had to swap one of my dishes due to the fish being more raw than I had anticipated. The atmosphere and setting are great, which makes this an all-round winner for a fantastic night out.
5 out of 5
Joeseph
Friday, September 03, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I LOVE sketch it is the best. great music, great food, great service and great wiatresses!


It is a little expensive but who cares you get what you pay for.


Well worth a trip to. Freddies is the man. a french wiater that has more charm and carisma than all the waiters and waitress I have ever come across COMBINED!!! A genuinley nice guy with a great sence of humor.


Joe

5 out of 5
Cathal Ireland
Tuesday, August 31, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Sketch is the place to be seen...  Ok so its a bit on the expensive side but who cares... I loved it i was there on saturday night with my friends family.    I ordered a steak and steamed vegtables its was gorgeous...   We then had a few drinks and got to know the staff. A french man called Freddie kept us entertained all night while I had my eye on a gorgeous waitress "Julia" who later Freddie introduced me to.     The bill came to £180 for four but who cares  "A Night at Sketch is well worth it"


I shall be going back to london again in October and i will definitly be taking another trip to Sketch. (definitly not my last)

5 out of 5
David Pelletier
Thursday, August 12, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Well what can I say except I ABSOLUTELY LOVE SKETCH!!!  The food was totally amazing - and such large quantities - often on deals people expect small quantities which deters people coming back on normal a la carte - Well, we did come back on the normal a la carte based on the fact that we weren't given skimpy portions.And the food was amazing!  I had the mushrooms then the lamb.  I was in gastronomic heaven!! 
 
The service was faultless too!  Our man was very attentive and professional.
 
All in all we have a wonderful time and I can't wait for the next time!



 

5 out of 5
HF
Friday, July 23, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I visited the Lecture Room and Library for lunch last week after wanting to try Sketch’s fine dining restaurant for some time.  I had seen and heard mixed reviews but I knew that I needed to experience it for myself.  We had the £35 lunch menu, which was a delightful and affordable surprise.  It started with 5 small starters then move onto the main course and finally five small desserts.  It was amazing!  The food was delicious and there were lots of unique flavour combinations. The portions were excellent and we were very full by the time we had finished! The food combined with the friendly service and awesome atmosphere made for a fabulous experience.  I will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
peter
Saturday, June 19, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

It's possibly the fact that reviews of the Gallery and the Lecture Room mix here, otherwise I can't explain the bad reviews. I've had dinner in the Lecture Room and there's only one conclusion possible: SUPERB! The restaurant is beautifully decorated along Art Deco lines, almost impressive but still very hospitable. Service is the best, very attentive but always friendly and with a smile, it didn't make me uncomfortable like the army of strict waiters at the Moulin de Mougins did in the past. The food is an adventure, little explosions of flavour, delicate texture mixtures of crispy and soft, a true journey through the galaxy of tasting. Heading for multiple stars, without doubt.
4 out of 5
Gabriel
Thursday, June 17, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience


Although I have read many bad reviews, I have to say that I enjoyed enormously. Food quite good, service also ok, and the glamorous Spanish girl who works there, very very ok! It is worth a visit.
4 out of 5
Hassled Dad
Thursday, March 18, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Having read the other reviews, I went along expecting the worst. I even e-mailed some colleagues (because this was a work-connected dinner) to say we should perhaps eat beforehand somewhere else.


 


But I got an extremely present surprise – made even more pleasant by the fact that someone else was paying. The food was extremely good. Some of the flavours were a little experimental and very strong, but almostly all were successful (and even those that were over the top were still interesting). I loved the near-raw Angus beef, but others were really put off – most of those who didn't asked for it to be cooked more (which was done without any objections), but one person was completely turned off.


 


We had a set meal with lots of courses, including five deserts. Maybe this is why people complain about the portion sizes. The intention is that you should have lots of courses – one of the delights of the French way of eating – so you really can’t make them large.


 


Apart from the slight oversight of not asking how well done people would have liked their beef, the service was very good – extremely attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Perhaps the fact that it wasn’t very busy helped.


 


Oh and the men’s toilets made me laugh out loud, they were so completely over the top. They make the rest of the décor look very restrained (which it very much isn’t).


 


Based on this experience, I would gladly go there again if my wife would allow me to spend that much on a meal!  My one reservation is that it was a corporate event and that means my experience may not be typical.

4 out of 5
Princesscy
Saturday, January 03, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

French poseur waiter is very useful if one of guest is nervous about reading the menu in english! In fact, french waiter was not snobbish, was just french! As with Greek barman..he was just greek! Good place to for Phillipino Debutants to practice their Swiss finishing table manners. If you dont listen to the Wine guy's suggestion, you can get away with a decent posh dinner for £30 a head with a nice ambience....just know your wine and keep away from the silly cocktails at £9 or the rip-off-the-Yanks lobster. The trumped up mediterranean fusion cuisine were quite nice and refreshing. The Martinis were so-so and the pod toilet is the main design attraction. Not for the lads.
4 out of 5
Chris Christou
Thursday, October 23, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The venue is great. Imaginative use of lighting,
installation art & clever decor. The staff were really friendly too. Food was delicious although a bit expensive (no snobs - see above)
2 out of 5
Alison
Monday, June 16, 2003


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Would not go for the food - but the bars are cool - go for people watching
4 out of 5
Jacque Cocteau-Chien
Sunday, June 15, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

You philistines! It looks cool. What more do you want?
2 out of 5
Friday, January 31, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

This restaurant is terribly expensive. Don't bother to go.