homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Fifteen London (15), Old Street

Fifteen London (15)
Fifteen London (15)


15 Westland Place, Shoreditch, London

4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews
Review Fifteen London (15) Rate and review Fifteen London (15)


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

1 out of 5
mrs hayward
Sunday, September 06, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Went to fifteen last nite,waited 3 months to book.it was very busy, so thought it would be good, so wrong i was.. 4 course meal priced at £58 each, so was expecting a good meal.... Food very bland,nothing exciting, had a dish with 2 clams and 2 mussels , couldnt believe it to be honest, mains was halibut which tasted of water on a bed of butterbeans which had no taste at all, pudding ok, nothing to get excited about, overall poor value, over priced thats why jamie is loaded.. over priced wine. service ok, altho no1 asked us once if we was enjoying our meal.....resturant nicely done out, and thats about it...
3 out of 5
Me
Tuesday, June 23, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had dinner there last night, dining room downstairs. There were four of us. We paid £294 without wine, only 3 beers and water.
The food is fine, but nowhere near excellent. The service is nice, but crazy slow! There are 4 dishes in the tasting menu, we were there for 2 and a half hours!
The dining room is really nice and the atmosphere relaxed.

It is highly overpriced, not as good as expected and last night, boiling hot!
2 out of 5
Toaster
Wednesday, June 10, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Lunch....well I was expecting something special. The ambience is a weird mix of cool contemporary, old school tables and Ikea by the look of it. Interesting to see your chefs having a fag by the entrance and they enjoy a chat if you join.

There were three of us for lunch, taken down to our table by attentive but average staff. The table was plain though the remains of the previous diners lunch was disconcerting.

I had the special pork which was very fatty and I think if you did not like lashings of fat then you would be upset. It was cold and under seasoned although through that you could taste that is was a very good piece of pork. Some interesting tastes but spoiled by being cold and smothered with an excess of pork fat.

We drank beers only. Discusssion with the others about their food was unenlightening.

Dessert was delicious, although nothing out of the ordinary.

Cost for 3 mains and desserts with a couple of beers each was £150+....! Which to me seemed
expensive to say the least for lunch. Although it should be made clear that the profits go to charity I think it is galling to be asked to donate another £1 each to that charity.

Unimpressed....and now that Jamie is no longer involved andd that celebs will probably now not frequent the restaurant, unless it can sharpen up it's pricing, I can see this being shortlived.
3 out of 5
Denzel Washington
Monday, May 25, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I had a meal a few days ago with my girlfriend in the dining room and to be honest I was less than impressed. The price of the meal with drinks came to £156 which to me is way beyond what I would normally pay and certainly for the quality of the food found here way beyond what it was worth.

It's not that this is a bad restaurant. The staff are polite, attentive and efficient and the atmosphere relaxed and natural. The food is competently cooked and generally tasty. There are some negatives though. The service is rediculously slow (I like a break between courses but this was way too long), the wine list is horribly expensive (there was nothing under £25 for a bottle; fortunately they had two reasonable types of beer for just under £4 a glass) and the food was reasonable but nothing to get excited about.

For me the two key questions here are does it offer value for money and would I go back? For nearly £80 a head I expect inspiring food that is beyond my own cooking ability. I expect a menu that tantalises and leaves me with too many choices not one that makes me turn the menu over in the hope there are more choices on the back.

So would I go back? If I was in the area and they were doing a £20 all in deal then yes otherwise no.

If you are wondering whether to go then ask yourself these questions. Am I impressed by celebrity? If so, (like the two ladies sitting next to us who took photographs of every course) then go you will have a good time. If £80 a head is just your normal eating out budget then go because its OK. If you appreciate good food and £80 a head is a special treat then I would try elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Paul
Wednesday, February 18, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

First lunchtime visit and as a vegetarian there was an excellent choice. I had Gnocchi which was fantastic followed by an equally magnificent pancake. The atmosphere was great and although the Trattoria was very busy a late arriving guest was quickly accommodated without fuss. I will certainly come again to sample more of the menu.
5 out of 5
claire
Tuesday, February 03, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We went for my husbands birthday and took my 1 year old daughter, they did everything to make sure my daughter was catered for. I find going out is hard to restaurants with children, but they had a high chair ready, proper silver little cutlery, didn't charge for her eating and they did try and cook what ever she wanted, The service was the best service i've ever encountered, My husband is Amercian and he loved it. It was relaxing and i've never spent so much time in a resturant before. They catered for our every need and mde us feel like we where the only ones in the restaurant as we was never without a full glass and never waited on a meal.
5 out of 5
Cath
Saturday, November 01, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We went for our 4 year anniversary and were not disappointed. The food was gorgeous and for 5 courses we felt satisfied but not over full...just perfect! The service was amazing, the waitress was well informed of the menu and answered all my questions attentively, enabling me to choose right meal for me (I asked about the pork, which she said if you liked fatty meat it was perfect..I hate fatty meat so was pleased to be directed away from this and chose the lamb instead which just melted in your mouth) All waiting staff were attentive but not in your face. Wine was topped up as well as water without us having to ask but we didn't feel pestered at all.

In all I would highly recommend this restaurant for its food and wonderful service.
4 out of 5
anderw
Tuesday, September 30, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My wife and I went to fifteen to celebrate my wife's birthday we were a bit early but no worries we could either go to the small bar or our table. The staff were excellent not in your face but appear if you wanted anything the food we had steak was near perfect and in a atmosphere that was just right. The whloe thing was a great evening out.
5 out of 5
Tony Crompton
Thursday, September 25, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Four of us went at lunch time to celebrate my daughter's 22nd birthday on 23rd September 2008.
We had a drink in the small bar area as we had arrived early; it gave an opportunity to open presents.
Right on time we were guided to table 12 in the downstairs dinning room.
The waitress service at table was the best I have ever experienced, friendly, informative, attentive, cheerful without being over zealous.
Each course was delicious, though the soup and vegetables were over salted.
We had a crisp white wine which was a joy to drink, chilled just right.
A spicy port with the cheese. Coffee rounded the whole experience wonderfully we thought.
Then a very thoughtful touch, the waitress re-appeared with a white plate with Happy 22nd Birthday written in chocolate lettering, 4 to die for chocolates and a lite candle.
A wonderful lunch in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.
3 out of 5
barb brown
Friday, January 25, 2008


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Well, after lustily reading the virtually perfect menu days in advance of my visit.. I guess I may be guilty of over-anticipation.
This place is so close to being great, but my one complaint, and to my mind a complaint of the greatest significance.. is this..

The food was over seasoned. As a cook often accused of lack of flavour subtlety myself, I can't believe I am saying this. So, So, So salty. My carpaccio had caperberries and a sauce that stripped the enamel from my teeth. My fish stew the same, too much salt, and I dare say sugar too. It was as intense as drinking pure balsamic. A few spoonfuls and I was reaching for water. I still am. Hours afterwards-I am parched.

Oh please tone it down. I want to come again... for each and every thing on the menu appeals, but I am in fear.. of the very ingredients Mr Oliver is campaigning that young Brits don't need in their food.
5 out of 5
Lotta
Saturday, January 05, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Lunch in the Trattoria, absolutely spot on on all counts. Four of us from Sweden in London for a couple of days in August - thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will absolutely come again.
5 out of 5
adam riley
Saturday, May 05, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

i booked this place for my partners 21st, and i have to say i was alittle worried it wouldnt live up the hype. But this place is awesome, firstly the food was absolutley spot on, we had the taster menu and each course was exceptionally.

The service was spot on too, the guys knew exactly what you had ordered, they were able to offer all advice on the food,

I would recommend this place to anyone, for £60 ahead per person its a bargain!!,

adam & sarah (4.5.07)
4 out of 5
Sean Wadsworth
Wednesday, January 10, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

First time visitors on the 09th January 2006

Excellent food well presented. Very polite and helpful staff who explained everything clearly.
The taster menu was exceptional.

If these guys are still only trainees how good are they going to be when full trained

Would and will go again
5 out of 5
arabella coombes
Monday, December 11, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I went here with my husband expecting a posh restaurant. It was totally the opposite!!!
We had foccacia and olives, crab with aioli and wild fennel and lam tatare with mint and capers for a starter.
Next was mozzarella with parma ham, clementines, mint and balsamic vinegar.
Next was potato gnocchi with rich lamb ragu.
Main course was sea bass with lentils, pancetta and roasted lemon creme fraiche.
we then had cheese and flat bread, and then vanilla pannacotta with mulled wine poached pears and biscotti.
This was the tasting menu, which cost £60. Well worth the money. The food, service and drinks were excellent and we will defiantely go again.
You would never know that catering students would have cooked this!!!!
2 out of 5
Jordi
Tuesday, August 29, 2006


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I travelled to London from Barcelona, and booked a table for 5 at Fifteen's Tratoria. I often watch Jamie on Spanish Satellite Cooking Channel, so I wanted to taste his stunning food! What a deception! We all felt deceptioned with the food. The quality was OK, according to the price we paid, no comment about that. But, why shouldn't you get quality stuff? What we think of the place is that the names of the dishes sound better that what really you get on them. Desserts where absolutely a deception. Just a piece of cake on a dish with some cream on top. Isn't it original? Definitely, I cook better that that at home everyday, and will never go there again. A rip off.
5 out of 5
Keith
Thursday, August 10, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A trip from aussie to london

REALLY SOME OF YOU PEOPLE ARE SO JEALOUSE

I was there in the trattoria with three friends & we had the night of our life the food was expertly prepared, entrees outstanding...!!! (Mains) my wife had a lovly chicken dish, friends ate a sirloin steak & gnochi, i had a rear tuna steak, i have been cooking for fifteen years, & i must say 10 out of 10 you jealous bunch of!*!* wits.

May i also add the night we ate at fiften 18.6.2004 Brad Pitt Jenifer Aniston & Claudia Schiffer was also eating in the trattoria & we were still treated like royalty

thankyou to everyone at fifteen for an unforgetable experience stay focused lots of love keith xoxoxoxoxoxoxox
5 out of 5
Andrew Thorn
Saturday, April 15, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Date 11.4.06 Me the Wife plus the kids, had a super meal at fifteen.
we found the staff very helpful in chosing our meals as the kids can be a bit fussy in what they eat Bethanie 9, had pasta that she just loved, taken the recipe home with us lewis 8 and eleanor-mae 4 had rib eye steak it all went so i quess it was ok, i had the monkfish that was just right, it had capper berries in it never had them before, if you don't try it you don't no if you like it but i did, the wife julie had poisson which she loved, the trouble is that eleanor also loved it as she kept pinching bits off the wifes plate.
Will be going back one day! Thanks again to the staff
4 out of 5
Cathy
Monday, January 02, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Having packed off the kids to York for the week on a school trip, we decided to trot off to London for a few days. With a bit of trouble we eventually got a table booked at Jamie O's "15 Restaurant" and wern't disappointed! On arrival we where shown to our table and treated like royalty.

We opted for the taster food and wine menu (which cost a packet) but, we sampled things that we would never have tried before and were pleasently surprised. The wine waiter was very knowledgeable and patient, as were the young chefs who came out from time to time to explain what they had cooked (nice touch).

An all in all pleasureable experience!

Thanks to everyone at 15 for a lovely evening.

5 out of 5
Chris
Thursday, December 01, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Sorry! Date was Sat 26th November
Not the best value for money at £170 for two of us, but well worth every penny just for the food the service and the experience.
Six courses (two of them you had a choice), service was to perfection with each course explained (background / Flavours). Unable to fault the food in any way, just perfect.
Atmosphere was buzzing.
A Must go place in London, just remember to book Six weeks in advance.
5 out of 5
Claire Mills
Friday, August 19, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What a fab place !! My boyfriend and I went there to celebtrate our four years anniversary and it surpassed our expectations. The food, service and ambience were excellent. We had the tasting menu which was really well put together and tasted amazing. The staff really knew all about the food and were very helpful. The only disappoint was not seeing the man himself ......
3 out of 5
Lanie Green
Monday, August 15, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I visisted 15 a couple of years ago and ate in the restaurant. I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with both the service and the food. My pasta was soggy and at the same time, burnt!
Like of a lot of these reviews, I felt that the food was at best average and that I'd do a lot better in my own kitchen with one of Jamie's books. But hey, maybe that's what it's all about. I must say that the vanilla ice cream was one of the best I'd ever had though.

My husband and I visted the upstairs dining area this weekend and while I couldn't get through on the phone, we were seated within half an hour of just turning up.
Both veggies, we found the choices limited but then 15 doesn't profess to be a veggie restaurant so what the heck.
We had chef's choice of (veggie) antipasta and gnocci for main course. We were both stuffed, finding the portions ample.
Although expensive, it was a lovely treat and we were happy to support Jamie's efforts.

That thing with the disappearing wine though - bit weird. Either employ enough staff to make sure wine glasses stay full or, here's a revolutionary idea, leave the bloody bottle on the table. We managed to find the restaurant ok so I'm sure we can pour a glass of wine with out assistance.
5 out of 5
Mary & John Timlin
Tuesday, July 12, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i took my husband for his birthday on 6th July 2005 recommended to us by a family member. We had a superb time and it really didn't disappoint. The staff were very attentive and helpful, the food was excellent with a wide variety of choice and the atmosphere was very relaxed.

Would definately visit again as it was very reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Bridget Ashton
Monday, May 16, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My husband booked "15" for my birthday and two friends (one of which is an excellent cook, also her birthday ) We were very impressed with the whole experience, fantastic food!
We were in the restaurant and had the tasting menu which was wonderful. Every course was explained beautifully by warm, friendly staff. The amount of time allowed in between in each course was perfect.
One particular member of staff stood out who was excellent, named Tim Kay, he had a great personality,always helpful and professional but with humour.....perfect.
We look forward to visting the restaurant again soon, I cannot wait to have the opportunity to have the risotto again which was superb.

3 out of 5
Amanda
Saturday, April 16, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

When a trip to London presented itself (home base is San Francisco Bay Area), I thought it would be fun to go to Fifteen, as I've always enjoyed Jamie's cooking shows, and my husband and I have been known to do the foodie thing. Two weeks in advance, we had no problems booking the chef's tasting menu (mid-week). We started with drinks upstairs (I'm practically hyperventilating at ordering a $17 bellini that was tastey but not full of fruit the way I've seen Jamie make them). Funky atmosphere - we're too old/reserved for this ... But, we go along for the ride. The tasting menu wasn't bad, but, honestly, it didn't say Jamie to us. Little bites on spoons. Some smoked fish. A cheese course. The main course was hearty enough, but nothing about it blew us away. Service was pretty good. Didn't feel bad about not fitting in a stop at the hotel beforehand to change into our fancy duds seeing as the wait staff wears T-shirts. I couldn't help but feel a disconnect between the little bites of food, the casual atmosphere, and the steep prices. Somehow it didn't work for me. At least it was for charity ...

Perhaps the Trattoria is a better venue as Jamie's cooking has always struck me as being about comfort, fresh ingredients, and sharing. Small plates or a select menu of signature dishes - there's a thought. But the tasting menu ... I'm sorry to say no.
2 out of 5
Nicola
Monday, April 11, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

A bit of a disappointment. We had dinner in the main restaurant (downstairs) but had to wait upstairs for half an hour as they were running late. We spent this time standing by the door (as there doesn't seem to be a bar area) and we finally managed to get some drinks not long before we were taken to our tables.

The main restaurant is really nice with comfy seating.
The menus are very confusing when you first look - then we realised it's kind of a set menu - there were only two of the courses where you could choose your dish - Gnocci or Ravioli for starter and Pork or Fish for mains - not much of a "choice"!!! The food was okay, but if you don't particularly like Pork or Fish, you won't have a great time - also, each course is so tiny you will probably go home hungry - I did! The staff explained each dish with a total lack of enthusiasm, however, this is not surprising as there is such a lack of choice, they are repeating the same dishes over and over.

These VERY small portions of mostly bland tasting food came to £280 for four people. Maybe i'm in the wrong business...............

4 out of 5
Wednesday, March 30, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

we booked in advance for lunch time sunday. We were very warmly welcomed and seated immediately. Our waiter Scott was really nice and with just the right amount of attention. Our starters were brill, especially the Seaside risotto - sensational!!. My husband and brother-in-law had the steak which unfortunately wasn't the best they had ever eaten. But my sister and I had the spatch-cock spring chicken with roasted beetroot which was very good. My chocolate brownie desert was to die for, definately the best I have ever had. Overall a really good lunch, the atmosphere was really relaxed and buzzing. We will definately be trying the fine dining room downstairs next time (when we've saved up again - bring on the next special occasion!!)

Well done Jamie and team!!
4 out of 5
Celia
Wednesday, February 16, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Excellent food and service, although slightly confusing as we were 'handled' by about five different staff. My only complaint is that the drinks prices were ridiculously high.

5 out of 5
Marsh
Tuesday, November 30, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

 


Had an absolutely perfect lunch in the Trattoria. Excellent food, wonderful service, nice atmosphere. A bit pricey but not too bad for the odd occasion. We could barely move afterwards - portions are definitely decent sized. Next time I fancy spending a fair amount of money for a meal I'll go back.

5 out of 5
Graeme Dougal
Monday, October 18, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Took my girlfriend for her 30th Birthday on 16th October 2004.  We've been great fans of Jamie over the last few years so were really looking forward to this for a long time.


We went with my girlfriends sister and husband who are also hude Jamie fans and bang into food.


I cant speak highly enough of the time we had there.  The food was out of this world, the wine was not far behind and the staff and atmosphere top draw.


We managed to get through the intense 6 course tasting menu, each course seeming to better the last which seemed impossible from the first taste of the Scallop Crudo.  Each dish was expertly explained by the waiting staff who seem to have inherited Jamies passion for food.  By time desert was served we were told that there had been a slight problem in the kitchen as they had ran out of panacotta so the chef had made something up for us.  This consisted of one big plate containing several deserts - enough for us to share and tuck into.  We laughed and asked what happended when there was a major problem in the kitchen !! - Top Draw well done.


I just cant understand the people who have gave very bad reviews of Fifteen - unlucky or not there thing  - I dont know. 


Yes its expensive and you need to be feeling a bit adventurous for the tastng menu, but if you like Jamie and like food its a great night out.

5 out of 5
Sharon & Tom
Friday, October 08, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fifteen Trattoria, 02/10/04 @ 18.30


We arrived 30 minutes early on a Saturday evening but were greeted with a very warm welcome, had our coats taken & were offered our table straight away.  Lovely table at back of restaurant where we watched the chefs make pasta & ate the best bread ever whilst looking at the menu.


Great music & atmosphere & the staff clearly know & enjoy their jobs, was impressed to be asked if anything on the menu could be explained to us.  Our waitress, a petite foreign lady (sorry didn't get her name) was excellent & looked after us brilliantly the whole 2 1/2 hours we were there.  Thanks for the freebie menus & matches by the way!


The food was out of this world & the wine was equally as delicious, & for such a great night out to cost less than £100 for 2 people (inc. service) was not overly expensive.


Unfortunately Jamie had a night off but you can't have everything can you?


Would go again & have recommended it to everyone, just make sure you book early!


As we collected our coats we were again greeted with nothing but smiles & friendliness, right down to the bouncer opening the door for us.


Thank you to Jamie & all his staff for such a fantastic memorable evening.


 

5 out of 5
sarah bates
Friday, September 17, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I totally disagree with the reviews that say this restaurant is awful. We had the most wonderful eveing there and had the tasting menu (for vegetarians) I have never tasted so many different things in one evening and it was lovely. It was prepared beautifully and thought was given to every course.


The staff really know their stuff too and display a passion for the food that I have never experienced anywhere else. From start to finish the evening was one to remember and it didnt matter that Jamie wasn't there as they all make up for that with their attitude towards their customers.


I would definately go there again and would recomend it to anyone.

5 out of 5
Sheila
Sunday, August 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Looked at these reviews before going to the restaurant and was a bit worried as to what we were letting us in for. However, we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Booked a table for Sunday lunch and the food was fantastic, service was great and the atmosphere was relaxed but buzzy. No it wasn't cheap but worth it. Definitely going back for a repeat visit.

3 out of 5
Steven Jenkins
Tuesday, August 03, 2004


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We ate in the restaurant on Saturday night and whilst I enjoyed the evening, the food was distinctly average given the cost (£125 per head including wine).


For that sort of money you expect the very best and it certainly wasn't.  Some courses were very good, and some were poor.  The main dish, which was pork, was very dry and disappointing.


Again, there was a mix of staff attitudes, a couple were very pleasant and helpful, others were simply rude and disinterested.


I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't have thought the restaurant will get much repeat business, but then it is booked up for 6 months in advance, so they can get away with the rip-off prices and average food for a while longer yet.


 

5 out of 5
Chris Topliss
Friday, July 23, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My Wife and I had booked a special lunch as a birthday treat on 14 May this year, we have read many mixed reviews so we therefore went along with open minds and some trepidation, hoping to dismiss the downers we had read.  We were greeted by a lovely lady on the booking desk, who asked us to have a drink in the Trattoria, and she would call us to our table.  We were having  coffee served to us by a very polite young chap, and then who else but Jamie O himself appeared with daughter Poppy, which by then had already made our day!  As for the food, it was faultless - very well presented and tasted fantastic (especially the scallopes in yuzu lime), all of the staff were professional and extremely friendly whilst being laid back. The surroundings were radical and really great (typical Jamie style), okay the wine was pricey, but who cares!  Jamie me ol' mate, you're the guvner; you made our day even more special, give yourself and your brigade a good high five! we will definately be back...soon!! Nice one geezer, Happy Days!!!  
3 out of 5
Andy Spencer
Wednesday, June 23, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The food and ambience may be good, but the managers need to keep the web updated!  I have checked the last minute booking page and it shows availability, however when i telephoned, I was told that there were none available!


how frustrating to get my hopes up!!

5 out of 5
sarah
Monday, May 24, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I've been watching the documentary on fifteen with great interest. I came over to London from new Zealand with the express intention of trying it myself. It was amazing! well worth the trip!!
5 out of 5
Nikki Kudo
Tuesday, May 04, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! It's a quaint place with an breathtaking expirence. Me and my friends booked our dinner about 6 month before. A long wait but it was all worth it. We, being civil, did our part on making sure we arrived on time. In fact we arrived early. But none of the staff made us feel unwelcomed. Immediately we were taken to the bar. We ordered drinks and patiently waited for the waiter to seat us. SUre enough the table was cleared on time and we were seated comfortably. We ordered the 7 course meal. Each course was a different waiting time due to the complexity of the course. The food was absolutely marvellous! The texture was there and the the whole thing was abundant with flavours. I had a great time!

A note to the people:
I've been reading the reviews and found one possible solution to why some are great and some are horrible. Fifteen is a resturant associated with Cheeky Chops Charity. Fifteen hires 15 trainees (coincidence I think not) with disadvantaged backgrounds. The 15 trainees rotate so you may get a different set of chefs the next time you go. If you didn't know that
then you're probably knocking on the wrong door.

I don't understand why people are so edgy with the time which the food arrives. Either the people eats fast food for their entire life and just saved enough money to eat at Fifteen expecting the food to come as fast as the fries do or they don't have much eating expirence. Eating in resturants (yes fast food as well) I've expirence many different styles of eating. Chinese resturants (in china) always suggest a cold dish first becuase it is easy to make and fast so you won't have to wait for too long before you can eat. Japanese resturants (depends on what you eat and where) taking a sushi house as an example is made right there and then (in front of you too)to perserve the freshness of the fish. Most of the south-asian resturants are similar to chinese. Western resturants too have a before meal course (salad, soup, appitizer) and then the main course. If you knew Fifteen was expansive and tried to save money by ordering the main course stright on you should expect a 20min wait for the food to cook (unless you eat raw). So if you know how to eat then there should be no problem with serving time.

I found the service great! Its perfect with the atmosphere. Just becuase the price was expansive doesn't mean you'll get a presidential suite.

An advise before eating at a resturant is find out what you really want to expirence. Exotic? Stalls and odd places. Fancy? 5 star hotels. Cheap? Home made or fast food. Different? Fifteen!
5 out of 5
Diz
Tuesday, May 04, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The food was exquisite and the service excellent, barring a slight wait for our wine. The Chef came out to discuss Vegetarian options which impressed me a lot. Expensive but well worth it!!!
3 out of 5
shawn
Thursday, April 15, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Had the lamb shank, took about 15min to come out. Ordered cokes that stood on the bar for around 5 min which was right next to our table before anyone realised. Got the wrong bill the 1st time then the right bill the second time with no sweets on. Which i'm not complaing about, although the fresh pannacota was a bit rubbery.
5 out of 5
John Edwards
Wednesday, March 24, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I think that the food was great and as im a trainee chef mi self and you do become under a lot ov pressure your self so i can apriciate that it is very hard work. ok may be it is over priced but if you want to have a good night out then that would be the one place that i would be going again


 

5 out of 5
jane moonie
Sunday, March 07, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This experience was wicked! the food was out of this world, especially the puddings, noises were made when eating that showed great approval from my other half! Only wish i could have had my booked signed personnally but jamie was busy.... understandable so.

5 out of 5
MrG
Friday, February 13, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience


I had decided back in December to take my fiancée for a slap up meal down at Fifteen for ONE of her valentines’ gifts, lucky girl. The 14th Feb was out of the question, they had some charity donation come raffle going for the reservations (nice one!), so I booked the next best which was the 12th Feb.


Although I was familiar with the area, I could never really figure its location. I was quite surprised to see that the restaurant was no where near the rest of the bars, clubs and restaurants that are the other side of the roundabout. Parking directly outside Fifteen wasn’t a problem, although ‘pay and display’ rate was £1 for every 15mins, I thought man this is going to be an expensive night, but got lucky in the end and found a place for FREE (that would be telling).


On entering, we confirmed our reservation with what looked like a couple of club bouncers, which is the one thing Jamie had in my opinion got wrong, think it could do without the rough security, yes security, but not rough. We sat down at the bar and ordered a couple of Mojitos while we were waiting for our table. I have been drinking them for ages and have to say they were class, real nice, strong tasting, not too much mint, highly recommended.


We had booked for 21:15 and the table was ready for about that time, we were constantly looked after, nice service. Our coats and drinks were taking down and we were escorted to our table, the first thing I noticed was the restaurant was a lot smaller than anticipated, but atmosphere was cool, relaxed and everybody seemed to be having a good time. Our table was great with a view of the kitchen, unfortunately JamieO wasn’t around, but then I didn’t expect him to be, sure he’s living a hectic lifestyle, especially with the small geezers and strife… that’s kids’ n wife.


The menu from the beginning of Feb was a set 10-course meal @ £75 head, with an option of having different types of wine between each course at an additional £45 head. We were happy with Mojitos for the rest of the night, sod the wine, it was well overpriced anyway. Due to the quantity of food with the 10 course and people complaining of being unable to finish the meal (just can’t please anyone these days!!), the course was reduced to a set 7-course @ £65 head and the wine £35 head.


The food… well all I can say is regardless of the bad reviews and critics I had read beforehand, all the courses were luverly jubbly and the service was top class too. I like to enjoy my food in good time and never felt I was being rushed or pushed out the door, unlike some. Can’t really expect me to remember all the courses because I was too busy eating and enjoying them, but I remember nice Focaccia bread and lots of olive oil (being a greek, this was right down my street). There was tasty fresh fish, meat, cheese and a top desert… it had it all, really nice, thoroughly enjoyed, even though it cost me an arm and a leg, well worth it.



Jamie has definitely reflected a little bit of his personality and style in the restaurant, which you can feel in the atmosphere, well done JamieO, good job me ol mukka. MrG & MissK - North London 12/02/2004. Peace!

5 out of 5
Rachel Houston
Monday, February 02, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have just read some of the other reviews and am very surprised at some people's comments!


Having eaten at many top class restaurants/hotels in many cities around the World during my life, I was well impressed with my first visit to Fifteen - it totally lived up to and exceeded my expectations.


I booked in October 2003 for a lunchtime reservation on Friday 30th January for me and my sister.


We aimed to arrive 20mins earlier than our 12.00 reservation but arrived bang on 12, we were not rushed at all, but sat upstairs and had a drink and a cigarette before being taken down to our table.   We had a lovely table, very attentive and helpful service from all the staff and one of the most excellent meals I have ever had.  


The cost was as expected, bearing in mind where we were, and the fact that we'd had a couple of glasses of champagne each, no shocks at all and well worth every single penny! 


We would both go again without hesitation and can't wait for the next visit!!


Keep up the good work Jamie O and team - it seems to be working well to us!!!


Rachel and Jemma

5 out of 5
Dawn
Monday, January 26, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Everything about Fifteen was spot on!


Greeted at the door by a lovely lady, who was very welcoming.


Waitress - lovely


Food was way above excellent..


Do not understand some of the write ups at all.


 


Just remember you are not entering McDonalds... So NO its not cheap, and NO your plates are not piled high..


Well Done Jamie - )

5 out of 5
Tori
Thursday, January 08, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been reading some of the other reviews and maybe  I was at a different restaurant? We were there August 13th, 2003 and couldn't have been more pleased with everything - Food was phenomenal as well as service. It was the highlight of our trip. We understood it was not cheap before we set foot through the door but it was worth every penny. On our next trip to London in Spring, we have plans to repeat the experience.


 

4 out of 5
Simon Hanley
Monday, December 15, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

With recent reviews unfavourable we arrived with trepadation,our party of eight were greeted by friendly,well mannered trendy young beings.We had selected the early sitting(7.30pm-9.30pm)which was regimented strictly. We were informed that four courses were available which I decided constituted speed eating,three would be sufficent.Our starters arrived in unison,my veal was splendid,but the wild mushrooms and scallops stole the show.This was just a prelude to eight excellent main courses with catered for all tastes,recent reveiws have accused Jamie of victimising veggies,no such groans from our happy rabble.Maybe it was the house wine at £25.00 a bottle or the continental ale at £3.50 a half,we were having a well cooked tasty feast,the service was attentive,not over-bearing.If you have £80,an appetite,please give 15 a try 

2 out of 5
Michael McKinney
Monday, December 08, 2003


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Service was excellent, couldnt fault the waiting staff, made to feel very welcome; although was not impressed to be seated right by the front door. We had requested a more secluded position and I appreciate that the layout of the restaurant made this difficult, but by the front door??? Anyway, I thought the food overall was pretty dire, My wifes Veal starter was apparently OK but my wild mushrooms on Ciabatta was very average. For main course, I decided on 'Line caught' Sea Bass (who cares how its caught) with smashed Jerusalem Artichokes etc, for me, this didnt work at all; so much so that my wife swapped her shoulder of lamb (with no lamb on it) with me.


Overall, service great, food c*** and VERY overpriced...£127 for two courses each and drinks.


I know its a charity but thats no excuse to rip the public off, do not make the same mistake as me, DON't GO THERE.

2 out of 5
Spencer
Saturday, November 29, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Given that it's Jamie Oliver's restaurant we probably shouldn't have been surprised that most people in the restaurant were far more interested in staring at each other than at the food that was in front of them.  


The food....  I was certainly impressed with my starter - what a poached egg! almost creamy - yum yum.  Unfortunately that was the highlight of what was an otherwise unspectacular meal.  One couldn't help suspecting that a chef poached the egg and that perhaps one of the "15" did the rest.  I suppose no-one can say that they weren't warned that the majority of the kitchen had only been cooking for six months.


However, none of the other dishes really leapt out and - six months later the only thing I can really remember is that egg. 


The dominant memory of the whole evening was unfortunately the bill.  Oh deary deary me - my wife and I paid over £100 for two courses and two drinks - Yikes.  Now don't get me wrong - If whoever had cooked the egg managed the rest of my meal I probably wouldn't have minded. 


BE WARNED you have to read the small print (CAREFULLY).  Pasta is not the price it appears on the menu.  Despite NOT being listed as starters you have to pay an extra £5 to have them as a main (if you read the wee print at the bottom of the menu). 


I must admit - after not having seen Mr Oliver, having a rather forgetable meal, and then being presented with a larger than expected bill, we were left with a rather sour taste.


Tip - buy a Jamie book and make something yourself

4 out of 5
Anne
Wednesday, November 26, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

To Ben,


You complain you had to wait 15 minutes for your food! For gods sake, if you want your meal to be on your table sooner may I suggest McDonalds.

4 out of 5
felix
Saturday, October 18, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

JAMIE IS GOING TO POUR ALL HIS KNOWLEDGE IN THE CONSTRUCTION OF FIFTEEN,AND THE TRAINING OF HIS STUDENTS SO THEY CAN BECOME FUTURE COOKS,THEYLL RECIEVE ALL THE KNOWLEGDE THAT JAMIE RECIEVED FROM OTHER CHEFS.THOSE STUDENTS SHOULD CONSIDER THEM SELVES VERY LUCKY.

4 out of 5
Sunday, May 18, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I am not a big lady but was left practically empty after 3 courses.  Yes the plates were left uncluttered but where was the pasta?  Risotto?  I approve of an ever changiong menu but for vegetarians there were 3 dishes in total!  Do not consider wasting your money by taking a vegetarian.  For £90 per head I was expecting a little more.  To be honest I can cook better at home from his recipes.  Somewhere he  seems to have lost what his style of cooking is all about.
3 out of 5
Mark Bannister
Sunday, May 18, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Nice decor and the modern chairs are despite reports to the contrary very comfortable.  If you were on the Atkin's diet this place would suit as J.O. doesn't seem to fussed about carbohydrate and accompaniments.  Menu quite limited, especially for vegetarians.  In fact I'd been  inclined not to recommend it to veggies at all.  You will definately need 3 courses.  The scallops were superb as was the steak tartare.  Of the puddings the vanilla bean and espresso coffee and pavlova were of the highest quality.  Pricey - 3 courses for 6 + wine £480!
3 out of 5
Sarah
Tuesday, April 22, 2003


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The following was absolutely shocking :


3 pieces of undercooked pasta for £14


No vegetarian main courses - forced into a second bowl of over priced badly cooked pasta


Why is there no set lunch menu?


In the end £150!!!!! for two - and one of us wasn't drinking!!  Have had much better food for much less money at better places like the Ivy, Oxo Tower, Gordon Ramsey, well the list is endless.


Go to say you have been .... I won't be bothering again myself.


 

5 out of 5
Sascha Shakespeare
Monday, March 10, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have not been a customer of the restaurant, but one of the trainees is an old family friends son.
I am a 2nd year apprentice and am very interested in cooking, especially when Johnny is involved.
I would like to see more info about the actual "fifteens".
Thanks.
5 out of 5
Philipp Stix
Friday, March 07, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is one of the best restaurants in London! Fifteen is great.
4 out of 5
Joy Scott
Monday, December 09, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I flew over from Belfast last Saturday morning and decided to treat myself to breakfast at Fifteen. WOW ! ! I ordered the Veggie Breakie, what a feast, mixed wild mushrooms, sundried tomatoes, char grilled butternut squash and aubergine,and scrambled eggs. Presentation 10/10, Food 10/10. A thoroughly enjoyable experience, just wished I lived a bit closer to it.

Congratulations Jamie, also I enjoyed your slot at the NEC last week.

Joy Scott