homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Haandi, Knightsbridge

Haandi
Haandi


136, Brompton Road, Knightsbridge, London

4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews
Review Haandi Rate and review Haandi


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
Jane
Tuesday, July 19, 2011


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE! Service was most awful! Firstly we were seated at a dirty table, the waiter was quickly throwing two serviettes he took from another table on our plates and left leaving the menus on the side of our table. He came back quickly for our food order but was very uninterested and unfriendly. We also didn't receive the beverage menu from him... we actually had to ask the one other waiter for it, he brought it but slammed it on the table! After we finally ordered our drinks we waited for about 40 minutes without being served any drinks or food! Best of all the two waiters didn't serve other tables as well, most diners were waiting to be attended cos they had finished their meals and clearly wanted to pay, new diners were seated at dirty tables like us! At some point we stopped one of the waiters and asked for our drinks, the only answer we got was a very rude "Did you order any???". We got up cancelled all our orders and left the restaurant instantly & very angry!!! They lost our order worth about 120 and us as customers cos we will definitely never go again! DO NOT GO THERE!!! It will ruin your evening! We know from a few previous visits that the food is quite good there but the horrible service does not make up for it at all!
1 out of 5
wiri
Sunday, May 24, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Disappointing - do not go here. My wife and I have eaten in superior restaurants such as the Delhi Brasserie, Rasa Maricham or Chor Bizarre.

I ordered Bhindi Pakorea- but got someting which was half burnt, half cooked and did not contain any okra.

My lamb biriyani was poor -rice was not mixed properly. No raita or sauce was served with the biriyani.

My wife had ordered chicken tikka masala - they are supposed to use Tandoori chicken but no it was just normal chicken.

We had ordered cheese naan but ended up with a strange looking puffed up chapati with a layer of cheese.

The service was poor and I do not see why I hae to pay 12.5% tip when the bloke did not do much.

I do not see why this restaurant deserves to be highy rated.
5 out of 5
Raj
Sunday, January 06, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Excellent...it is a busy restaurant but we need to learn from this...the reason its so busy is the quiality of the food served. Not hidden away like any restaurants, in Haandi you can see every move a chef makes in the kitchen, so no short cuts.
Recommend this Haandi to anyone, advice is book well in advance
4 out of 5
Denise Ballard
Sunday, November 18, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This is the best indian food in London!!! Everything is cooked fresh and very authentic. My husband and I are big fans of good indian food and have eaten in all the best restaurants in London including Bombay Brassierie and others named in the Michelin guide but this is the restaurant we keep coming back to we truly believe it is the best.
4 out of 5
dr.vkd
Wednesday, November 01, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I have been eating at various restaurants but this restaurant stands out because of its fresh taste and authentic flavors , the staff especially the manager - kapoor make us feel always welcome and its a pleasure to dine at this wonderful restaurant .
4 out of 5
sanjay bansal
Monday, July 17, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Living in states and having eaten in several countries , I found the food at haandi the best but more than the food it was the attentive service of the staff especially the soft spoken manager who recognised me by my name when I re-visited them . He and his staff were very courteous and helpful in selection of the dishes . Its the best indian restaurant in london and a must for all visitors. Thankyou Haandi for serving me with the best indian food that I ever had in years , hope to be back in the near future.
4 out of 5
Paul Atkinson
Thursday, April 21, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Haandi is a real find. Indian cuisine at its finest, with an excellent menu, which is both diverse and unusual in style. The ambience is perfect too. A quiet, peaceful environment - yet the room is busy with an eclectic mix of diners. The service is also good and one of the visual attractions is the large curved wall to wall window which shows off the kitchen and the immaculate appearance of the staff. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
S.Rahman
Sunday, June 29, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have just come back from a midweek break in London and I was really looking forward to an enjoyable meal in the Haandi restaurant, which I had booked prior to my break as it was close to my hotel. I am a native and I couldn't believe the amazing quality of food,service and venue. My wife and I had starters to die for, this included chicken tikka and marinated escallopes of lamb which were cooked to perfection, maintaining their tender texture and succulant flavours.


The main course to follow consisted of a spicey lamb curry, chicken and spinich and a black lentil curry. We had a peas pilau, boiled rice and a garlic naan.


I have eaten in over 50 indian restaurants around the world and I have grown up on indian cuisine all of my life as my father owned a well established indian restaurant in devon for over 30 years, so what I am saying is that I know my stuff, and this restaurant is an experience for any person who wants to send their tastebuds on a journey that your tongue will never let you forget. THIS IS THE BEST INDIAN RESTAURANT THAT I HAVE EVER EATEN IN.

4 out of 5
Ray
Friday, August 16, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

High class tandoori cooking, although it doesn't come cheap. You can expect to pay about half as much again as your local curry house, but it's worth it. I had deliciously rich tasting spinach chicken served in a traditional Haandi ceramic pot. The menu was packed with fascinating sounding meat dishes, and a huge selection of imaginative vegetarian dishes too. My only slight reservation was an ever so slightly snooty atmosphere, but if that doesn't bother you, then I can recommend this restaurant unconditionally.