homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Cookes Pie And Mash Shop, Goldhawk Road

Cookes Pie And Mash Shop
Cookes Pie And Mash Shop


48 Goldhawk Road, Shepherds Bush, London

5 out of 5 based on 62 reviews
Review Cookes Pie And Mash Shop Rate and review Cookes Pie And Mash Shop


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Brenda Phillips
Tuesday, January 15, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

As a kid in the 60's i lived on the White City Estate and we always
went there for our lunch in the school hoildays.
I loved it.
5 out of 5
Tillie
Tuesday, December 13, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great Pie and Liquor been going there since I was little with my Dad and Sister, Just went there today so yummy and lovely service.
5 out of 5
Dean
Monday, September 19, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Pie n mash, walk through the market (where I worked 35 years ago then on fruit and veg outside the white horse), and to watch QPR. Perfect Saturday really
5 out of 5
Edward
Wednesday, September 07, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This was my first visit to a pie and mash shop for almost 10 years. The food is great, the ambience is warm and the service is outstanding. I cannot pass comment on the experience of the reviewer who claimed the staff were rude, but yesterday the shop was staffed by elderly ladies who were extremely pleasant and welcoming. I can recommend this restaurant without any reservations whatsoever. I live in central London and will definitely be going there again. The cost of double pie, double mash and liquor is £8; some may consider this rather expensive, but the portions are very generous. With the cost of a pint of beer in central London around £4 these days, I do not consider £8 for a meal like this over the top.
3 out of 5
PP
Friday, August 05, 2011


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Have been going there all my life (now 45), treated myself to Dbl P&M on my birthday,
but at £8, sorry, it's so flamin' expensive.
I used to treat my mum to it,
have it as a take-away, extra liquer and jellied eels, you're looking at north of £20 - ouch!!!

Wish it would stay open longer:
10 - 4 is just rubbish,
everybody in the area knows how popular it is with the queues
often out the door and down the street.
Sign their petition if you get a chance, and tell the tossers from Hammersmith & Fulham Council where to get off.

I don't remember the one in Askew Road,
I just remember the ones in Lillie Rd & Jerdan Pl, Fulham. Good Times
5 out of 5
Dougie
Wednesday, June 15, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Visiting today certainly bought back old memories. From the minute you see from te outside you know it will be an experience from your childhood. Welcome and warm service where you do not get this anywhere now! Genuine and helpful. Took my little 17 month old daughter and the staff made her laugh the whole way through. The meal and restaurant is a jump back in time. A well worth hours journey to get there and we will be back soon! If you want to walk out with a smile on your moosh then get down there!
5 out of 5
mark walsh
Friday, April 29, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

my mother used to take me and my brother in the 70s when we were kids, Hadn:t been for years, took my 3 year old daughter a few weeks ago and she loved it. taking the family down there tomorrow, a day after the royal wedding, what a great weekend, i just hope this place doesnt go down the road like many of our pubs as well,
2 out of 5
peter newman
Monday, March 28, 2011


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

double pie and mash £8.00p bad i walked out went to pie and mash shop in tower bridge rd the same was £5.45 and a lot lot better
5 out of 5
Susan Fern
Saturday, February 26, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I've been going to Cook's eel, pie and mash shop since I was six yesrs old, and my mum and my dad and my brother. When I was expecting my children and lived in HAMSPSHIRE, I used to go to anti-natel appts down the road at Queen Charlotte's hospital, and afterwards had my lunch at Cooke's, so my children all eat there before they were born. I now live near Aberystwyth - Wales and I'm bringing my daughter along with me for a treat to cooke's on Mon 28th. My deceased mother missed her eel pie and mash treats before she went, but I'm taking some pies, mash and liquer up to my step mum and dad on monday as well. They live in Northants and miss Cooke's as much as I do. KEEP UIP THE GOOD WORK COOKE'S. DON'T LET THEM SHUT YOU DOWN! TA RAH SEE YOU MONDAY. SUSAN XX XX
5 out of 5
Audrey
Wednesday, February 16, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My husband and I own Cooke's, Mike being the great grandson of the original Mr Cooke who started the business back in 1899. We are facing threatened compulsory purchase orders from the Council, however we are fighting it!! The pies are definitely not bought in and are prepared and cooked fresh every day on the premises. We look forward to seeing you all again.
4 out of 5
Ian
Friday, January 07, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

s In answer to doug i worked at cookes askew road in the 60's and the pies tasted better, I think this was because thet were baked in a big wood buring type eange, i think the pies are baked by a electric feed oven at goldhawk, I still eat at Cookes still when i come to london to visit family, Never had a problem with pie quality.
4 out of 5
doug browning
Sunday, November 21, 2010


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

having eaten pie &mash at cookes of goldhawk rd, i also their shop at askew rd many years ago.i visited on sat 20 of nov 2010 i found that the pies are not the same as yeasteyear ,i also suspect they are buying in.please tell me i'm wrong ,on what the batch on saturday,lacked crustiness because they were taken out of the oven too early.thanks doug browning
4 out of 5
barry
Monday, October 18, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

you might have only memories now cookes is about to close,another bit of our history going down the drain.every little bit of our history is going will we really remember the kebab place or the curry house in twenty years i think not.
Every time i go to Malta i have to take out Cookes eels and when my brother comes from usa first stop after Heathrow is cookes
for massive portions.
I know people who drive up from swansea and bournemouth just to have a load up.
1 minutes silence in 4 weeks time and black arm bands
5 out of 5
john newton
Wednesday, August 18, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

love it im now 38 been going since a small boy
5 out of 5
reg webb
Saturday, May 29, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

IV BEEN GOING TO COOKS SINS THE 1970 AND STILL GOING FOOD IS FAB
5 out of 5
Phil
Wednesday, April 14, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I live in Cardiff now but drop by when ever I can Being an ex londoner, I can't tell you how much I miss this place. Certainly the best in west London (and I've tried most of them). Sure the place isn't a palace, and the staff don't have don't have degrees, but the pies and liquor are fantastic. Go if you get a chance.
5 out of 5
martin dow
Thursday, April 01, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the absolute bolloks.what a great place.
3 out of 5
paul james
Thursday, March 11, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The best by far, however the staff are vile...............
5 out of 5
jacqueline williams
Friday, March 05, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I lived in Sheppard’s bush as a child and moved to Hayes Middlesex when 10 years old. I still visit Cooke when I can. The pie mash and liquor is the same as I remember it as a child, great food! This is what makes me proud to be a Londoner!
5 out of 5
ron cissell
Tuesday, December 15, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I was born in hammersmith and lived in shepards bush woodstock road and moved to slough 50 years ago I tride to get to cooks at least once a year,but now i have got my bus pass i am able to go when ever i want and dont seem to get fed up with it .
I tride manzie pie and mash .but still prefer cooks.
4 out of 5
g phillips
Sunday, December 13, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I am in my ninetieth year and grew up in Shepherds
Bush. my wife and I were often in cookes, and I have just bought a laptop and checked out cookes shop, wondering if they are still around, well talk about a surprise, we loved it and am pleased it is still around, we live in Wiltshore now and wished in the past that there was a cookes near us, We can remember the taste of it still. Our children loved it too. Continue the good c ooking. No doubt prices have changed since my day though!!
5 out of 5
belinda
Saturday, October 31, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

this is the very best pie and mash in london, [ and i've tried a few!] the staff are great! the service is quick, the place is clean, the staff have worked there for years [one of the girls was in a bt ad some years ago] so the boss must be good! and its still cheaper the the fish and chip shop for a family meal, i live in hampshire now so i also have to bring home a number of take aways too, i only wish that they would do online home delivery like some shops do!!
5 out of 5
beverley
Sunday, August 30, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

this is the best pie mash shop even thou their was one in portobello and one in golboune rd this one was the best, i am born and bred in london my sister lived in shepherd's bush me in ladbroke grove, and i also remember going to the pie mash shop with my mum and bringing some hom for my dad
4 out of 5
tony dunsdon
Tuesday, June 09, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

my mum gave me one and threepence once a week to go cooks. that was 50 years ago.whenever i can i still go there. my idea of heaven is a plate of pie mash and eels .i have tried other shops NO CONTEST
5 out of 5
BRIAN OSBOURN
Sunday, June 07, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I WAS BORN IN THE EAST END OF LONDON AND NOW LIVE IN BARNSLEY SOUTH YORKSHIRE AND LOVES TO COME AND EAT THE BEST FOOD EVER.
3 out of 5
tommy
Sunday, May 10, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

pies and mash really good, one of the best in london, but the staff who dish it up not to clever.???
5 out of 5
DAVIDPICKERING
Sunday, February 22, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I WAS BROUGHT ON PIE MASH I NOW TRAVEL FROM SPALDING TO GGET SOME
5 out of 5
DAVIDPICKERING
Sunday, February 22, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I WAS BROUGHT ON PIE MASH I NOW TRAVEL TO GET SOME BEST PIE ON EARTH
5 out of 5
eve
Sunday, November 02, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

well kenny boy of east ham you got your views and so be it. but your spelling of cockney is naff.
5 out of 5
eve
Tuesday, October 14, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

went to cookes friday 10th oct with my sister,we come up from kent. we moved from london many years ago and cookes is the best pie mash apart from lennie bishop at portobello rd where we lived, until he shut shop late fifties early sixties.on arrival we were treated lovely and the service was good.as well as the fact after we had eaten we spent nearly nearly £50 on pies and liquor to bring home for ourselves and family.we have used cookes for many years and we still rate it.But talk about taking the mick, we left there and went to Harrods wiv our pie & mash in our bags!and it was piping hot, and the smell of it while we were swanning round Harrods was smashing. went into the food bit in harrods and i heard a couple of people comment on a lovely smell if only they knew it wern't the food hall but our pie & mash!
5 out of 5
eve
Tuesday, October 14, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

went to cookes friday 10th oct with my sister,we come up from kent. we moved from london many years ago and cookes is the best pie mash apart from lennie bishop at portobello rd where we lived, until he shut shop late fifties early sixties.on arrival we were treated lovely and the service was good.as well as the fact after we had eaten we spent nearly nearly £50 on pies and liquor to bring home for ourselves and family.we have used cookes for many years and we still rate it.But talk about taking the mick, we left there and went to Harrods wiv our pie & mash in our bags!and it was piping hot, and the smell of it while we were swanning round Harrods was smashing. went into the food bit in harrods and i heard a couple of people comment on a lovely smell if only they knew it wern't the food hall but our pie & mash!
5 out of 5
eve
Tuesday, October 14, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

went to cookes friday 10th oct with my sister,we come up from kent. we moved from london many years ago and cookes is the best pie mash apart from lennie bishop at portobello rd where we lived, until he shut shop late fifties early sixties.on arrival we were treated lovely and the service was good.as well as the fact after we had eaten we spent nearly nearly £40 on pies and liquor to bring home for ourselves and family.we have used cookes for many years and we still rate it.But talk about taking the mick, we left there and went to Harrods wiv our pie & mash in our bags!and it was piping hot, and the smell of it while we were swanning round Harrods was smashing. went into the food bit in harrods and i heard a couple of people comment on a lovely smell if only they knew it wern't the food hall but our pie & mash!
5 out of 5
eve
Tuesday, October 14, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

went to cookes friday 10th oct with my sister,from kent. we moved from london many years ago and cookes is the best pie mash apart from lennie bishop at portobello rd where we lived, until he shut shop late fifties early sixties.on arrival we were treated lovely and the service was good.as well as the fact after we had eaten we spent nearly nearly £40 on pies and liquor to bring home for ourselves and family.we have used cookes for many years and we still rate it
5 out of 5
john kemp
Friday, July 25, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

bloody great pie, mash and eels. it don,t get better than a saturday at cookes, then off to see the great Q.P.R win
5 out of 5
Louise Delaney
Friday, June 13, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I moved from London to New Zealand 16 years ago im not 22 & i miss my family i miss my football team(QPR) i miss the nottinghill carnival! but most of all i MISS THE PIE & MASH SHOP! hahah
I WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER IT BEEN ABSOLUTLEY FANTASTIC
2 out of 5
gary
Friday, May 30, 2008


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

pies tasted like chip shop mince beef and onion, not up to the standard i am used too. sorry
5 out of 5
Gina Devon and daug
Tuesday, April 01, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Never known life without Cookes - my parents took me there from the 1940's. I am 68. My children were taken there, my grandchildren and now my great-granddaughter has just had her first taste before her 1st birthday!!!!

We now live in Berkshire and have for the last 30 years, but still visit Cookes whenever we can.


Best pie and mash ever. We often pick up large quantities to take home for everyone to freeze.

Stayed to eat in shop for first time in years and though decor has changed and the smell as we remembered it, has gone, it was still a great treat to be there.

2 out of 5
Johnny K
Friday, March 28, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Nice Pie and Mash......can't fault it at all. However, never met a more sour faced, miserable bunch of women who serve it up. Theres a big half-caste girl in there, and my God, she needs a slap in the face with a wet fish... or a bloody good shag!

5 out of 5
Irene
Thursday, March 20, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Please don't ever close I make two train journeys to buy your Pie & Mash and Eels, always seven portions, fabulous. Please open a shop in Fulham.
5 out of 5
Pete Corrigan
Wednesday, February 20, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Born in Shepherds Bush, so used the shop on a regular basis i.e. at least once a week. After moving to Stevenage when I married, I continued to go to Cookes´on my regular trips to Chelsea FC and introduced my son to the delights of pie and mash. Now living in Spain, I am salivating at the thought of Cookes when compiling this e-mail
5 out of 5
Jimmy
Tuesday, December 11, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is the Pie and Mash shop that features in Quadrophenia.

"Pile on the licquor!"
"2 and 8."
5 out of 5
Angela Norris
Monday, November 05, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Having lived in Shepherds bush for years, Cookes was, for me, part of the landscape. Absoultely loved the place. Still love it, but now I'm a cosmopolitan girl, living in rural Essex with a cat and husband. But listen up, I'll be bringing me American boyfriend along to sample Brit nosh at its very best. So don't you let me down now. Keep those pies and mash covered in liqour, so when the Yank and I do the sensible thing and diss the posh shops in favour of REAL food, he'll be kinda impressed and go down on one knee. Pies permitting.
Love you babes!

Angela Norris
5 out of 5
Karen Dines
Wednesday, October 17, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Love it!!!!!
5 out of 5
James Bird
Thursday, September 20, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I love it! Everytime I go see the world famous QPR I have call in there its different league every true ranger knows about it!
5 out of 5
Jack and Anita Harris
Friday, April 06, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


We have not been back to Shepards Bush for a while now due to ill health, That has all changed now, So we will be back to our favourite Pie and Mash shop in Goldhawk Road. "Cookes" Soon after the Easter Break.

We are both looking forward to the best fast food around.

Keep up the good work. Many like us will return from far and wide.

It is now our 40th year together that we have been visiting Cookes in Goldhawk Road.

If you have never been, Give it a try, You could be plesently supprised just like a Business partner of mine a couple of years ago, I took him along as he had never ever or even heard of the dish, as we were in the area I invited him along to try, I was suuprised also disapointed that he enjoyed it, As I thought if you don't like it I will eat it for you. he did enjoy it so much that he returned invite to me when we had a repeat meal of Double Pie andMash with Stewed Ells.

Keep up the good service.

We will be back very soon.

Regards

Jack and Anita Harris

Now living in Basingstoke, Hampshire,
5 out of 5
Jack and Anita Harris
Saturday, December 30, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We have been going into Cookes for over 40 years since we lived and got married from Shepards Bush. We now live in Basingstoke Hampshire.

We try and visit every other month when time and health allows!!

I was brought up on the food growing up in Paddington, Eating at Lock Bridge Harrow Road, During my Ambley Road School days,Great days!! It was so much better than school dinners and most delighted to find Cookes Pie and Mash Shop,W12 When my wife and I moved into the Bush.

We will be back in early January 2007,

Keep up he good service, Long may you reighn.

Thank You All.

Happy New Year
5 out of 5
Russell Mundy
Monday, December 04, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I was brought up around Shepherds Bush/Latimer Rd and getting pie and mash on a saturday was what everybody looked forward to every week. Still visit every thursday. Devestated every year when they shut for 2 weeks in the summer...!
5 out of 5
Albert Smith
Monday, November 06, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I used to live near Goldhawk Road and always got Pie Mash every time I visited the Market I have been going there since 1946 and there is no better place for PIE MASH
I now live in California U.S.A..And when ever I visit England one of my priorities is Pie Mash from COOKES.
5 out of 5
Frances Bloomfield
Thursday, November 02, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


My mum allways took us as kids to cooks pie and mash
I loved it so much I took my kids there now they take
my granchildren there they all love it.
may that shop go on for ever.
4 out of 5
keith edghill
Monday, October 16, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I now live in bristol but from the age off seven my family and i had always had had pie&mash from this shop and every time i go to London my first stop is always cookes pie&mash and i bring some home with me long may it continue.
5 out of 5
Deborah Kew
Saturday, September 23, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My family has lived in Shepherds bush for over 6 generations & they all went to Cooke's. My aunt in canada always has to visit Cooke's if she's here. The best in the world. I've tried others, but they just don't compare to Cooke's. The Bush rule's. Best pie N mash ever. I hope they never change.
5 out of 5
Stephanie
Monday, September 11, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The pie and mash shop in S.B is the best ever! I have been going there for 15 years and the food and staff never change. It is friendly, warm and the food is great! May it reign forever!
5 out of 5
Dean
Monday, July 03, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What can you say, the best food around they also make the best cuppa.Been going here for a very long time,great service and the portions are excellent.So good i took my Doris along and now she's a big fan.Great on those cold Winter days when your looking for a good feed to warm you up for the day.Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
tom palmer
Sunday, June 25, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

cookes pie and mash w12, is the best in london. _ plenty of vinegar and pepper.? lovely.. tom palmer..
5 out of 5
jackie burt
Tuesday, May 23, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

have not been for nearly 14years but recently revisied cookes's at the decor and the staff may of changed but the food was superb just as i remembered it to be, whilst i was there i was able to speak to a very helpful member of staff and told me that you coul freeze the liquor and get the pie and make the meal youselfso the next time im in london i will be stocking up .
great sevice it took me back to the 70's when i would have a special treat with my mum, dad and my nan.
i brought my son and he loved as much as i did thankyou for still being there.
5 out of 5
perry richens-pyatt
Friday, November 11, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have had three generations of my family eat pie and mash my children are now the fourth. i live in norfolk now but always pay a visit to cookes in sheperds bush when in london.
5 out of 5
Dan
Friday, August 26, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been going to this place since i can remember so 24 years and my dad's been going even longer.. Never changes and never had a bad meal!!Best Pie and Mash in London without doubt!!!!
5 out of 5
brian smart
Saturday, October 23, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I cant say what it's like now,but when I was a kid in 1945,we loved going to Cooke's in East Ham High Street after the Saturday morning movies,boy,that was was the best pie and mash I have ever tasted,and 60 years later,it's still the best that I remember,and the two blond ladies that served you were great too.I went back there when I was courting and one of them told me tht she remembered me from when I could hardly see above the counter.Ive been living in Canada since 1972,but would love to have them times over again.Can still remember the tiles on the counter of the eels and such,man I miss those good old days
4 out of 5
Colin
Friday, October 22, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Cookes is an excellent pie and mash shop. The portions are enormous and the quality of the pies is superb. I would have to agree that there could be more gravy in the pies to make this number 1 !!


Unfortunatley though I can still remember the taste of Liddiards pie and mash shop which was located in stratford and was there by her majestys appointment but alas Liddiards is no more and Cookes continues to shine as well as Robins Pie and Mash in East Ham

4 out of 5
brian gregory
Sunday, May 09, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

i introduced my son to pie & mash 2 years ago & now although we now live outside london still make regular visits to cookes to stock up for us both.


Cookes is a fine place to eat & i would recommend it to anyone who has time to stop there, the pies are not the best in london but still commande a good 96% rating from me. a little more gravy & that 4% would be yours.


mash is very good & the liquer tops.


thanks very much to everyone who cooks at cookes....

5 out of 5
Monday, April 26, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had a Cooks pie shop in our area. Families used it regularly. I think that is how we are all robust and withstood the War. Fish and chips and pie and mash plus the goodness of eels jellied and steamed made us all healthy. Nowadays it is likely you will find some are good and some they do not have good eels. The pies are mot so meaty and dry without juice. The other great shop is Nathan's at Barking Road East Ham E 6. Their pies are cooked on their premises and their eels are meals to dream about. The fact that you are able to purchase from the menu and take away is so good. Jellied eels are very nutricous and so tasty. Much better that oily beefburgers.
5 out of 5
Tuesday, February 17, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

LIVED IN SHEPHERDS BUSH FOR TEN YEARS, NOT ANYMORE, AND MISS THE BEAUTIFUL EELS AND MASH THAT YOU SERVE.GREAT SIZED SERVINGS, AMEAL THAT WOULD LAST A WEEK ON MY TASTE BUDS.KEEP GOING, THANKYOU......