homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Michael Moore, Baker Street

Michael Moore
Michael Moore


19 Blandford Street, London

5 out of 5 based on 40 reviews
Review Michael Moore Rate and review Michael Moore


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
James Lord
Friday, February 12, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I took my girlfriend for an early Valentine's treat yesterday on the Tasting Menu offer. Just to some it up: It was fantastic food, great service and excellent value for money at 40 per person.
4 out of 5
Sally
Thursday, March 05, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had a leaving lunch for one of my colleagues at the restaurant last week. We chose from the set menu, as we were on a budget and also only had an hour for our lunch. The food was sublime and although we had to be in and out very quickly, we have all agreed that we'll go again on an evening with a bit more time. The waiters were also very attentive & polite.
3 out of 5
carie
Thursday, February 26, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

food was very nice, impressive, we all enjoyed it. my main gripe is that I made a reservation a month in advance, had some people in my party cancel, as a courtesy I then called the restaurant and told them that and was never told that it would be a problem. Upon arrival that evening, (there were still four of us) the hostess told me it was their policy to charge us for those who do not show up for the reservation. They charged us $200 GBP and did not offer to give us a gift certificate or actually provide us with the food we were paying for. They then sat us at a door about literally six inches from the front door so that every time the door opened, we froze. That I actually understand outside of being charged the extra 200 GBP. If they had said something when I changed the reservation, I would have been able to address it then instead of in the moment, in the restaurant, in front of customers, where it was very uncomfortable. Would never recommend for this reason.
5 out of 5
Andrew Stephens
Monday, February 23, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I was really looking forward to my visit to michael moore after reading the reviews and i was not disappointed. Both myself and my girlfriend thought the food was fantastic and really well presented. We recieved a warm welcome and found the service very good throughout the evening. Although it was not the cheapest of evenings i would not hesitate to go back and spend the same again as it was worth every penny. It was nice to see Mr Moore himself chatting to the customers throughout his restaraunt. My advice to anyone wanting an enjoyable evening with fantastic food is to visit Michael Moore you wont be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Abbey & Mark
Tuesday, January 13, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What a lovely place! We spent Saturday night at this restaurant and really liked everything from the food, to the friendly staff and the lovely wines. The scallops were devine and my boyfriend loved the duck. Desserts were delicious. The restaurant is verrryyyy small and we felt like we were in someones home as everyone was so friendly and the drinks kept coming. We were a bit worse for wear when we left, but the waiters didn't seem to mind. Happy days!
5 out of 5
Claire
Monday, January 05, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Michael Moore proved to be a great venue for our small company Christmas Party. The food was excellent throughout and at a set price of 39.50 brilliant value. We were greeted by Michael himself upon arrival, which was a great touch. A lovely place in a great location.
5 out of 5
Simon J
Friday, May 02, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Straight marks! I booked the special lunch offer which was exceptional value at around 18 for three courses and as I was intrigued by the main menu, have been back since to try the barracuda. Thanks for Michael Moore and his team for giving us a wonderful night out. My recommendation: A definite must!
5 out of 5
KB
Monday, November 12, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This was my third visit to the Michael Moore Restaurant and I really like it. Delicious food and impeccable service in a setting that is not as grand as the Ramsey's for example, but definitely a lot less intimidating. We had a wonderful night and my recommendation is the duck salad for starters followed by the Partridge. Lovely!
5 out of 5
Yuki
Thursday, October 04, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Delicious! I took a client for an important lunch and although the restaurant was very busy the service was impeccable. The sushi-maki was as good as in a Japanese restaurant and the tuna main course was meltingly soft and perfectly cooked. My office is not too far and l will go back soon.
5 out of 5
Christine Arndt
Friday, June 08, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A visit to Michael Moore's is a must for us every time we come to London. The tasting menu exceeded all our expectations and we love this restaurant better every time we go. The food, service and atmosphere are fantastic. We would love to have a branch opening in Geneva, but I guess no such plans yet. It's just a fabulous restaurant.
4 out of 5
Gary Sanders
Thursday, April 12, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had a wonderful time here last week and thoroughly enjoyed all three courses. The whole place is sleek, sexy & very down to earth. We will be back!
4 out of 5
Adrian
Tuesday, January 09, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had our company Christmas Dinner in the private room and had a great time. The food was delicious. All dishes were well presented, tasted excellent and the service was warm & efficient. We didn't have to stick to a Christmas menu, as is often the case, but could choose from the main menu, which made a very nice change to previous Christmas parties. A truly memorable restaurant!
3 out of 5
Mark Edington
Friday, March 31, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Excellent food, extremely tasty, unique, very well presented....a real treat..... The service was very good... as you would expect... the portions were just about acceptable in size... The resutaurant itself is fairly small.....v small bathrooms etc... like being in someones house... it was very quiet when we arrived...too quiet in fact... but luckily there were 6 of us so we livened the place up!!! Well worth a visit......but I proablably wont go back....just because it wasnt like 'wow' in terms of the actual place.... had the food been served up in a place like Hakkasan or Sketch (Sketch is!*!*E by the way...) then it would have been the best place ever.....the food at Michael Moore is truly stunning.......
5 out of 5
barbara van zelm van eldick
Saturday, March 25, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I simply don't understand how people cannot like this restaurant. I have been here at least in five different occasions and each visits was just spectacular. On my last visit, I was celebrating my birthday with my mother and daughter and couldn't fault anything from start to finish. The food created by Michael Moore is by far one of the most interesting in london at the moment and certainly is the most tasty as well. You should try the red onion terrine for starter and the monkfish for main, as both dish are just amazing. The wine list is simple to go thru and have a wide variety of wines for any purse. The service is professional, attentive and friendly and the restaurant is very welcomming overall. This is the place to go for your special occasions!!! Keep up the fantastic work Michael Moore and Team!!! I will surely be back very soon!
3 out of 5
ash
Friday, March 17, 2006


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

i've been to alot of london restaurants and this one just didn't live up to expectations. i really expected more. the food wasn't as good as it sounds on the menu and when i got mine it was only luke warm.
5 out of 5
Francesco
Sunday, October 16, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A truly outstanding restaurant and a must to re-visit each time I am in London. The food is cooked to perfection and the staff and owner always make you (and probably everyone else) feel like you are the most important guest in the entire restaurant. I will be back.
3 out of 5
Tanya Woods
Wednesday, August 17, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

My husband and I ate at Michael Moore's last night as it came highly recommended by one of my clients. We have eaten at some of the top restaurants around the globe so I was curious to try this one after reading all of the reviews. The evening started on a difficult note. I often ask for a glass of water when I first arrive at a restaurant to see how the staff will respond. In this case they were ignored my request 3 times and brought me a bottle of water which I did not want. The portions for the price were expected. My starter, scallops, came beautifully presented however one, of the three, was undercooked. We then ordered some wine, and had to repeat our selection three time to the waiter who insisted we wanted something else. He brought my husband white (when he had asked for red) and then he corrected his mistake with a glass of red in a dingy and dusty glass. By the third glass he seemed to get it right except our bill relfected another type of wine (of course more expensive) then that which we ordered. On to our mains - my husband pointed out that the quality of meat (stuffed chicken leg) was disappointing for the price and was not something one would expect to be served in a fine restaurant. Moreover, my main dish (cod) was served with the same garnish as my appetiser and lacked any sort of creativity beyond that of a college student. Overall we agreed our main courses were bland and lacked the enthusiasm that we have read so much about. The service took a steep drop as we waited 20 minutes to order dessert and 20 minutes to receive it. When the bill finally came we asked to reduce the service charge as we were not satisfied. As expected, the waiter tried to argue with us and said that it is not optional. We come from a country that tips a standard 15% for mediocre service. Tipping, as it should, is to be based on the level of service received. For a restaurant that claims to be a fine dining experience overall we agreed it is just acting like something it is not. I would not recommend this restaurant to those who have been, and appreciate such places as Hakasan, Nobu, or The Connaught. If it is mediocre with a hint of difference you are oafter this place will suit you just fine. Just don't ask for water!
5 out of 5
Daniel Hodges
Wednesday, February 23, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

A fantastic restaurant which, although expensive, is worth the extra cash. Went here with my girlfriend, starters were excellent, particularly her duck. Main courses were just as great, I had the wild boar which was delicious. Portions are not massive, but nor are they tiny, we both ate 3 courses and had a bottle of wine and came out feeling full but not bloated and stuffed. Service was top-notch with the waiters/waitresses really knowing their stuff when it comes to the dishes. Will come again.
5 out of 5
E. Delfino
Friday, February 18, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My fiancee took me here for dinner on Valentine's day and we could not have asked for a more romantic setting or better food. The atmosphere can only be described as Love (for Food) is in the Air. The food was out of this world and I can now finally understand my fiancee, who has had several business lunches there and always raved about it afterwards.
5 out of 5
nigel stanton
Thursday, February 10, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Excellent food, first class service with knowledgeable and extremely staff, with a constantly changing menu and winelist a must revisit on a regular basis
5 out of 5
S. Price
Thursday, January 20, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fantastic. Not only the food was out of this world, I had a millefeuille of scallops and some other goodies, but it was also the first non-smoking restaurant I've been too, which makes it even more enjoyable. The service was very attentive without being obtrusive.  A real find.
5 out of 5
Kim Profitt
Thursday, January 20, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I can't recommend this restaurant strongly enough. The food was fantastic The service was very friendly and extremely  efficent. Michael Moore did his rounds at the end of the evening he is a sweet heart.


This is a place I will certainly return to.

3 out of 5
Post-meal Punter
Thursday, December 02, 2004


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Good service, great cosy atmosphere. Disappointing vegetarian dishes.
5 out of 5
Humberto J. Aguilar
Sunday, November 28, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

If the food and the ambience does not lure you back then the great treatment by the staff surely will. I actually CANNOT go to London without going to have dinner there -- I feel guilty if I do not, so I always go. Last year I had the best THANKSGIVING DAY DINNER there and then Michael made another one for lunch just for a few of us...This is one of the best restaurants that I have discoverd in all of my travels around the world.


Before you leave the place ask Michael to come up and he will...This is great that the person who is responsible for your food is real and the food is too...

5 out of 5
Steven Foulds
Monday, September 20, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Totally agree with the other reviews. Most pleasant atmosphere and fantastic food I have experienced in a London restaurant for years. Full Marks.
5 out of 5
S. Adams
Tuesday, August 10, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I've just returned from this truly wonderful restaurant. The set menu for lunch is outstanding at 12.95 for two courses and the service is everything it should be. Special thanks to the two young ladies, who made my guests from abroad feel very much at home by helping to translate the menus. The Chocolate mousse for dessert was out of this world!

5 out of 5
Allan Aikman
Tuesday, June 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is a great restaurant, with great food, well presented and good value for money. Michael is an excellent host and he and his staff looked after us very well. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Tamzin Bartlet-Jones
Thursday, May 13, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This really is a find! A really good London Restaurant, where where every visit is special, the people remember you and make you feel very welcome. Fabulous food, great atmosphere and a service that's second to none. I dine out at least twice a week and only discovered this last month, but have been back a few times since to introduce my friends.   Keep it going!

5 out of 5
Fran Mohindra
Thursday, March 25, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Michael Moore's food is one of London's best kept secrets. I have eaten there several times, and never been disappointed. Today's lunch was simply sensational, a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds-my Persian friend, a lover of all the good things in life, told Michael that his food is better than an orgasm. Surely the highest accolade? A truly divine dining experience, complimented by staff, who are friendly, attentive and unobtrusive.

5 out of 5
Simon A.
Wednesday, March 24, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

From start to finish an outstanding dining experience. The restaurant was already full upon our arrival, but we were promptly greated & seated by the waiter.


The menu is small, but bery interesting. We had a soup with celery & coconut  and a crab terrine for starters, which were excellent. The main courses of seared tuna (for her) and rack of lamb (for me) were cooked to perfection and so nicely presented that they were almost to picturesque to eat.


Desserts were an equal success and combined with a good bottle of wine, this turned out a very memorable night for us. The waiting staff were truly friendly without being obtrusive. We dine out about twice a week and really appreciate the few restaurants that make a special effort. This is definitely one of them and we will be back this week! 


 

5 out of 5
Mel Shah
Monday, February 09, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Celebrated a special birthday party here last week with many vegetarian friends.   Success all the way!!


 

5 out of 5
R. Watson
Sunday, February 08, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I take my friends, they take theirs and so on. Michael Moore's is treasure. Consistently well executed & exciting food, constant variations in tastes & colours at a value for money that puts many a London restaurant to shame. Service delivered by the immaculate waitresses is a living example that waiting on tables can be a true vocation. Elegant, attentive & unobtrusive.
5 out of 5
John Tyler
Friday, January 09, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Visited Michael Moore's restuarant just before Christmas.


1) The food is beautiful, both in presentation and in taste.


2) The service is impeccable.


I have been eating in some of the top London restaurants for over thirty years and totally agree with the ten out of ten ratings given to Michael Moore above. Ok, so the restaurant isn't very large, and not the full silver service style, but it is very clean and comfortable and (to use an old, but in this case true, cliche) offers a 'very friendly and relaxed atmosphere'. I entirely disagree with the comments made by the 5/10 reviewer above. I can only imagine that he is either referring to a different restaurant, or for some reason holds a grudge against Michael Moore.


Visit this restaurant. I sincerely believe that you will enjoy it as much as I did. I'm very much looking forward to returning.

5 out of 5
Anthony Harris
Monday, November 03, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fantastic food, friendly staff and a buzzing atmosphere made for a memorable night out at Michael Moore's on Saturday. I recommend the scallops! Delicious!
3 out of 5
Walter Adamson
Sunday, November 02, 2003


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We choose this restaurant by surveying the area on foot, and luckily we had not researched it online as we would have been even more disappointed.


The food was tasteless or if not it had combinations that came straight out of 'college creative cooking 101' - unfortunately the professor was not here to point out the stupidities.  Here is a place where the chef has simply lost his way, and not knowing his history I don't know if he ever had it.  But offering soup made from inferior stock and no salt, and carpaccio overpowered by reams of parmesan and touched by drops of honey demonstates a rare lack of talent undermining what is a nicely presented service and ambience. 


I noticed the excellent ratings given by other reviewers here and it does raise my curiousity.  However at the end of the day professional food combinations are not childish personal statements and are more universal than individual, and therefore I am prepared to be the one to say that this emperor Michael Moore has no clothes.  I have no explanation as to how London could support this type of abnormality for nearly two years, which fact we were informed by the waitress.

5 out of 5
Annabelle Westwood
Thursday, September 18, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Brilliant! From starters to dessert every dish continues to please the palate and really compliments each other. The scallops were the most delicious I have ever eaten and were still surpassed by the sauce they were served on. The menu is small but has excellent choices and the wine list speaks for itself. I love the atmosphere will be back!
5 out of 5
S. Ward
Monday, July 21, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Everything is always superb every time we go to Michael Moore's. The food is very creative and always delicious. The service is great. Our favorite place in London! (And we're Americans living here!)
5 out of 5
Peter Matheson
Thursday, July 10, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Beautiful food. Excellent service. Just seen the website (www.michaelmoorerestaurant.com), which is also fantastic (can't wait to join the online Members area!) I'm totally hooked on this restaurant and Michael Moore's food!

5 out of 5
Wednesday, June 04, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We have spent an excellent evening at Michael Moore's last week. The menu is creative and just makes you want to eat everything on it. I opted for white asparagus (a rare London treat) followed by monkfish  - both of them superb!  The service was refined and friendly, which complemented the food to perfection.


It's top of my list for value for money and is a fantastic addition to Marylebone Village.

5 out of 5
Mike Goodwin
Thursday, January 30, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and the service prompt without being hurried. The location is away from the main throughfares and so is pleasantly quiet and yet it is in central London. The cost is very reasonable.