homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Gordon Ramsay at Claridges, Bond Street

Gordon Ramsay at Claridges
Gordon Ramsay at Claridges


53 Brook Street, Mayfair, London

4 out of 5 based on 31 reviews
Review Gordon Ramsay at Claridges Rate and review Gordon Ramsay at Claridges


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

4 out of 5
sandy
Sunday, May 19, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Best vegetarian food I have eaten in London. A bit surprised as I did'nt think Gordon Ramsey was into vegetarian food Waiters were also very friendly. Sorry to hear Godon is leaving Claridges.
3 out of 5
jaime mendes martins
Tuesday, March 08, 2011


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

gordon ramsay is de best...
5 out of 5
Lisa Holden
Tuesday, January 19, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I celebrated my 30th birthday in this restaurant and everything was absolutley perfect nothing was at fault cant wait to return to london to dine here again.
5 out of 5
jane bonvini
Sunday, May 31, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Our children decided to treat us for our "special" (50th) birthday and our wedding anniversary. They did us proud! To dine at Claridges is a wonderful experience. The food was absolutely delicious, the service was second to none and the ambience of the restaurant was first class. I would certainly recommend the experience to all of our friends and congratulate the restaurant staff for making our celebratory weekend a true night to remember.
5 out of 5
simon & amy fox
Sunday, February 22, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Myself and my husband visited Claridge's for the first time last night, well where do i start we had a fantastic night, it was a special night for us as we got married a month ago!! we had the a la carte menu which was out of this world so much to chose from, i had the pumpkin rissoto and lamb my husband had scottish scollops and cornfed duck, before the starter's they brought out a frothy mushroom soup it was to die for and didn't want it end. The waiter/waitress cant do enough for you. well done to all at Claridges!!!
4 out of 5
Mrs M
Friday, September 19, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We went to Claridges to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and it was absolutely superb experience!

With only one exception - we booked 2 months in advance for a Monday night, but already then it was difficult to get a table for our chosen time (7 or 8pm), and we were offered either a very early (6pm) or very late (10:30pm) table. We've chosen the earlier slot.

On arrival at 6pm the restaurant was empty - there was only one other couple! So at the beginning it felt a little strange as if we were in the restaurant before it opened with 5 pairs of eyes of very attentive staff focused on us. But the ambiance was nice, the lighting soft, staff friendly and informative yet not overly stiff. Soon other patrons started to arrive and we felt more relaxed.

The menu was interesting and varied yet it was easy to make the choice.
We started off with champaign cocktails and were served bread sticks with 2 dips (truffle and smoked salmon)
Then fresh breads & salted & unsalted butter (although we didnt try them)
Then complementary tiny bowl of pumpkin soup (eaten with a tea spoon!) - it was velvety smooth!! & absolutely delicious

For entree I've chosen "Roasted Isle of Skye scallops, English peas, quail egg beignets and crispy bacon" while my husband - "Ravioli of Dorset blue lobster and salmon poached in a lemongrass bisque, basil vinaigrette". Both were superb!

For the main course my husband decided on a dover sole while I had the chateaubriand (chef's special). It was meltin-in-your mouth and the best stake I've ever eaten in my life!

We got complementary mini cheesecakes for dessert followed by our order of "White chocolate and lemon verbena panna cotta, nectarine salad, warm honey madeleines" (my husband) and "Honey crème brûlée, macerated figs, lemon sorbet" (for me). I dont usually order creme brulee as am not really a fan of this desert, but thought if it's going to be good it will be here - and I'm completety sold on creme brulee - it was heavenly!

To accompany our food we had a bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc Clos Henri from Marlborough (as my husband is Kiwi) - once again it was a superb choice. As someone else said - the wine list is more like an encyclopedia than a list so it might be confusing if you dont know what you are after!

With our desserts we ordered coffees - cappucino and a double espresso but strangely - they dont serve espressos! My husband was served with a pot (!) of black coffee...

I have given service 9/10 as we couldnt get a later table for a monday night while booking 2 months in advance...

And I have given ambience 9/10 as one thing that was missing was music - I'm not talking about celine dion through the speakers but it would have been lovely to hear the piano played (it was played in the foyer). Instead, we could overhear other conversations and there was this constant noise of glasses and cuttlery. I think piano would have soften that noise....

And of course - they could serve normal espresso but I'm not going to deduct points for that as food was simply sublime.

There were four other couples celebrating their wedding anniversaries (we all got little plate with a candle and happy Anniversary written with chocolate on it) so I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic or special occasion venue.
5 out of 5
Chris & Tracy Wilde
Tuesday, April 15, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My husband took me to Claridges on the 7th April as a late Christmas present.
The only thing we can say about the experience is superb! We had a un-believeable meal, the food was to die for and we enjoyed every mouth full.
The waiters and staff were very helpful and can't do enough for you. The restaurant is so relaxing and comfortable.
We can't wait to go back there again soon!
5 out of 5
rod lugg
Sunday, March 30, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Four of us dined last night - a real treat. We've done lots and lots of hotels over the years but Claridges is sumptuous!. A pre-dinner drink in the piano bar, followed by friendly, courteous service without stiffness. Perfect for us!
Fantastic food (standouts - risotto, venison and the parsnip soup pre-starter), great and attentive wine service (thats not a list - thats an encyclopedia!) We had two bottles of £35 Vouvray and a £17 half bottle of red....we're not experts, but they tasted fantastic. Plenty of still Evian, my 7 months pregnant partner was attended to the inches (including the offer of a cushion to support her back - and holding up the main course while she got some air after feeling a bit faint)
If you want service, sumptuous surroundings and good fun - go for it! Surrounded by a wealth of diners from seemingly all backgrounds you cannot fail to relax and enjoy what was for us a rare treat...but one which we will definitely do again.
Not sure that a kitchen tour is necessary....its a restaurant not a zoo!!! Be cool everybody and enjoy the mystique!!
We did just over £450.00 in and whilst that may seem expensive we didn't think so....at £25.00 per hour per head its actually amazing they can do it and keep the standard up night after night....well done all at Claridges!

5 out of 5
Jo
Monday, March 24, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Went to Gordon Ramseys on Sat 22nd March and it was fantastic. The food was exceptional and for £65 per head a real treat. We had 4 bottles of wine, water and champagne and the total bill came to £660. Yes its a lot of money but we all had a fab time and its not something that you would do every week.

We also got treated to a tour of the kitchens which were just amazing and all agreed we would love to do the Chefs dining. Our table was booked at 6pm and we never left till after 10pm. Not once were we rushed, once our meal was over we were taken to the lounge to continue drinking and relaxing.

The only down side was that we never saw Gordon Ramsey himself.
5 out of 5
Stuart
Wednesday, January 30, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Totally amazing! Just go and find out for yourself.
5 out of 5
David & Nikki
Sunday, December 09, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had an excellent meal at this restaurant - food quality and service was really first class. The menu provided choices very much to our tastes, so much so it was a struggle to choose - in the end I went for the 6 course tasting menu (Menu Prestige) and my wife chose the scallops followed by the John Dory. I would never have imagined roast pork belly could be so tasty - my wife had a taste and was then trying to swap plates....not a hope!

The wine list is extensive, and can be as expensive as you wish, but also has very modestly priced bottles (e.g. Sancerrre at around £35 plus a good selection of wine by the glass. While very tasteful and plush it's fairly open plan so not really a 'romantic' restaurant, no booths or many quiet corners, but neither are the tables so close you can hear every word of their conversation. We were fortunate enough to be given a behind-the-scenes tour of the kitchens.

All-in-all it was a wonderful evening and we plan to go back when we are next in London.
5 out of 5
kay mesure
Saturday, November 03, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Our children treated us to dine at Gordon Ramseys to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversery.

We can only say a huge thank you to all the staff that played a part in making this a night we will never forget! from entering we were made to feel very special and although we had high expectations we were not disappointed. the food was amazing. the service superb from the moment we stepped in, everything was just right.
The extra touches made us both feel very special, and to top it all a trip to the famous kitchens to meet the brilliant team who make the dishes something to remember and talk about to our friends and family.
Thank you all very much. we hope to return in the new year to celebrate another special evening. hopefull we can bring our wonderful children who are responsible for this experience.
Kind Regards
Kay Mesure
4 out of 5
Jonathan Kent
Sunday, May 13, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I went with my wife and we had a great time, this restaurant is definately up there with the very best in London, but not quite THE best, that has to go to Petrus ( another Ramsey restaurant run by Markus Wearing ).

The food is exceptional and the portions are perfect. The deserts are absolutely to die for, you can have 6 mini deserts which I would recommend highly for anyone! We had a bottle of Chenin Blanc priced at £46 which was lovely. The Champagne offered as you arrive is also very good.

This restaurant is just missing some very minor details. We felt that the staff could be more relaxed and friendly towards the guests, it was a little bit formal and serious. Guests are allowed to visit the kictens in Ramsey restaurants, they were very happy to ablige when we asked, but it would have been nice if they offered. Once in the kitchen we met the fantastic deputy head chef Steve Allen who was extremely friendly and happy to chat. At Petrus you have someone dedicated to your table and they spend time with you chatting informally, at Claridges we were tended to by several staff which caused confusion at times. No bon bon trolley either!

To finish on a positive note this restaurant really is the ultimate eating experiance and even at £270, its well worth doing at least once.
3 out of 5
Mr Wolfe
Wednesday, April 04, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The room is lovely and the food & wine are interesting, well chosen and enjoyable. However, this is what one would expect of a restaurant of this calibre. What made the experience disappointing was the inattentive service -- no one appeared to be responsible for our table. We did manage to progress through the journey of our lunch within the allotted 2 hours being provided with what would best be described as London Bus Request-Stop service. Yes, a once-in-a-lifetime dining experience as I see no reason to return in this lifetime.
5 out of 5
Lisa
Thursday, March 29, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

About five times a year the gal (3) and me go to a restaurant in London as a birthday or Christmas treat. Having done this for about six years, I can honestly say Claridges was fantastic. The waiter/ess were polite, informal but very attentive. The food was carefully prepared and served with great care. For a formal restaurant we had a very relaxed evening. And to be honest, I am now not fussed about wasting money on the other restaurants in town. Well done, Gordon et al. F&$king brilliant!
4 out of 5
A Driver
Sunday, March 04, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

It was a great experience.Food was good except both main meals were extremely salty Staff very attentive during meal, but after paying the bill plus the discretionary 12 1/2 % service charge I asked for my coat which they kindly offered to take from me before the meal and produced a ticket , but when it come to leaving after payng was told to collect my coat from the ladies. It would have been a nice touch to follow the high standard of service to the end, even my local restaurant brings the coats to you.
5 out of 5
rym
Thursday, February 08, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i thought that claridges was a lovely restaurant and from my personal opinion i thought the food was maverlouse!! i also think that the waiters were very nice!!
5 out of 5
chris Topliss
Thursday, December 28, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Back in March 2006, My wife and I had lunch for our silver wedding anniversary; we arrived a little early for our table at noon, and we were lucky to see Gordon in person (he still manages to get around all his restaurants regularly AND works in the kitchens...unlike a lot of celebrity chefs), this made our day before we even started on the lunch! From the canapes to the coffee everthing was just perfect, the staff we exceptional, and Jean Baptiste (also famous for being Maitre D in TV's F-Word restaurant) got Gordon to sign a menu for us that is now in a frame on our dining room wall. No stuffyness, no snobbery, just impeccable service and food from the start, in the most glorious surroundings. The £220 bill? who cares, it was worth every penny... The pork belly, Canaloni of crab, best end of lamb and royal pidgeon breast and the desserts were to die for both visual and by taste. Well done Gordon Ramsay, Mark Sargeant, Jean Baptiste and your staff!! I am now counting the days before we go to Gordon's 3 star flagship at Royal Hospital Road, where we will be sure of more of the same. Keep it coming Gordon, we love you!
2 out of 5
Not a happy customer
Tuesday, November 28, 2006


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The food was very disappointingly average, scallops overpowered by the sweetness of the accompanying risotto, beautiful roasted pigeon drown in again a very sweet tasting truffle bouillon - not something you would expect from a Michelin Star restaurant. The waiters were friendly, efficiently attentive but seemed to be inexperienced and lacked confidence. When it came to paying the bill we were told that the discretionary gratuity was not so discretionary as we would like to have chosen to pay gratuity appropriate to our experience. What a shame!!!!
5 out of 5
Emma
Wednesday, August 02, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I and my family who are not easily pleased ate at Gordon Ramsey's at Claridge's for my birthday in July and we all agreed it was the best meal we had ever had in London.
The meat we all agreed was tender and the flavours were wonderful, you could never recreate it. The wine list was very extensive and we decided to have a bottle of Chablis at around 30 pounds.
The atmosphere is very sophisticated plus the restaurant is quite intimate and the service is excellent. I was made to feel very special from when I walked in till when I left.
5 out of 5
sineadt
Saturday, April 29, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

"best birthdsy present ever"

My husband took myself and some firends to Gordons restuarant in Claridges last night (28th April 2006)for my birthday an we had the best time ever!!!.I.Everything from the excellant food to the service and the whole atmosphere was absolutely superb.The biggest surprise was that we actually dined in the kitchen (to those of you who don,t know their is a top table if you like in the kitchen where you can watch the chefs cook),which was amazing.They had a cancellation for this room and as they knew it was my birthday they offered for us to dine there which was fantastic. We had a lovely chat with one of the chefs(Steve Allen)and i felt like a vip for the night.It is quiet expensive but worth every penny and we would reccommend it to anyoneGo and enjoy!!!
5 out of 5
Tanya & Shelagh
Friday, April 07, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Bloody marvelous !! We chose things on the menu that both of us did not particually like but to our surprise we loved it. We both had fois gras for starter, I had Sea bass for main, Shelagh had lamb & the dessert was to die for, Honeycomb icecream, madarine sorbet & a layered dessert of White chocolate mouse, maderine jelly & milk mouse.

We were afraid that this restaurent would be snobby but to our delight it was not, we were treated like ladies that lunch.

All of the staff that waited on us were exceptional however we did notice the wine waiter was taking his work seriously , we caught him having a cheeky one - must have been a long day...

We would deffinaly recomend this restaurent it will go down as one of if not the best meal we have had, thouroughly reccomended 11/10, although beware the drinks are quite expensive a gin & tonic was £8.50 - but well worth it for a special occasion of if you just want to spoil yourselves.
4 out of 5
Elaine
Sunday, November 27, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Had lunch on a Saturday in early November 2005. To start off, we were quite overwhelmed when we arrived at Claridges as tradition and old money in posh hotels was not soomething we were accustomed to.

On arriving at the restaurant, we were quite impressed with the service by the staff as I think they know everyone's there to celebrate and use that special occasion to tryout and see if the restaurant matches the michelin stars and Ramsay's reputation. The wine guy we spoke to was pretty cool, some of the waiters seemed a bit snooty at first but turned out to be pretty cool.

Now for the food - great presentation, we got complimentary bread (yummo) and soup. The entrees we ordered were goats cheese and the other some sort of mosaic meat thing. For mains my husband ordered the lamb and I ordered brill. My husband really enjoyed his entree and main. I didn't love my entree and main as much. I picked them cos they sounded delicious after talking to the head waiter. The food was of good quality (as you would expect) but not really something I'd write home about. Perhaps I had high expectations in wanting to say the food was absolutely delicious and unforgettable or something but it didn't turn out that way. We also got desert - i got a fig tart with ice cream and my husband something i can't remember. The desert was nice and if u have a really sweet tooth you are in for a treat.

It's worth going there for the overall experience and trying out good quality food. I would go there again for a special occasion or to impress visitors (if i have money to throw around) and it's not a killer to spend around £120 for 2 ppl for a special occasion.
5 out of 5
karen lilley
Saturday, June 11, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We went to Gordon Ramseys on june 4th 2005 and we were absolutely!*!*ping ourselves because we had never gone to anything like this before and didn't know what to expect.All the staff made us feel very comfortable from the minute we arrived. We had a nice bottle of house wine and didn't feel pressured into ordering anything more.The food was excellent from the tasters and fresh bread right to the truffles served at the end of the meal.We were even invited to take a look around the kitchen before we left which really made our night!! We had saved up for this special evening and it was worth every penny . If you appreciate good food and faultless service this is the place to be !!
5 out of 5
Ricky Miller
Sunday, August 08, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My partner and i had a weekend in London, and had booked a table a few weeks in advance for a pre-theatre meal on the saturday 31/07/04 at 1745, there was no doubt that this was going to be the highlight of our weekend eating at such a prestigious restuarant with the name of Gordon Ramsey behind it, and Head Chef Mark from "Hells Kitchen" in charge, we were absolutely delighted with every minute we spent in the restuarant, from the first class attention we recieved from the staff, to the sheer quality of the meal and beautiful surroundings, we sat at a perfect table no 32, with good views of what was going on all around us,to start i had the risotto which was delicious i had to ask one on the waiters if he could get me the recipe,which gave him a laugh, my partner had the salmon which she assured me was yummy, we both had the lamb as main course, and i can assure you it was to die for, so tender and no waste, to finish my partner had 5 different scoops of home made ice cream which she loved and i had a chocolate sweet, which by the time i had finished it i wanted some more. To accompany our meal we had a bottle of Cairanne Rhone at a very resonable £25, the total bill was £95 which was very good for such excellence.We left the restuarant and headed for the bar for some relaxing drinks, we both felt full without feeling too full, and both agreed that we will definately be back next time we are in London,it's a pity that we could'nt have met gordon or Mark as this would have been the icing on the evening for us.I can't praise the experience enough, and would recommend it to you all. Bon Appetite  
5 out of 5
Cathy Richards
Tuesday, July 27, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We would highly recommend lunch here. It was the best food we have ever tasted and we will certainly be booking again! The service was exceptional and exceeded our expectations, nothing was too much trouble. As vegetarians we often have problems finding dishes that cater for our needs but every dish was perfectly put together and gave us new flavour experiences. Looking forward to next time........

5 out of 5
Geoff Turner
Wednesday, November 12, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

For the climax to our wedding anniversary weekend in London, my wife and I had dinner at Gordon Ramsays / Claridges. It proved to be the experience we had hoped for, the food was outstanding and the service made us feel like royalty. It was money well spent and we will definitely make a return visit next time we are in London. We had just one minor niggle in that after finishing our starter we waited an hour with no sign of the main course arriving. I dropped a gentle hint to the waiter and the food arrived a few minutes later. Apart from this minor hiccup, a wonderful evening indeed.    
5 out of 5
sue canavan
Saturday, September 27, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

not dissapointed at all. deserves every accolade bestowed! on our last trip we had two of the best dinners we have ever eaten in london...staff was wonderful, food was fantastic and wine list superb. can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Thursday, September 25, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We've been there three times now and on each occasion Gordon has been there. Has to be a good sign. Will he get his three Michelin stars for this restaurant (his professed ambition)? We'll be happy if he does, so long as he keeps his set-lunch priced at £25.
5 out of 5
Friday, September 19, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Strongly recommend "Prestige" menu at £65.  Everything on it, including both desserts, tasted delicious and was beautifully presented.  The service was consistently excellent, with the quite youthful sommelier outstanding.

3 out of 5
Grant Ramage
Wednesday, August 13, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

This meal was spoiled by a typically snotty French Sommelier (the one with the glasses) who twice returned to our table to argue that our cork tainted wine was in good condition. Sadly, this is exactly the sort of arrogant bullying that is to be expected from these jumped up wine waiters.


Aside from that the quality of the food was high, although the overall impression was one of competence rather than being the sublime dining experience I would expect from a Ramsay restaurant.


Sacking the Sommelier would be a good start.

5 out of 5
Monday, December 16, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Three courses on a Saturday lunchtime for £25 is excellent value, outstanding food and the best pudding I have ever eaten in my life! What bumps the overall price up is alcohol but with food this good it was worth every single penny. Faultless service.