homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Gordon Ramsay On Royal Hospital Road, Sloane Square

Gordon Ramsay On Royal Hospital Road
Gordon Ramsay On Royal Hospital Road


68 Royal Hospital Road, Chelsea, London

4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews
Review Gordon Ramsay On Royal Hospital Road Rate and review Gordon Ramsay On Royal Hospital Road


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
ghusya
Saturday, April 04, 2009


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

What we liked :

We went for the “menu degustation”. Some of the dishes were very good (eg. Beef Wellington, Panna Cotta).


What we didn’t like :

Globally, we were completely dumbfounded that the Michelin awards 3 stars to this restaurant.

At the time of booking, the restaurant asked for payment by credit card of around £500 as an “advanced booking fee” since we were 5 people. I suspect this is to build up the feeling of booking with a “low-cost airline” that one would expect from Michelin starred establishments.

We were literally rubbing elbows with the people on the table next door. I can understand that Mr. Ramsey likes to maximise the profits on his investment, but is that really what we should expect from a 3 star restaurant?

The service was incredibly slow. The staff were clearly too concerned about those who had come for the lunch menu and had forgotten about others like us who had foolishly opted for the “menu degustation”. This meant that the poor waiters felt they had to fill up our glasses literally after each sip - which as a result was incredibly annoying.

The sommelier was completely disinterested and either didn’t feel like informing us about the wines, or perhaps didn’t know. In any case he was useless.

The “maitre d’hôtel” was not at all genuine, he should take smiling lessons. Furthermore, he told us that the chef could prepare for us a Beef Wellington with truffles as an alternative to the main dish in the menu. Either they forgot the truffles, or the chap was telling tales. That said, the Beef Wellington was very good even without the truffles.

As they had forgotten about us, we were the last to finish our meal at around 4-5pm. It is often the case that when we treat ourselves to 3 star restaurants, meals wind up around 4-5pm so this is usually not a problem. Here, however, it was made very clear that they wanted us to leave – they brought us the bill before we asked for it and they informed us that they needed to prepare the table for the evening. This I have never experienced before in a Michelin 3 star restaurant. Astonishing!

We are big fans of the Michelin Guide, and continue to use it as a reference for other countries. However, the fact that Michelin UK has felt it appropriate to award this Gordon Ramsey restaurant 3 stars for so many years completely discredits their reputation and very much calls into question the rating by the Michelin of other establishments in the capital, if not also elsewhere in the UK.
5 out of 5
Loving Annie
Thursday, April 03, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Mhmmmm. Dinner was amazing !
I'd gotten VERY lucky because I'd been able to make reservations so far in advance.

The restaurant faces the street, with white flowers outside flanking the windows. A top hatted doorman opens the outside door, and then you pass through the second door, down a short hallway and into a small bar/reception area.

Immediately, the charm and stellar service begin. The entire Gordon Ramsay experience starts out with polish and panache, a precursor of a truly lovely dinner and evening.

The maitre d' greets me and ushers me into an intimate, carpeted room that appears to seat perhaps up to 50 guests.

Cream walls with a discreet edging of gilt, offset by equally tasteful mirrors subtly done.

Elaborate crown molding, silk and sheer shades on the windows, cunning small prism lamps on the walls, everything is soft, warm, intimate.

Double tablecloths on each table, 3 white rose buds in a silver vase, a glass oil lamp throws gentle light on the flowers.

There is a silver/gilt 'charger' plate on the table, the color of which harmonizes with the interior of the room. White bone china with rippling edges, and silverware heavy enough to feel real.

A refrigerated holder to keep your bottle of flat or sparkling water chilled. Lemon slices brought on a plate on the side. Already I am spoiled, and it just continues.

I think there were 4 different waiters just for my table alone. At least it felt that way - service is an art form here.

Plus a different waiter brought a selection of freshly baked sourdough, olive or wheat bread to the table. With stamped rounds of both salted and unsalted butter brought, each on a small silver plate with a butter knife.

The sommelier asked about my wine preferences. Not a flicker of dismay crossed his well trained face as I told him I'd just be drinking water :)

Everyone was so polite, helpful, solicitous. You can order a la carte, or they have different 8 course tasting menus.

I was in the mood for vegetables, so chef happily obliged... It is NOT Gordon Ramsey anymore.

An amuse bouche was brought, melt in your mouth avocado something in a tiny tuile. It was FABULOUS.

They kept replacing the silverware for each course. Quiet, pampering, this is an experience with a capital E.

Another amuse bouche - an individual, melt in your mouth ravioli in consomme with tiny diced vegetables, garnished with a nickel sized slice of black truffle.

Then a frisee of baby lettuce salad with artichoke heart, carrot, apple, and a truffle vinaigrette made me moan (quietly) with pleasure.

Asparagus risotto followed.

Every detail is perfect at this restaurant. It just doesn't get better.

Stuffed baby red peppers with ratatouille followed, with the thinnest of Pecorino shavings, basil puree and red pepper vinaigrette.

Dime sized potatoes that melted in my mouth. (I keep saying that, and it is true :)
Six tiny individual coils of onion rings as delicate as fishing wire garnish baby vegetables.

Broccolini, baby carrots, artichoke hearts, spinach, celery root and button mushrooms, each so fresh it tastes as though they were picked from a garden not an hour ago.

Exquisite jasmine tea was brewed for me at the table in a glass pot, where the tea was a flower bud that expanded in the water as it steeped.

And then, ohhhhhh yes, dessert. Or desserts, to be more accurate.

A small glass jar of creme brulee. But not just any ordinary creme brulee. The kind of creme brulee you'll remember for a long, long, long time.

So sinfully good, not too sweet, just a perfect blend of apple and pear, dusted with bittersweet chocolate on the top.

Then another dessert. An edible piece of art on a plate - a bitter chocolate and hazelnut cylinder, with ginger ice cream and blackberry granite.

Incredibly, more followed.

Pineapple and coconut 'soup' with chili syrup they had me drink through a glass straw. Silver dusted chocolate balls. White chocolate cov
5 out of 5
Roger Coombs
Monday, July 10, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We lunched here on our 40th wedding anniversary and were helped to leave in time to catch the Eurostar for Paris so we could lunch there the following day. We are well travelled and fed but couldn't fault the restaurant - from the moment of arrival and welcome to our departure. We relaxed in the charming room with its well spaced tables, found all the staff friendly and helpful, and our only problem was what not to choose from the menu of the day with its eight starters and eight main dishes (plus desserts). The cellar has almost everything you could wish for except a fair representation of the best wines now being made in England. (Fly the flag, please!)Though dishes are described in English this is mostly French-inspired cooking with Ramsay's many inimitable touches. The restaurant certainly lives up to its stellar reputation and is worth every penny, based on our lunch-time experience. Will save up for the next occasion (d.v.)
5 out of 5
Susanna Edwards
Wednesday, March 15, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Faultless in everyway. We ate the Menu Prestige and were delighted with each course. Beautiful presentation and mouthwatering tastes with every one. Gordon Ramsey is a genius. The service was also exceptional - striking just the right note of attentiveness and humour that make you feel welcome and valued as a customer. Yes it's expensive but what an evening to remember. Would we go again - just name the day!
4 out of 5
Shirley Hocking
Thursday, September 22, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary by dining at Gordon Ramsay on the 19th/09/05.

We had a 1.30pm reservation, arrived on time and were seated promptly. The service is lovely, with just a side note on the head waiter...he has a VERY strong French accent that we found difficult to understand at times, but we had a couple of laughs with him about it. This in no way distracted us from his charms, he along with all the staff were wonderful, efficient and knowledgable.

My favourite part of the meal was my starter, prawn, langustine and lobster ravioli. The flavours and presentation were impeccable. I only wish they served it as a main...for next time.

My husband particularly enjoyed his steak, cooked perfectly to order, and he said tasted wonderful.

We ordered from the main menu, there was a choice of three menus. The £40 lunch. The £70 main menu lunch/dinner. The £90 seven course tasting menu...which we will try next time.

Our total bill for lunch came to around £220, including a couple of mixed drinks and 1 glass of red wine.

All in all a wonderful restaurant. We have also dined at Gordon Ramsay at Claridges which is equally impressive, in fact, we decided we like Claridges just a tad more....the room is beautiful.

Go try Royal Hospital road, save it for a special occassion, you will enjoy it.
5 out of 5
Stephen W
Friday, September 09, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Ignore those who carp about prices without having eaten there (although you CAN spend £100 to £150 per head the set lunch is only £40) and those who suggest that a 3 Michelin star restaurant would use "second -class butter". This is a super restaurant with top class food and wine served with the perfect combination of professionalism and friendliness that one hopes for. The pear tarte tatin with Gorgonzola ice cream was excellent (and yes, I was sceptical about it before I tried it), but the Crème Brûlée (with tarragon and cherries) was simply sublime. If you enjoy life and good food this is one of the best places to go.
2 out of 5
Gordon Fan
Monday, August 08, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I've been a long time follower of Gordon's but £100-£150 per head is simply extortionate! I have no doubt the food is very good, but come on..how can he justify such high markups? Lower your prices Gordon and let us not-so-well-off folk have a bite now and then!
3 out of 5
isabelle cazala
Thursday, June 30, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I went for lunch with friends and we had the menu du jour at 40£. There was a strong smell of lilies in the room (although it is rightly forbidden to smoke how on earth can you display such strong smelling flowers ?), one of our chairs had a large stain, the crockery very ordinary and one of our plates even had a chip but the Murano glass display was great. The service was efficient and friendly. I had an Angus beef carpaccio, rather dry and without flavour, followed by pork cheek which reminded me of average pub food. The pear tartin tart was not better, the puff pastry probably prepared with second -class butter, and the gorgonzola ice-cream pretty disturbing (but the nut mousse rather tasty). My friends had halibut as main which was very successful, perfect cooking for the fish and interesting lemon and sauternes sauce. The presentation of the food on the plates desperately lacked imagination.
An overall very disappointing experience , at this supposely level of cooking all dishes should tickle your tastebuds, which happened only with the halibut. Perhaps Mr Ramsay lives on his reputation and becoming a businessman does not leave him anymore time to spend in his kitchen ?
5 out of 5
Mary Ann Watson
Monday, November 01, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Excellent. I have been twice and in both occasions 10 out of 10!



5 out of 5
Becky
Wednesday, September 08, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The whole experience was wonderful.  I cannot fault it in any way.  The restaurant provided a wonderful intimate ambience for our special occasion.  It was my boyfriends parents 30th wedding anniversary and Gordon was kind enough to come out of the kitchen and send his regards as well as show us the kitchen. 


A perfect evening.

4 out of 5
Steve Walter
Friday, August 06, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Superb evening, with EXEPTIONAL service. We had the 8 course menu, and my only slight critisism was that there were 3 pudding courses, which was a little exessive...
5 out of 5
David M
Tuesday, June 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Went there recently for set lunch. Food was amazingly good and the service extremely attentive. Not cheap, but well worth a visit and well worth the money.
5 out of 5
Friday, April 09, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Gordon Ramsey's resturant at Claridges is to die for!


The food was absolutely amazing and the service was excellent.  The cheese board is a must!  A man comes out with a trolley of cheeses and you have to pick what you would like, he even has a silver tray of crackers for you to pick out! You even get ice cream chocolates with your coffee after dessert!


It was the best food I have ever had and I would highly recommend going here for a special occasion as you will not be dissppointed.

3 out of 5
Roy Smith
Monday, March 01, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Went there recently and was not impressed by the food. They seem to be surviving on their reputation. There was  no innovation or sense of occasion.


Service  was excellent though.

5 out of 5
julien
Wednesday, December 10, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

pricy but worth it!


Enjoy

4 out of 5
Jammo
Friday, September 05, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Very, very fine food!  Which is the point I suppose. And I'd have to say value for money (although you could consider purchasing a small motor-vehicle instead of having an evening out here...). The endearingly subservient staff are knowledgeable in their mastermind specialist subjects (e.g. wine, desserts, etc.)  The dining room is pleasant, if small... although this made the herd of waiters slightly intimidating - I couldn't relax completely because they seemed to be watching my every move to see if they could improve my experience at all.  They should go away and watch the CCTV. Or something.
5 out of 5
Tracey Wills
Friday, April 25, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The menu - the finest and tastiest I have ever had (a sumptious feast of flavours), the atmosphere - wonderfully relaxed and intimate, the staff - friendly and diligent. A real treat for foodies - people who enjoy their flavours!
5 out of 5
Michaela
Tuesday, December 17, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Everything about this restaurant is totally perfect. It could not have been any better.
5 out of 5
Thursday, March 14, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Expensive but its the best - by far.
5 out of 5
Tuesday, February 26, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Amazing food. £150 per head including wine but really worth it.