homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Masala Zone, Oxford Circus

Masala Zone

9 Marshall Street, Soho, London

4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews
Review Masala Zone Rate and review Masala Zone


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

4 out of 5
teq
Friday, December 16, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We often go to this restaurant and have tried many items on the menu. We particularly like the talis, which offer a good balance meal with different vegetables of the day, together with a curry. All starters are delicious. Have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. We also have take-aways and portions are generous and delicious. Lots of seasonal vegetables, root vegetables and pulses, every dish very flavousome, full of herbs and spices. Very relaxed and casual atmosphere. Recommended
5 out of 5
Amy
Friday, December 16, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Masala Zone offers a variety of starters using tomatoes, chick-peas, onions and coconut. One starter known as ‘Dahi Puri’ is a common favourite in Punjab. It consists of chickpeas and masala stuffed in a fried puri covered in yoghurt and coriander and a tangy tamarind sauce. It is surprisingly light for a starter with a balanced blend of spices. For the main course, if you want to truly experience the taste of backstreet India, the traditional Thali is definitely the dish for you. There are three different types to choose from. We had the grand Thali (very grand indeed – if you go for this option, I would skip the starter as this is like a starter and mains together). Then there’s the regular Thali and a great ayurvedic Thali for those who are diabetic. The Thali dish is a combination of foods served on a stainless steel platter. You can expect a main dish (chicken, lamb or veg), paired with lentils, potatoes and aubergines as well as salad, naan, chutney and yoghurt. Be warned, the portions are large and may take some time to finish. Nevertheless the idea behind the Thali is to share with friends emphasising the Indian way of eating.
Masala Zone is not the traditional family eatery; the location tends to attract city workers, tourists and locals. Pricing is up to £20 a head. On the whole, I would recommend this place for those willing to try something authentic and new. If you enjoy a fast paced and aromatic feel, the Masala Zone experience is one that is sure to transport you on a culinary journey with a bit of culture thrown in
2 out of 5
alesco
Friday, March 30, 2007


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

food not bad but very small portion. not so cheap.
ambience like a canteen.
not to try...only if you don't find someting better nearby.
3 out of 5
Tara
Thursday, July 06, 2006


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This is definitely a place to eat if you wish to try dishes that are not your bulk standard Anglo Indian food.

The review previous to this seems a little unlucky and was not my experience at all. I visited the restaurant with a friend at approx 6:30 and was welcomed by a chatty waiter who had no problems with us sitting where-ever we wanted to.

We ordered the Thalis, mine with Chicken Mangalore and my friend ordered a lamb dish. The food was lovely and a nice change from the almighty Chicken Tikka Masala or Chicken Jalfrezi. Following this we had a mango sorbet and a traditional indian dessert. We also had a whole bottle of wine and an extra glass of wine. The bill came out as £20 each. Personally thought it was a fair price. I would definitely visit this restaurant again but am unsure how the restaurant performs when very busy. oh, and I loved the decor.
2 out of 5
elaine
Wednesday, August 31, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

it was packed when we arrived and had to wait little while for a seat. After reading good reviews was looking forward to trying the thali but very disappointed. Good size portions but not that tasety, wouldn't go again.
5 out of 5
John
Tuesday, July 01, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Really friendly service and fab food. The real discovery is the street food that is out of this world.

4 out of 5
Margery
Sunday, March 23, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had a very good meal for £12 each, including drinks. Service was fast, friendly, efficient. We will certainly go back - it's a welcome addition to Soho dining.
5 out of 5
Roger
Saturday, January 25, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A great place. Such a relief to get the genuine article - delicious,freshly spiced home Indian food at very affordable prices. I am there practically every week. I love the zany tribal art on the walls. Service is pretty good too - friendly warm and good looking. Puts places costing 2-3 times to shame.
4 out of 5
Sam
Tuesday, August 27, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Finding a totally non-smoking restaurant was the highlight of my week! The menu is (thankfully) not your average Indian and offers rarely-discovered Thali's so you can try various different dishes at once, they even have one designed for diabetics and some unusual and delicious vegetarian options. Staff are friendly, if not totally hygenic but the wait for food is short and atmosphere modern. The true measure is that Indian people themselves were dining aplenty!