homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Busaba Eathai, Tottenham Court Road

Busaba Eathai
Busaba Eathai


106-110, Wardour Street, Soho, London

4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews
Review Busaba Eathai Rate and review Busaba Eathai


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

4 out of 5
Calamari Rule!
Sunday, April 19, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

nice!
4 out of 5
Jenn
Monday, January 19, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Its great!!
5 out of 5
herbet Khaury
Wednesday, June 11, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Sounds like Kirsty went on an off-day. I and my wife usually have the most sublime time. Give it another go, and maybe try not to upset the staff? or maybe your tone left something to be desired??
4 out of 5
Tamara
Wednesday, April 02, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Food was so good. Definitely go back there again..and again..
5 out of 5
Alison Skippen
Wednesday, March 12, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Lovely meal. Very tasty. I have been many times and it is always really good food.
5 out of 5
Peter Collingsforth
Wednesday, February 13, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Sorry MK, MC and Richard Stacey, wrong restaurant perhaps? Me and my friends, have eaten here many times and would have to be DRAGGED out...of this wonderful wonderful cavern of delights. Perhaps you would be happier in a Wendyburger perhaps? (more your financial status and culinary understanding?!!) The manager incidentally, is a worldleader in diplomacy and understanding and treats all customers as his personal guests and friends.
4 out of 5
Tess
Thursday, August 24, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Food, fansastic but you should not have changed the chicken for the green curry fried rice. It is horrible!
Service, as a regular customer always enjoy coming back.
Ambience, everyone I have taken to busaba have loved it and gone back. Love the fact you can go there and enjoy a meal on your own or with friends.
2 out of 5
ash
Friday, March 17, 2006


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

i've now dined in 27 london restaurants and i found this disappointing. i don't normally like this kind of food but someone recommended it o me but i don't know why it was overcrowded, it took forever for our food to come and i thought the food was average and nothing special. not good value for money. anyone thinking of goiong to this restaurant i urge against it.
4 out of 5
Chris
Wednesday, April 06, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Fantastic! A little piece of Thailand in the heart of London!

The prices are reasonable, the dishes are flavoursome and the atmosphere is very relaxed. The only tiny thing that lets it down is the service during busy periods - you can be waiting a little too long.

However, the fact that the place is busy tells it's own story!
4 out of 5
March
Wednesday, March 02, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Nice food with reasonable price.
Staff are friendly.
5 out of 5
Greg Taylor
Saturday, August 07, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Amazing food - at very reasonable prices. Eating here is like having culinary orgasms.
4 out of 5
Sarah Peacock
Wednesday, July 14, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


I am one of the people that keeps going back, I love the place. What you see is what you get, a fuss free dining experience in a fantastic space.


The food is awesome, some of the best Thai eating I have had outside Bangkok. I am particularly keen on the fishcakes, which although are not ‘spot on’ authentic do all the right things. The menu is varied and caters for all tastes – not everything is ‘extremely’ hot and they have plenty for the vegetarian diner.


I have had no problems with the staff, although perhaps slightly aloof, what do you expect in Soho? I have not eaten in the Store Street restaurant so can’t comment on the staff there. The concept of the place (the same as wagamama’s) is an unbooked, sit, eat and leave place, how much attention from the staff do you need?


I love the ambience of the place, dark enough to feel intimate, busy enough to feel sociable and you never know who you might be sharing a table with. The décor is perfect, dark wood, slate and low lighting along with the intoxicating smells of the food and the incense immediately recreates my experiences of Thailand.


My top tip (not rocket science) is to eat early or late in the evening to avoid queuing too long and don’t take large groups of people.

4 out of 5
Gart
Saturday, March 06, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The second best Thai food tasted outside Thailand and only comes second to my girlfriend’s parent’s restaurant. You want Authentic food, then try spicy and hot because that’s what you get in Thailand, yes *extremely* but not every dish that is a total overstatement. The smells of the incense, the waft of the cooking, the noise of chattering and laughter and the chance movement of the staff creates a wonderful atmosphere which almost recreates the vibrant bustle of Thailand itself, the communal dining style helps give a great social ambiance (strangely as private or as social as you make it) which is reminiscent of the laidback friendly attitudes of the Thai people which becomes apparent after spending time in Thailand and dating a Thai lady. The décor is elegant and by using accurate materials and good lines it creates a beautiful mix of traditional with modern, promoting a relaxed casual/smart tone. The furniture is clever and is the most suitable option for the style intended and also for the desired social connection. If you have come across a bench before then you won’t have any problems mastering such a simple device. Finally, there is no contest but as it has been referred to in other reviews, I have been to wagamama’s once, and have never been back. I didn’t enjoy paying through the roof for a tiny dish of curry sauce which I found far too similar in taste and substance to my boyhood local chip shops ‘pot of curry sauce’. Additionally making my compacted tablespoon of rice look like boiled egg didn’t seduce my taste buds any more than the chicken dippers sitting next to it did! The difference, Busaba makes money without you realising!



I hope I didn’t leave anything out! Only that I’ll be going there again to celebrate my birthday which is on Friday and my birthday is a special day, just like yours :0)


5 out of 5
Thursday, September 25, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

it is superb place, highly recomended. great staff too!
3 out of 5
Kate
Friday, August 08, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Service and ambiance were fine. The food was decent, but far from the best Thai food I've ever had. Everything was *extremely* spicy. That's not a complaint, just an observation. I thought the food could have benefitted from more flavor and less heat.
4 out of 5
Robin
Thursday, July 24, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

At 9 pm on a weekday evening, we had to queue for about 20 minutes, but it was well worth it. Buzzy atmosphere, benches at communal tables, high volume makes it difficult to converse. But excellent food, very fresh ingredients, friendly service. We shall certainly return.
2 out of 5
Rach
Thursday, November 14, 2002


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The food wasn't authentic at all but still better than a lot of thai places. What made us unhappy was the poor attention from our waiter and all our orders had to be asked for repeatedly.
The place feels great and looks like a lot of fun but unfortunately we had a bad experience and won't be rushing back there
4 out of 5
carl Hudson
Wednesday, September 11, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fantastic place, great food and atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Jeysen
Saturday, July 06, 2002


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

If you're looking for a vibrant and bustling Thai restaurant this is the place to go. However, if your after authentic and traditionally spicy Thai cuisine, Busaba is best avoided. The food is bland and lacks and real distinctive thai flavour.
5 out of 5
Monday, June 17, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Excellent will be returning very soon with all my friends ASAP!
4 out of 5
Margo
Monday, June 17, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Service in this restaurant is fast so waiting times are minimised. Food served was beyond expectations considering the price paid. Highly recommended indeed!
4 out of 5
Wednesday, May 29, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Well worth the wait...which really wasnt that long!
Great lighting, atmosphere...somewhere you can feel the buzz and be quite relaxed. Service was very attentive and a good build up to the excellent food which of course was the best part!!!
even tho the turnover is relatively fast, we stayed for a while and enjoyed the company of various friendly people enjoying their meal. Feel like a positive social experience in London - go here.
5 out of 5
Mohan
Thursday, December 20, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Absolutely fantastic...love this place. By far the best Thai restaurant in London (believe me I've been to many)... I've been there quite a few times and it has been great every single time. As a matter of fact, I'm going there again tonight!!

4 out of 5
GB
Monday, April 30, 2001


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Fast and furious, but that's what you expect in Soho. Great food though.
5 out of 5
Monday, May 07, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great atmosphere, awesome food. Make sure you try the grilled swordfish.
4 out of 5
Wednesday, July 25, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The food is consistently high quality and impresses everyone who dines there, whether they be a regular or it's their first visit. Generous portions, good selection, nice variety of meat, fish and vegetarian dishes. The kind of place that encourages one to go back again and again to work through the entire menu.
5 out of 5
Chris
Wednesday, September 26, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fantastic food, great atmosphere, and helpful staff. MY girlfriend and I have been back several times, and everyone we've taken there has loved it. Our first visit was a bit daunting, but the staff will help you choose your food if you're unsure. Don't be put off by a queue outside, it moves quick, and it's well worth the wait. I love it.