homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Porters English Restaurant, Covent Garden

Porters English Restaurant
Porters English Restaurant


17 Henrietta Street, Covent Garden, London

3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews
Review Porters English Restaurant Rate and review Porters English Restaurant


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

1 out of 5
Hilary
Wednesday, December 12, 2012


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Dined at Porters with my partner. Food was over priced and served cold. Pies are nothing more than pastry, with little meat inside, staff look sullen, tables far to close together. The meal was too expensive to include a service charge. There are better places to eat in Covent Garden.
1 out of 5
claire
Monday, November 29, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

This place is awful, a friend and I ate here on Friday prior to attending a show. We opted for steaks, mine was to be med well, my friend wanted medium rare. When the meals were served, I ended up with the medium rare, bloody steak which turned my stomach. WE made our server aware of this yet she was nonplussed. As we were in a rush we quickly swapped rather than waiting for new steaks to be cooked, however my friend had already covered his in garlic butter which I detest so my meal was awful. We also ordered side dishes to go with our mains, these were brought over ages later, when we had all but finished our meals. My friend's vegetable side order was cold. Our wine was served in dirty glasses, as was my Kir Royale.
When it came to settling the bill, we noted that 12.5% service had already been added - I wanted this to be taken off as it certainly wasn't earned, however my friend said that as we were strapped for time we should just leave it. However, we were owed a further £8 in change from our bill - this wasn't brought to our table and we didn;t have time to wait and argue or we would have missed our show. Disgusting, waste of money, do not visit.
1 out of 5
Sandra Clifton
Sunday, January 24, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

We were visiting my Husbands Sister in London and we was out with her younger child and my 10 year old boy. My Husband wanted to go to Covent Garden and found Porters Restaurant, it was fairly empty and when you have young children with you noisy busy places are best to stay clear off.
We looked on the menu and they seemed to have an interesting selection for both adult and children. So we went in. We was met at the door with someone who initially seemed helpful and polite, we was taken to our table, we was handed menus and asked if we wanted to order any drinks.
My Husband wanted a pint of Cider and I wanted a small glass of wine, the Children asked for orange juice and my Husbands Sister wanted a Vodka & orange.

We was then left to decide upon our food order, the drinks took forever to arrive back, eventually after asking then again we had them delivered to the table. This is where things really started to take a downturn for the worse and put our family in danger.
Our food arrived my Husband and Child had the same, meal. My Husband said that the meat tasted off or at the very least a strange taste, my child was eating his but also said he didnít like the taste, I tried a small sample and it was either not cooked correctly or the meat had not been stored at the correct temperature, it had become contaminated. I took my child to the toilets as he was feeling sick. I was in total dismay as to the filth and general unclean manner within.
By this time My child had been acting strange and had gone into a hyper mood, we was generally worried and very concerned over this, so we asked for the bill as we wanted to get him outside in the fresh air.
I complained to the waitress about the dirty toilets and I was told very rudely that, they was short staffed and they had not been cleaned.
My Husband told me the Gents was in the same dirty fashion and smelt very badly.
Our bill eventually arrived and while my Husband was checking it, he thought it was a little high, so I had a look over it. To my total disbelief and horror on the drinks order was a pint of Cider, at nearly £8 and my wine, and his sisters double vodka and orange, But this really then caused me grave concern, there was in-fact another double vodka and orange listed on the bill. I requested the waitress checked this and to have it corrected, she went away and come back saying we had 2 double vodkas and orange one pint of cider, which they only sell in bottles, so that was 2 bottles and a wine. By this time my child had got even worse and I assured them we had only had one double vodka and orange, then she pointed to the table and to the drink my son of 10 YEARS had been drinking, saying that was the other one.
I tested it so did my Husband and it contained a strong measure of Vodka, they had given this to my Son, of just ten years and he had drunk most of it. She had given my son a double vodka and orange drink and served the rest of the drinks to us. They must of known it was vodka because it was on the bill and it was at this point I was hit by panic, not only because of the food being of poor quality but the general poor service and I told them I was refusing to pay the bill. My little boy said mummy I donít feel well, and the restaurant informed me if I did not pay they would call the police. We had to get our Son out of that place and to the hotel, I told them we would pay and I would contact the local authorities, which I have done so.
I wish I had seen this site before we went there and I really wish I had read the other poor reviews on the place.

I would like to hear from other people who have reported this restaurant, as serious action needs to be carried out.

Giving a double vodka and orange to a 10 year old is unforgivable, not even an apology from them.

Sandra Clifton


1 out of 5
Barry Gondar
Monday, December 28, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Place is a dump, do not go to it, you will be better off getting a pack of crisps from local shop. Is dirty, staff are rude, total waste of money, we give it 3 goes to get things right, they did not, it just got worse and worse.

If I run my company to the same low level as they do, then I would be out of business, the same as they will be soon.

Read what other people have said and most of them have found the same, it is a dirty dump, and service is very poor or non at all.
2 out of 5
Stephen
Saturday, May 30, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

We went to Porters as part of a theatre/dinner package. It was a limited choice on the menu. Unfortunately the food wasn't up to much. The pea and bacon soup was nice, although couldn't taste or find any bacon. My girlflriend had the porters sausages and mash which was supposed to be one of their signature dishes. The sausages were ok, but the mash very poor, very dry and stogey. I paid the supplement to have the steak, muchroom and guiness pie. Very disappointing, huge puff pastry lid was hiding minimal filling, only a few bits of steak - no sauce so had to ask for some separate gravy and couldn't find the muchrooms - also had the mash which was awful.
Very disappointed especially as I had such high expectations, would never go back.
5 out of 5
lauren
Sunday, January 11, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

absoultly perfect!
2 out of 5
rebecca
Friday, September 10, 2004


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I am a bit puzzled by some of the reviews on this restaurant.  Although the service was good and we enjoyed the overall experience, the food was nothing special.  The chicken pie was good but unofrtunately the same can not be said of the puddings.  We each had a different pudding and all were highly disappointing with the steamed puddings being extremely poor.  They appeared as though they had just been microwaved and were dry and doughy.  We left these and as a result did not have to pay for them.  The waitress seemed embarassed that they were so poor.  Luckily, the bill was not expensive. 
3 out of 5
Alison
Wednesday, September 08, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Overall Porters is not much more than a expensive pub without the service. We waited 30 minutes to get a drink and the waitress found remembering anything a major problem.


The meal itself was nice although not great choice for veggie's - just one curry pie. I do hope it was just a off night for them as we were not the only people that seemed less than happy with the service.

4 out of 5
Little One Mango
Tuesday, August 24, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The menu had a very large choice and it took me ages to choose from the many traditional delights such as Pies, roasts, puddings....the list goes on.  Prices were reasonable the meal cost £32.00 for 2 people (main course, pudding and drinks) and they do a speacial discount meal deal.


I had the Roast beef & Yorkshire puddings with the most amazing side dish of Bubble & squeak!  The beef was cooked to perfection and came with proper roast potatoes.  My boyfriend had an enourmous Steak & Kidney pudding in a rich gravy which also tasted fantastic.


The puddings were all homemade and I had the Date & Walnut steamed pudding which was absolutely amazing.


The portion sizes were enourmous! and the service excellent.  My only comment is that the decor was a bit poor and the resturant is quite dark inside but apart from that an excellent experience.  Will definately be going back.

5 out of 5
Carole Martin
Monday, June 07, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I recently visited London which I do at least once a year, and finally made it to Porters restaurant in Covent Gardens. It is an absolutely wonderful place to eat!


Being a woman traveling alone, I am often uncomfortable in some restaurants, but not at Porters. I was greeted at the door with a welcoming smile by a very nice young man who showed me to my table.


My biggest problem came when I looked at the offerings on the menu and had to choose! There were so many wonderful sounding dishes. Being English and not having had good roast beef and Yorkshire pudding since my Mom passed away, I chose that. It was just like Mom's! Often in England, restaurants serve these little ready made Yorkshire puddings which can be bought at any supermarket over there, but not Porters! This was the real thing just like Mom used to make! I was in heaven! The beef was cooked to perfection and the vegetables were done just right!


I love the fact that Porters does not rush you when you are having a meal. I like to eat slowly, and sit and relax between courses, which I did while listening to the Beatles music playing in the background. Oh what wonderful memories some of those songs brought back!


Then it was time for another decision - dessert! I think the only thing I would add to the dessert menu would be one where you could choose three or four and just have a taste of each. I ordered the Apple and Blackberry Crumble with cream and was not disappointed. It was splendid! Along with a nice pot of tea, it was the perfect ending to a very delicious meal!


For those going to London, do not miss going to Porters. The food, service, and ambiance are not to be missed!


 

4 out of 5
Emily Leslie
Monday, February 09, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I usually don't bother with reviews, however, my dinner out was so enjoyable I felt I must share my thoughts on your restaurant.


I thoroughly enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Porter's.  The Roast Beef and Horseradish Yorkshire Pudding was outstanding.  I thought the main course was generous and although I was full, I did try the Burnt Trinity Coffee Cream.  


The food was wonderful and puts to bed the misconception that English food is boring.  Super meal and would highly recommend Porter's for a stupendous evening out and a great meal.

3 out of 5
Clive Long
Tuesday, November 11, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Nice waiting staff. Food nothing special, not offensive in any way. Just a bit "ordinary". I went on a cheap deal and thought it worth that price.
4 out of 5
Friday, October 11, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

A very good restaurant serving staple English fayre at a reasonable price. Food is well cooked and presented and comes in generous portions. Only complaint would be the lack of choice for starters with the majority being soup based. I will certainly be going back.
5 out of 5
Paul C Menzies
Friday, April 05, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Found this place by accident while vacationing from Canada. Had no idea that British food could be so great, the puddings were to die for! We ate there several times during our trip and were treated extremely well every time by the staff. The location is fantastic for theater goers too. For all those Canucks in London that don't think British food is good, I challenge you to try this place's fish and chips!
Can't wait to return for another dish of apple crumble!