homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Broadway Place, Wimbledon

Broadway Place

8-10 Hartfield Road, Wimbledon, London

4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews
Review Broadway Place Rate and review Broadway Place


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Melvyn Murphy
Sunday, December 25, 2011


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

No matter how many great reviews I see regarding restaurants we invariably seem to stumble over some poor soul who’s had revolting food or service, or both! How could poor Esther have managed to upset these people? Over at least the last 16 years the owners and staff of Broadway Place have shown nothing but love and care for the quality and service they deliver.
1 out of 5
Esther
Wednesday, May 20, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I was extremely disappointed with the attitude of the staff at this establishment. We looked at the prices at the service counter and ordered some cod and chips on this basis and were then asked to sit down. After having eaten our meal, we were surprised at the price on the bill and came to the conclusion that it must have been miscalculated. After consulting a member of staff, it was revealed that the only prices published were actually "take away prices". Although this is stated on the board, there were no "eat in" prices on the display.
We paid the bill without complaint, but politely suggested that in future the actual price should be made clearer. At this point we were interrupted and subjected to verbal abuse, even though we had made no complaint and simply made a helpful suggestion to prevent future misunderstandings of the same kind. The member of staff did not wait to let us speak, but started shouting and told us:
"It's your fault!" and that we should stop making a scene. Then another member of staff (perhaps the manager) came and told us to pay and leave, despite the fact that we already had paid and that it was the staff member who was causing an uproar.
I would certainly not recommend going to Broadway Place, since the food is not particularly fresh and the staff are some of the rudest I have ever come across.
4 out of 5
Nicolette Gordon
Monday, August 11, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

My local chippie - great place to eat - wheelchair accessible, humongous great tasting portions - shame they take a holiday in the summer as I lose one of my favourite eateries!
5 out of 5
Cindy
Thursday, November 15, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Totally yummy - even my inlaws that come from a fish town rate this as their favourite fish and chips. Can't argue with that!!!
5 out of 5
Laura
Monday, October 08, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Agree with all the other reviews here - best fish and chips I've had in London. No sogginess ever, really fresh fish, great friendly service and generally a credit to the hardworking family who own it. I take all my relatives there when they come to visit and they're always impressed.
5 out of 5
Hannah
Friday, October 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

BRILLIANT fish and chip shop, portions are more than enough and such great value! The family who run the shop are so friendly and make all their food in the restaurant. Seating fantastic and food always fresh. Best fish&chip shop for miles around!
5 out of 5
Rod
Wednesday, February 04, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

 This is the best fish and chip shop in South London (or possibly the world) simply because they sell the better than best ever fish and chips, if you find the lighting a little bright then close your eyes and focus on the food.The portions are "whale" like and due to its popularity and turnover the fish is always freshly cooked.
4 out of 5
Peter
Saturday, July 20, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Why this is not mentioned with the usual best fish and chip restaurants I will never know. Brilliant. I agree that this is one of the best.
4 out of 5
Patrick Dalton
Friday, March 08, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I've been eating fish and chips from this resturant ever since I was a little boy.The standard of food has always been great,the family who run the place freindly.It is in my opinion the best fish and chip ship in London.
4 out of 5
Saturday, January 05, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

this is a wonderful fish and chip shop! - but it IS just a fish and chip shop with a brightly lit, clean, eating area attached.
Wine is available.
Not sure what those vegetarian options mentioned in the blurb are tho'