homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Borshtch N'tears, Knightsbridge

Borshtch N'tears

46 Beauchamp Place, London

5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews
Review Borshtch N'tears Rate and review Borshtch N'tears


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
marina
Monday, November 15, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Jast had an amazing night there.The food was fantastic, tasty and fresh.The live music was realy good, atmosphere very relaxed and cosy. At the end of the night if you like to dance and sing, there is KARAOKE.We had so much fun. Cant wait to go back .
5 out of 5
G
Wednesday, March 03, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Amazing food, very well presented and most of all very tasty.

Service is friendly and good, but sometimes too busy to get all attention i'd like.

Live music is fantastic, and even when there isn't any, restaurant has charm.
5 out of 5
Johno
Sunday, June 21, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Loved it.

Great food. Great service. Great atmosphere. Great music.
4 out of 5
Josh
Thursday, February 05, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Each time i go to this restaurant, i'm impressed. The food quality has improved tremendously over the years, the service is always friendly and kind. Atmosphere is always fun, quiet or busy. Great place to go and meet people and have a laugh.
5 out of 5
Olga Kotuzhansky
Sunday, February 01, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Very good food for price. Simple. traditional modern russian & ukrainian cooking, presented very well. Have never eaten better Russian food in London, though of course my mother cooks better)

Service is not high class, but relaxed.

Live music is always very entertaining and very professional. No bontempi organs here.

Would take my Russian and non Russian friends here.
5 out of 5
Vova
Saturday, January 31, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Very impressed by the food, atmosphere and service.

Very reasonable prices for prime London.
Very traditional and well presented authentic Russian and Ukrainian food.
Very good live music and atmosphere.
Very attentive & smiley service.

Very good.
1 out of 5
Anna
Thursday, January 29, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Awoid this place like the plague! I an Russian, and the food was awfull
5 out of 5
Jade
Monday, January 12, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Was enjoying a very well cooked and presented meal, listening to very good live music when the place just errupted. People just started dancing, singing, having all around fun.

Was very impressed.

Recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Robin Turner
Monday, December 15, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is such a great place. Can't fault it for good night out. Presebtation and quality of food have really improved over the years. Atmosphere always good and we come away having made new friends each time. Would recommend visiting.
5 out of 5
Igor Kafka
Monday, December 01, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Am russian, spent half my life in Russia, since in UK.

This is best Russian restaurant in London. Authentic atmosphere, food, great live music.

Restaurant has charm, not many restaurants in Mosco or St Peter left like this, most are now fusion with sushi and so.

This is classic.

Food is very good, modern traditional, very good price for zone 1 London, which is cheap now to back home. Alchohol all quality, and good price too.

Good to take friends for fun.
5 out of 5
Vova
Monday, December 01, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Its a Great Place to spent an evening in with wonderfully warm atmosphere, great live music and traditional Russian food.
5 out of 5
Krasata
Monday, December 01, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great place, food tasted like cat. Service attentive & fantastic. Vodka cheap, again a taste of cat. Definately go if you like cat.
5 out of 5
Olga i Valeri
Sunday, October 19, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Over for a weekend from St. Petersburg, we made our usual traditional visit to Borshtch on Saturday night! The place was buzzing as usual with the fantastic trio led by Dima playing some fabulous favourites. The food improves every time we go there and I must congratulate the kitchen for wonderful home made specialities presented to the standard of most five star hotels at very reasonable prices for London. Every one had a great time and of course there was a lot of dancing and singing. Thank you to the staff for remaining original and fun in what is fast becoming a dull and overated dining experience elsewhere. I look forward to many more visits when we move to London permanently.
5 out of 5
Adam & Lena
Tuesday, January 08, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I spent the weekend in London with my wife of Russian blood and Ukrainian nationality. Having trawled through the internet of affordable and unpretenious Russian eateries we were fixed on either Borshtch n tears or Erebuni. We tried both on consecutive nights and without doubt Borscht n Tears is the place to go. It was exactly as the many places I had been in that part of the world, intimate, loud and full of soul. The very friendly and informal waiting staff gave me, an Englishman, guidance on various dishes, my wife was like a kid in a candy store. The food was reasonable at about £5-£6 for a starter and £10-£15 for a main. The food was good, but it isn't really just for food that you would come here. It is an experience. I have just spent this summer in Russian and it made me nostalgic. They had a Russian guitarist called Dima playing, who was outstanding, the lively crowd singing along, whilst enjoying a drink and a bit more food. This is not a sit down eat you meal and leave restaurant. You come for the whole evening, eat drink and get thoroughly entertained. Everyone was so friendly, and we had one of the best nights we had, had in ages. We will definately be back. If you are a Russian speaker and miss the whole social experience of home. Come here, you will not be dissappointed.
4 out of 5
Attracta Derkin
Tuesday, May 15, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

On our recent visit to London we went to the above restaurant with some friends who were over from the Ukraine.
This was probably our tenth visit and as always we had an excellent time.
The music, as is to be expected, was of exceptional quality. Indeed I wonder how they manage to entice such accomplished singers and violinists. There was also a man on guitar adding a fabulous Jazzy feel to the whole night.
My partner and I started our meal with the ‘Borshtch’ and ‘Piroshki’ which were both prepared in that ‘home made’ way rather than mass produced and brought in from a supplier as so many restaurants do nowadays. Our friend opted for the ‘Zakuski Platter’ which was a massive selection of East European starters at a very reasonable. At this point we asked the waitress if she could delay our main courses, as we were already so full. She gave us a very sweet smile and said it was no problem. How refreshing that there was none of the ‘sorry we have another seating at nine’ which is such a prevalent dining experience in London these days.
During our break it was great to have the music to listen to and a nearby table added to the ambience by singing along with the musicians.
The main courses arrived as agreed. We chose the mouth watering ‘Lamb Shashlik’ and ‘Chicken Kiev’ as well as sampling the ‘Beef Stroganov’.
We had a lovely evening and our friends really enjoyed the experience and have said that they’ll go again. This is an original restaurant full of atmosphere and excellent food, it’s just a shame we don’t have anything of the kind here in Germany!

4 out of 5
Sabina
Monday, May 07, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is the way a traditional russian restaurant should be. Good food, good music, great people.
4 out of 5
John
Sunday, May 06, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Had a great time here. Extremely firendly staff and great food. Live music made the night wonderful.
5 out of 5
Ania
Tuesday, May 01, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great Russian food. Wonderful tasty holodec, a rare site in London. I don't think there is any restaurant in London that puts the same effort into making interesting traditional Russian food.

Very friendly service, helpful to the last minute.

Great atmosphere, darkly lit with really good live music.

Wonderful, will be going again.
5 out of 5
Yulia
Tuesday, May 01, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Had a great time here. Great Russian food, incredible music and atmosphere.

Recommend it to all.

Go and have a great time.
5 out of 5
Debora
Tuesday, December 05, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I've always been treated very well in this restaurant. I'm italian and have no good knowledge of russian traditions. But I have good taste: I always found not only food, but friendship and the place's atmosphere great!
5 out of 5
Anna Krivoshapova
Tuesday, May 31, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I go here every week before work to get something to eat with my girlfriends. I love the food here. It's exactly all as it should be, though be warned this is not an upmarket restaurant, definately down to earth. Service is always good. And music, wow is the only word for it
4 out of 5
Boris Konstia Novakov
Tuesday, May 31, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I don't understand the complaints before. This place sells Russian food as it should be. The borscht tastes exactly as it should, the piroski are soft & tasty. They sell salo, holodec and shuba, a rare sight in other so called Russian restaurants. Most importantly to me, the pelmeni and shashlik are out of this country staight in from home. The food is plentiful, russian size portions. Their selection of vodkas are authentic, no typical home made rubbish sold. All my russian friends recommend it, and so do I.

I'm sure that the previous complaints come from people who don't know russian cuisine. Yes there are dishes on the menu that are not Russian. Maybe the complaints stem from these. Personally I go to this restaurant to eat autherntic russian food.

Oh and more importantly because of the atmosphere. That is exactly as it should be. Free & boistorous. The musicians play great russian music, really creating an unbeatable atmosphere. And the best bit is they get the customers to join in. This is definately not a one way show. By the way, in a russian restaurant it is customary to tip the music, especially if they are asked to play a song, but even when asked to stop, would you believe it. It is considered rude not to.

The service has always, at least to me, been kind. Sometimes they are understaffed and i have been witness to some mistakes, but all have been forgotton about considering everything else is so good. And to the last complaint about the prices, i have been to many restaurants, both russian and others, and the prices at this restaurant are definately not one of the things to complain about. It is one of the cheaper restaurants in London.

All in all, to my tastes, and may i add to a lot of the russian community, this restaurant is top of many lists. I'll put it differently, is a restaurant good when it attracts its own people. I think so.
4 out of 5
Paul Ridley
Sunday, November 14, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I'm not a connoisseur of Russian cuisine but I thought this place was great.  The food is really interesting, tasty and reasonably priced.  The place has a great atmosphere - darkly lit, red decor, and live Russian music: what more do you want?  Definitely worth a try.

5 out of 5
Irina Mullen
Monday, April 15, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I would recomend this restaurant to anyone who is interested in trying food that although might seem as nothing special, once you have tasted it is something amazing. Fantastic atmosphere, good music and plenty of vodka drinking as well as gorgeous white and red wine. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did