homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Beotys Restaurant, Leicester Square

Beotys Restaurant
Beotys Restaurant


79 St Martin's Lane, London

4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews
Review Beotys Restaurant Rate and review Beotys Restaurant


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Janet Rainbow-King
Monday, November 29, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This restaurant is for people that enjoy good quality food, and served by
professionals in the business. No loud thumping music - thank goodness
just a very friendly welcoming restaurant.

Michael Frangos is the most obliging true gentleman, and this restaurant is a little jewel. Will defitintely be back soon.

Wonderful restaurant
1 out of 5
salma
Sunday, October 25, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

There was no option in the option menu to give this restaurant a zero unfortunately. This restaurant should be closed down!! the food is foul tasting and ridiculously expensive. I asked the waiter why there was no peppers with my chicken and rice as was stated in the menu. He flicked one of the pieces of chicken on my plate, and said there look there. I was shocked, I said that is one tiny piece!! The manager also was so rude saying that we had messed around with the food, and that she could of replaced it if we had asked earlier. She did however not charge for the 3 chicken dishes that we had ordered. However charged us almost 100 pounds for 2 disgusting main meals and ill presented and foul tasting starters. I would love to see the closure of this awful place. I have never had such awful food in my life.
4 out of 5
Marianne Lynwood
Thursday, April 30, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I wondered whether to write a review because this is the sort of fabulous restaurant that restaurant critics go to regularly but do not write about in case too many people go there ! It is an absolute gem - the food is superb, the service attentive and first class and it is quiet and very comfortable - the sort of rare place where you can hold a conversation without having to shout because of background noise. The menu is excellent and varied and the wine list extensive and sensibly priced. Run by the same family for many years they seem to have a regular clientele of well known people of good taste. I cannot think of any restaurant in London which is better for a wonderful intimate dinner or a small exclusive dinner party.
1 out of 5
Gem
Tuesday, April 14, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Awful! Cannot understand positive reviews.

Had no idea about the place. Did not mind that it had seen better days.

It was the food...which was hideous and hideously overpriced.

Anaemic olives, dolmas that looked the aftermath of a bad vindaloo the night before. Tzatziki on a plate slopping over the sides, stale bread...

Bless the waitressing staff as they were very professional but the 'manager' hovered about us staring continuously.

When the final bill came it had increased 'mysteriously' and was not disaggregated - they were extremely rude when I chased this up.

Feel sorry for the front of house staff but AVOID!
1 out of 5
Anthony McCarron
Sunday, February 22, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Shambolic! Never have I witnessed a restaurant that gives shoddy service to both customers and even their own staff.

Having ventured to the restaurant Saturday evening I witnessed the manager of the place treating some Spanish tourists appalingly. The customers, whose English was limited, were insulted and told they 'should go and eat tapas' just for not asking for 4 starters, they wanted 2 - this in full show of the entire restaurant.

Before the above the manager decided to scream at a member of staff because she went to the front door to greet some poor customers wanting to enter the place. They eventually gave up and left.

The food would have been worth mentioning had it not been for the calamities caused by Michael Frangos the manager.

A definite not worth a visit!
1 out of 5
E
Monday, February 16, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

This was the absolute WORST restaurant I have ever been to in my life. I can't begin to describe how horrible the food was. We were in the lower level and it smelled like mold and there were mice running around. This restaurant should be shut down. And they charge a FORTUNE!!! I feel very taken advantage of after eating there. Every other table there was complaining to each other and laughing at how repulsive the food was.
2 out of 5
JULIA from Meopham
Tuesday, February 03, 2009


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The food is very mediocre and unappealing and grossly overpriced.Bearing in mind the location and the competion around it - it had better improve itself or it won't survive the recession.
4 out of 5
John Szemerey
Monday, August 18, 2008


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

It is some 40 years ago that I first went to Beoty's. I find it an excellent restaurant in the middle of London's West End theatreland. It opens at 6 p.m., so one can eat there before the theatre, and stays open reasonably late, so one can go after.
The food is good and some dishes are excellent. Last time we were very pleased with the slow roast lamb, which was succulent and tasty. However, I was disappointed with the size of the Sea Bass. The fish itself was good, and we had been warned on the menu that only half a fish would be served in each portion. But the half fish itself was so little that it would have been at home in a sardine tin. (The management should be sufficiently flexible so that it serve a decent portion, which could be half a fish if the fish is large, but a whole fish if it is small.)
Everything else, meze starter and dessert, were up to expectations, and the wine was enjoyable and reasonably priced for the West End.
Service was good and attentive, but not overbearing. One of the strongest points was that there was no throbbing background music so we could have an enjoyable and civilised coversation during our meal. Also, tables are not too near each other, so one has some privacy.
Overall a very pleasant evening and a good meal. Beoty's is one of the few reliable restaurants in the West End where one can go for a good meal, either before or after the theatre, or just for an evening out. I will continue going there when I am in that part of London.
5 out of 5
Sophie Hodgkinson
Friday, August 08, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


On holiday in Kentucky our horsey friends asked "Do you know Beotys". "No" - "well you MUST go there". Tom, my husband, invited a friend, a Gastronome, and his wife to join us. When we walked in and said why we were there, we were treated like old friends. We started with champagne; moved on to good, low priced, French wines. Such service - I tell you - unheard of these days. The starters were superb. Forget celebrity chefs - Beotys' cooking was magnificent. When our main courses arrived, we tried small pieces of each other's dishes - do not restaurant critics do the same ? The kleftiko was, oh, so delicate; where can you get beef as tender as the stifado; must you catch your own Dover sole to find one with such flavour ? But the piece de resistance was a dish made in Heaven - the Mignon de Veau. Tom lost so many pieces from his plate that we ordered a second portion to share between us. We asked for crepes suzettes to finish - sheer bliss. Being used to West End prices we thought the whole bill very reasonable. Anyone who would not give this 10 out of 10 on every count simply has no sense of either quality or value and they can always go to McD's over the road.

Sophie Hodgkinson

5 out of 5
Kathryn Terry
Monday, June 09, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This was our first visit to Beotys and we would definately go back. The food was excellent and some of it was cooked in front of us The staff were friendly and very professional.

The only thing I felt the restaurant lacked was atmosphere. It was so quiet I felt that everyone could hear my conversation. All it needed was a little background music.
5 out of 5
Janet Rainbow-King
Thursday, October 19, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I cannot rate this as high as I would like as the ratings only allow up to ten out of ten. It has got to be one of the best restaurants in London. Forget the Ivy, this is the place to go. Michael Frangos and his staff give everyone the warmest of welcomes and the service is wonderful.
The food... well go for yourself and see. A fantastic menu, beautifully served.

There is no loud music so you can actually talk to your friends and guests and there is no hurry for you to vacate your table either. Not that you will want to.

Superb restaurant for either a business lunch/dinner, a romantic or theatre evening, or a Corporate Event for your clients.

Well done Michael and all of your team for giving us a proper restaurant - not part of a chain.

Looking forward to my next visit.
5 out of 5
Sherida
Monday, September 04, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Everything was gorgeous. The staff were brilliant, the food was amazing and I can't adequately explain how much I love this restaurant. I honestly couldn't find fault with anything. I can't wait to go back. The food was unbelieveable and no it's not cheap, but with the quality the way it is, it's well worth it.
3 out of 5
john hall
Friday, December 17, 2004


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The Mezze starter was tasty but my main course of Swordfish was disgusting with a complete overkill of vinegar making it almost uneatable.For the very high prices charged i can safely say that i will not be returning.
5 out of 5
Peter Martin
Monday, November 01, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This restaurant is as comfortable as putting on an old pair of slippers. The food is fantastic, the great service meets the standard that Michael Frangos demands and guests are treated like old friends even if it may be their first time.


Like many, I have been going to Beoty's for years and I can thoroughly recommend both the traditional Greek dishes such as Lamb Kleftico or a magnificent Steak cooked at table side - all topped off with, as John the Head Waiter put's it 'a friendly one' when serving the after dinner digestif.

3 out of 5
S.T.
Sunday, October 03, 2004


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

To start with the service was polite and courteous.  Unfortunately the food was not too good.  We ordered a Greek mixed starter which was ok and the main meal I had was a lamb dish with risotto rice.  It was a shame that it was so bland in taste, which seemed to be common with most of the other dishes in our group of seven.  Dessert, I have to say, was the best part of the meal but that was only profiteroles in cream.


Overall the meal wasn't what I expected after reading previous reviews so I'm afraid I won't be going back.

5 out of 5
Marios Nicolaou
Thursday, August 05, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great restaurant,The atmosphere is relaxed, impressed with the courtesy and efficiency of the service. I wish I was able to be there more often..............
5 out of 5
Denis Keast
Wednesday, May 12, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Over the past 35 years I have been fortunate enough to have dined and lunched at Beotys many times.  I cannot remember one occasion when my guests or I were less than highly delighted with the food and wine and particularly with the quiet courtesy and efficiency of the service.  I still get a buzz on approaching the door and anticipating the genuine warmth of the welcome once inside. 
4 out of 5
Clayton
Friday, January 23, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great Restaurant... nice layout, friendly staff.  Nice to sit on sofas instead of regular chairs.  A very nice feel & good food - well priced.  Recommended,
5 out of 5
Friday, September 05, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

A joy to visit!  If I want something plain or something "fancy" I can get it all here.


The atmosphere is just like having your own restaurant at home, from the plush seating / settees to the attentive, but unobtrusive service.


The atmosphere is relaxed, but standards still kept high. - even if it means they lose income through it (not something found in most restaurants these days - in most if you pay extra standards don't matter - I've seen Beotys turn down the money & away the custom to maintain standards)

5 out of 5
Steve
Sunday, May 25, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Excellent food and service!! Authentic Greek cooking.....all of the Greek's in our group said the food was just like their mother's made. I'd recommend to anyone.
2 out of 5
Sunday, February 16, 2003


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Overpriced and poor service. We didn't enjoy the food at all. Definitely won't be going back.
4 out of 5
Amanda Daily
Wednesday, January 22, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Beoty's was just OK. Menu is a weird mix of Greek and English dishes. The service was impeccible with very helpful waiters milling around. Food was OK. Greek dishes I had were uninspired. Really enjoyed the Greek desserts though.
5 out of 5
Andrew Montgomery
Thursday, December 12, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

There are very, very few establishments like Beotys left in London. Being served there, eating there, one realises just how much the experience of dining out has been dumbed down by the advance of the 'chain' restaurant. Beotys is not about mere style and ambience, though it has its own, it's about wonderful food - prepared in the kitchen, rather than on an industrial estate in Slough - and attentive service. Don't miss it.