homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for The Ivy, Leicester Square

The Ivy
The Ivy


1 West Street, London

4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews
Review The Ivy Rate and review The Ivy


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Jenny Brown
Thursday, August 01, 2013


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Had a pre-theatre meal there recently and was a bit afraid that after all the hype I would be disappointed. But loved everything about the place; excellent efficient friendly service, good food and a real buzz to the place. A unique experience!
4 out of 5
Gaz
Tuesday, May 15, 2012


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Finally, I managed to dine here the other week...the service is second to none (perhaps a little hurried) and food was sublime. I can recommend the Thai baked sea bass. Great location for a pre-theatre dinner and I'm glad to finally cross it off my list of things to do.
1 out of 5
tracey higham
Monday, June 27, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

My husband had booked a weekend in London as part of my Christmas present. I said I would love to go The Ivy having never been before. Two months ago we booked a table online and rang to confirm our booking two days before our reservation for Sunday 26th June. When we arrrived in London on Friday we went to the restaurant to ensure we knew were it was. As the weather was particularly warm I asked the doorman outside if there was a dress code and was told 'casual wear what you want' I explained that my husband had some formal tailored shorts and the doorman said no problem. We arrived at 6.20pm on Sunday night,reservation was for 6.30pm. We were asked to wait in the bar area. Another waiter appreared and told us we could not eat in the restaurant due to my husband wearing shorts and could he go home and change !!! We were staying out at Harrow and had come into London on the tube so this was not realistic. We were then told they would only serve us in the bar area. I explained that this was treat for us and that we had asked the doorman only two days earlier about any dress code. The waiter made us feel very embarassed and drew looks from other diners. We left and went upto Covent Garden and had a lovely meal and there was no issue with my husbands dress code. I am a Manager in Customer Services and my husband is a Commercial Manager for a very prestigious company who regularly entertains clients. Totally disappointed and flabbergasted to be treated like this !!!
1 out of 5
Arabella Whitely
Tuesday, October 19, 2010


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I have NEVER written a review before, but am so angry and disappointed by the entire experience we had at 'the Ivy', that i wanted to help prevent others from wasting their money!
I recently went to 'the Ivy' to celebrate my Mother's birthday for Sunday lunch, accompanied by my husband and my father. Having been to 'the Ivy' 2 years ago, I was very excited about going back as we had previously had exceptional food. Unfortunately, there are few words adequate to describe our disappointment.
Firstly, after we had checked our coats in, we were left loitering at the door without being greeted by anyone. We were then shown to our table and presented with some delicious sounding menus. We were then asked, ten minutes later, if we were ready to place our order, and we said yes, and were then promptly told in a non-apologetic manner, all the things that weren't available, which of course happened to be the things we wanted. Our drinks were delivered, Cosmopolitans in the smallest glasses available in western society, and 2 beers. Then .... the assault of the food began .... out of 4 starters, one was raw and cold, one was cold, one was a joke [autumnal salad ... which consisted of a 70s-esque mess of limp leaves], and an adequate smoked salmon starter which cost 13 ... must have been salmon royalty. All plonked on the plate and the starter of mushroom risotto [stone cold] looked like a dog had been sick on a plate.
The main courses, 2 roast beef, 1 pork belly and 1 partridge. Partridge was fine, pork belly was distinctly average and tepid, and the pile of fat masquerading as beef, enormous and cold wet flannel yorkshire pudding, reheated potatoes and soggy vegetables with a pile of tasteless horseradish was one of the most disgusting things i've ever been served.
The service overall was surly and unfriendly, there seemed to be a general opinion among the waiting staff that they are too good for their jobs and whoever the clientele are, they are beneath them and purely to be tolerated. The only good thing about the entire experience was the truffles at the end that we ordered with our coffees, again another order mistake and no apology.
Overall, an appalling experience. On my birthday 2 months ago we went to the Wolseley, and were treated like superstars, .... complimentary champagne, delightful staff, and a birthday cake .... perfect.
Please, don't waste your money, hard-earned or otherwise, by enduring terrible quality pub food, surly staff, and a chaotic atmosphere. Go anywhere instead.
5 out of 5
Paul
Monday, September 27, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We were there on Sunday 12th September for lunch, can not fault it in any way.
4 out of 5
Ralph Anderson
Tuesday, July 13, 2010


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I took my wife to the Ivy for our 10th Wedding Anniversary 08/07/2010 as a pre theatre treat and I have to say that it was superb. We were shown to our table upon arrival and served like we were film stars. The waiting staff were very attentive and pleasant. We each had a 3 course meal and drinks, could'nt believe my bill was under 100.

I do have to be a little critical of the Ivy's booking system. I was not allowed to book more than 8 weeks in advance, which I think is a nonsense, but still a very enjoyable experience.

I also think that the building could do with a coat of paint.
5 out of 5
Ritchie
Sunday, November 01, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT,
Staff were very friendly very attentive and know there stuff.
Food as wonderful just right portions and was full up at the end too much to choose from.
Great atmosphere the place was packed and buzzing.Did not see anyone famous but hey i see them all the time at work!!!!
Love that there is no dress code and i wore jeans.
Turned up without a booking got a table in 10 minutes.
Would recommend and cannot wait to go back again.
5 out of 5
Ritchie
Sunday, November 01, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT,
Staff were very friendly very attentive and know there stuff.
Food as wonderful just right portions and was full up at the end too much to choose from.
Great atmosphere the place was packed and buzzing.Did not see anyone famous but hey i see them all the time at work!!!!
Turned up without a booking got a table in 10 minutes.
Would recommend and cannot wait to go back again.
3 out of 5
paul
Tuesday, September 15, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

was there last sunday for lunch.....everything went very well although the service was a little impersonal, but hey, had wonderfull food and we were enjoying the whole experience, even watching the celeb hunters on the other tables was amsuing, until i needed to visit the gents, I discreetly asked for directions from one of the staff, waited a moment, then stood up to leave the table only to have the wine waiter look at me from another table as i stood then he said in not such a low tone "oh youre going to the toilet".......a little embaressing
2 out of 5
Maxine
Wednesday, June 03, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

My fiance took me to the Ivy for my birthday lunch as i'd always wanted to go there and see what all the fuss was about. We were given the best seat in the house which overlooked the restaurant and we had bird's eye view of the entrance. The food was average, I ordered seared scallops for my main course and there were three tiny ones on my plate with one tiny streak of bacon for 15. The bang bang chicken I had for starters (8) was one table spoon amount - and out- of- a- jar peanut sauce. The fries were frozen. My fiance had the Ivy hamburger (plain) which was 12 (without the fries which you have to order seperately). There was no atmosphere, no back ground music, miserable looking waiters who never once asked how our food was (probably because it took all of two seconds to eat three scallops! Our only highlight was seeing Stephen Fry and Philip Glenister at tables either side of us. Quite overated. You just can't beat Claridges i'm afraid......
5 out of 5
Martin Brown
Tuesday, April 14, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My first visit to The Ivy.

My table was 15 minutes late so.....my drinks were complimentry and they gave us one of the best tables in the house. I did not need to ask for this. Very thoughtful

As for reviewers who think it is posh and snobbish!!! How?? I wore jeans and trainers there were ketchup bottles on the table. You think that is posh and snobbish?

Where have you guys been eating?

I think the trouble is people build up the place too much in there own minds.

Staff were great to me in my jeans, t-shirt, trainers and awful West country accent. It did not seem to matter to them that I did not have a show in the West End unlike one of my fellow diners.

Food good, honest fare.

Great place looking forward to going back soon.

5 out of 5
P.K Houghton
Friday, August 22, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Went to The Ivy as a treat with my 15 year old daughter for lunch the other day and I can't wait to go again. It was relaxed and the staff were great and smiled a lot. It really was an enjoyable experience which was good as we were on a day trip from Colchester. The doorman was a celebrity in his own right and we spent a good half hour chatting to him when we left. I've since seen him on youtube where someone was making an amateur video. Great personality and sense of humour. A credit to The Ivy.
4 out of 5
Mike Yeomans
Sunday, February 24, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I'm somewhat of a regular at the restaurant. I'll tell anyone how good the food is here, time and time again. The staff are some of the industrys most sought after...I'm sure. Whether your visiting for that special occasion as a one off, or you are Tom Hanks - it seems everyone is treated with the amazing fine dining experience. Even the doorman, Colin is a pleasure :) I must, with massive knowledge and experience advise everyone to have the Braised Beef or Scampi - to die for! Long live The Ivy!!! P.S Honest, I don't work for them, or getting paid for this...it's the truth.
4 out of 5
Cazza
Monday, November 12, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Absolutely delicious, no fault found with delivery of food or service. Well worth the wait........... I felt at ease and totally integrated with the whole ambiance mood. I would recommend no hesitation.
4 out of 5
Tracy
Friday, October 19, 2007


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Being on a business trip from South Africa I found myself booked for a restaurant that I hadn't yet heard of- "The Ivy". I soon learnt of "The Ivy"s reputation as being incredibly fashionable and difficult to get into and I was curious to see if it lived up to expectations. I kept an eye out for any celebrities but apart from some patrons that looked to be part of an Indi-rock group, I don't think there were any.
I must admit that the service was impeccable and the waiters and waitresses fast and efficient. I ordered the Lichee and Coconut Duck curry, and thought that it was delicious... very tasty.
5 out of 5
Jo
Sunday, June 17, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Love, love, love The Ivy! Wonderful food, atmosphere and great service.
4 out of 5
Catherine
Monday, April 30, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I loved the Ivy. Never been before, but my friend is a regular and she took me there as a quick treat during our busy day. We got served quickly and able to order our meal and eat it within the 45 minutes of being there (extremely busy day). I didnt go for celebs, we went there for a treat, my friend has advised me on the desired rules in there - you dont bother them, they dont bother you. The food was simply gorgeous and the wine superb. I look forward to going there again.
5 out of 5
Linzi Hall
Friday, April 06, 2007


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I visit the Ivy regularly, and on reading some of the reviews here, I wonder if we are talking about the same restaurant. The staff have always been very courteous, the service superb and the food excellent. The restaurant is a little cramped, but it lends to the charm and intimacy of the experience. Colin, the doorman, is delightful, and I concur that the Sancerre is superb.
5 out of 5
Sue
Thursday, May 11, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Brilliant restaurant - never been before but went on Sunday 7 May 2005 - had pink champagne to start (only a glass each) asparagus, then lobster and chips! Nice bottle of Sancerre - lovely ambience and the service was superb. Really nice treat as my friend and I were on a weekend trip to London. Unlike the previous reviewer Markus' views - ex waiter at the Ivy - we don't all go there to see celeb's some one us like to treat ourselves - his view is rather insular and doesn't reflect me and my friend!

Would love to go again next time we manage a weekend away in London.
5 out of 5
Markus Kroner
Sunday, August 28, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

As i used to be a waiter at the ivy, i would just like to say how sad some of you are that the need to see a famous person is so important.

Do you think they want the likes of you watching over them whilie they enjoy their night out.

Get a life to all those celeb hunters

Cheers

Markus

Formally a waiter at the ivy
3 out of 5
sanju travis
Wednesday, June 01, 2005


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We visited the Ivy on 24/05/05 at 11pm and the food was very disappointing.We are vegetarians and the veggie options were extremely greasy and cheesy-very heavy.The service wasn't very good either but that could be because Gordon Ramsay was at a table behind us and all their attention was on his table.
4 out of 5
Phoebe
Tuesday, April 12, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We wisely booked 6 months to get into the Ivy from Australia. Whilst it was quite difficult dealing with the office staff as they wanted a phone number where we were staying and I didnt have one at the time, by the time we went it was a fantastic meal. The Crispy Duck Salad was just magnificent!!! I was rather peeved I didnt order it and my husband did. The food offers everyone something and the menus is very eclectic. Highly recommend this insitutation!
5 out of 5
sarah
Tuesday, December 21, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I really enjoyed it here, I went on a Bank Holiday Monday and unfortunatley couldnt get the weekend lunch offer but it was still worth it. 2 people, 2 courses each and a bottle of rose was about 80, the service was excellent. Nice treat if its something you cant afford it every day but bookings are taken about 6 months in advance so you have to plan ahead!
4 out of 5
Mandy
Monday, November 22, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We booked a table in advance for six girls out on a shopping trip in London. We didnt know what to expect but we were surprised at the relaxed and unpretentious feel of the place. The staff were pleasant and we couldnt fault the service. We enjoyed the lunch menu at a surprisingly reasonable price, four bottles later we didnt want to leave but our time was up!! Would definitely go back again.

5 out of 5
anna.tehrani-hamilton
Monday, November 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The whole experience was fantastic, I have never had such a lovely evening out in London.  The food and the atmosphere was superb.  The staff were amazing and made us feel so welcome.  I cannot wait to book again.
5 out of 5
S
Monday, November 22, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!


If you want excellent food and service The Ivy is a place to go. We went on a Saturday afternoon, we never booked but were lucky that a couple had not turned up. Our bill came to around 80 but well worth it and would definitely go back.

5 out of 5
Jen and Kev
Saturday, October 02, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We thought this place would be full of snobs but we are normal everyday people and didn't feel out of place in there.  The food, service and atmosphere was superb.  Would definately go back.
5 out of 5
Hayley Howell
Monday, September 13, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The best place i have ever been the food is to die for!!!!!

3 out of 5
steve keeping
Thursday, August 19, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

My Fiance and I visited the Ivy upon our recent visit to London, I had heard quite a lot about the place and decided that it was about time that we gave it a visit.


We both chose different items from the menu and enjoyed each meal,the surroundings were nice although a little cramped (COULD DO WITH A FEW LESS TABLES) The service was nothing special and as for the stars well as far as I was concerned there was only us of course!


Worth a visit at least once but I feel like a majority of things in London Far far over rated.


The silly photographers outside just didn't know exactly what they were missing out on, my Spanish fiance is one of the most Gorgeous women on planet earth. 

5 out of 5
Richard
Sunday, May 09, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have dined at the Ivy twice, both on a Sunday lunchtime.  They offer a fixed price menu for Sunday lunch which is such good value.  The food, wine and service are second to none, it is well worth pre booking 6 months in advance.  The only celeb I have seen so far is Lionel Blair, fingers crossed for at least posh & becks next time....
5 out of 5
heath
Saturday, May 01, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

my husband and i are going to the ivy for the third time.  we love dressing up and hopping into a black cab heading for dinner.  photographers are always disappointed after they rush to the car to see if we are celebrities still its nice feeling that you are someone if even for 30seconds!!


the service is great and the food lovely. we have good wine with dinner and last time we had some champagne the champagne flutes are hollow so you can watch all the bublles right down the stem (well i thought it was lovely!) first time we went we saw carol voderman ian mckellin patrick stewart second time steven spielberg and paul grady. so that was good you feel like running over and pretending that your best pals or just popping over perching on a chair and asking how are you? did you have a good dinner? do you want to join myself and my husband. anyway i think the ivy is great and worth a visit just to feel important for the evening and to see whos there!!

4 out of 5
Michelle P
Thursday, April 01, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I had the shepherds pie and it was fantastic - however my friend got the same meal and hers was dry and she had to send it back.  The waiters were every apologetic and did knock some money off the bill because of it.  Didn't see any stars, but that didn't matter.  The staff made you feel that you were just as important as the stars which was really nice.  I would recommend it to anyone as the prices are not overly expensive.  However, we only got a reservation as we know some who knows someone etc etc and so be prepared to have a 6 month wait for your table.  I have also heard that they will cancel your reservation if they get someone more important wanting to dine there (but that is just a rumour)
5 out of 5
Wednesday, March 31, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Watch out for Sebastian. He's beautiful, and sweeter than ten Sticky Toffee Puddings..... but sadly, far too important to crumb the likes of me down at the end of a meal. Bummer.

5 out of 5
Herb
Wednesday, March 10, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

You feel really well looked after by the freindly staff - they seem to get the tone exactly right - all smiles if your group is a happy one and quietly efficient if you're a bunch of frumps. Food is what I'd call 'proper' - decent portions, presented nicely without anything OTT in the garnish stakes. Above all the quality of the ingredients seemed to be universally top notch (my steak was the best I've had in ages) and lots of tasters from others' plates only served to compound this impression. I think it's just perfect for a celebration dinner; the possibility of celeb-spotting is only a small detail really, and with or without the famous faces it's still going to be a memorable experience.

5 out of 5
JOHN MCCAFFERTY
Monday, February 23, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

TOOK THE WIFE FOR 40TH BIRTHDAY ALTHOUGH BOOKED 6MONTHS IN ADVANCE COULD ONLY BOOK 6.30 ON THE FRIDAY NIGHT SO BE WARNED.FOOD WAS FAB AND SERVICE EXCELLENT.JUST AS WE WERE BEGINNING TO THINK NO STARS WERE GOING TO TURN UP IN WALKED GAIL FROM CORRIE AND THEN DUNCAN FROM MONARCH OF THE GLEN SO WE WERN'T TOO DISAPPOINTED.
5 out of 5
Alison
Sunday, November 02, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Have been here twice now and impressed on oth occassins.  The staff are attentive, but not pushy, the food is not overtly 'flashy', but presented exquisetly..........I've not seen sausage and mash looking so tasty before! The wine list is extensive and the sticky toffee pudding to die for!!


Star spotting a must!

5 out of 5
Emma
Wednesday, March 26, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My boyfriend took me to the Ivy as a surprise for my birthday and I loved it! We had an afternoon slot at 12.30 (a little early but still..) and the food was fabulous and so was the wine. The lunch menu was a lot cheaper than I had expected with the bill coming to just over 60 for 2 (bearing in mind that the wine was 30 on it's own!) I definately want to go back...hint hint
5 out of 5
Tim
Wednesday, December 04, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I decided to treat my partner for our aniversary, and there was no disappointment! The food was fantastic, the service was very good, but did not spoil the mood. Well worth the visit!
5 out of 5
Vicky
Friday, November 22, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

We dined at the Ivy on Tuesday evening (19th November) and thought that it was well worth the advanced booking. The setting was excellant, the place was elegant, the atmosphere was wonderful and the food couldn't have been better. We were waited on hand and foot and although we didn't see anybody Really famous, we noticed a couple of names to drop into conversation. Although the guide is 35.00 per head, that really is for the basics and no matter how much it actually was, it was well worth the price and the wait. I'd recommend it to anybody on any occasion. Already rebooked, but if you haven't, then I'm sorry but their fully booked now until the end of April! Better luck next time.
4 out of 5
Debbie Howard
Saturday, October 05, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Yes, I had to book 4 months in advance, however, it was well worth the wait.........and the hype! A varied menu to choose from and as there were 6 of us we were varied in our choice. Not one of us was disappointed, everything was fresh, tasty and delicious! The wine was chilled and complimented our food. Service was discreet,but not obsequious. The ambience was warm and friendly. A hugely enjoyable experience. So much so in fact that my friends and I hope to make it our annual treat!
3 out of 5
Wednesday, July 18, 2001


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The food was lovely, but nothing to write home about. The ambience could have been much better and the service was adequate.

Great place to go and star spot, but not the most romantic or the best restaurant in London.