homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for The Gate, Hammersmith

The Gate
The Gate


51 Queen Caroline Street, Hammersmith, London

4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews
Review The Gate Rate and review The Gate


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

4 out of 5
Jon
Wednesday, April 08, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Went to The Gate last night for my wife's birthday. It is really hard to find good vegetarian restaurants and this is defnitely one of the few. The Truffle Risotto Cake to start was one of the best things I have eaten anywhere for a long time and my wife's Ravioli for her main course was also sublime. The restaurant itself is a bit stark and all hard surfaces, which was a bit of a shame, but the high ceiling and large window still made for a nice setting and I understand the courtyard is very nice in summer. We will definitely go back and try the rest of the menu, would recommend.
4 out of 5
shaz
Thursday, September 15, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I ate at the Gate last night after reading reviews on this site and was suitably impressed. Tucked away several yards beyond the Apollo you enter via the garden courtyard. By luck the weather was clear and we ate in this lovely courtyard with ample space. Menu was comprehensive but not extensively long. Good wine list or choose from fresh squeezed fruit juices, Yum. The sweetcorn fritters just divine. Mains were good, not huge and the best was kept for last. Desert list was exciting and intriguing. The white chocolate cheesecake was recommended by the enthusiastic waiter. If you like it smooth, melt in your mouth, sweet and rich, this was the one. More subtle but lovely was the passionfruit brulee. All round great evening. Starters 5-6 Main 8-13, desert 5-6.
5 out of 5
Owain
Thursday, June 10, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

My favourite vegetarian Restaurant.  Always at least one incredible dish on the menu, which leaves you hankering for more.  Very deft touch, always carefully balanced tastes, and a great web site if you want to check what you want to eat before hand.
3 out of 5
Tom McCann
Sunday, April 11, 2004


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I had the Chick Pea Tagine and my wife had the vegetable Korma. The Tagine was odd, not least because I had to search for the chick peas. The veggies were chopped by someone in a hurry and the sauce was leaden. My wife's Korma was a bit nicer, but was nowhere near as nice as we could have cooked for ourselves. Overall, I found the food stodgy, in common with most veggie restaurants. When is a veggie restaurant going to do something 'light' with veggie ingredients ? It's not impossible. I can see what they are trying to do - the atmosphere was nicely informal, but it felt more like a cafe than a restaurant. Overall I was disappointed. I think vegetarians get a bad deal generally when eating out - but this is not forgivable when the venue is supposedly catering especially for vegetarians. Oh, and another thing, we went there because they are listed in the London Organic directory, however when we asked, the owner said that he can't often get hold of organic ingredients. I simply don't believe that. Surely all veggie restaurants should go to the trouble of getting organic - it's not difficult at all these days. I'd like to see this restaurant (and all veggie restaurants) succeed but this one will have to try a lot harder.
5 out of 5
flower
Thursday, August 07, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I am never failed to be absolutely blown away by the food at Gate.  We go several times a year to both Belsize Park and Hammersmith and LOVE each and every mouthful.  Definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
Mel
Friday, August 01, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

We have been at various times during the year (always before popping around the corner for a concert at the Hammersmith Odeon - or whatever it may be called nowadays) and we always feel spoiled for choice.


Not a place to go for a 'dressed up' occasion meal - but certainly, if you are in the area, a fun one to consider at Christmas. Its a fairly small, funky looking restaurant with an adequate wine list and a selection  of international dishes. Not sure how accesible it is if yu are not mobile, asit is upstairs, but we are now hoping to try their new NW London branch.

4 out of 5
Sir Craven
Saturday, November 02, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Very nice, food a bit rich, and little selection. But very quiet and lovely pop art decor.
5 out of 5
Amanda
Monday, September 16, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

It's been my favourite vegetarian restaurant for 7 years. It's small, and can be difficult to get a booking on a Saturday night but the room is light and airy, the staff are amazing. Never fail to be smiley, cheerful and helpful. The food is outstanding. An eclectic and imaginative exclusively vegetarian menu. I have dreams about the Bailey's Cheesecake, one of the best puds I've ever had (and believe me, I've eaten a lot!). They've been successful enough to open a second restaurant, in Belsize Village, which also does a great brunch at the weekend.
4 out of 5
Nic
Thursday, March 14, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

A bit out of the way but well worth the hike! Small restaurant with excellently presented food at a reasonable price
4 out of 5
lydia
Thursday, February 14, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Isn't it satisfying when you wait for something and aren't disappointed. I have wanted to go to "The Gate" for ages and finally made it , to find the food, sevice and enviroment excellant. I would recommend booking as we were there on a wednesday and it was full virtually all night. The range on the menu is extensive for both vegetarians and vegans. I even managed to eat a wheat free three course meal and after a mix up with the order, my mistake I think, they sorted it out and a new dish arrived within minutes. Over all a very satisfying experience. I would recommend it as a great place to take someone for a special meal.