homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Texas Embassy Cantina, Charing Cross

Texas Embassy Cantina

1 Cockspur Street, London

4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews
Review Texas Embassy Cantina Rate and review Texas Embassy Cantina


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

4 out of 5
Leah
Thursday, August 07, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Great for trying new Tequilas as they have a very extensive range!
4 out of 5
Jeff Hayfield
Saturday, July 12, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Being from Texas I was over the moon when I found out about the Texas Embassy! Their food is authentic and going there almost feels like coming home. Even if you are only going for drinks, their Margaritas are worth the visit.
3 out of 5
Rae
Sunday, March 04, 2007


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great ambience - full of people and very lively - waiter was excellent being very prompt and personable - unfortunately kitchen experience was not so good. Fifteen minutes after having ordered our food waiter comes back to tell us that our choices are not available. While my partner's deep fried steak was excellent my alternative order was bland and lukewarm. Will probably not go there again.
4 out of 5
Delaina Westwood-Booth
Monday, May 23, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Being a native Texan who has been in London for 7 years, I have eaten at the Texas Embassy many times. I have always had excellent food, good prompt service, and think it is in a great location. I bring my young children there, and they are made very welcome and have a great children's menu which is not overpriced. I think this is a good value, and has very good Tex-Mex food- I usually order Fajitas, or one of the combination plates.
3 out of 5
Jeff
Saturday, November 20, 2004


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I was in this restaurant on Nov 20,2004 They may have been having a bad night, but it took over 50 minutes after ordering to get the food to the table.  One plate arrived cold and had obviously been sitting, and the other a barely cooked steak.  When asked, the order got cancelled, but the manager didn't even come by to apologize.  I felt for the waitress who seemed to be in a hard position.  The atmosphere was nice, but I won't be going back to see if they have improved their kitchens!!!
5 out of 5
Christy
Sunday, February 15, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been living in the UK off and on for the last two years.  I am from Oklahoma where Mexican food is a staple of life.  I didn't realise how much I would miss it until I couldn't get it anymore.  There is one local restaurant in the area and I found it horrible.  US based restaurant Chilli's was even dissappointing.  I was beginning to think that my life here in the UK was going to be spent without my beloved Tex-Mex and I was very disheartened.  Until yesterday.


My fiance and I went to the Texas Embassy Cantina for a Valentine's late lunch.  We made reservations about a week in advance (I'm not sure if that's always necessary but it's recommended).  We were served immediately by a very friendly staff member.  The beers were on the table in the blink of an eye, the orders taken and food delivered within less than 10 minutes (seemed more like five!)  We had chips and queso before the meal arrived and didn't even have time to finish that.  The queso is not quite the real stuff but it's closer than anything I've found here thusfar.  If you are from a Tex Mex area like I am, you will know about the free queso that you get at most restaurants, the kind made with cream of cheddar soup with chilles in it.  That's what it was, and unfortunately, the chips were the UK standard small triangles made from pretty rough corn so they weren't as great as they could of been but then the meal came and I was completely redeemed.  I ordered the Guadaljara (please forgive my horrible spelling if I've not spelled things correctly) which is a platter with rice and beans (home made, it seemed) and one cheese, one chicken and one beef enchillada.  They were all fantastic.  Especially the cheese enchillada.  The beef was shredded roast beef type and the chicken was shredded chicken breast.  I was in heaven!  They even knew what the sauces should be like on each one.  Usually in the UK people just put some red gunk that tastes like old tomato paste on them and call it "enchillada sauce" and it's a crime against mexican food.  However, at the embassy, the chicken enchillada had sour cream sauce, the beef had chilli con carne sauce and the cheese had queso on top.  I think I might have switched the sauces on the beef and cheese but it was still mighty good.  


My fiance ordered the southern fried steak (chicken fried steak to anyone from the south) and I hate to admit it but it was the best damned chicken fry I've ever tasted.  It was the real stuff.  The crust was light and crispy and made with a smooth batter and fried to a nice golden brown.  The steak inside wasn't the stringy cube steak I'm used to but a tender cut of beef tenderzied and marinated to a melt in your mouth, soft texture.  I mean this steak was fabulous!  It was covered in real cream gravy along with the real creamy mashed potatoes on the side.  Please don't order fries with this, it would be a shame!  It was a nice sized portion as well. My fiance, who is from the UK enjoyed it very much and ate every bite.


As for drinks, the first round was Corona and Dos Eqquis with lime (both nice, clean, refreshing beers perfect to compliment heavy spicy mexican food) and the second was a frozen pear margarita for me and a Michelob beer for Dave.  The pear margarita was ok, I didn't think it tasted like pear (Dave did) but it did have lime and the perfect amount of tequilla in it and hit the spot.  Dave for some reason likes these American beers but I can't account for his taste.  He said it was very good though.


For afters we shared a slice of key lime pie.  I don't believe it was made with real key l

3 out of 5
muz
Friday, March 22, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The service is not as good as I hoped it had been. I think there's something wrong with that pager system they use as it didn't work for us and other customers were being served before us. The food was nice - bit undercooked and the ambience was ok, would have expected it to be a bit more livlier. As far as steaks go, it is very nice but I would have personally expected it to be much better as TGI Friday's make good steaks and I'm still thinking about theirs...
5 out of 5
Midolf
Thursday, July 26, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

very exciting place with excellent dishes and a very friendly staff - go there!!!