homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Belgo Centraal, Covent Garden

Belgo Centraal

50 Earlham Street, London

4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews
Review Belgo Centraal Rate and review Belgo Centraal


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

1 out of 5
R Morris
Thursday, April 07, 2011


Food RatingHated the food! Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I went to Belgos Mon Apr 4 2011 for an evening meal. Had the traditional mussels with fries. Little did I know I would have violent food poisioning less than 24 hours later. It was agony and I'm still recovering now. I will never go again....service was hard work and the staff are not attentive. The waffles and ice cream was delicious but willnow avoid mussles for life. I will be contacting Belgos to inform them whether they are bothered or not is another matter plus we had to pay 12.5% service charge!! Cheek! Not recommended, there are so many other places to eat in London. Wish I never suggested to my colleague that we go and eat there :(
4 out of 5
vicki
Sunday, September 17, 2006


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i'm an 18 year old female and i've been there many times with different groups of people (of many ages) and every time it's been great! everyone i've been with has gone back with other people because they have enjoyed it so much! beat the clock and the express menu are great value for money. the waiters always offer good service and enjoy friendly banter - their knowledge of beer is always impressive. the place is always buzzing with people, mostly arty types, and everyone always seems to be having a good time. i personally love the look of the place, the painted murals on the walls and the large copper panels. i really recommend this place to anyone who likes friendly, quick but not intrusive service, lots of beer and a good time. the people who have wrote bad reviews are obviously rare cases as i am a regular belgo-goer. it's also a good place to take someone on a casual afternoon date as it isn't a formal place - you'll feel comfortable enough that the date will never be a chore... especially after making your way through some of the beer menu... it's long!
3 out of 5
Ant
Monday, August 07, 2006


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Stylish place - using the lift to get down to the resturant was not necessary but a nice touch. Service was freindly and reasonable effiecient. Can't remember a great deal about the quality of the food but I quickly got hammered on the wide range of beers which is probably a good reflection of the joint. Prices were in line with the area
5 out of 5
Mike
Monday, May 15, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

What an amazing place. I went there with 2 friends on the spur of the moment (one of them had been there before) and found the whole experience most satisfying.
The food was exquisite (we all had the mussels, though cooked in different sauces), and the desert was divine.
Service was as good as you can get and our waiter was over checking on us on regular occasions, making sure our food was ok and that our mouths were never to run dry for lack of drinks. I highly recommend the Cherry Beer - more places should offer this!!!!
All in all, a fantastic evening that topped a very enjoyable visit to London. Would recommend to all.
4 out of 5
Lynn
Tuesday, December 13, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I have been to Belgo's many times and have had a great time every time. It is true that the restaurant can become crowded, the best time to go is early or during the week. But the food is good (definitely the mussels and the chips), and the dame blanche is served with the best chocolate sauce in London (seriously, you just have to try it). I have had no trouble with the waiters whatsoever, they have always been friendly and efficient.
Their lunch time menu is also great value for money!
3 out of 5
Aurore
Friday, January 21, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Good atmosphere maybe due to the 96 or so kinds of beers on offer! Food is good and service generally friendly. I never tried the mussels as I am allergic to them but the red meat is very good. Deserts look very heavy and you won't have the space for them anyway! Nice setting at night (underground). Good lunch menu and good deals if you arrive before 7?
4 out of 5
Monday, March 01, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I love this place! It's a little known fact that they are completely child friendly and kids eat free - and it's not rubbishy foods either it's just a mini version of the adult versions. Well worth a try if you want a proper meal.
5 out of 5
Bionda
Monday, June 02, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Belgo's atmosphere, complete with waiters in monk's habits and seating at long plank tables, makes for an enjoyable evening.  The food is mouth-watering, even if the prices will make your wallet cringe.
4 out of 5
Sunday, February 17, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This restaurant has one of the most fascinating menus to date, Mussels is a major recomendation for any newcomer going to Belgos. Beer menu is good and extensive. Have to say the only downer would have to be the location, can be difficult to find. otherwise gauranteed a great night out.
4 out of 5
Mr. Crude
Tuesday, January 16, 2001


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Great way to start a night! Beer, mussels and chips. Its a lively atmosphere, the food is excellent and fairly cheap. The restaurant is also well located for those that what to go onto other things (i.e. nightclubs etc.)
5 out of 5
Tuesday, January 16, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Sweet place!
4 out of 5
f.
Wednesday, April 25, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

What an amazing place for a great night! The food is just excellent, typical but trendy, Belgium must definitely be an enchanting place...
4 out of 5
Martje Graham
Thursday, September 13, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

If you hunker after Flemish chips ... this is the place to go, they're gorgeous! And so are the mussels! Lovely place if you don't mind a big, busy restaurant and slightly dotty waiters ...