homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Tamarind, Green Park

Tamarind
Tamarind


20 Queen Street, Mayfair, London

4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews
Review Tamarind Rate and review Tamarind


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
L Pfeiffer
Monday, May 15, 2006


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

We went there on Saturday 13th May for our anniversary meal and left very dissapointed. The service is extremely brisk (a waiter removed the popadoms and chutneys as i was still eating) - this is not a place to linger and relax - we were turned around in an hour.

The starters were variable - I had the potato and spinach cakes which were greasy and bland. The main course (lamb, chicken curries, bindi and aubergine) had to be sent back as they were so salty as to be almost inedible. They were replaced without quibble and we got a complimentary glass of wine. The replacement meal was a little better but the lamb dish was just as salty.

We left having parted with 75 and were at least not charged for the lamb curry - however I would not got back there. The quality of food was very disapointing for the price tag - 16-18 a main course. I have enjoyed much better Indian food for a third of this price.
4 out of 5
Mo
Wednesday, March 22, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I've been here twice and can't wait to go again. Gorgeous setting, good service, and the food is ultra-delicious. Get the papri chat, it's to die for!
4 out of 5
andrew brown
Tuesday, April 26, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Well, here is the answer - come along other indian restaurants and learn from the professionals - excellent in all categories.

Thank you Tamarind, see you all again soon
5 out of 5
Gordon Davidson
Sunday, March 20, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The food at the Tamarind was outstanding, in particular the vegetable side dishes and sweets were out of this world. I had a carrot fudge dessert which has to be one of the nicest things I have ever tasted in my life. The attentive staff noted that we were celebrating my wife's birthday and arranged for a candle on her dessert.
5 out of 5
Major General (Retd.) R K S BHATIA
Monday, March 14, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

A meal in TAMARIND is an "out of the world" experience - specially for an Indian visitor who would like to have the best of the Indian cusine.
The restaraunt has maintained the already highest standards it had achieved so far as food, ambience and service are concerned.
All credit to Mr. RAJESH SURI for leading a highly motivated team and for the continued success of TAMARIND.
4 out of 5
Seemab Malik
Sunday, March 13, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I'm not usually intereted in giving reviews of restaurants but felt compelled to following my recent visits to the Tamarind. This is truly a gem of a place! The food was great and it was fascinating to watch the chefs at work. As a Pakistani woman who knows her South Asian food, I can confirm that the wares on offer are inspired and smack of authenticy with a modern twist. The service was impeccable and the whole experience was one definitely to be repeated time and time again!
5 out of 5
BERNADETTE
Saturday, March 12, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

We had a wonderful meal.And are keen to return. It was recommended to us by friends and we have since sent others who have equally had a good time there
4 out of 5
anish patel
Friday, March 11, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Listen to me. I am an indian. This food is delicious. Its better than my mum, sister and wife's cooking. (And they are all fantastic)!
I go to tamarind becos its the best. Going to tamarind is an event. YOu get taken care of the moment you step out of your car - valet parking available - or your cab. Greeted by a young man who is always cheerful.

The staff at tamarind are VERY passionate about what they do. Food is an art, and so is the service and in my opinion, they come up tops each and every time.

My congratulations to all the staff, The Manager and the Chef. Keep it up.

Look forward to my table on saturday.
4 out of 5
Ajay Ramgoolam
Saturday, July 26, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

One of only two Indian restaurants in London to be blessed with the famous "etoile", Tamarind is, to my mind, way in front of its supposed equal, Zaika.


The food stands out, as one would expect, but the service is also very good and the ambience in the basement dining room, although a little on the "trendy" side, is aided by the presence of families, even on Saturday nights!


Prices on the wine list is a bit on the steep side, but the wines themselves are judiciously chosen and tend to complement the food, which isn't always the case in this type of restaurant.


Not a cheap night out, by any means, but light years ahead of your average curry house.


 

4 out of 5
Sharon Crawford
Tuesday, June 10, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Truly sublime food, beautifully presented.  Service was very good -- atentive without being obtrusive. But the food was so good, everything faded into the background.
3 out of 5
Hank Mittelhauser
Monday, January 29, 2001


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Fantastic chutney