homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Souk Bazaar, Covent Garden

Souk Bazaar
Souk Bazaar


27 LitchField Street, London

4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews
Review Souk Bazaar Rate and review Souk Bazaar


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

2 out of 5
Alison Tudor
Sunday, February 08, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

I went to Souk Bazaar on Saturday evening with a couple of friends. We were seated in the basement, which was cosy and full of atmosphere, so we had high hopes. The waiter gave us a sheet of paper with a set menu, when we asked about the full a la carte menu he said that they didn't serve it at weekends. This seemed odd, but the set menu sounded good so we went with it. The starters were quite nice, but when the main courses came we were only given 3 of the five on the menu. After a while we asked the waitress for the remaining chicken and merguez dishes, which she clearly had no intention of bringing to us, eventually a bowl of chicken bits and with two merguez on top arrived....not the chicken with saffron and herbs and the couscous with merguez we had been promised. The food was average, not great, but what really annoyed us was the sight of the full a la carte menu in the hands of the people sat either side of us. I asked the waiter who served us why we hadn't been given the choice of the normal menu and he put it down to a breakdown in communication. Myself, I think they thought that we were tourists who they could swindle into a full three course meal. The waiter offered some free drinks to make up for this 'misunderstanding', we declined but vowed never to go there again. A very disappointing experience.
5 out of 5
Melissa Perkins
Saturday, June 21, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

WE HAVE BEEN THERE TWICE AND EACH TIME WAS GREAT. QUICK SERVICE, FANTASTIC ATMOSPHERE AND FOOD. LIKE STEPPING OUT OF LONDON.
4 out of 5
brigitte`
Sunday, December 11, 2005


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

just had my christmas party,very impressed by the venue,very good set menu where we all share very tasty vege and meat dishes,the service is very theatrecal ,but still effeciant,
the atmosphere is lively and buzzing.
i can only praise this venue and deserve to be bussy,gives londoners something different with affordable price,
well done souk,and see you very soon.
4 out of 5
Michael Knight
Thursday, October 13, 2005


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I walked down Lichfield Street on my way to the IVY and looked through the windows of Souk. Its look enchanting a bedwin tent in the middle of London. The place is filled with authentic brick and brack that gives the whole place an Aladdinís cave feel to it. The leather cushions can be a little uncomfortable if you have long legs and arenít as flexible as you use to be, but there are wooden chairs at the tables down stairs. We were shown our seats, which to my delight were located in a small recess downstairs of which there are a few. A curtain drawn across the entrance gave us complete privacy from the rest of restaurant. The waiters, particularly one called Rashid, who I think was the assistant manager, couldnít have been more helpful. He explained fully what the dishes were, what they contained, how they were cooked. He constantly came up to check that we were enjoying ourselves. He recommended the house special to drink, Vodka, Rose Water and fresh mint leaves, they were heavenly and went down a little to well. The food arrived which was unbelievable, the lamb in Prunes was the perfect combination of sweet and savoury, the spinach and potatoes was so delicious. We ordered the set menu for 2 but to be honest there was enough for 4. Half way through the meal we heard the cheering from the rest of the restaurant and the twinkling of bells. On drawing the curtain back we were elated to see a belly dancer giving it her all, she was clearly enjoying it as did the rest of the restaurant. I would highly recommend the restaurant, particularly the private nooks. Well worth a visit.
4 out of 5
DAVID LEVI
Tuesday, October 12, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

went there at 1030pm the restaurant was full,they manage to get us a table,not all the menu was availaible,however the fish of the day(red muller)was great,aswell as the sweet lamb with prunes.apparnently we missed a belly dancer,but will go back for sure as the table next to us told us she was a great dancer,we were the last peapole to leave at 1.00am,the  french waitress was very frendly,we are even thinking to revisit the restaurant very soon.

4 out of 5
caroline
Saturday, October 02, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

very cosy restaurnt,iwent there with low expectation after reading som reviews,butvery impressed with what i discribe atotal escape from london,fantastic evening out,highly recommended,just dont be to serious about your night out,it's fun restaurant .
4 out of 5
fred
Sunday, September 26, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is still one of the best restaurant in the west end,considering how busy they were  last wednesday,iwas amased how my evening went  with no probleme,the food came on time tasty as usal;the waiter always helpful and the best of all the best atmospher i have seen in any other restaurant,just like eating in souk in marrakech,my date was impressed,looking forward to my next visit.
3 out of 5
anon
Wednesday, September 22, 2004


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I found Souk after looking through an old restaurant guide and wanted an North_african meal. After booking I began to read some of these reviews and became a bit concerned, but went along with the booking anyway.

To sum up: food was nice (starter average)
Staff were O.k in general, however if you want a good night, don't ask questions about your bill (e.g been counting drinks and know they have over charged you)- they don't have the patients to explain anything calmy and politely.
They also tried to charge me double for a booking!
Service can really bring down an evening!you don't pay near £400 to have a rude waiter.
Ambience: mind you head, and if you don't like sitting on cushions (or have long legs), keep your bookings under 5 people as you will be allocated a different part of the restaurant. I would not reccomend bookings over 10 people due to space and seating, unless you intend to hire a whole room ect.. It is also more difficult to keep an eye on your guests ordering more 'complimentary' drinks (which the waiters will oblige without consulting the person who has booked, in an attempt to get more money, even if you tell them before hand not to).

My party consisted of 15 people in the evening, I ordered a dancer (who you pay £35 extra for and she dances for 5 minuites (2 songs) but was friendly and well mannered) however the dancer also goes round the rest of the restaurant after, dancing for other customers who had not payed for her (which is rather annoying that they get it for free and you don't (strange). The food was nice, with the main dish being better that the starter.
However as noticed by someone else on this site ( and guests of mine who could hear) the waiters can be rude, callous and impatient when speeking to you. They were to me and it did bring my whole mood and evening down. Not all of them were rude however, it was just one asshole in particular! There are also what appears to be un-advertised bottles of water which everyone in my party assumed were included in the bill (the ones on the table when you arrive), however they are £2.5 each (which I only found out because I asked after 6 had been opened) adding an unexpected £30 to my bill. We were on the £15 per head set menu. P.S the £15 per head set menu is not actually £15 as they add 12.5% service charge to the bill which makes it around £18 per head-£20 if you intend drinking water!
So yes my feelings are mixed. I was unhappy about my treatment on the night I was there, especially as it was my anniversery, However I would say that it would still be in recent good restaurant guides if the staff had been less rude, and I would have had a better evening.

4 out of 5
marc sebestian
Thursday, August 05, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

great party,plenty atmospher,the food is surprisinly good,the belly dancer is even better,good restaurant for a budget meal.
4 out of 5
JOSE GARCIA
Monday, March 08, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

every time i came to london i visite le souk,altought i eat all over the world i still think le souk is unique,and also amased how the keep it so majiq,well done soukand see you in six months inchallah
4 out of 5
marcsmith
Sunday, December 14, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

just had our office party at the souk,what a fantastic evening we had,from the moroccan mojhitos cocktails to the belly dancer,the delicious food just kept  arriving,the dj kept us up to party mood,the waiter insisted in making us dance,once we were up the kept us on our feet dancing,it was nice to see my boss wearing a fez and be ralax,i think we'll have these pictures in our desk for a long time.all that came to £30 a head what a deal,my birthday is caming up soon,i think i have plan.......
4 out of 5
clair
Sunday, November 23, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

defenitely the best atmospher in central london,the set menu@£15 is very good value.the kaasbah room is very beatiful,authantic morrocan,was ideal for us ,as we were 30 people,the staff are freindly and helpful,the even teach me to belly dance,highly recommended for unformal,fun party.

5 out of 5
Moz Bulbeck
Friday, November 21, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

After several trips to Souk, I can only sing it's praises! The food is authentic Morrocan fare and both myself and friends have never been left wanting. Portions more than ampla and standard of food truly as you would expect ina Morroccan souk. The truly remarkable thing is the atmoshere. My favourite room is the grotto downstairs in the back and the belly dancing is always entertaining. After watching several of my friends give it a go, I can honestly say it is well worth the trip. Beware the house cocktail, while nice, they do add up, and so do the sheesha pipes. The £15/person set menu is a winner and good for vegetarians with drinking and smoking sheesha adding a bit more than anticipated most times. You may pay a little more than you expect but then where else in London can you escape London right in the heart of the West End?!? A big thumbs up!!!
5 out of 5
Ralph
Friday, October 31, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

By far the best and most succulent north african food in London.


Ralph

4 out of 5
sarah
Sunday, October 05, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

something very different,souk allowed me to forget about london for a evening,geat all around and very resonable to,highly recommended.

4 out of 5
gareth
Monday, September 01, 2003


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I find out about souk throught a freind party,I tought it was a good place to chillout and listen to good music,good vegetarian selection witch suited me find,decor is very moroccan and stylish,you will never think you are in london,and hubble bubble and belly dancer made me think I'm in holiday,service can be slow at times but who cares you here to relax,we payed £25 ahead including few beers,not to bad,defintly a good place for a party.
4 out of 5
alison
Sunday, August 31, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

I was a bit nervous as it was my first date,we both felt very relax a soon us we seat on the big cushions.set menu at £15 was very good value for 4 course,altought it was very busy,the waiter was cool and funny,the music was great too.we have dicided to book for our second date,it look promising....,cheers boys.
5 out of 5
Jonathan
Saturday, January 11, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Couldn't fault the place really, we had a great meal for 21 people, all sat in the same room together last night. You don't have any choice, other than a wide selection of delicious starters and main courses. The lamb was particularly good, soaked, we thought, in Rose Water.

If you are fussy about things going absolutely smoothly, I could see how you might get a bit frustrated - we were asked at 6pm to postpone our arrival from 7.30 to 8.00. But if you just relax, lay back and settle into the ambience, you will have a fantastic time!
5 out of 5
caroline
Friday, July 12, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Absolutely fantastic ! Have dined here many a time over the last few years and I recommend it to everyone I know (usually with an offer to accompany them myself !!) Even supplied us with fez's at Xmas....though we had to give them back on the way out !! In fact...I feel another booking coming on now.....pass the phone !!
3 out of 5
Sam
Monday, July 08, 2002


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Okay food (apart from the watered down wine) and terrific atmosphere but the worst service I have ever received. Ask to sit downstairs as the staff are much friendlier and the atmosphere even better - we only got down there after I complained about being brought all the wrong dishes. Disappointed birthday..
4 out of 5
Arnab Ghosh
Sunday, June 30, 2002


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Never expected to find this ambience amidst the hustle and bustle of Central London.Food and Service were as you would expect in a good restaurant.What took it to a higher plane was the ambience and the decor of the place.You must try the mint tea and the hukka after food.Simply awesome.A must visit place for you.
5 out of 5
Patrea Louise
Friday, May 11, 2001


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Wonderful decor - you wouldn't imagine that you are in the centre of London! Service is so friendly without being intrusive - just warm and genuine. Food is generous and delicious!! There should be more restaurants in London that reflect the richness of the city's diversity. Just don't tell too many people, else I won't get a booking next time I want to go...