homeLondon restaurant searchLondon restaurant bookingsSpecial Offers and TicketsLondon restaurant chartsLondon and restaurants newsLondon Restaurant and Food Pollsjoincontactcuisine searchLondon areasadvanced search

Customer reviews for Lahore Kebab House, Whitechapel

Lahore Kebab House
Lahore Kebab House


2 Umberston Street, Whitechapel, London

4 out of 5 based on 57 reviews
Review Lahore Kebab House Rate and review Lahore Kebab House


Ratings out of 5 are for
Food RatingFood Service RatingService Ambience RatingAmbience
Read the latest 10 London restaurant reviews as submitted by London restaurant customers

5 out of 5
Archie
Friday, October 01, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

This is a top top restaurant you can not knock it for its food - a little bit more could be done with the service - but make no mistake if its good quality Indian/Pakistani food you want the Lahore Kebab House is the place to be. If you haven't been before you, its worth a try!
5 out of 5
Chloe23
Friday, January 22, 2010


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I've been coming to this restaurant for 20yrs - yes, since I was 3! There is no greater Indian anywhere and that's coming from me and my Indian family. Korai Gosht and the Keema curries are amazing - as are the biriyanis and all starters. Can't fault them on anything. Best restaurant ever.
5 out of 5
m sohaib
Saturday, December 19, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

i love food in lahore kebeb house (nihari) lovely man i do miss that food in scottland i wish i could come every weekend
2 out of 5
Will Smith
Saturday, December 05, 2009


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

The restaurant 'lost' our booking for a party of 20 which completely spoilt our evening. The staff were not very apologetic and there was no gesture to acknowledge the inconvenience they had caused. The food was nice but not overly special. It came nowhere near compensating the annoyance caused by being made to wait an hour for a table we had booked.
4 out of 5
Kamran Ahmad
Wednesday, July 29, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Probably one of the finest places to eat as the food is served hot and it is cooked deliciously.

The waiters are good even though it is packed on most occasions and they try to bring food asap.

However, if your looking for a romatic meal with a quiet time...this is not for you.
2 out of 5
Akash
Monday, June 29, 2009


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingHated the service! Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

I'm a regular visitior to this restaurant only and only because of their lovely food, however I've always had doubt over its health and safety and overall cleanliness (greasy and stained underliners to the curry bowls, stained plates etc.) I'm sure many of us ignore such details over their die-for kebabs and currys...BUT.
But this time, not only I was made to sit on a table next to the washrooms (had no choice, restraurant was full) that stank atrocious with every visitor wanting to use it, to my heavenly surprise I find a finger long swriled rusted piece of metal wire in my mouth with a spoonful of curry(Murgh Chana - part of their speciality)). From its looks it seemed to be from a steel scourer.
So now upon call the waiter who was serving us and showing and telling him what happend he appologised and quickly takes away the piece of wire from my hand, picks up the rest of the curry and takes it to the kitchen as its visible through the glass windows. He comes back with the another bowl of curry and mumbles a story that none of us could understand (seating 4) apart from another "sorry". This incidence almost brought an end to my meal and the rest of us.

And finally I see the dish presented on my bill, not that a 12 curry would have made any difference to my pocket, but it felt sad that there was no gesture or courtesy.I was expecting atleast a manager coming to me with some explanation, but it clearly was a wishful thinking.

I would still recommend this restaurant to people but with "caution", for me I may need to think twice.
5 out of 5
Stuart
Thursday, April 09, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Simply Awesome!
The best most authentic Pakistani food I've ever eaten, Excellent friendly service, can only highly recommend it, no negatives, Lamb chops are superb.
4 out of 5
TED
Friday, February 27, 2009


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Always good food...always reliable good quality...service good too....ive been eating here for many years now and always look forward to coming back....authentic Pakistani food at its best....a true London treasure.....see you again soon
4 out of 5
James Watson
Tuesday, February 03, 2009


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Absolutley Awesome. The food is AMAZING!!!
3 out of 5
Tycho
Monday, December 22, 2008


Food RatingDidn't like the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Not good for vegetarians. We had one Veg curry and one Daal. Both at 7 each and small portions for a main course. We had pilau rice and naan bread with it and barely had enough grub. Watch it for the Hillingdon water. This comes to the table without asking and you get charged for it (2.50). Quality was fine but not exceptional.
Service is quick and polite
4 out of 5
Minhaal
Friday, December 19, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

The food is wonderful and I have been eating at this restaurant since I was a little child 15 years ago. The service has seen improvement over the years but you can expect slow service at peak times occasionally. The ambience is a relaxed atmosphere with the hustle and bustle of a busy restaurant.
3 out of 5
Alex Dixon Soomal
Saturday, September 27, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Food was great, very authentic though a tad pricey considering the ambience.

I'm surprised at the 1/10 ratings - they must either be running the many other 'copycat' restaurants along Commercial Rd (which may be equally good...) or are just envious of the success of Lahore!

Try it, you won't be disappointed.
4 out of 5
Aleksey
Tuesday, September 16, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

My wife and I went there for lunch last Saturday on our friends' recommendation. The food is very good, especially the lamb chops and the pistachio kulfi. They obviously brought the chef from India or Pakistan. The service is timely and the waiters are courteous. It is now the number one restaurant on my list of Pakistani/Indian places.
4 out of 5
Jack Finch
Friday, August 29, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

awesome
4 out of 5
John Speller
Friday, August 29, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I can only suspect that the contributors who give the Lahore low scores must be owners/waiters of rival restaurants. I have been eating curries all over the place for forty years and the ones here are amongst the best I have eaten. Nicely spiced, good quality meat and the Friday night curried chops are to die for. Service is efficient (it has to be, such is the popularity of the place) Unfortunately, 7 curries are now the norm, but you can always buy your own booze from the corner shop.
5 out of 5
shakeel
Friday, August 01, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Lahore kebab house is one of the best pakistani resturant ... i really loved the food..i would give 5 star to them.
5 out of 5
john scott
Wednesday, July 30, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I have been to many pakistani restaurents but the food and service i get from Lahore kebab is brilliant. Definitely will go back for the lamb chops..
5 out of 5
sarah
Friday, July 25, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I would just say that lkh is the best resturtant in london and when ever i feel likee having desi food i just run to lkh ... its amazing and outstanding... i really love everything obout lkh.. the food,atmosphere....etc.
keep it up ..........good luck
5 out of 5
sarah
Friday, July 25, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I would just say that lhk is the best resturtant in l,ondon and when ever i feel likee having desi food i just run to lkh ... its amazing and outsatnding... i really love everything obout lkh.. the food,atmospere....etc.
keep it up ..........good luck
4 out of 5
Chris
Saturday, May 31, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Upon entering Lahore I was first struck by the sheer cleanliness and spaciousness of this restaurant. There were staff polishing glasses and generally keeping the place spotless and tidy, which created a good impression. I especially liked the glass-fronted kitchen too. Service was extremely fast and my vegetarian biriani was simply delicious. The only minor criticism which has been mentioned elsewhere was the bottle of water which was plonked on our table immediately we sat down. But to be fair this was later removed at our request. I am already looking forward to a return visit.
5 out of 5
Emily
Thursday, May 22, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Amazingly friendly staff. We brought our 1 year old daughter and all the staff couldn't stop bringing her food and playing with her! Very quick service- we had all of our food brought out in about 15 minutes. Excellent food, for 3 of us it was about 40 and we were completely stuffed by the end. I would go back again any time. My only complaint was the big sports screen in the corner- kind of ruined the ambience, at least for me. Overall, fantastic restaurant- but then you can tell by the fact that every table was full!
5 out of 5
Ahmad
Saturday, May 03, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The best place to eat pakistani food,great place......................
5 out of 5
muhmmad Ahmad
Saturday, May 03, 2008


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The food is very good and atmosphere is realy nice
3 out of 5
Jack Jone
Tuesday, April 01, 2008


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

Re Williams 27 Nov 2007 - Cost 90 for 3 persons without drink (other then water). It would have been intersting to know WHAT they(3) orderd AND ATE there to cost 90 !!!!
Sarter Av 3 pp Main 8 pp Extras 4 pp = 15 + Service Say 17 pp = Max 60 for 3 !
Most Main Courses can be shared between 2.
3 out of 5
Andy Davids
Tuesday, January 01, 2008


Food RatingThe food was okay Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I have been going to LKH since I was introduced by some pakistani friends 10 years ago. I regularly pop in for a kebab with its fresh bread and yoghurt sauce hmmmm. Unfortunately things have changed and probably I will only return for special occasions.
The prices have now almost doubled and they leave bottles of water on the table which you are expected to drink. Everyone has to make money but they are now catering for a very different market. I wish them luck.
4 out of 5
Pamela Crouch
Wednesday, December 19, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

I was one of a party of 13 who dined at the Lahore Kebab House in Whitechapel last night, [17/12/2007] and enjoyed every minute of the evening. For the first time we dined upstairs that was 3/4 empty so despite the Christmas trees and decorations there was no atmosphere and the TV screens not switched on. We had a chat with the head waiter and agreed upon the mixed starters and mixed main and it was GOOD! Plenty of food and we just couldnt finish it and one of the party ended up taking some home that the waiter kindly boxed up for him. All this food, [the lamb chops are still wonderful!] and a few bottles of water and a couple of jugs of the mango stuff AND a tip meant we each paid 20 and felt stuffed! The prices have gone up but still represent great value and the food is the tastiest around.................... Once again one of our party ordered a take-away to feed the rest of the family at home so that tells you that its good..........
5 out of 5
Rachael
Wednesday, November 28, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Fantastic Indian cafe style place. Has had loads of revamping done and looks great. Definitely unique in style and flavour and is definitely the best all round. You must try it to appreciate it. Try the chicken tikka wraps
4 out of 5
Robbie Goodings
Sunday, September 09, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Leon, you'll love it!
5 out of 5
Vishal
Sunday, September 09, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

To be honest, Iv been going here for the past 8 years or more every sunday and the food is amazing. I have never got bored of this place and the staff are awesome. Very polite. My Father has been coming here for over 20 years and he may probabaly be the eldest customer and he still loves going every time. Every week the highlight to the weeks food would be coming here and eating. As we come in and have just sat down the staff know before we even order and brings our drinks to the table. Soemtimes we dont even have to order and the food comes as they all know what we normally have. The restaurants food is extremely tasty specially their lamb chops and mutton tikka.

Id recommend having a chicken cury with spinage, lamb chops, mutton tikka, kebabs,

To top it up if your thinking of going you must get one of the deserts from a kulfi or a chocolate cake with ice creame.

The deserts are also amazing and the value of everything cannot be beaten.

Overall This place is my favourite restaurant and BRILLIANT
4 out of 5
Jonas Karlsson
Sunday, June 24, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Everytime im in London (6-7 times/year) I go to Lahore. The best lambchops Ive ever tasted. I also recommend the mangolasse. Not a fancy restaurant, but who need that with worldclass food. Much better than many michelinestar restaurants Ive tried!
3 out of 5
John Westwood
Sunday, April 08, 2007


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

This place is incredible! I first went there as guest of a Pakistani work colleague. Subsequently with family and friends... always a warm welcome and the service of fantastic grub, ending up with a bill that was much less than half what would be expected. Although they don't/can't sell wine, a corkscrew will appear on the table instantly so that you can deal with the bottle you've remembered to bring with you!
I now live in Spain, and envy any and everyone who can get there for their Saturday night treat. Or any other hour of the day.... or week....
Sophistication/class: 1 our of 10
Welcome, value for money, downright pleasure: 11 out of 10
Can't say more.
4 out of 5
zahid
Wednesday, October 04, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingDidn't like the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The food is excellent (better than my moms' 9/10 ) and more than makes up for any deficiencies in service. I have been going for 10 years now and the standard has been consistently excellent.
4 out of 5
ian stewart
Friday, August 11, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

first class great restuarant
4 out of 5
ryan
Thursday, August 03, 2006


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

bloody lovely
4 out of 5
gill stride
Monday, July 31, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

It's terrific ... particular favourite is the mango lassi, but it's all good
4 out of 5
Bob
Tuesday, May 09, 2006


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

im a regular to this restraunt since it opened in 1972! all the people that are writing bad reviews on this place should really consider changing their minds sure the service might be shabby at times but i have never had fault with their food! the person who wrote the review befor me is surely some grumpy fustrated young man who ows a restraunt on commercial rd and cant get customers to step into his low class restraunt! lahore kebab all the way
4 out of 5
jellybaby
Wednesday, November 30, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Went there last night and the quality of food blew me away. I *really* like curries and have sampled a LOT of restaurants, but this has to be the best I have ever tasted. Went with a friend who has been going there for over 20 years!

No matter what you order, you will be guaranteed amazing food, and the prices are very cheap - less than 10 per person usually.
5 out of 5
GB
Friday, November 25, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

Went there last night - ordered the usual mixed starters, lamp chops and roti - divine. Still the best!
5 out of 5
Jimmy Davidson
Saturday, October 01, 2005


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the council can take a walk....no body beats "The Lahore Kebab House" !!
3 out of 5
Philip
Monday, September 27, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingDidn't like the ambience

Dont worry about the decor, your there for the food. Anytime I am in England I will make sure that I eat here. I am even trying to find a way to contact them as I want to honour there saag gohst in my restaurant here in Trinidad.


If any of you go there soon please tell them I want to honour there talent.


 

4 out of 5
Edward Dinnerhands
Wednesday, July 07, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Mango lassi anyone? The only lassi you'll be needing after a feast here, is a large collie to drag your bloated carcass home over the cobbles of Whitechapel. Trust me, if quantity is as important to you as quality, then you will leave here licking your lips and wiping your mouth like a hungry pirate.

4 out of 5
lind~SAY
Wednesday, July 07, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Ruddy good nosh, you end up eating so much you have to rest in bus stops located on your route home.
4 out of 5
Diamond Dallas
Wednesday, July 07, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

*PLEASE READ - IMPORTANT HEALTH WARNING*  Please do not, I repeat, do NOT visit this restaurant unless you are prepared to eat until you can physically eat no more.  The food is so damn nice, you will not be able to resist that second, or even third plate of massala fish.  You will guzzle that gosht till you're red in the face, and STILL be asking for more.  You have been warned. 

4 out of 5
P-MONEY
Wednesday, July 07, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Perhaps my favourite restaurant in the Big Smoke. I usually starve myself for a day before I eat here then go mad - its the best. A treasure of a restaurant, i introduced all my friends to it and they love me for it.
4 out of 5
Mark Landau
Wednesday, June 30, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

I eat at this kebab house at least once a week with a great freind of mine.  The food is always excellent, the serivce quite sharp and the best value for money that one could imagine.  The kebabs, chicken tikka and spicy lamb chops are out of this world.
5 out of 5
sexy babe
Friday, April 16, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

the food was fantastic, hot and fresh, superb, traditional pakistani food, atmosphere gr8, good service, cheap, very affordable, suitable for all occasions,
3 out of 5
Scotty
Thursday, March 11, 2004


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingHated the ambience!

Food was good and different to the usual curry house offering.  Ambience spoiled by arrogant  and smug city-type' workers sitting to close to me mocking my Scottishness with clever comments and making offensive hand gestures behind my back.  I had to leave prematurely to refrain from lamping the chief protagonist.  I thought about waiting outside for him but gave up after an hour.
5 out of 5
seemab gul
Friday, February 13, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

i have been to this place couple of times and i just think the food is outragous just like mama' food cooked in home:) and now ii always recommend my family and freinds to to go and dine out there because they love it especially the biryani
4 out of 5
Singho
Friday, February 06, 2004


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

As a lad from Bradford, let me tell you that this Kebab place is up there with the best in the UK. I ve must have been here 50+ time and Ive never been dissatisfied. Brick Lane just doesnt compare to a typical Punjabi joint which serves kebab to make your mouth water!!

4 out of 5
Al
Tuesday, April 08, 2003


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The food is excellent and the price cannot be faulted. Recommend Grilled lamb chops and chicken tikka for starters, the Dansak Gosht (Lamb & Lentil) and the Karahi Chicken for mains as my personal favourites. Service is efficient. Some find fault with the decor but if so, take a walk through Brick Lane. Plenty of good looking curry houses but all are 3/4 empty, Lahore Kebeb House is always jammed. I actually like the rough and ready feel, much more of a communal experience.
4 out of 5
GB
Tuesday, February 18, 2003


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingThe service was okay Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

The prices have started to creep up here - maybe its to pay for the staff t-shirts saying "The Original Lahore Kebab" - still the food is as good as ever.
5 out of 5
Paul Terrey
Friday, July 05, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLoved the service! Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

This is by far the best grill house in London. Slightly more expensive than the neighbouring Tayyab but the food is far superior! Definitely try the mixed starter. Lamb chop curry (Fridays only)is also worth a look Excellent!
4 out of 5
Kate Stride
Monday, May 27, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingThe ambience was okay

This is the best food in the whole world. Make sure that you try a keer while you are there - that is if you have sufficient room for anything else.

Best food, excellent value
5 out of 5
GB
Thursday, March 21, 2002


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The spicy lambs chops, the chicken and lamb tikka and the fresh roti are all excellent and these are just starters.
4 out of 5
Monday, November 06, 2000


Food RatingLiked the food Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Rough and ready, but the food is excellent. I wish it was licenced though.
4 out of 5
AJ
Thursday, February 08, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLiked the ambience

Cannot fault the food - gets very busy these days though.
5 out of 5
Nalin Parbhu
Wednesday, March 28, 2001


Food RatingLoved the food! Service RatingLiked the service Ambience RatingLoved the ambience!

The best value for money restaurant in London and definitely far and away the best curry house.
It does tend to get very busy but the service is pretty efficient and your custom is always appreciated. They have also added delivery to their armoury though you have to pay for the cab fare.
This place has fans from New York to Hong Kong....